Rome (Civitavecchia) Private Tour Excursion Reviews

Rome (Civitavecchia) Private Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Plan for an intimate and enlightening experience with a private city tour of Rome. This excursion will highlight major sites in Italy's capital, granting an easier access and a personalized experience you are sure to appreciate!
Member Image Sny
1 review
Nov 2016
2 couples in a Mercedes van for full day with English speaking guide. Saw a lot of the city; but our guide, Sebastian, was a bit disorganized. Vatican Tour and Sistine Chapel were a chore - lots of walking and stairs, too much to absorb. Overpriced lunch in cafe across the street from Vatican Museum entrance. Too much for one day.
Read Sny's full Riviera cruise review
Provider: Romeinlimo
Member Image imsship
1 review
Oct 2016
We saw a lot for a short day, Rome in Limo does not dissapoint and Giovanni was very accommodating to our late arrival and to the fact that not everyone in the tour had plans to see the vatican!
Read imsship's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Rome in Limo
Member Image Beautifulnorth
1 review
Oct 2016
English speaking driver picked up our family and drove us around in a nice Mercedes van. He pre-purchased skip the line tickets for us at the Colosseum and Vatican, and even made lunch reservations for us to meet my mother while in Rome for lunch by the Trevi fountain. He took us all around Rome's most popular historic sites, was informative, interactive and personable. This personal private tour cost the same as Carnival wanted for a large-group bus tour. Be warned: Colosseum and Vatican are outrageously crowded. We literally mosh-pitted out way through the Vatican and had little opportunity to actually view or absorb anything.
Read Beautifulnorth's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Fashion Tour
Member Image chachquet
2 reviews
Sep 2016
Rome was a zoo. Since it was world tourism day our Vatican skip line was cancelled. Got to ride and look at most things from outside.
Read chachquet's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Italyxp.com
Member Image Meiyiimg
1 review
Sep 2016
Driver Livio is so friendly and flexible for our tour arrangement.
Read Meiyiimg's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: https://italylimousine.com/
Member Image aaakane
1 review
Sep 2016
drove to the colissem and vatican
Read aaakane's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: shareanexcursionitaly.com
Member Image darlenec
3 reviews
Sep 2016
Another wonderful tour with Rome In Limo. Our driver was Big Lucca....what an wonderful character! Professional, Knowledgable, flexible, and courteous. We packed the Colliseum, The Vatican (huge shout out to our guide Marco...thanks Rome In Limo; he was awesome....ask for Marco as a Vatican guide!) Trevi, Roman Forum, and a narrated tour of the Italian countryside, all into a 8.5 hr tour! And we never felt rushed. Excellent, personal service. Plus less than half the cost of the ship tour prices for a private tour for the four of us!
Read darlenec's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Rome In Limo
Member Image pbrn55
1 review
Sep 2016
Bad headsets.
Read pbrn55's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Shore Tours (I think, I didn't book it),
Member Image Aus123
1 review
Sep 2016
Another private tour booked and much cheaper than the cruise lines, do your homework before booking tours, visited Vatican, Basilica,Trevi Fountain, Sistine Chapel,Colosseum and more a very long day but well worth it
Read Aus123's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: Italy Private Tours
Member Image princessd2016
1 review
Sep 2016
This tour was absolutely fantastic. The driver/guide was exceptionally well informed, pleasant and the vehicle comfortable and well air conditioned. Our day was made outstanding by the variety and depth of the tour and we managed to see absolutely everything in Rome during a packed day. We would certainly recommend this company to anyone travelling within Italy, as we know they provide tours for other areas.
Read princessd2016's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Stefano Rome
Member Image mlwqx
1 review
Aug 2016
We hired a private tour to allow more flexibility in our schedule and see sights that the large motor coaches couldn't go. Sharing with another couple, the private tour is cheaper than booking through the cruise line.
