Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Rome (Civitavecchia) Rome on Your Own Excursion Reviews

Rome (Civitavecchia) Rome on Your Own cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Venture out on your own in Rome, a living museum with gorgeous artwork, amazing architecture and inspiring ancient sites -- yet alive and vibrant in a 21st-century way. It's an unforgettable city to visit and we'll warn you right now once you've experienced it you'll want to come back for more.
Member Image sagirits
1 review
Dec 2015
great day used open top bus saw pretty well every thing but a bit of a rush.
Read sagirits's full MSC Fantasia cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image Chris Tate
1 review
Oct 2015
Dropped at the Colesium with clear direction where to meet. We had a wheelchair, for my wife and found Rome easy to negotiate. We had also prebooked the tourist bus, this would have been cheaper booked on the day. Weather was torrential rain at times but still enjoyable.
Read Chris Tate's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: cruise excursions
Member Image nevilleward
1 review
Oct 2015
Shuttle was good and tour guide gave us maps and a briefing before letting us loose. We would have opted for the train though - online it was $129, but onboard is was only $40. By the time we realized it was too late to cancel the bus.
Read nevilleward's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image AnneOttawa
1 review
Oct 2015
Took the express train to Rome via the ship's excursion. Was great and we also got a free hop on hop off tour for one round visit. The trip back was unfortunately not so successful as the train was out of order so we were packed (and I mean packed) in like sardines to go back. Not their fault and did not let it spoil the trip but felt sorry for some of the seniors who had mobility issues. Rome was great, nice time of year to go as it was not so crowded and we walked to see as many sites as we could. Used the HOHO bus to go by the Colosseum as it was a little further to walk to.
Read AnneOttawa's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Richard Simpson
1 review
Oct 2015
A much more relaxed way to see Rome, at your own pace. We took an open topped bus tour and were able to get round and see all the significant attractions, and apparently Saturdays is a quiet day, so not to franetic, great day
Read Richard Simpson's full Island Escape cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image PRINTERATSEA
1 review
Oct 2015
Have to give a poor rating because of the quality of the coach. Air conditioning did not work properly and the drive was pretty uncomfortable. Getting back on in Rome was a shambles. Loved the actual time in Rome though
Read PRINTERATSEA's full Queen Elizabeth cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line
Member Image wilspain
1 review
Sep 2015
Long walk from the bus to the Colosseum meeting place.The guide advised us to take a blue bus tour which turned out to be a con as there were twice as many red buses. Eventually got off the bus at the Trevi fountain which was under restoration and off like most of Rome. Walked back to the Colosseum.
Read wilspain's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image BlueBonnet Gal
1 review
Sep 2015
Appreciated the information provided regarding getting around Rome, landmarks to try to see during our short excursion. We had adequate time to visit St. Peter's and Pantheon. Very disappointed we landed in Rome on Sunday because the Sistine Chapel was closed -- Viking, please reconsider scheduling Rome on Sunday!
Read BlueBonnet Gal's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image Jopoll
1 review
Aug 2015
We will return to Rome. This is a busy city and complete contrast to Florence. We went on a Sunday so the Vatican was closed and the Pope was suppose to be at his summer retreat - though he was spotted by our guide looking from a balcony from one of the back villas. This was the only tour that we were heavily advised about pickpockets. Our guide kept reiterating to be vigilant and keep possessions close. To validate her point as we got off our coach and another guide came up to our guide and warned her there was pick pockets by the outside entrance. Sure enough as we came outside there was two females undressing their many layers pulling out wallets, phones etc!!! We were all well warned now. As we were there only for the day we had to make a decision on whether we spent a lot of time at a few attractions or a bit of time at as many as possible, we chose the latter. We walked our socks off. There was a que at St Peters Basilica so chose to just view the square. We managed to see the Spanish steps, colosseum, forum, bridge of angels, palatine, piazza della rotonda, pantheon, piazza Navona, Hard Rock Cafe! The only disappointmen was the Trevi fountain, whilst beautiful it was not working!! Covered by scaffolding and net. We were very pleased to do Rome on our own, with our guide book in hand and good walking shoes, hat, water and sun cream we saw everything we wanted to and more. We were not timed to any particular limit and enjoyed the freedom. We had looked at the guided Rome tour and took a while to decide, but very glad we took advice from people who had visited Rome before and did it our way. It is easy to get around and with a good guide book you can truly capture Rome. An excellent day and we will return.
Read Jopoll's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image worldtraveler15
1 review
Aug 2015
