Rome (Civitavecchia) Private Tour Excursion Reviews

Rome (Civitavecchia) Private Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Plan for an intimate and enlightening experience with a private city tour of Rome. This excursion will highlight major sites in Italy's capital, granting an easier access and a personalized experience you are sure to appreciate!
Member Image Novicefranz
1 review
Aug 2016
Tour was very smooth - driver Marcello was knowledgable and connected to his city but understands the hypocrisy. Took us to great place for lunch, non-touristy.
Read Novicefranz's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Share-a-shore
Member Image Georgie girl 51
1 review
Aug 2016
Fantastic evening tour
Read Georgie girl 51's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Michelangelo rental with driver
Member Image Midwife Jo
1 review
Jul 2016
Excellent tour. 8 hours was not enough. We had to be somewhat brief at some of the stops, but we still had enough time to see things. The English speaking tour guide for the Vatican museum was a bit dry and my husband and I would have moved through the museum at a faster pace on our own, but overall we were pleased with the places we got to visit.
Read Midwife Jo's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Top Day Tours
Member Image CCC+
1 review
Jul 2016
Basic hop on hop off.
Read CCC+'s full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image picketfences101
1 review
Jul 2016
We booked DriverinRome to take us touring in Rome (both days) and to drive us to/from the ship. Daniel (our driver) was so fantastic he even arranged for pick-up from a Water-taxi in Venice (after we finished our cruise).
Read picketfences101's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: DriverinRome
Member Image SharonL01
1 review
Jul 2016
Booked Rome in a Day tour with RomeinLimo. Couldn't have been better...what a great way to get a taste of Rome. Alberto picked us up at port and drove us into Rome, sharing info and history about the city and sites. Went inside Colosseum; saw Roman Forum from Capital; time at the Capital; Pantheon; Trevi fountain; park. He arranged for quick lunch at a terrific pizza/pasta place right near Vatican City. We then met Serena our Vatican tour guide, who was also terrific! He provided a phone so that when we got out and needed to meet back up, we had a way to call him. What an easy and stress-less way to get a Taste of Rome. We can't wait to go back!
Read SharonL01's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: RomeinLimo
Member Image settersx3
1 review
Jul 2016
This tour couldn't have been better. The driver picked us up early in the morning and took us to so many sights, many we didn't even know existed. He already had our skip the line Colosseum tickets. When booking the tour, we only asked to see the Colosseum and then as much as he could squeeze in after that. We were in excellent hands, the driver was brilliant about Italian history and spoke excellent English. He got us back to the ship in plenty of time.
Read settersx3's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Rome Private Excursions
Member Image Huddy_94
1 review
Jul 2016
The driver was excellent and went out his way to ensure we saw everything we wanted to within the number of hours we had. His English was very good and nothing was a problem, the van was accessible and stress free experience in Rome.
Read Huddy_94's full Azura cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image Traveling redhead
1 review
Jul 2016
Excellent, fast paced tour. Hit the Coliseum, the Roman Forum, Trevi Fountain, Pantheon, Vatican Museums and St. Peter's Basilica and Square. That is all there is time for with the travel from the port and the traffic in Rome. Needed more time.
Read Traveling redhead's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: www.italytours.eu
Member Image Cvrs3swan
1 review
Jul 2016
Although a very busy (and hot) day, tour group was fantastic - we saw heaps. Spanish steps under construction so we missed that which I was disappointed about. Had an over zealous guide at Vatican that explained pictures of Sistine chapel for an hour PRIOR to tour which was annoying as we were then rushed - but that was not tour company fault.
Read Cvrs3swan's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Italy Tours
Member Image snlcbcruising
1 review
Jul 2016
Used Rome in Limo for a private tour. Great experience. Was flexible and saw what we wanted/
Read snlcbcruising's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Rome in Limo
Member Image Wbfloormachines
1 review
Jul 2016
Our guide was funny and knowledgable making a great day if not a little to hot for touring the Vatican
Read Wbfloormachines's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Rome tours
Member Image vk3307
1 review
Jul 2016
We had a very nice though whirlwind tour of the city. Our guide was very knowledgeable and gave up plenty of information to soak up about the history of Rome. A private tour is the way to go. We saw more than people who took the ship excursions and although we were rushed, the car could drive in areas where the buses were not allowed and since my husband has issues with his knees and feet, this made for a little less walking. The cost of a private tour is much less than thru the ship and they always had us back to the ship at least an hour to an hour and a half before the all aboard time.
