Wellington Cable car Excursion Reviews

Wellington Cable car cruise excursion
Overall Rating
For a stunning overview of the city of Wellington and harbor, ride the cable car from Lambton Quay (behind the downtown shops) up to the hilltop district of Kelburn. The cars move along a cable in the ground, not in the air -- it's a very scenic and pleasurable journey.
Member Image Ewaq345
1 review
Jan 2017
Others in our party took the cable car which was nice but wanted to walk down the hill into town but found the signposting a bit confusing and wasted some of their time. Would recommend a good map and/or map app to plan things if your time is limited as I'm sure there was a lot of interesting stuff they didn't see.
Read Ewaq345's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image wtm64
1 review
Dec 2016
The actual cable car experience was very under whelming.
Read wtm64's full Ovation of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Luv2Trvl1986
1 review
Dec 2016
Okay visit to the cable car and botanical gardens. This was on our way to the Zealandia Nature Preserve. If you want to do this, I think you can do it easily on your own vice booking through the ship.
Read Luv2Trvl1986's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image TimeTravels
1 review
Sep 2016
This was another Freebie tour at the time of booking. There were several coaches doing this tour so a long wait at the cable car, the gardens too big to walk around in a limited time but very pretty, lovely views from Mount Victoria but really didn't want to be 'herded ' at the museum which, being a Saturday, was very busy. We opted for the WW1 exhibition but again a bit to busy to take in and we then found a local McDonalds and strolled along the harbour front watching how the locals enjoy their free time.
Read TimeTravels's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Skydancer281
1 review
Sep 2016
Cable car with Zealandia Sanctuary: Would not recommend, Zealandia Sanctuary was absolutely nothing special.
Read Skydancer281's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image mbleacher
3 reviews
Sep 2016
Took the bus over to the taxi stand. The bus was free to the taxis. Then we rented a taxi for $200 NZ to drive us around to all the spots. His name was Frank. Great guy. There were six of us in his van, so very cheap and he took us everywhere. Not a very big place, so it was maybe 3 hours. Then we took an uber back to the ship after dinner.
Read mbleacher's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Frank the taxi driver
Member Image Grandjen
1 review
Apr 2016
Rode cable car to top of high hill overlooking the city and then walked down through beautiful botanical gardens.
Read Grandjen's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Wellington Cable Car
Member Image willy_the_wombat
1 review
Jan 2016
Long queues to get to the top
Read willy_the_wombat's full Azamara Quest cruise review
Provider: Azamara Club Cruises
Member Image Coffs Cruiser
1 review
Dec 2015
Cable car was great - having it as a shore tour saved us lining up and people already in the line were not happy - but hey...The driver was great and told us a lot about the town and what we were driving past. We also got to stop at a very old church - and with the Christmas decorations up still was beautiful. Great tour - we got to see lots!
Read Coffs Cruiser's full Voyager of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image karencruise
1 review
Sep 2015
Te Papa is one of the best museums i have ever visited.
Read karencruise's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image pama58
1 review
Apr 2015
good guided tour of the town beautiful views from the top nice little cafe for lunch and the chance to use their wifi. also a little souvenir shop. Not much in town to see went for a walk along the wharf front.
Read pama58's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image CHELSEADOG
5 reviews
Mar 2015
This was a nice experience. We had coffee at the top with a wonderful view. Enjoyed the cable car museum. Can't think of anything else to say to make 150 characters.
Read CHELSEADOG's full Voyager of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image mab58
1 review
Jan 2015

Yeah a "nice to do" but not something you would travel to do again.

Read mab58's full Sea Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image tudorrose
1 review
Not Rated
Oct 2014

Although brief and visibility restricted due to bad weather, it was interesting and informative.

Read tudorrose's full Dawn Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image KayTong
1 review
Not Rated
Nov 2013

This was the best since it reminded me so much of Hong Kong. The museum was great too. All free

Read KayTong's full Oosterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image ppcp
6 reviews
Apr 2013
Short, and crowded but fun.
Read ppcp's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Travel Guru 13
1 review
Mar 2013
Rushed - bus driver Murray was just a bus driver - no tour commentary.
Read Travel Guru 13's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Funmum-1007
1 review
Dec 2012
the Zealander sanctuary was good but had to keep waiting for others to catch up, we should have been given the option to go ahead on our own, we were supposed to have morning tea, but they had a function on so was cancelled. The Cable car was full going up the mountain so we went up in the coach and came down, was not what was described so disappointed.
Read Funmum-1007's full Voyager of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image legless01
2 reviews
Dec 2012

we independently went around wellington by catching the shuttle bus to the tourist i site centre and then went and done the cable car ride to the top of the hill and then had a look around and went back down and found a nice old style pub and had some expensive battered fish but was well worth it. And then went to the tu papa museum and walked around their it was very interactive for the children and then went back onto the ship to be ready to sail off again. we seen a massive sting ray in the water near the museum where the children climb up the some stairs and can dive into the water.

there is also a cab you can pay to take you around the sites of wellington for $60.00 it was a pity we did not know about this before we walked around wellington.

Read legless01's full Voyager of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?