Become a Cruise Insider
Tips, deals and more in your inbox.
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Nassau Scuba Diving Excursion Reviews

Nassau Scuba Diving cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Take to the blue waters of Nassau on an instructed scuba tour. Explore this amazing aquatic world -- it has all the makings for an exciting day!
Member Image BonesDoc
1 review
Mar 2015

Rough seas, should have been cancelled, but Stuart cove's was not about the coustomer but the dollar.

Read BonesDoc's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Sophieni209
1 review
Feb 2015

Never again. What they don't tell you is that the wetsuit is extra (water temp 24 deg when I was there). The bus ride is fairly scary and takes about 40 minutes from the quay to the dive shop. I felt like a processed piece of meat. Dive company is Stuart Cove - my advice is book ahead with any other dive company and I am sure you will get a better deal. $165 for 2 short dives is a total rip-off!

Read Sophieni209's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image LivingLifetotheFullest
4 reviews
Not Rated
Dec 2014

Nassau - Four family members had the best scuba experience (through NCL) My brother who has snorkeled 300 times, rated this as one of the best he has ever done.They did two dives and were impressed by not only what they saw, but by the professionalism of the master divers.
Three of us chose to walk from the Ship to the Straw Market and then down to Junkaroo Beach and the Fish Fry. As you walk away from the pier, you will be hounded by locals trying to convince to take their tours etc. The straw market is about 50 or more little booths with basically the same thing. The Beach is nothing special.... but is was an easy walk and free. The Fish Fry is a street with several restaurants specializing in seafood.... mostly conch fritters and conch salad. We had both at Twin Brothers and it was excellent. The greeting of the NCL staff as we came back to the Ship was fun and energetic. People going back to the ship next to ours were intrigued and wanted to join our party.

Read LivingLifetotheFullest's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image F18Pilot
3 reviews
Oct 2014

. Carnival offered a 2 tank excursion through Stuart Cove’s Diving. Once again the dive shop is located on the other side of the island, so it was a good 35-40 min drive on a small bus. The facilities are very nice and they offer snorkeling and one-man “sub” dives. However, the cruise only had 12 spots for the dive and there were 14 of us on a VERY small boat. It was extremely cramped and crowded and we all complained. We had to get ready for dives in shifts of 3-4 due to no room for the tanks or BCs. There were no buckets for masks or camera equipment (don’t know where they would have put them). There really wasn’t enough room to sit, so several of us leaned or perched somewhere and tried not to fall off. There were 2 dive masters, but only one got in the water to keep track of everyone. Dive master, Nicholas, was very good and led us around on some nice dives. We dove the “Twin Sisters” which are two ships sunk together. Nicholas led us through one of the ships, open and easy, not a real shipwreck. Lots of reef sharks and large turtles were sighted. The second dive was the site of the James Bond Wrecks. These are the underwater sets for “Thunderball” and “Never Say Never Again.” The Vulcan Bomber, a steel frame with aircraft parts to create the illusion in “Thunderball,” is sitting in about 40 feet of water and is covered with coral, etc. Very nice with lots of marine life. Not far away, lies the landing craft from “Never Say Never Again” which sits in about 20 feet of water. The shallow dive gives you lots of bottom time to explore. Great vis and very large turtle (6-7 feet) spotted just taking a nap! Aside, from the great dive sites, the trip back to the shop was thankfully short. The trip back to the ship from the dive shop was not. We waited for an hour for people not on our cruise to make the return trip and subsequently made several stops to hotels to drop people off. So glad they could waste our time in port! The return easily ate up about 1 ½ hours of port time just waiting around. The only good thing was that it was a ship sponsored excursion, so we were guaranteed not to be left behind. I was not happy with the excursion company for their lack of planning. The boat was too small and on the brink of unsafe with 14 passengers, 2 dive operators and dive gear. The return trip on their van was excruciatingly long. We waited at the dive shop for an hour then another hour to drive and drop people off before returning to the ship.

Read F18Pilot's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image FL Hawk
1 review
Oct 2014

Nice, but would have preferred to have spent more time in a single location rather than moving the whole time.

Read FL Hawk's full Enchantment of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image WaterlooCruiser
2 reviews
Not Rated
Apr 2014

Booked with the cruise line because of the tight time lines but there were people on our bus who had booked directly with Stuart's Cove. Not sure how much of a price difference. Only complaint is that description of rental equipment according to NCL included a wetsuit which was not - $12 extra

Enjoyed the dive. 15 on our boat - but still good.

Read WaterlooCruiser's full Norwegian Breakaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image WaterlooCruiser
2 reviews
Not Rated
Apr 2014

Booked with the cruise line because of the tight time lines but there were people on our bus who had booked directly with Stuart's Cove. Not sure how much of a price difference. Only complaint is that description of rental equipment according to NCL included a wetsuit which was not - $12 extra

Enjoyed the dive. 15 on our boat - but still good.

Read WaterlooCruiser's full Norwegian Breakaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image yamanx
1 review
Not Rated
Nov 2013

So much fun!!!!!!! This made our entire cruise worth it! You feel so safe doing it because they take you out in shallow water and have you go over emergency procedures that you learned in a class just 20 minute before. Only go to 25ft of water which was more than enough. I would recommend this to any and all of my friends!

Read yamanx's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Patthecruiser
5 reviews
Nov 2012
The vendor the ship used was very poor. The dive master could have cared less about the group and did not have safety in mind at all. They could have cared less also if they go us back to the ship on time (ropes were pulled from the dock) and we were the last ones to get on the boat.
Read Patthecruiser's full Mariner of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.