Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Rome (Civitavecchia) Private Tour Excursion Reviews

Rome (Civitavecchia) Private Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Plan for an intimate and enlightening experience with a private city tour of Rome. This excursion will highlight major sites in Italy's capital, granting an easier access and a personalized experience you are sure to appreciate!
Member Image Dougthewolf
1 review
Apr 2016
Gabriele was a passionate Roman who loved his city and his enthusiasm was infectious. His walking tour was of lesser known districts of Rome, away from the traditional tourist traps (other than for the Trevi fountain at my request – after all, it WAS my birthday). The piazzas, side streets and bridges were wonderful, aided and abetted by his commentary. His English was not perfect, but good enough to give all relevant information and to answer questions. Lunch was at a small bohemian bar/restaurant/shop which served a fresh lunch for a reasonable price. He was generous with his time and we parted company feeling that we had a fresh perspective and positive on Rome. Thank you, Gabriele.
Read Dougthewolf's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Walking with locals
Member Image R4Hand
1 review
Apr 2016
Our driver/guide Marco picked up up at the ship and took us into Rome where we saw all the classic sites. After lunch, he dropped us off at the Vatican, where Federica, our private guide (and Art History Major) led us through an incredible 2.5 hour journey. Marco then brought us back to the NCL Epic by 5:00PM and an end to a fantastic, frenzied day.
Read R4Hand's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Miles&Miles
Member Image Lorial1989
1 review
Jan 2016
I was worried that the one day we had to spend in Rome would not be enough, but our tour guide, Pietro took us to all the main sites and we accomplished a lot including seeing the colliseum (outside only), the vatican museum, the Sistine Chapel, St. Peter's Basilica, and the Trevi fountain. We also had a great lunch at a restaurant recommended to us by our guide called Osteria dei Pontefici where we dined under the watchful gaze of the portraits of about 20 different popes. Obviously, one day is not nearly enough to see all of Rome but we did see the main things we wanted to and had a lot of fun doing it.
Read Lorial1989's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image lovetogobyebye
1 review
Nov 2015
On time pick up and drop off, clean new vans. Driver did an excellent job keeping us moving and on time in order to see all the sights of Rome. Colloseum, Trevi Fountain, Pantheon, Circus Maximus, Spanish Steps, St. Peter's and more!!
Read lovetogobyebye's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: ItalyTours.EU
Member Image Sam_cruiser
1 review
Nov 2015
We visited all the must visits in Rome. They picked us up at the port and bring us to the city center. We got to see the Colosseum, The Trevi Fountain,The Pantheon and the Vatican Museum. I would repeat!
Read Sam_cruiser's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Cruise Excursions
Member Image ForumStops
1 review
Oct 2015
Did Barcelona and Toulon and Tenerife without guides. Walked through Toulon, may have enjoyed an out of the area trip more. Barcelona and Tenerife are good for hop on hop off tours, especially on a double decker bus to view the astounding architecture of Gaudi in Barcelona. Don't miss the Picasso Museum, but make a reservation in advance (pre-paid) to save time on the line. If you do the Uffizi in Florence, you definitely have to reserve or get a skip the line ticket.
Read ForumStops's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image bperthel
2 reviews
Oct 2015
Our driver, Claudio, was great. He was very knowledgeable about the city and eager to share his knowledge. Although he couldn't accompany us into the sites (as he wasn't a licensed guide) we learned a lot about each site before we got there and knew what to look for throughout the day. We were able to see far more in a day than we could have by walking around on our own. Also because we were picked up and dropped off right at the ship we were able to maximize our time in Rome without having to deal with shuttles, buses, etc.
Read bperthel's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Shoretrips / Pappilon Services
Member Image joeandwendy
1 review
Oct 2015
Great excursion through the countryside.
Read joeandwendy's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Joe Banana tours
Member Image transam84
5 reviews
Oct 2015
Private 2 day guided tour. It was incredible. This was our embarkation port.
Read transam84's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image lizmit
5 reviews
Oct 2015
Very good driver however the windows of the van could have been cleaner on the outside. Driver took us to an excellent coffee shop and we had a great lunch. The tour guide for the Vatican was extremely informative and enthusiastic. I would leave the Vatican out next time and spend more time around Rome. The Vatican could use a full day (at least) on it's own.
Read lizmit's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Joe Banana/Italy Tour Sharing
Member Image Oliver61
1 review
Oct 2015
our party consisted of four people. we were picked up at the ship at the appointed time by the tour guide/driver. this was an 11 hour tour for a total price of 936 euros. this price included our driver the vehicle, tickets for the coliseum and Vatican and a two hour guided tour of Vatican, Sistine Chapel St Peter's Basilica. in addition we visited Circus Maximus, Road of the Temples, Pantheon, Trevi fountain, Spanish Steps. The tour guide delivered everything we expected.
Read Oliver61's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: rome driving tours
Member Image julie910
1 review
Oct 2015
Having already been to Rome, we chose a 1/2 day tour of Tuscania and Lake Bolsena. Very enjoyable and interesting. So much more relaxing than fighting the crowds in Rome.
Read julie910's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Cruising Excursions
Member Image DebbieKr
1 review
Sep 2015
Booked with Roberto of www.tours-europe.com and saw all the highlights of Rome by half day of touring with a golfcart allowing us to travel through alleyways and main streets to see it all.
