Rome (Civitavecchia) Rome on Your Own Excursion Reviews

Rome (Civitavecchia) Rome on Your Own cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Venture out on your own in Rome, a living museum with gorgeous artwork, amazing architecture and inspiring ancient sites -- yet alive and vibrant in a 21st-century way. It's an unforgettable city to visit and we'll warn you right now once you've experienced it you'll want to come back for more.
Member Image honeyb085
5 reviews
Nov 2016
This was a Cruise Critic tour. Make sure your have pre-purchased your Vatican tickets. The place was packed.
Read honeyb085's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image ghavers
1 review
Nov 2016
good bus ride in , lots of information, stopped at the Colosseum and took pictures. Then we were left on our own to explore. Found the Trevi fountain which I wanted my grandaughter to see since her dad was there in 1984. I am glad we went in 'off season'. Would hate to be there in the peak periods.
Read ghavers's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Pfeilm
1 review
Nov 2016
No booking.. we did Rome on our own with a bit of Geocaching thrown in.
Read Pfeilm's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image acatownsend
1 review
Oct 2016
Not happy with the guide Katrina who pushed us into using an unknown hop on/off tour bus by lying about the other companies eg. Citysightseeing only have 3 buses when they have 17. If we had ignored her, we would have benefitted from a discount when in Florence the next day. She also gave everyone details about a particular restaurant but luckily a fellow passenger was previously duped by her and told us it was crap. We weren't informed about the "Holy door" at the Vatican which skips the queues.
Read acatownsend's full Zenith cruise review
Provider: Pullmantur
Member Image Scaramouche19
1 review
Oct 2016
We had only 4 hours to walk around in Rome ,because the bus arrived at noon in Rome and at 4 pm we had to be back on the bus.
Read Scaramouche19's full MSC Armonia cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image GJDD
1 review
Oct 2016
Very walker friendly city. Once you arrive you don't need a guide but book your tickets to the Colosseum online ahead of time to avoid the long lines on the day.
Read GJDD's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image LittleMoo99
1 review
Oct 2016
Took the Rome on your own tour - expensive but it takes the worry about travelling. (Some people who went on the train by themselves got delayed by 2 hours....glad we did not do that!) Bus drops you off giving you plenty of time to see a few sights.
Read LittleMoo99's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image lfultz
1 review
Sep 2016
combined on your own tour with a Viator tour of the sistine chapel and Basilica
Read lfultz's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image beachbumsns
2 reviews
Sep 2016
We used ships transportation to get to Rome and then used the Hop on Hop off bus to get around. We had been to the Vatican before, and the Collesseum so this allowed us to see the rest of Rome.
Read beachbumsns's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image greenmo
1 review
Sep 2016
Tour we wanted had no English speaking guides available so had to do Rome on your own which was fine but expensive again. Rome was beautiful so made it all worth it. Did the 'Hop on, Hop off' bus which worked well.
Read greenmo's full MSC Armonia cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image Lindalovestraveling
1 review
Sep 2016
Love our guide Guilo. He told us lots of info in the ride into Rome. We booked Vatican tickets way before we left. Ran over there and did that, then walked back, stopping at Trevi, Forum, Colessium. Great day but lots to see.
Read Lindalovestraveling's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image paulroo
1 review
Sep 2016
simple to do by yourself, train gets you to Rome in an hour, traffic is manic so if you can you are better walking to the various points of interest.
Read paulroo's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Ballasalla
1 review
Sep 2016
very easy way to get to see Rome
Read Ballasalla's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image philipsw285
4 reviews
Sep 2016
We ended up with one of the dancer/singer from the stage show who had as much noledge as us she was surposed to be p&o representitive on the trip overseeing apparently the coach that got the women who was the guide said she was useless and gave no information about rome at all.............
Read philipsw285's full Britannia cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image cruisefan182
1 review
Aug 2016
The coach was on time and dropped us off next to the Colosseum. It is about 1.5 hours drive into Rome and back.
Read cruisefan182's full Oceana cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image kjkemp22
1 review
Aug 2016
Very expensive for a basic bus trip. Informative rep on bus. Slightly too long in Rome for us.
Read kjkemp22's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image maca+c
1 review
Aug 2016
Expensive with cruise line but as this was our first time in med we were unsure how easy it would be to do on our own. Tour guide was very helpful and informative. If we were fortunate to be again would do it independently as everything well signposted. Only criticism we could have done with more time in Rome
Read maca+c's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image gina bourne
1 review
Aug 2016
Booked with cruising excursions.com. All good. Just got a bus into the city. Book skip the line Colloseum tickets. there is time to go there and the forum. Then walk to Trevi fountain, pantheon and into Piazza Navona for lunch. Finally walk up to St peters square. We did all this from 9.30-3.30! Beware; many of the RCI excursions don't even go into the Coloseum!
Read gina bourne's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image peachymom
1 review
Aug 2016
We had booked another tour, which was cancelled. In this one, you get dropped at 3 spots to explore on your own. Not enough time to do any in depth, but then again, when all you have is a day, it's the best you can do/
Read peachymom's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image bevjc
1 review
Aug 2016
No info on operation or use of smart device. Order of trip changed - landmarks and comentary on way back instead of on way into rome.
Read bevjc's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image bc.murrie@talktalk.net
1 review
Aug 2016
Booked train tickets ourselves , walk/ underground . Saw a great deal .
Read bc.murrie@talktalk.net's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image richmal123
1 review
Aug 2016
Great guide giving loads of information on the coach journey. Ample time in Rome on a really hot day in August. Pre-booked the underground and third ring tour of Colosseum which was amazing, and then ate, then wandered around the Forum until time to go.
Read richmal123's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Maz636
1 review
Aug 2016
Tour guide was very nice and informative. We tried walking on our own but was tough as the street signs are limited. City is amazing-lots to see-could use a lot more time. People are not very friendly, went to a restaurant and had horrible service but didn't go to see them so it was cool. Lot of homeless and pick-pockets so just be wary.
Read Maz636's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image lisajmarron
1 review
Jul 2016
Did bus with guided walk to vatican,colisseum and trevi fountain area.long journey but day good.Nice restaurants just before the pantheon.Rome prices ok but v hot.citavecchia looked nice port.
Read lisajmarron's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image CCC+
1 review
Jul 2016
Walking tour on our own.
Read CCC+'s full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?