Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Rome (Civitavecchia) Rome on Your Own Excursion Reviews

Rome (Civitavecchia) Rome on Your Own cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Venture out on your own in Rome, a living museum with gorgeous artwork, amazing architecture and inspiring ancient sites -- yet alive and vibrant in a 21st-century way. It's an unforgettable city to visit and we'll warn you right now once you've experienced it you'll want to come back for more.
Member Image dws1968@gmail.com
1 review
Jul 2016
Great coach, air conditioned and nice tour guide. Dropped off in Rome and told when to report back. Basic but worth it.
Read dws1968@gmail.com's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Georgia'smom
1 review
Jun 2016
Rome is great, just getting there takes so much time! We purchased the bus transportation to Rome - it was good as it was no worry that we would not make it back in time to the ship/also no worry about pickpockets (!!) , but ride was long, wait for bus at designated time/meeting place was long. We had enough time in Rome to wait in line to see St. Peter's Basilica, walk to the Trevi Fountain, and have a nice lunch.
Read Georgia'smom's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image ndwest04
2 reviews
Jun 2016
Great experience. Wished we could've had more time on our own!
Read ndwest04's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image drewlin
1 review
Jun 2016
Drop off and pick up at the Colosseum on time. Suited us well as we wanted to explore the Palatino, Roman Forum and Colosseum so this was ideal. As it was the first Sunday in the month, the tickets are free and couldn't be pre-ordered. Top tip if the queues for the Colosseum are long (4 hours in our case!) then get your ticket from Palatino (no queue in our case) which gives you entry to all these sites. Do the Palatino first which flows into the Roman Forum and then find the queue for people with tickets (difficult with many people) and get in in around 20 minutes which is mainly to get through security. Avoid the ticket touts with their 'jump the queue' for 20euros per person (paying for a guide and group) as they took the same 20 minutes to go through (unless you want to)!
Read drewlin's full MSC Preziosa cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image Maggott
1 review
May 2016
Bus tour of Rome and then free time to explore...
Read Maggott's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Llanfairpg
1 review
May 2016
Gets you into Rome and out again (barring late italian Ladies). Gave us time to visit the Forum and Palatine Hill. The 1.5 hour coach journey to get there can be tiring and there is just too much to see of Rome in this way (but we'd spent a long weekend there before - so just wanted a guided tour of the Forum)
Read Llanfairpg's full MSC Armonia cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image Tahoebabe23
1 review
May 2016
Our excursions and hotel stay at the Grand Hotel de Minerva was very good and would highly recommend.
Read Tahoebabe23's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Ciao Italy / I love Rome
Member Image MadamII
1 review
May 2016
Liked having my own time to explore on my own.
Read MadamII's full Riviera cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image Miss Nomer
1 review
May 2016
See review
Read Miss Nomer's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: On our own, but we did book Segway Rome
Member Image bullysu
1 review
May 2016
felt the 75 dollars per head, was far too much just for a lift to and from rome. sadly we also wasted money paying for a 'fast track' in the the vattican museum, as it took 90 minutes to get in there, after having to stand in the blaring sunshine, due to bad organisation, it would have been quicker to just queue
Read bullysu's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Lisakauai
2 reviews
May 2016
We "hitched" a ride into Rome, visited the Vatican and walked around the town. It was amazing!
Read Lisakauai's full Ovation of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image hjb123
1 review
May 2016
We enjoyed walking to areas of Rome away from the tourist crowds.
Read hjb123's full Ovation of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image hook120
1 review
Apr 2016
excellent visited so many places in one day... was incredible
Read hook120's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: share a shore
Member Image ccfandango
1 review
Apr 2016
Tour was too short, allowed seven hors total but took almost four of those to and from ship and then another hours walking to and from bus drop off pick up point with elderly parents who struggled to walk. Then held up in Rome traffic so did not get to either Coloseum or Vatican. Need to either focus on one sight or go on tour which includes a few but is more extended in time. Port is a fair way out of Rome, maybe organising local taxi better option ( or stay a few days ideally as too big to "see" in a day.
Read ccfandango's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Glittergirl12
1 review
Mar 2016
Coach transfer only, a map is also provided. Think this was expensive option, but suited us, as we had visited Rome before. We then bought a hop on hop off ticket, the buses are right at the coach drop off area. €18 each. The hawkers selling selfie sticks etc are annoying but that's Rome. I would pre book any visits to St Peters etc if you can.
