St. Thomas Magen Bay Beach Excursion Reviews

St. Thomas Magen Bay Beach cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Arguably St. Thomas' most gorgeous and calmest beach, Magen Bay includes a bar, a cafeteria-style eatery, and one of the islands best shops for beach wear. A small admission fee is well worth it!
Member Image JimmyTheShoe
1 review
Feb 2017
Nothing spectacular. On the dirty side
Read JimmyTheShoe's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Took a taxi
Member Image PattiT
1 review
Feb 2017
We got there early and got a good spot with tables under trees. It got very crowded later on. We brought snorkel equipment but never saw any fish. We had a very enjoyable day on the beach and even got pizza for lunch which was quite good. Beverages were reasonably priced.
Read PattiT's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image lfrommer
1 review
Feb 2017
Beautiful beach! Clean and not as crowded if you go farther past the gates. There is quite a lot of parking lot if you keep going!
Read lfrommer's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image PRechul
1 review
Jan 2017
Bad experience at the beach with the "rental" shop. The shop keeper told me with an attitude "This is a public beach not the Ritz Carlton". Staff who handled the beach chairs out on the beach were very "lazy" and not helpful.
Read PRechul's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image bubba40
1 review
Jan 2017
Had a great, extensive and informative bus tour with some good beach time. Really enjoyed this excursion.
Read bubba40's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image mevs904
1 review
Jan 2017
Beautiful beach. Loved the combination of beach and shopping.
Read mevs904's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image WFlakus
1 review
Jan 2017
This beach was pretty peaceful. The water was a bit colder than I expected.
Read WFlakus's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image BethBLove2Cruise
1 review
Jan 2017
Beauitful beach. Nice drive to get there.
Read BethBLove2Cruise's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: taxi
Member Image DaveOB
1 review
Jan 2017
Been to Magen's Bay and had good experiences. This time it was not good. Water was full of seaweed and algue. Water was murky.
Read DaveOB's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Bobbyblue2005
1 review
Jan 2017
wonderful day at one 10 top beaches in the world
Read Bobbyblue2005's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image dancezee
1 review
Jan 2017
our Kon Tiki tour was cancelled, so we went to Magen's Bay Beach. It was okay, but the bus driver almost left us. He was at the other end of the parking lot and no one knew.
Read dancezee's full Norwegian Breakaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image hthieme0805
1 review
Dec 2016
$5/person to get into the beach & about the same price per person to/from taxi service. Beautiful beach
Read hthieme0805's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image dobelover
2 reviews
Dec 2016
Got what we paid for. Transportation to and from the beach and entrance to Magen Bay Beach.
Read dobelover's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image goldendelicious77
1 review
Dec 2016
We basically paid $49.00 per person to be herded onto an open safari bus and then driven up some crazy roads then dropped off for 2 hours to swim at the beach.
Read goldendelicious77's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image booksnbrains
1 review
Dec 2016
The beach was beautiful, the water clear and there were even some turtles. I didn't like having to walk down the beach and drag my own rented chairs back and forth in order to get the deposit back.
Read booksnbrains's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image blaster_54738
1 review
Nov 2016
The island seemed dirty. Our bus driver didn't give much information. The beach, I don't feel, should be on the top 10 beaches. It's pretty much a self guided tour getting back which was disappointing. Shopping was good however.
Read blaster_54738's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image mpco28
1 review
Nov 2016
One of the best beaches. Skip the excursion price and just grab a cab to the bay. It's usually $8.00 per person for the cab (each way) and $5.00 per person to get into the beach. There is food and optional rentals available once there.
Read mpco28's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image joycheat
1 review
Nov 2016
Beautiful Beach. Was unhappy to find that beach chairs needed to be rented. Used picnic table instead. Beautiful beach. Best part was the trolley ride to and from.
Read joycheat's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image bmairs
1 review
Nov 2016
WOW! 1.5Km of sugar sand beach with bar service to hip deep in the water. Transportation was great (thanks again Caesar) as we could not imagine driving that road>
Read bmairs's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image barmongar
1 review
Nov 2016
Quiet, clean beautiful beach. Wish we had more time to spend there.
Read barmongar's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Carlos Gonzalez
1 review
Nov 2016
Got our excursion with the cruise line, took us to a very calm and beautiful beach which has bartenders on the shore.
Read Carlos Gonzalez's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image sewickleymom
1 review
Nov 2016
Loved this beach! I would recommend booking through the cruise line for this excursion rather than getting there independently. It seemed that there were not that many cabs in this out of the way location and getting back reliably may be an issue.
Read sewickleymom's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Cruisinhomes
1 review
Oct 2016
Magen's bay was breathtaking and St Thomas was beautiful.
Read Cruisinhomes's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image selzhouses
1 review
Oct 2016
Just took a taxi to Megan's Bay as it has been a few years since we visited that particular beach. Spent a nice couple of hours relaxing and then took a taxi to town to do some shopping.
Read selzhouses's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: taxi
Member Image Juanitavip
1 review
Oct 2016
It was ok but for not really worth the cost. It was pretty much a taxi ride to the bay and to blackboards island with no return taxi. Not much bang for our buvk
Read Juanitavip's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?