Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

St. Thomas Magen Bay Beach Excursion Reviews

St. Thomas Magen Bay Beach cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Arguably St. Thomas' most gorgeous and calmest beach, Magen Bay includes a bar, a cafeteria-style eatery, and one of the islands best shops for beach wear. A small admission fee is well worth it!
Member Image RZM
1 review
Oct 2014

We did a combination of Magen Bay Beach and shopping. I can see why this beach is among the nicest in the world, crystal clear waters and nice, white sand. Shopping was a little costly but it was our choice and even though you are often solicited to go into the fine jewellery stores, everyone is respectful.

Read RZM's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Jeske9979
1 review
Oct 2014

It was ok. Next time I wouldn't bother getting off the ship in st Thomas.

Read Jeske9979's full Carnival Sunshine cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image Lmn1996
1 review
Jul 2014

Beautiful beach. The banana daiquiris were awesome. I wish we would have had longer to be there..

Read Lmn1996's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image mugga123
2 reviews
Not Rated
Apr 2014

Drove around the island with amazing scenery. Shopped for several hours. Stopped at Magens Bay for 2+ hours to swim. Beautiful water and fine sand. Drove to Mountain Top for banana daiquiris and more breathtaking scenery. Our driver was very informative. I really enjoyed the tour.

Read mugga123's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Saltwaterdevotee
4 reviews
Mar 2014

Absolutely the worst shore excursion ever! The beach was overcrowded and we had been delivered there in an open seating bus which had seen better days. Going downhill enroute, we could smell the brakes. Positively sickening. Arriving at the beach there was little room for a lounge chair but in order to secure one, not included in the price of that excursion, you had to go into the gift shop and pay, not only for the chair but leave a deposit so that you wouldn't later share it. They took your ship and cabin number just to make sure. Then you had to go outside and give the slip to another person who presented you with a cruddy old lounge that had definitely seen better days. It was up to you to drag it up the beach to the first available empty space on the sand. Afterwards, you had to drag it back down the beach to have it marked as returned, then go back to the gift shop to get your deposit back. My advice is to avoid this excursion at all costs. It was disgusting.

Read Saltwaterdevotee's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image aoverallrn
1 review
Not Rated
Mar 2014

Gorgeous! Nice and spacious so you don't feel super crowded even though there's a lot of people there.

Read aoverallrn's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Islasbubbe
1 review
Mar 2014

Combined with island tour. Very disappointing beach. Awful restaurant and bar. Had to drag our rented chairs to where we wanted to sit and then to return.

Read Islasbubbe's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Donald1946
1 review
Feb 2014

Beautiful but crowded!!

Read Donald1946's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image mychickadee
1 review
Feb 2014

nice to see and go into the warm aqua blue water, small beach but okay.

Read mychickadee's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: part of taxi tour
Member Image wshaw859
1 review
Dec 2013

Overall, the Sonny Liston shopping-beach tour was good. With caveats. They picked us up on time and got us back to the boat on time. The Magen's Bay Beach was chosen by the driver and the charge of $4 per person was required. We could have gone to Sapphire Beach, but Elvis (the driver) said it was too rough as it was on the Atlantic. I didn't like Magen Bay Beach - there was trash everywhere, the public facilities nasty, it was crowded and there were no waves. The driver picked us up at the right time but then took us on a long ride to the other side of the island because he needed to "find one guy". This became annoying as the delay took us back to the ship as darkness began and the driving was, at times, quite scary.

Read wshaw859's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Sonny Liston Tours
Member Image mew1
7 reviews
Nov 2013

Megan beach was amazing and beautiful and we enjoyed swimming and the facilities were very nice. Great few hours.

Read mew1's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Flatworld
2 reviews
Nov 2013

We booked a ship excursion in St. Thomas, touring around the island in an open-air truck and making a brief visit to St. Peter Greathouse and Botanical Gardens before returning to Charlotte Amalie to do some shopping.

Read Flatworld's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image copref
5 reviews
Oct 2013

nice quiet beach with changing facilities. We did not utilize the shopping portion and went back to the ship. From there, we strolled through the shops and went to a very boisterous Senor Frogs. Had a great time there.

Read copref's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image jwildman
1 review
Jun 2013

Beautiful scenery and the water was great. Wish I could say that fir the people working there.

