St. Thomas Turtle Swim Excursion Reviews

St. Thomas Turtle Swim cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Plunge into the waters of St. Thomas with these pleasant reptiles on an exciting turtle swim excursion. These ecotherms may be cold-blooded, but they are sure to warm your heart!
Member Image Tyson1121
1 review
Jan 2017
Phenomenal experience. Don't touch the turtles even though they will come within arms reach
Read Tyson1121's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image gonnaflyaway
3 reviews
Jan 2017
NOT FOR FAINT OF HEART - 4 people were barfin' their guts out. The 1 hr ride to the turtles was very rough. The beach was awesome but also an almost 1 hr ride from the turtles. The food was awesome.
Read gonnaflyaway's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image bluehairchic
1 review
Jan 2017
Great turtle viewing, great history/information on turtles and the coral reefs. Fun snorkeling around shipwreck. Wonderful, wonderful (and dare I say wonderful) team on the catamaran.
Read bluehairchic's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image msonstein
1 review
Dec 2016
This was an amazing excursion, with an absolutely wonderful crew. They were friendly, outgoing, and exceptionally attentive to everyone's needs.
Read msonstein's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image jyaxley
1 review
Dec 2016
The water in St.Thomas wasn't as clear as Turks, but we did see turtles then went to snorkel at a shipwreck site. The catamaran we went on was the Castaway 3, the crew was so amazing and made it so fun. After the snorkeling we got drinks, rum punch and music.
Read jyaxley's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image dplminnich
1 review
Dec 2016
Was ok but very crowded
Read dplminnich's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image vandystar7
1 review
Nov 2016
Love the turtles. Didn't like the catamaran. Castaway Girl 3, the ladder didn't go deep enough into the water, it was almost impossible to get up and back on the boat. I hurt my knee. The crew was mostly unhelpful to getting back aboard. The guy stood there and watched me, but didn't take my fins from me or help. The water was good though, and the turtles were great. They fed them, and we all had a great time.
Read vandystar7's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image nuclearmom
2 reviews
Nov 2016
Great swim with several turtles
Read nuclearmom's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image mnsqatsea
1 review
Oct 2016
If you like Turtles, do this. I had a turtle come to within 3 feet of me when coming up for air. It was awesome.
Read mnsqatsea's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Deckers4
1 review
May 2016
Sail, snorkel and swim with sea turtles on a pirate ship complete with black sails. What an outstanding way to spend our day!
Read Deckers4's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image allure144
1 review
Mar 2016
We booked through RC the Turtle Bay Sail & Snorkel Adventure - ST97. What a fantastic experience. A pirate themed sailboat ride out to a private island where you snorkel/swim with the sea turtles and other marine life for about an hour with instruction. Then once back on board there were endless Rum Punch Cocktails, snacks and good times for all put on by the crew. Excellent crew. Great time! Couldn't ask for anything better!
Read allure144's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Jab2012
1 review
Mar 2016
The Cat was the best excursion we have been on! Very fun and friendly staff!
Read Jab2012's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image trvlqueen
7 reviews
Jan 2016
Captain Mike knows how to tell a story and he is great at making sure all those who book with him have a great time. Buck Island is a great place to snorkel. We saw in excess of 7 turtles, 3 rays, and the fish along the reef were beautiful. We were able to sail for awhile, and there is nothing like being under full sail on a beautiful Caribbean day!
Read trvlqueen's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Fury
Member Image .master
1 review
Dec 2015
Great interaction with families. Just a fun great day
Read .master's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Maverik
1 review
Dec 2015
Went with Captain Nautilus to Turtle Cove and Shipwreck. Water was murky so visibility wasn't the greatest. Got in the water before other boats arrived and immediately saw turtles, but they were harder to find as more tourists arrived. Had more fun going to BlackBeard's Castle and walking around St. Thomas.
Read Maverik's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Bon-Voyage
2 reviews
Sep 2015
Sailed on the CAT, this crew was fantastic! They provided all the equipment, and gave instruction on how to proceed. First time snorkelers had no problems! We snorkeled in a cove with sea turtles all around. After snorkeling is finished, the bar is open! Truly a wonderful experience!
Read Bon-Voyage's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image shoppingmomofboys
2 reviews
Aug 2015
fun to do
Read shoppingmomofboys's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image amcoomer
1 review
Jul 2015
Loved every moment. The cat is an awesome staff and boat.
Read amcoomer's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Hoppy cruiser
1 review
Jun 2015
Fun crew and great time snorkeling. Saw plenty of beautiful fish and turtles. Loved sailing on a pirate ship!
Read Hoppy cruiser's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image ddc1523
1 review
May 2015
Nice older sailboat. The captain was very knowledgeable and funny. Had never snorkeled before and he made it very easy. His first mate took extra time with my wife and daughter to make sure they were comfortable in the water. Nice smaller group (maybe 14). Saw many many turtles and sea rays
Read ddc1523's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Fury Charters
Member Image kibbles37
2 reviews
Apr 2015
This was a great excursion. It was with "The Cat". It was about a 30 minute ride on a Catamaran to Turtle Cove. We then snorkeled in about 20 feet of clear water. We saw a number of turtles. When the came to the surface to get air, they would swim right at us and then move around us. I got great photos. Our guides stressed not disturbing the turtles before we got in the water. They had a good focus on safety and took care of us. No alcohol was served until AFTER we finished snorkeling. I will do this excursion again.
Read kibbles37's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image beachmonkey
2 reviews
Apr 2015
The crew was a lot of fun, educated everyone about the safe use of equipment, plus some information about the turtles. The crew of the Cat were great. Seeing the turtles was a terrific choice. They are amazing to watch and there is also additional sea life that you can observe.
Read beachmonkey's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image gecoffie
2 reviews
Apr 2015
This was great. Our 22 year old daughter had always dreamed of swimming with turtles and we brought our snorkeling gear and made it a reality. There was also fish and coral area to view but this was great. After snorkel you head to honeymoon beach for an hour which was just relaxing. After the beach we were headed back where the crew had mixed drinks and sodas for everyone. What a great time. Would do it again.
Read gecoffie's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image eculmone
3 reviews
Mar 2015
Captain Nautica Captain Rick really knows the area and gave us good service. My daughter thought it was really fun and a great experience. Afterwards we had time to walk around the port and bought a drink and some art. Beer is cheaper in St. Marteen but fun
Read eculmone's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image JSi
1 review
Mar 2015
We got to port late, but were thankfully still able to take this excursion as planned. Finding the location was chaos due to the late arrival, as the whole ship was trying to get to port at the same time. The was about a thirty minute wait on the dock for our boat to arrive once we found our group, standing in the sun, so be sure your sunblock is on before you head out that day. It was a rough ride going over (no one actually got sick, but I think several of us were pretty close). The boat ride took a long time, maybe because of the sea conditions, but still, 40-ish minutes each way seemed like a long time for about 30 minutes of snorkeling. Perhaps it felt like it took longer because the ride was so rough. We did sea tons of turtles though, which was amazing. The water was cloudy, probably, again, just because the sea was rough, and also because it rained a bit on and off that afternoon during our excursion. If you're prone to sea sickness, take a dramamine or have your patch on, because I felt pretty horrible and didn't get as much of the (delicious, well mixed, highly potent) rum punch as i would have liked out of self preservation. The crew on the excursion, Gabriel, Chris, and Captain Mark, were all great. We had a really nice time, and would definitely do it again (but next time well dosed with dramamine).
Read JSi's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?