Read DebbieKr's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image hbrooke1124
2 reviews
Sep 2015
Rome has a lot to see and you only have a day but I thought we accomplished quite a bit. You do need to pre-purchase your coliseum tickets as well as Vatican tickets. Our guide Rolando was fabulous. Retired gentleman doing it for the love of it. We had a shared tour with 8 people. Visited Coliseum, Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain (under construction), and the Vatican including the museum, sistine chapel and St Peters. The Vatican was packed with tourists. We hired a separate guide for this part and glad we did to help navigate the place. The line to see Sistine was incredibly long and winded though the various corridors. You only get a few minutes to try and absorb what you are seeing which is a shame. I much more enjoyed St Peters Basilica because it was not as crowded and there were some interesting things in there as well as the Pieta. Rolando took us to a local friends place for pizza, pasta, wine, Grappa etc.. for a very reasonable price. The food was not spectacular but the ambiance was wonderful as were the restaurant owners. Overall a wonderful day. Would perhaps need to go back to stay in Rome to go back and spend time at some of the other sites.
Read hbrooke1124's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Rome in Limo
Member Image Steve Fox
2 reviews
Sep 2015
The port is a long way from Rome so a lot of time was spent travelling to and from the city. Have been to Paris many times but Rome is far better. Took a private tour for 69 euros which included the train journey of approx 1 hour. Met by a local guide in Rome who had a great knowledge of the city. Saw the Coliseum, Trevi Fountain, Pantheon (wow!) and lots more - all on foot. Also spent 2 hours at the Vatican Museum and St Peters. Far too much to see in such a short amount of time. Would need a week to see all of it.
Read Steve Fox's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: CBM tours
Member Image brisbane lass
1 review
Sep 2015
Cab Driver had never been to these place before and even he admitted that it was great. So close to the port only 30 minutes so if you have been to Rome before then don't miss these attractions they are well worth your time. We saw a burial site used by villages for four hundred years between 3 and 7 BC very similar to the Pyramids, outstanding not to be missed. Civitavecchia surroundings (Tarquinia or Cerveteri tour) , Starting from the town that is furthest away - Cervetri, whose extraordinary fame is mainly attributable to its great importance as an Etruscan city which dates back to the XIII century BC when it was called "Caere"; but there is another aspect of this beautiful town that deserves mention and that is its extraordinary geographical position, since it rises close to the sea and next to the Lake of Bracciano (downstream), Continuing along the Via Aurelia towards Civitavecchia, stop and visit the enchanting Santa Severa, a town famous mainly for the splendid medieval castle that faces the sea and the numerous archeological treasures that refer mainly to the ruins of Pyrgi (one of the main Etruscan ports of Caere), situated near the castle itself: at the same time, there are also a variety of facilities for those that love the sea, beaches and the night life, Proceeding along the Via Aurelia in the same direction, just before Civitavecchia there coastal town of Santa Marinella has numerous archeological findings from all ages, but also for the highly equipped summer establishments which line the coast, Taking the Aurelia route about 10 kilometers in the direction of Grosseto, the famous Tarquinia; is the Etruscan town rich in history, culture and archeological treasures of the Etruscan people of which, to this date, very little is known
Read brisbane lass's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: CIVITAVECCHIA CAB SERVICE
Member Image OpineIdo
1 review
Sep 2015
We got XLS through our travel agent and it was wonderful. We saw a lot of Rome and did so without being exhausted. Driver took us each site where we toured and he was waiting right outside as we existed. Guide spoke excellent English and this was the best day of our trip.
Read OpineIdo's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: XLS Travel Service
Member Image kc20202
1 review
Aug 2015
we booked a private tour here, from Drivers Guide Services. Claudio picked us up at the port at the appointed time and we were in Rome in one hour (not much traffic because August is apparently when they take holidays over there). He took us straight to the Colosseum so we were there before the crowds got too bad, and spent the rest of the day giving us a wonderful tour of the city and history lesson combined. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend tours from DGS.
Read kc20202's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Driver Guide Services
Member Image mdfrance
1 review
Aug 2015
We visited the Colosseum, Forum, Pantheon, Spanish Steps, Sistine Chapel, and St. Peter's Basilica in one day. It was exhausting, but our tour guide managed to make it interesting from start to finish despite this being our second visit to all of the locations.
Read mdfrance's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Can't Be Missed Tours
Member Image LA Cruise Lover
3 reviews
Jul 2015
Best excursion I have ever been on, and that's saying a lot. Got a guide for the day and saw things at our own pace without waiting for anyone, and learned an amazing amount from a very knowledgeable guide. Well worth the extra money for the private tour. No waiting in lines, no language barrier, and doing what we want when we want to do it.
Read LA Cruise Lover's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Viator
Member Image ryanc78
1 review
Jul 2015
Great Full Day Tour. Got to see all of the historical sites and even enjoyed a fantastic lunch in Rome.
Read ryanc78's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Walks of Italy
Member Image shrink13
3 reviews
Jul 2015
Private tour with another couple--went to several small towns in Tuscany and Umbria. Highlight was lunch at a small restaurant in Orvieto where 2 of us had pasta with shaved white truffles--fantastic. One of us is a chef in NY city and even he raved about it.
Read shrink13's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image lanekelly26
1 review
Jul 2015
We had a brilliant day and fully recommend can't be missed tours,they were brilliant and efficient. We saw everything! Great value for money.
Read lanekelly26's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Can't be missed tours
Member Image GrandmotherCruiser
1 review
Jul 2015
Very hot and no tickets for Colosseum.
Read GrandmotherCruiser's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Shore Trips
Member Image Cruisin50th65
1 review
Jun 2015
Rudy's car tours and Amalfi Coast Destinations are very highly rated tour companies. From 1-8 people. Safe drivers, knowledgeable, entertaining, very friendly. Highly recommend. Don't need to worry about getting back to ship on time. They are very professional
Read Cruisin50th65's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Amalfi Coast Destinations

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.