Rome (Civitavecchia) Rome on Your Own Excursion Reviews

Rome (Civitavecchia) Rome on Your Own cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Venture out on your own in Rome, a living museum with gorgeous artwork, amazing architecture and inspiring ancient sites -- yet alive and vibrant in a 21st-century way. It's an unforgettable city to visit and we'll warn you right now once you've experienced it you'll want to come back for more.
Member Image richmal123
1 review
Aug 2016
Great guide giving loads of information on the coach journey. Ample time in Rome on a really hot day in August. Pre-booked the underground and third ring tour of Colosseum which was amazing, and then ate, then wandered around the Forum until time to go.
Read richmal123's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Maz636
1 review
Aug 2016
Tour guide was very nice and informative. We tried walking on our own but was tough as the street signs are limited. City is amazing-lots to see-could use a lot more time. People are not very friendly, went to a restaurant and had horrible service but didn't go to see them so it was cool. Lot of homeless and pick-pockets so just be wary.
Read Maz636's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image lisajmarron
1 review
Jul 2016
Did bus with guided walk to vatican,colisseum and trevi fountain area.long journey but day good.Nice restaurants just before the pantheon.Rome prices ok but v hot.citavecchia looked nice port.
Read lisajmarron's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image CCC+
1 review
Jul 2016
Walking tour on our own.
Read CCC+'s full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image luluguiness72
2 reviews
Jul 2016
Was ok but overpriced. Then the coach was late back so we had to wait in an underground bus depot for almost an hour in hot conditions with lots of fumes!
Read luluguiness72's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image ThirtiesCruiser
2 reviews
Jul 2016
Don't expect to go into places but you will have great time walking the city and seeing the sights.
Read ThirtiesCruiser's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image happyonaship
3 reviews
Jul 2016
Really, all we wanted was the coach into Rome and the coach back so that we would not have to worry about getting to the ship before it departed. We made arrangements for tickets to MAXXI - the Museum of Twenty-first Century Art, an architectural masterpiece by the late Zaha Hadid. In truth, we went to see the building, but the collections are very interesting as well. We were also able to sit and have a cappucino and a delicious pastry in a nearby cafe while waiting for the museum to open. Advice: we used the ultra-confusing website to purchase our tickets in advance. However, as opposed to the Picasso Museum in Barcelona, for which purchasing tickets in advance enables you to side-step the line-up, here we had to line up anyway to trade in our online "tickets" for museum tickets. However, we were here early - before the museum opened, in fact - and there was not a long line since it is not a highly publicized tourist spot. If you are a fan of contemporary art and architecture, it is well worth a visit. But don't bother to buy tickets online in advance.
Read happyonaship's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Surreydeb
1 review
Jul 2016
Coach to Rome and then independent. We were given a smart device with information about places of interest etc, to take pictures on and e mail to ourselves and for contacting the guide. Lovely day.
Read Surreydeb's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image tshort
1 review
Jul 2016
We did one of the "Rome on Your Own"-type tours, that bussed us to three different locations. It would have been nice if there were more time at the Colosseum; we bought our tickets ahead of time, but there wasn't enough time to go into the Forum.
Read tshort's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image dws1968@gmail.com
1 review
Jul 2016
Great coach, air conditioned and nice tour guide. Dropped off in Rome and told when to report back. Basic but worth it.
Read dws1968@gmail.com's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image jeanbill
4 reviews
Jul 2016
Good excusion, Glad we did it on our own although lots of walking, the bus drops you at the Marcello theatre quite near the Colleseum, walked to the Trevvie fountain spanish steps and down the long mainstreet.
Read jeanbill's full Ventura cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image trvlgirlmq
2 reviews
Jun 2016
We booked a bus transfer with others from our social media group. The drive in was uneventful and we were dropped close to the Coliseum. Our only plan for the day was the Vatican Museum and St Peter's. We easily got a taxi and used our prepurchased tickets to avoid the long line outside the museum. We spent about 4 hours touring and then had lunch and gathered back at our meeting spot. The bus driver was 45 minutes late but we left at the same time as the ship excursions (all the busses were in the same parking garage).
Read trvlgirlmq's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Georgia'smom
1 review
Jun 2016
Rome is great, just getting there takes so much time! We purchased the bus transportation to Rome - it was good as it was no worry that we would not make it back in time to the ship/also no worry about pickpockets (!!) , but ride was long, wait for bus at designated time/meeting place was long. We had enough time in Rome to wait in line to see St. Peter's Basilica, walk to the Trevi Fountain, and have a nice lunch.
Read Georgia'smom's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image ndwest04
2 reviews
Jun 2016
Great experience. Wished we could've had more time on our own!
Read ndwest04's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image drewlin
1 review
Jun 2016
Drop off and pick up at the Colosseum on time. Suited us well as we wanted to explore the Palatino, Roman Forum and Colosseum so this was ideal. As it was the first Sunday in the month, the tickets are free and couldn't be pre-ordered. Top tip if the queues for the Colosseum are long (4 hours in our case!) then get your ticket from Palatino (no queue in our case) which gives you entry to all these sites. Do the Palatino first which flows into the Roman Forum and then find the queue for people with tickets (difficult with many people) and get in in around 20 minutes which is mainly to get through security. Avoid the ticket touts with their 'jump the queue' for 20euros per person (paying for a guide and group) as they took the same 20 minutes to go through (unless you want to)!
Read drewlin's full MSC Preziosa cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image Maggott
1 review
May 2016
Bus tour of Rome and then free time to explore...
Read Maggott's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Llanfairpg
1 review
May 2016
Gets you into Rome and out again (barring late italian Ladies). Gave us time to visit the Forum and Palatine Hill. The 1.5 hour coach journey to get there can be tiring and there is just too much to see of Rome in this way (but we'd spent a long weekend there before - so just wanted a guided tour of the Forum)
Read Llanfairpg's full MSC Armonia cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image Tahoebabe23
1 review
May 2016
Our excursions and hotel stay at the Grand Hotel de Minerva was very good and would highly recommend.
Read Tahoebabe23's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Ciao Italy / I love Rome
Member Image MadamII
1 review
May 2016
Liked having my own time to explore on my own.
Read MadamII's full Riviera cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image Miss Nomer
1 review
May 2016
See review
Read Miss Nomer's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: On our own, but we did book Segway Rome
Member Image bullysu
1 review
May 2016
felt the 75 dollars per head, was far too much just for a lift to and from rome. sadly we also wasted money paying for a 'fast track' in the the vattican museum, as it took 90 minutes to get in there, after having to stand in the blaring sunshine, due to bad organisation, it would have been quicker to just queue
Read bullysu's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Lisakauai
2 reviews
May 2016
We "hitched" a ride into Rome, visited the Vatican and walked around the town. It was amazing!
Read Lisakauai's full Ovation of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image hjb123
1 review
May 2016
We enjoyed walking to areas of Rome away from the tourist crowds.
Read hjb123's full Ovation of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image hook120
1 review
Apr 2016
excellent visited so many places in one day... was incredible
Read hook120's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: share a shore
Member Image ccfandango
1 review
Apr 2016
Tour was too short, allowed seven hors total but took almost four of those to and from ship and then another hours walking to and from bus drop off pick up point with elderly parents who struggled to walk. Then held up in Rome traffic so did not get to either Coloseum or Vatican. Need to either focus on one sight or go on tour which includes a few but is more extended in time. Port is a fair way out of Rome, maybe organising local taxi better option ( or stay a few days ideally as too big to "see" in a day.
Read ccfandango's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?