left waiting after the rep told us a different time to the other travellers! good job I was on the ball and managed to sort it out. Unfortunately our rep was badly organised.
Read worldtraveler15's full Britannia cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image cruiseadvisor80
1 review
Aug 2015
If you've never been to Rome, book a guided tour. You can't see it all in a day, so follow the tour. We've been several times, so this tour was perfect for us - drops you off at the vatican, and then picks you up 8 hours later.
Read cruiseadvisor80's full Disney Magic cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image Ali R
1 review
Aug 2015
Basically transfer from port to Rome. Our guide, Massimo was charming and funny. We loved Rome - although not much time before having to return to the ship. Visting these ports gives you a taster for perhaps returning for a city break
Read Ali R's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image SturdyTraveller
1 review
Aug 2015
Nice train that takes you close to Vatican. Avoid Green Line Hop on Hop Off bus, that is the one the ship pushes. Intercomms inoperative, water doesn't drain on top deck (plugged drains). Long waits at some stops.
Read SturdyTraveller's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image sparky166
1 review
Jul 2015
not much to say really because we had to spend most of the time at the British Embassy to get Temporary Passports for our Grand children after being Mugged in Marseilles
Read sparky166's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Deep Thinking Fish
1 review
Jul 2015
Very informative Tour Guide on the way to Rome. Loads of facts. Bus dropped us close to the Piazza Navona, at the Ponte Umberto, so with a map (supplied) it's easy enough to navigate yourselves to the sites
Read Deep Thinking Fish's full Thomson Majesty cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image Lovetron
1 review
Jul 2015
Private train to St. Peter's station and the Vatican with Rome on our own. The city is amazing. An open air museum.
Read Lovetron's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Manifestjoy
1 review
Jul 2015
There wasn't enough time to see everything. We bought tickets for a hop-on hop-off bus which was a great way to get around. It was extremely hot day so we were slower walking pace than usual. Avoid summer.
Read Manifestjoy's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Sillywonker
1 review
Jul 2015
Don't hesitate a bit to book on your own. The cost is probably half, you have more time, and in our case was just the 4 of us in a very nice minivan. Giovanni was our guide in Rome. We had just been there one year before so had seen the major sites. My daughter is an art history major in college and Giovanni brought us to a lot of unique churches with works by the masters that we would have never found on our own. He taught my daughter a lot and is closer to a historian than a tour operator. We learned and saw more with him in one day than we had on our own on the previous trip for 4 days. Also brought us to a great lunch location that was our best meal in Italy.
Read Sillywonker's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Joe Banana
Member Image Therese Desjardins
1 review
Jul 2015
This travel agency was excellent with client services. However, I would have liked to receive this appreciation questionnaire directly to my e-mail address as they do not pass on your evaluation to us. I had to search for it and call Celebrity directly and wait a long time on line to get an agent who finally told me where to go on your site. This should be more obvious to find when attempting to find it ourself on your website.
Read Therese Desjardins's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Voyages à rabais, Québec Canada
Member Image mossergirl
1 review
Jul 2015
Coliseum was amazing Bought the special underground tour and the tip top tour...worth it !
Read mossergirl's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image jade939
1 review
Jun 2015
take a cooking class for something totally different!
Read jade939's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image cgsevenoaks
1 review
Jun 2015
we went by train to Rome then did a segway tour which was fun
Read cgsevenoaks's full MSC Preziosa cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image Sheila0824
1 review
Jun 2015
Rome is amazing. My niece spent 6 months there and gave us an itinerary. After being driven in, we started at the Vatican, visited Pantheon, Coliseum, Palatine Hills, Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps. Enjoyed Gelato, Pizza, Pasta, Cappuccino, etc. Need to go back but thoroughly enjoyed!
Read Sheila0824's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Driver from Rome
Member Image AlabamaBeachCat
1 review
Jun 2015
We were told that this was wheelchair accessible, as long as they could walk "a few steps". The tour bus was not equipped for a wheelchair. My traveling companion had to climb up 5 steep steps into the bus, with me literally lifting her legs onto each step. She was exhausted by the time we got on the bus. Thankfully, they moved passengers out of the front seat so she wouldn't have to try to get down the aisle to the first available seat, which was near the back. They need to supply tour buses with wheelchair lifts.
Read AlabamaBeachCat's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image shelbelle99
3 reviews
Jun 2015
Great to do things on your own. Train to rome cheap and fast
Read shelbelle99's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

 
Have you taken a cruise before?
Thank you!

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.