Read vk3307's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Rome in Limo, Nicola
Member Image bdelahanty
1 review
Jul 2016
We missed our 10amCrown tour because the taxi took 1.5hrs instead of 45min. Chirstian, of CrownTours graciously refunded our am tour! However, we purchased another Colosseum/Palatine Hill/RomanForum tour by Gladiator at the site. Toured the Colosseum but then the guide for Palatine Hill/Roman Forum said he'd meet us back in 8 minutes and never came back! -was not impressed
Read bdelahanty's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Crown Tours / Gladiator Tours
Member Image AmNotRay
1 review
Jul 2016
I heard the angles singing. After everything we saw, we are coming back here to really see it over 4-5 days
Read AmNotRay's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Helcar23
1 review
Jul 2016
Rome was crazy. Busy and crowded. Went to colleseum, trevi fountain, spanish steps, Panthéon, vatican city. Lunch at a nice restaurant. Not enough time for sistine Chapel ( have been before so not a big deal for us) so IF you want to go in allow for time. Guide spoke so-so english.
Read Helcar23's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Joe bananas
Member Image fnj0826@verizon.net
1 review
Jul 2016
Booked another private family tour with Miles&Miles - our favorite yet! It is the only way to see as much as possible while in port. We toured Rome (so much more then I could ever list here but certainly hit all the highlights!) - enjoyed a local cappuccino and gelato (both favorites of our whole trip!) - really got to see some favorite local places - visited Crypt of Cappuccini Monks (definite visit if possible!). Vatican in the afternoon. Also a must-do if you have not been before but we look forward to spending more time just in Rome exploring the next time we visit... so if you can visit Rome without feeling like you "should" visit the Vatican, I would recommend. There is just too much to see in a day! Miles&Miles arranged a lovely tour of the Vatican for us but it was rushed and crowded and 2 hours we would have rather spent just exploring. We requested it though so in no way is this a fault of the tour they arranged.
Read fnj0826@verizon.net's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Miles&Miles
Member Image Packlist
1 review
Jun 2016
We took a taxi to the train station (10Eur) and then train to Rome (20eur for a family of 4. We took the open top bus in Rome - long queues and average experience. Rome is a must visit city due to its majesty but it is also a place to visit once only. It was quite dirty and lots of litter, graffiti everywhere. The main sights (Colloseum, Trevi, etc) are worth the effort though. Enjoy!
Read Packlist's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Private
Member Image yogini06
1 review
Jun 2016
Arrived in Rome 2 days prior to the cruise. Visited the Vatican with a private early morning tour of the Sistine Chapel and St. Peter's Basilica. Highly recommended!! We visited the forum and colosseum on our own. They have an excellent audio guide tour for purchase at the colosseum. bought tickets online at our hotel prior to our visit. Spent a hot afternoon at the cool and shady Villa Borghese
Read yogini06's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: City Wonders
Member Image Pepzee
1 review
Jun 2016
I would not do this tour again. We spent 3 hours in the Vatican and there was a problem as the tour guide was told 11.30am but we were booked to go in at 11.00am and so it ended up taking us around an hour to get in. It was so crowded and was not a good experience at all. The driver did not speak much and did not give us much information about the places we visited. We drove home in silence in complete contrast to MariaClara on our previous excursion who was so much fun.
Read Pepzee's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Italy Tours
Member Image hancockshaker
1 review
Jun 2016
Guide was late, didn't speak English very well. Confusing schedule ending up with lunch at 4 pm.
Read hancockshaker's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image SteveS
1 review
Jun 2016
We toured Rome by golf cart and the Vatican museum and St. Peters. A lot of fun.
Read SteveS's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: My best tour
Member Image Hansfrau
1 review
Jun 2016
We did a private tour (less than 12) of Rome and the Vatican. Our tour guide was fantastic and made the day. We got to all the major sites - Colosseum, Pantheon, Trevi Fountain, Piazza Navona and finally St. Peters. Be careful of the cruise tours as many of them did not include entrance to either the Colosseum or St. Peters - a hard lesson some of our tablemates learned.
Read Hansfrau's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Shore Excursions Group
Member Image Beachwalker5
1 review
Jun 2016
Our tour guide was outstanding. The tour of Vatican City (the gardens, Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel, St. Peter's Basilica) and the Pope's Summer Residence (beautiful property and gardens, working farm) was a wonderful experience. Long day (11 hours), but definitely worth it and recommend this excursion.
Read Beachwalker5's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image crescentboy
1 review
Jun 2016
Again booked with ItalyTours, this time a shared tour with six others. Good value (around half the cost of the ship's similar tour) although Rome was extremely busy, especially at the Vatican City.
Read crescentboy's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?