Rome (Civitavecchia) Private Tour Excursion Reviews

Rome (Civitavecchia) Private Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Plan for an intimate and enlightening experience with a private city tour of Rome. This excursion will highlight major sites in Italy's capital, granting an easier access and a personalized experience you are sure to appreciate!
Member Image vk3307
1 review
Jul 2016
We had a very nice though whirlwind tour of the city. Our guide was very knowledgeable and gave up plenty of information to soak up about the history of Rome. A private tour is the way to go. We saw more than people who took the ship excursions and although we were rushed, the car could drive in areas where the buses were not allowed and since my husband has issues with his knees and feet, this made for a little less walking. The cost of a private tour is much less than thru the ship and they always had us back to the ship at least an hour to an hour and a half before the all aboard time.
Read vk3307's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Rome in Limo, Nicola
Member Image AmNotRay
1 review
Jul 2016
I heard the angles singing. After everything we saw, we are coming back here to really see it over 4-5 days
Read AmNotRay's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Helcar23
1 review
Jul 2016
Rome was crazy. Busy and crowded. Went to colleseum, trevi fountain, spanish steps, Panthéon, vatican city. Lunch at a nice restaurant. Not enough time for sistine Chapel ( have been before so not a big deal for us) so IF you want to go in allow for time. Guide spoke so-so english.
Read Helcar23's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Joe bananas
Member Image fnj0826@verizon.net
1 review
Jul 2016
Booked another private family tour with Miles&Miles - our favorite yet! It is the only way to see as much as possible while in port. We toured Rome (so much more then I could ever list here but certainly hit all the highlights!) - enjoyed a local cappuccino and gelato (both favorites of our whole trip!) - really got to see some favorite local places - visited Crypt of Cappuccini Monks (definite visit if possible!). Vatican in the afternoon. Also a must-do if you have not been before but we look forward to spending more time just in Rome exploring the next time we visit... so if you can visit Rome without feeling like you "should" visit the Vatican, I would recommend. There is just too much to see in a day! Miles&Miles arranged a lovely tour of the Vatican for us but it was rushed and crowded and 2 hours we would have rather spent just exploring. We requested it though so in no way is this a fault of the tour they arranged.
Read fnj0826@verizon.net's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Miles&Miles
Member Image Packlist
1 review
Jun 2016
We took a taxi to the train station (10Eur) and then train to Rome (20eur for a family of 4. We took the open top bus in Rome - long queues and average experience. Rome is a must visit city due to its majesty but it is also a place to visit once only. It was quite dirty and lots of litter, graffiti everywhere. The main sights (Colloseum, Trevi, etc) are worth the effort though. Enjoy!
Read Packlist's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Private
Member Image yogini06
1 review
Jun 2016
Arrived in Rome 2 days prior to the cruise. Visited the Vatican with a private early morning tour of the Sistine Chapel and St. Peter's Basilica. Highly recommended!! We visited the forum and colosseum on our own. They have an excellent audio guide tour for purchase at the colosseum. bought tickets online at our hotel prior to our visit. Spent a hot afternoon at the cool and shady Villa Borghese
Read yogini06's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: City Wonders
Member Image Pepzee
1 review
Jun 2016
I would not do this tour again. We spent 3 hours in the Vatican and there was a problem as the tour guide was told 11.30am but we were booked to go in at 11.00am and so it ended up taking us around an hour to get in. It was so crowded and was not a good experience at all. The driver did not speak much and did not give us much information about the places we visited. We drove home in silence in complete contrast to MariaClara on our previous excursion who was so much fun.
Read Pepzee's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Italy Tours
Member Image hancockshaker
1 review
Jun 2016
Guide was late, didn't speak English very well. Confusing schedule ending up with lunch at 4 pm.
Read hancockshaker's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image SteveS
1 review
Jun 2016
We toured Rome by golf cart and the Vatican museum and St. Peters. A lot of fun.
Read SteveS's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: My best tour
Member Image Hansfrau
1 review
Jun 2016
We did a private tour (less than 12) of Rome and the Vatican. Our tour guide was fantastic and made the day. We got to all the major sites - Colosseum, Pantheon, Trevi Fountain, Piazza Navona and finally St. Peters. Be careful of the cruise tours as many of them did not include entrance to either the Colosseum or St. Peters - a hard lesson some of our tablemates learned.
Read Hansfrau's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Shore Excursions Group
Member Image crescentboy
1 review
Jun 2016
Again booked with ItalyTours, this time a shared tour with six others. Good value (around half the cost of the ship's similar tour) although Rome was extremely busy, especially at the Vatican City.
Read crescentboy's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image stacysgal1974
1 review
Jun 2016
Booked a private tour with Shore Trips. What a way to go. The driver was excellent. Since we had a van, we went to places not possible for the big buses Carnival uses. He made reservation for us a restaurant where the locals eat. It was wonderful.
