Rome (Civitavecchia) Rome on Your Own Excursion Reviews

Rome (Civitavecchia) Rome on Your Own cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Venture out on your own in Rome, a living museum with gorgeous artwork, amazing architecture and inspiring ancient sites -- yet alive and vibrant in a 21st-century way. It's an unforgettable city to visit and we'll warn you right now once you've experienced it you'll want to come back for more.
Member Image Ballasalla
1 review
Sep 2016
very easy way to get to see Rome
Read Ballasalla's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image philipsw285
4 reviews
Sep 2016
We ended up with one of the dancer/singer from the stage show who had as much noledge as us she was surposed to be p&o representitive on the trip overseeing apparently the coach that got the women who was the guide said she was useless and gave no information about rome at all.............
Read philipsw285's full Britannia cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image cruisefan182
1 review
Aug 2016
The coach was on time and dropped us off next to the Colosseum. It is about 1.5 hours drive into Rome and back.
Read cruisefan182's full Oceana cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image kjkemp22
1 review
Aug 2016
Very expensive for a basic bus trip. Informative rep on bus. Slightly too long in Rome for us.
Read kjkemp22's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image maca+c
1 review
Aug 2016
Expensive with cruise line but as this was our first time in med we were unsure how easy it would be to do on our own. Tour guide was very helpful and informative. If we were fortunate to be again would do it independently as everything well signposted. Only criticism we could have done with more time in Rome
Read maca+c's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image gina bourne
1 review
Aug 2016
Booked with cruising excursions.com. All good. Just got a bus into the city. Book skip the line Colloseum tickets. there is time to go there and the forum. Then walk to Trevi fountain, pantheon and into Piazza Navona for lunch. Finally walk up to St peters square. We did all this from 9.30-3.30! Beware; many of the RCI excursions don't even go into the Coloseum!
Read gina bourne's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image peachymom
1 review
Aug 2016
We had booked another tour, which was cancelled. In this one, you get dropped at 3 spots to explore on your own. Not enough time to do any in depth, but then again, when all you have is a day, it's the best you can do/
Read peachymom's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image bevjc
1 review
Aug 2016
No info on operation or use of smart device. Order of trip changed - landmarks and comentary on way back instead of on way into rome.
Read bevjc's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image bc.murrie@talktalk.net
1 review
Aug 2016
Booked train tickets ourselves , walk/ underground . Saw a great deal .
Read bc.murrie@talktalk.net's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image richmal123
1 review
Aug 2016
Great guide giving loads of information on the coach journey. Ample time in Rome on a really hot day in August. Pre-booked the underground and third ring tour of Colosseum which was amazing, and then ate, then wandered around the Forum until time to go.
Read richmal123's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Maz636
1 review
Aug 2016
Tour guide was very nice and informative. We tried walking on our own but was tough as the street signs are limited. City is amazing-lots to see-could use a lot more time. People are not very friendly, went to a restaurant and had horrible service but didn't go to see them so it was cool. Lot of homeless and pick-pockets so just be wary.
Read Maz636's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image lisajmarron
1 review
Jul 2016
Did bus with guided walk to vatican,colisseum and trevi fountain area.long journey but day good.Nice restaurants just before the pantheon.Rome prices ok but v hot.citavecchia looked nice port.
Read lisajmarron's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image CCC+
1 review
Jul 2016
Walking tour on our own.
Read CCC+'s full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image luluguiness72
2 reviews
Jul 2016
Was ok but overpriced. Then the coach was late back so we had to wait in an underground bus depot for almost an hour in hot conditions with lots of fumes!
Read luluguiness72's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image ThirtiesCruiser
2 reviews
Jul 2016
Don't expect to go into places but you will have great time walking the city and seeing the sights.
Read ThirtiesCruiser's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image happyonaship
3 reviews
Jul 2016
Really, all we wanted was the coach into Rome and the coach back so that we would not have to worry about getting to the ship before it departed. We made arrangements for tickets to MAXXI - the Museum of Twenty-first Century Art, an architectural masterpiece by the late Zaha Hadid. In truth, we went to see the building, but the collections are very interesting as well. We were also able to sit and have a cappucino and a delicious pastry in a nearby cafe while waiting for the museum to open. Advice: we used the ultra-confusing website to purchase our tickets in advance. However, as opposed to the Picasso Museum in Barcelona, for which purchasing tickets in advance enables you to side-step the line-up, here we had to line up anyway to trade in our online "tickets" for museum tickets. However, we were here early - before the museum opened, in fact - and there was not a long line since it is not a highly publicized tourist spot. If you are a fan of contemporary art and architecture, it is well worth a visit. But don't bother to buy tickets online in advance.
Read happyonaship's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Surreydeb
1 review
Jul 2016
Coach to Rome and then independent. We were given a smart device with information about places of interest etc, to take pictures on and e mail to ourselves and for contacting the guide. Lovely day.
Read Surreydeb's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image tshort
1 review
Jul 2016
We did one of the "Rome on Your Own"-type tours, that bussed us to three different locations. It would have been nice if there were more time at the Colosseum; we bought our tickets ahead of time, but there wasn't enough time to go into the Forum.
Read tshort's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image dws1968@gmail.com
1 review
Jul 2016
Great coach, air conditioned and nice tour guide. Dropped off in Rome and told when to report back. Basic but worth it.
Read dws1968@gmail.com's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image jeanbill
4 reviews
Jul 2016
Good excusion, Glad we did it on our own although lots of walking, the bus drops you at the Marcello theatre quite near the Colleseum, walked to the Trevvie fountain spanish steps and down the long mainstreet.
Read jeanbill's full Ventura cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image trvlgirlmq
2 reviews
Jun 2016
We booked a bus transfer with others from our social media group. The drive in was uneventful and we were dropped close to the Coliseum. Our only plan for the day was the Vatican Museum and St Peter's. We easily got a taxi and used our prepurchased tickets to avoid the long line outside the museum. We spent about 4 hours touring and then had lunch and gathered back at our meeting spot. The bus driver was 45 minutes late but we left at the same time as the ship excursions (all the busses were in the same parking garage).
Read trvlgirlmq's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Georgia'smom
1 review
Jun 2016
Rome is great, just getting there takes so much time! We purchased the bus transportation to Rome - it was good as it was no worry that we would not make it back in time to the ship/also no worry about pickpockets (!!) , but ride was long, wait for bus at designated time/meeting place was long. We had enough time in Rome to wait in line to see St. Peter's Basilica, walk to the Trevi Fountain, and have a nice lunch.
Read Georgia'smom's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image ndwest04
2 reviews
Jun 2016
Great experience. Wished we could've had more time on our own!
Read ndwest04's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image drewlin
1 review
Jun 2016
Drop off and pick up at the Colosseum on time. Suited us well as we wanted to explore the Palatino, Roman Forum and Colosseum so this was ideal. As it was the first Sunday in the month, the tickets are free and couldn't be pre-ordered. Top tip if the queues for the Colosseum are long (4 hours in our case!) then get your ticket from Palatino (no queue in our case) which gives you entry to all these sites. Do the Palatino first which flows into the Roman Forum and then find the queue for people with tickets (difficult with many people) and get in in around 20 minutes which is mainly to get through security. Avoid the ticket touts with their 'jump the queue' for 20euros per person (paying for a guide and group) as they took the same 20 minutes to go through (unless you want to)!
Read drewlin's full MSC Preziosa cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image Maggott
1 review
May 2016
Bus tour of Rome and then free time to explore...
Read Maggott's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?