Read mlwqx's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Rome in Limo
Member Image Mrmemor7
1 review
Aug 2016
pure italy
Read Mrmemor7's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: myself
Member Image Fab5cruisers
1 review
Aug 2016
So rich in history: Colosseum, the Roman Forum, Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, the Vatican, Sistine Chapel and St. Peter's Basilica.
Read Fab5cruisers's full Disney Magic cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image Novicefranz
1 review
Aug 2016
Tour was very smooth - driver Marcello was knowledgable and connected to his city but understands the hypocrisy. Took us to great place for lunch, non-touristy.
Read Novicefranz's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Share-a-shore
Member Image Georgie girl 51
1 review
Aug 2016
Fantastic evening tour
Read Georgie girl 51's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Michelangelo rental with driver
Member Image mcleans@ig.com.br
1 review
Aug 2016
Great tour of Rome and the vatican with a private driver.
Read mcleans@ig.com.br's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Prestige
Member Image CRUISEWITHMYKIDS
5 reviews
Aug 2016
Private tour through Rome and limo it was wonderful
Read CRUISEWITHMYKIDS's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Midwife Jo
1 review
Jul 2016
Excellent tour. 8 hours was not enough. We had to be somewhat brief at some of the stops, but we still had enough time to see things. The English speaking tour guide for the Vatican museum was a bit dry and my husband and I would have moved through the museum at a faster pace on our own, but overall we were pleased with the places we got to visit.
Read Midwife Jo's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Top Day Tours
Member Image CCC+
1 review
Jul 2016
Basic hop on hop off.
Read CCC+'s full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image picketfences101
1 review
Jul 2016
We booked DriverinRome to take us touring in Rome (both days) and to drive us to/from the ship. Daniel (our driver) was so fantastic he even arranged for pick-up from a Water-taxi in Venice (after we finished our cruise).
Read picketfences101's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: DriverinRome
Member Image SharonL01
1 review
Jul 2016
Booked Rome in a Day tour with RomeinLimo. Couldn't have been better...what a great way to get a taste of Rome. Alberto picked us up at port and drove us into Rome, sharing info and history about the city and sites. Went inside Colosseum; saw Roman Forum from Capital; time at the Capital; Pantheon; Trevi fountain; park. He arranged for quick lunch at a terrific pizza/pasta place right near Vatican City. We then met Serena our Vatican tour guide, who was also terrific! He provided a phone so that when we got out and needed to meet back up, we had a way to call him. What an easy and stress-less way to get a Taste of Rome. We can't wait to go back!
Read SharonL01's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: RomeinLimo
Member Image settersx3
1 review
Jul 2016
This tour couldn't have been better. The driver picked us up early in the morning and took us to so many sights, many we didn't even know existed. He already had our skip the line Colosseum tickets. When booking the tour, we only asked to see the Colosseum and then as much as he could squeeze in after that. We were in excellent hands, the driver was brilliant about Italian history and spoke excellent English. He got us back to the ship in plenty of time.
Read settersx3's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Rome Private Excursions
Member Image Huddy_94
1 review
Jul 2016
The driver was excellent and went out his way to ensure we saw everything we wanted to within the number of hours we had. His English was very good and nothing was a problem, the van was accessible and stress free experience in Rome.
Read Huddy_94's full Azura cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image Traveling redhead
1 review
Jul 2016
Excellent, fast paced tour. Hit the Coliseum, the Roman Forum, Trevi Fountain, Pantheon, Vatican Museums and St. Peter's Basilica and Square. That is all there is time for with the travel from the port and the traffic in Rome. Needed more time.
Read Traveling redhead's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: www.italytours.eu
Member Image Cvrs3swan
1 review
Jul 2016
Although a very busy (and hot) day, tour group was fantastic - we saw heaps. Spanish steps under construction so we missed that which I was disappointed about. Had an over zealous guide at Vatican that explained pictures of Sistine chapel for an hour PRIOR to tour which was annoying as we were then rushed - but that was not tour company fault.
Read Cvrs3swan's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Italy Tours

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?