Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Ketchikan Zodiac Boat Excursion Reviews

Ketchikan Zodiac Boat cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Emerge into Ketchikan’s true backcountry as you embark on a zodiac excursion around Alaska’s coastline.
Member Image AlaksaCruise
1 review
Not Rated
Aug 2014

Spoke with the Zodiak (*Ketchikan Outdoors), family owned co., before sailing to check on the level of safety and impact to the body while boating (my dad has bone cancer). They suggested we wait at least 48 hours prior to arriving to see what the wind/weather was like. Anything over 10 mph winds would make the boating excursion a little ruff. Called the Ketchikan Outdoors as soon as we arrived into Port and they were able to fit us in. Weather was as expected in Ketchikan, rainy-cold but perfect!! We had a fantastic time - saw a few eagles.

Read AlaksaCruise's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Ketchikan Outdoors
Member Image JohnCoMo
1 review
Jun 2014

We booked a zodiac adventure on our own because we wanted to make sure that the operator was the one that we read great reviews about online. It was a family run operation and the staff was extremely nice. The weather in Ketchikan that day was beautiful so it was not cold and the water was smooth. We say several eagles and other birds.

Read JohnCoMo's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Ketchikan Outdoors
Member Image ladyyhawk
1 review
Not Rated
May 2014

Zodiac's are super fun to drive and they bait the eagles to fly down - I got the best pictures ever.

THANKS!

Read ladyyhawk's full Disney Wonder cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image debkaysmith
5 reviews
Sep 2013

Aside from the 18-foot incoming tide and the swells, this was hands-down the best excursion ever. We had an incredible guide who pointed out orca, humpback whale, bald eagle, and seals. He had some terrific side stories and we stopped near the totem pole park as well. Really really fun!! We wandered Ketchikan for a bit and stopped into Ketchikandies (always do) and sampled a few bits of their divine chocolate. There are some cute little shops around town to stop into with art and snacks too.

Read debkaysmith's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image RuggedEmu
1 review
Aug 2013

Ketchikan Outdoors is amazing! We got there and they had sold out of their first tour time but the owner called her husband and opened up another time for us. It ended up being just the two of us on the boat with our guide leading us in a separate boat. He was incredibly knowledgeable and interesting and catered the tour to our interests. We saw lots of wildlife, including a bear, sea lions, seals, and eagles. This was definitely the highlight of our trip! The town of Ketchikan is small but there is much more to it than Haines and it is not Disneyland Alaska like Juneau. Also Creek Street is great!

Read RuggedEmu's full Statendam cruise review
Provider: Ketchikan Outdoors
Member Image JimeBeMe
2 reviews
Jul 2013

This was not a Disney ride, but a real aluminum bottom inflatable with a 40 HP motor on the back. It easily got up on plane and zoomed all over the waves. You take turns driving, and you certainly may get wet! The guide was in another boat nearby. We ended up not seeing much wildlife, but still had an awsome ride. Again, Go Pro videos will be viewed again and again!

Creek Street is really neat too, especially if you can find a time when fewer people are there. We spent too much time trying to claim our charms from the jewelry stores closer to the ship, and missed out on spending more time on Creek Street. There's always next time!

Read JimeBeMe's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Southeast Exposure
Member Image SjGoebel
1 review
Aug 2012
this excursion was pretty fun we each got to drive our own boat we drove out and seen eagles, star fish and gotta see a mother and her babies killer whales and then went back and had hot chocolate. for what you did i think the excursion was pretty high price for what you actually get to do.
Read SjGoebel's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image BMKguy
1 review
Jul 2012
Perhaps my rating is biased since only my wife and I signed up for this tour. So, we had a boat to ourselves and I did all the "driving." Great fun! Our guide, Ash, in his own boat, was excellent. Inter alia, we saw more whales on that tour than we did from Sea Princess. Ash had a frozen fish that he tossed over the side. We got to see the eagles appear from nowhere and one swoop down to grab the fish only 10 feet away. When we returned to the dock we were served a hot drink as well as crackers and an excellent smoked salmon pate. I'd likely have been somewhat less thrilled with this tour had there been 3 other "drivers" in the boat.
Read BMKguy's full Sea Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image gra2172
3 reviews
Jun 2012
We did a coastal expedition in a boat of 4 people. You go out about 10 miles or so into the bay and see what you can see. The tour guide (who looked just like Rachel Mcadams) would stop every so often and tell you about the site or some history and really knew what was going on. We saw, bald eagles, seals, a whale and some goats.
Read gra2172's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Sarah Ball
1 review
May 2012
Took an excellent excursion with Ketchiken Outdoors, driving our own Zodiac boat around, checking out the views and wildlife. What a fab day! That took up most of our time in Ketchiken, but we also hung out in a cool bar, The Asylum, where they offered free Oysters, excellent beers, and in-bar take-away service from the Burger Queen next door - how can that be beaten?! Would have liked to see more of the town, as we didn't even make it to Creek Street.
Read Sarah Ball's full Celebrity Century cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.