Read stacysgal1974's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Tahoebabe23
1 review
May 2016
We had an excellent excursion chef cooked for us in a medieval town. Highly recommend.
Read Tahoebabe23's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Ciao Italy / I love Rome
Member Image KatKay
1 review
May 2016
Since we were embarking on our NCL Epic cruise from the Port of Rome, we arrived a day early walked around the city and then arranged a private tour with transfer to the Port using RomeInLimo. We had a wonderful day with our RIL driver Enrico. Since this was our fifth trip to Rome, Enrico made it his personal challenge to use our time wisely and to show us sites we had not seen before. We were blown away by how much Enrico taught us and all of the new sites he showed us beyond those we had requested (the Baths of Caracalla,in Rome and the Etruscan ruins nearer the port). Enrico managed both traffic and time masterfully and we arrived at the ship having had an amazing day of new sites and fun.
Read KatKay's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: RomeInLimo
Member Image Miss Nomer
1 review
May 2016
Segway Rome. Thanks Oleg for a brilliant time.
Read Miss Nomer's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image jobster
1 review
May 2016
Segway Tour with Touristic Guide Martina was absolutely Superb. Learnt so much about the City from her and great fun on the Segway too.
Read jobster's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Rome Segway Tours
Member Image seek49
1 review
May 2016
We saw the sights, had lunch and enjoyed hearing all about the Roman Empire history!
Read seek49's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Rome in Limo
Member Image boattonowhere
1 review
May 2016
We had a private tour with Rome in a Limo for 8 people. Our driver, Rolando, was amazing! We saw the Trevi fountain, Spanish Steps, Colliseum before lunch. He took us for an awesome lunch at a cafe near the Vatican where our tour guide met us and we then walked to the Vatican for our tour including the Vatican museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peters Basilica. Fantastic day!
Read boattonowhere's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Rome in a Limo
Member Image Dougthewolf
1 review
Apr 2016
Gabriele was a passionate Roman who loved his city and his enthusiasm was infectious. His walking tour was of lesser known districts of Rome, away from the traditional tourist traps (other than for the Trevi fountain at my request – after all, it WAS my birthday). The piazzas, side streets and bridges were wonderful, aided and abetted by his commentary. His English was not perfect, but good enough to give all relevant information and to answer questions. Lunch was at a small bohemian bar/restaurant/shop which served a fresh lunch for a reasonable price. He was generous with his time and we parted company feeling that we had a fresh perspective and positive on Rome. Thank you, Gabriele.
Read Dougthewolf's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Walking with locals
Member Image Cecile.freiberg@gmail.com
1 review
Apr 2016
We did a tour and they name us walk for 3 hours in the Basilica for almost 3 hours.mwe did not have time to visit the other stop like Trevis Fountain and others which were the main Highlights for us. We had to run to get a photo of the Fountain and did not even stop battle Colosieum, we just drove by and could not even get a photo. Our tour guide was horrible
Read Cecile.freiberg@gmail.com's full Sirena cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image R4Hand
1 review
Apr 2016
Our driver/guide Marco picked up up at the ship and took us into Rome where we saw all the classic sites. After lunch, he dropped us off at the Vatican, where Federica, our private guide (and Art History Major) led us through an incredible 2.5 hour journey. Marco then brought us back to the NCL Epic by 5:00PM and an end to a fantastic, frenzied day.
Read R4Hand's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Miles&Miles
Member Image rogerdas
1 review
Apr 2016
We did this excursion as a Post Cruise Excursion. 2 days and we saw everything. Really loved our time in the Vatican
Read rogerdas's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Lorial1989
1 review
Jan 2016
I was worried that the one day we had to spend in Rome would not be enough, but our tour guide, Pietro took us to all the main sites and we accomplished a lot including seeing the colliseum (outside only), the vatican museum, the Sistine Chapel, St. Peter's Basilica, and the Trevi fountain. We also had a great lunch at a restaurant recommended to us by our guide called Osteria dei Pontefici where we dined under the watchful gaze of the portraits of about 20 different popes. Obviously, one day is not nearly enough to see all of Rome but we did see the main things we wanted to and had a lot of fun doing it.
Read Lorial1989's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image lovetogobyebye
1 review
Nov 2015
On time pick up and drop off, clean new vans. Driver did an excellent job keeping us moving and on time in order to see all the sights of Rome. Colloseum, Trevi Fountain, Pantheon, Circus Maximus, Spanish Steps, St. Peter's and more!!
Read lovetogobyebye's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: ItalyTours.EU
Member Image Sam_cruiser
1 review
Nov 2015
We visited all the must visits in Rome. They picked us up at the port and bring us to the city center. We got to see the Colosseum, The Trevi Fountain,The Pantheon and the Vatican Museum. I would repeat!
Read Sam_cruiser's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Cruise Excursions

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.