Become a Cruise Insider
Tips, deals and more in your inbox.
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Maui Luau Excursion Reviews

Maui Luau cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Celebrate life with a traditional Hawaiian luau. Enjoy succulent Hawaiian food -- like roasted pork and delicious coconut custard -- and enjoy local dancing, folk music and traditions.
Member Image Cookie125
1 review
May 2015
travel by coach bus through heavy traffic to the other side of the island. The show was good, what I saw of it. We were late. The food was just ok but getting through the "cattle" lines was not fun. Not worth $155 per person.
Read Cookie125's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image cortlandtcruise
1 review
May 2015
very average, but convenient. Food was fair and a large buffet. Entertainment was good, but the best was the fire dancers-that was the best. it is just expensive and I am not sure it is worth the money but it is convenient and a special event.
Read cortlandtcruise's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image carlandlyn
2 reviews
Apr 2015
Lahaina was old school. A single street with shops on either side for the tourists to enjoy. We had a great time walking around and checking the place out. Local markets were also on when we arrived, and there was some good stuff to look at. We took in a Luau here (the ship did not leave til midnight) and it was a great night out. Lovely place.
Read carlandlyn's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image vacaxnsetc
1 review
May 2014

The food was good. The entertainment was great. The sunset was amazing. Definitely a must do.

Read vacaxnsetc's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image BJzink
6 reviews
Dec 2013

Lots more people than when we went to one several years ago on Kauai, Food was OK, the pork wasn't from a pig in a pit. The entertainment was pretty good - heavy on Tahitian dancing, not Hawaiian.

Read BJzink's full Celebrity Century cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image stub's dad
3 reviews
Mar 2013
We did the sunset luau and it was the best. We were on the Sheraton Hotel grounds and the food was fabulous. We had an open (free) bar and a great show. I would do this tour again.
Read stub's dad's full Celebrity Century cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image rudyusc
1 review
Feb 2013
We left the ship early per the instructions on our ticket for the Drums of the Pacific Luau. We allowed the recommended time for tendering, but the wait to tender was short so we arrived at the dock more than 30 min. earlier than expected. After a wait of 45 min. or more someone came by passing out cards for the busses. It was then that we found that the busses were to arrive an hour later than our ticket showed. So we had to wait some more. Eventually the busses came -- about 15 min. later than we had been told -- and took us to the luau. Our busses were the last to arrive and the entertainment had already begun. The food was OK at best, the drinks were lame, but the show was lively and well received.
Read rudyusc's full Celebrity Century cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Sundance36
3 reviews
Jan 2013
The Luau was very good and just what we wanted. However, it was overbooked at the Hotel that put it on leading to crowding and difficult access. The food was good and the show excellent but lines lead to irritation among the guests. Smaller attendance would have giving this a better rating.
Read Sundance36's full Carnival Splendor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image vaugirard12
2 reviews
Dec 2012
We also visited the Old Lahaina Luau in Maui. We took the bus out there (a bit tricky and not much savings: $2.50 each for the bus but only $8 plus tip for a taxi; we shared one back to port). The Luau was lots of fun. They have about 400-500 people but everything was so well-organized, you don't feel like you are part of a crowd. The site is beautiful, the food good and the dancing spectacular. The service was fine, albeit a little overly friendly. (No, I really don't want to hug a half-naked young man goodbye... but maybe others do.)
Read vaugirard12's full Zaandam cruise review
Provider: Old Lahaina Luau website
Member Image rwr235
4 reviews
Oct 2012
Great Luau...with wonderful dancers/great food/drinks included. Well presented, and well worth the price. Highly recommend.
Read rwr235's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image dnsflynn
1 review
Not Rated
Mar 2012
Very nice, well done. A bit more crowded due to the cancellation of the Honolulu Luau. 6 buses full of people added to the tendering woes.
Read dnsflynn's full Celebrity Century cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.