Read Glittergirl12's full MSC Preziosa cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image sagirits
1 review
Dec 2015
great day used open top bus saw pretty well every thing but a bit of a rush.
Read sagirits's full MSC Fantasia cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image ucanown2
1 review
Nov 2015
Hop on Hop off
Read ucanown2's full Maasdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Chris Tate
1 review
Oct 2015
Dropped at the Colesium with clear direction where to meet. We had a wheelchair, for my wife and found Rome easy to negotiate. We had also prebooked the tourist bus, this would have been cheaper booked on the day. Weather was torrential rain at times but still enjoyable.
Read Chris Tate's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: cruise excursions
Member Image nevilleward
1 review
Oct 2015
Shuttle was good and tour guide gave us maps and a briefing before letting us loose. We would have opted for the train though - online it was $129, but onboard is was only $40. By the time we realized it was too late to cancel the bus.
Read nevilleward's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image AnneOttawa
1 review
Oct 2015
Took the express train to Rome via the ship's excursion. Was great and we also got a free hop on hop off tour for one round visit. The trip back was unfortunately not so successful as the train was out of order so we were packed (and I mean packed) in like sardines to go back. Not their fault and did not let it spoil the trip but felt sorry for some of the seniors who had mobility issues. Rome was great, nice time of year to go as it was not so crowded and we walked to see as many sites as we could. Used the HOHO bus to go by the Colosseum as it was a little further to walk to.
Read AnneOttawa's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Richard Simpson
1 review
Oct 2015
A much more relaxed way to see Rome, at your own pace. We took an open topped bus tour and were able to get round and see all the significant attractions, and apparently Saturdays is a quiet day, so not to franetic, great day
Read Richard Simpson's full Island Escape cruise review
Provider:
Member Image PRINTERATSEA
1 review
Oct 2015
Have to give a poor rating because of the quality of the coach. Air conditioning did not work properly and the drive was pretty uncomfortable. Getting back on in Rome was a shambles. Loved the actual time in Rome though
Read PRINTERATSEA's full Queen Elizabeth cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line
Member Image wilspain
1 review
Sep 2015
Long walk from the bus to the Colosseum meeting place.The guide advised us to take a blue bus tour which turned out to be a con as there were twice as many red buses. Eventually got off the bus at the Trevi fountain which was under restoration and off like most of Rome. Walked back to the Colosseum.
Read wilspain's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image BlueBonnet Gal
1 review
Sep 2015
Appreciated the information provided regarding getting around Rome, landmarks to try to see during our short excursion. We had adequate time to visit St. Peter's and Pantheon. Very disappointed we landed in Rome on Sunday because the Sistine Chapel was closed -- Viking, please reconsider scheduling Rome on Sunday!
Read BlueBonnet Gal's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image Jopoll
1 review
Aug 2015
We will return to Rome. This is a busy city and complete contrast to Florence. We went on a Sunday so the Vatican was closed and the Pope was suppose to be at his summer retreat - though he was spotted by our guide looking from a balcony from one of the back villas. This was the only tour that we were heavily advised about pickpockets. Our guide kept reiterating to be vigilant and keep possessions close. To validate her point as we got off our coach and another guide came up to our guide and warned her there was pick pockets by the outside entrance. Sure enough as we came outside there was two females undressing their many layers pulling out wallets, phones etc!!! We were all well warned now. As we were there only for the day we had to make a decision on whether we spent a lot of time at a few attractions or a bit of time at as many as possible, we chose the latter. We walked our socks off. There was a que at St Peters Basilica so chose to just view the square. We managed to see the Spanish steps, colosseum, forum, bridge of angels, palatine, piazza della rotonda, pantheon, piazza Navona, Hard Rock Cafe! The only disappointmen was the Trevi fountain, whilst beautiful it was not working!! Covered by scaffolding and net. We were very pleased to do Rome on our own, with our guide book in hand and good walking shoes, hat, water and sun cream we saw everything we wanted to and more. We were not timed to any particular limit and enjoyed the freedom. We had looked at the guided Rome tour and took a while to decide, but very glad we took advice from people who had visited Rome before and did it our way. It is easy to get around and with a good guide book you can truly capture Rome. An excellent day and we will return.
Read Jopoll's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.