Read jwildman's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image lindakay13
1 review
Apr 2013
Awful. 7 Ships in port created traffic gridlock. Streets are terrible. Not much to see. Beach was packed and restaurant and bar were packed so we packed up and took a taxi to town immediately. Town crowded so we took a taxi back to the ship which was a much better place to be.
Read lindakay13's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image ATLJFL
4 reviews
Not Rated
Apr 2013
Very well timed and organized. Tour guide was Troy Benjamin and very informative and friendly
Read ATLJFL's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image bagelmom6
1 review
Apr 2013

We took the Magens Bay and Blackbeard's Castle excursion. We loved, loved, loved Magens Bay. It's my new favorite beach. It was absolutely beautiful and the water was perfect. We were lucky that only two ships were in port. I imagine that it can get packed when there are several ships in port but it was perfect the day we were there. We didn't want to leave. Blackbeard's Castle was fun but we didn't have long enough there. We walked through each place pretty quickly and we spent about 15 minutes in the pool. I would love to go back and spend a few hours there. There was one very strange thing there. Everything seems to be from around the 1800's and then suddenly you enter a dark room with a big dinosaur roaring. My daughter was terrified and started screaming and crying. It was very out of place. My mom and I enjoyed a couple of Bushwacker's at the bar at the bottom of the hill. Other than the dinosaur, we enjoyed Blackbeard's Castle and would go back.

Read bagelmom6's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image rubysue
10 reviews
Mar 2013
We enjoyed a few hours relaxing at this beautiful beach.
Read rubysue's full Disney Fantasy cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image RobertScottMason
3 reviews
Feb 2013
Expected to be overwhelmed with awesomeness after all the hype. Enjoyed watching pelicans dive for fish.
Read RobertScottMason's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image Bluenose Cruiser
1 review
Feb 2013
Great value booking this tour through Carnival. St. Thomas - always beautiful - took the Megan's Bay/City Shopping Carnival Excursion and it was easy to find it upon leaving the ship Megan's Bay is not great snorkeling if you are looking for that - but a beautiful beach non the less.
Read Bluenose Cruiser's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image egfel
1 review
Jan 2013
St Thomas has one of the most beautiful beaches I have ever seen. The water is Turquoise Blue and so tranquil. The beach was beautiful and relaxing
Read egfel's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image yiye34
2 reviews
Jan 2013
Initially we booked St. John snorkeling and beach break. The morning when we arrived St. Thomas, we were told the excursion was cancelled due to mechanical problems. We called Concierge and they were able to help us booking the St. Thomas tour with Magens Beach break quickly. It's a nice excursion with three parts - first you are taken by open-air safari bus to a couple of vantage points with views of gorgeous St. Thomas port and Magen's beach. Second you are taken to Magen's beach and get to spend ~2 hours there. Magen's beach is quite nice but I don't believe it's too extraordinary for Caribbean beaches. The final stop is at Black Beard's castle - it is actually a quite large complex built on the side of the slope facing the port. Very nice scenery and relaxing museum. Highly recommended. We then dined at Glady's per recommendation from someone in the castle - food was good but price very high! After that we walked back to the ship - took us about 30 minutes easy stroke with very nice view along the way. Definitely beats stuck in the traffic.
Read yiye34's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Snowconewitch
1 review
Jan 2013
An interesting drive with "Fever" the tour guide. A wild ride in the jeep up the hill for a scenic view. Beautiful. The beach was pretty crowded and it rained. Still it was palm trees and pretty water-lovely. We were dropped off down town for a bit of shopping. Very crowded but interesting shops to look in.
Read Snowconewitch's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image renejim
1 review
Dec 2012
Meagan's Bay was nice, and for the price worth it. We took open air cars seating about 25 on a 30 minutes plus trip to Meagan's Bay, and though the driver described things we passed, his voice was garbled and we really didn't understand him. The water was beautiful and calm. The driver advised us that since there were so many shade trees and the sand was white and clean we shouldn't bother to rent a lounge chair. "Just find a shady spot and lay down your towel" This worked for me! We stopped on the way back for pics, and if you wanted to shop, he dropped you off with instructions about getting a cab back to the ship.
Read renejim's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image seagrams82
2 reviews
Dec 2012
We were with other Cruise Critic members on this tour. We got to choose a start time from the ship to the downtown "shopping" area where we were on our own. Then Godfrey picked us up at noon for the island tour that ended up at Magen Bay Beach. We chose the 9 am pick up and shopped and then visited the local synagogue there. Godfrey had a cold and apologized but he was still very good even though his voice was giving out a little. Beautiful island and beach. Most of the other people chose Cokie Beach (sp) for snorkeling but we heard that was only ok, whereas we really enjoyed Magen Bay Beach. It was very quiet and a slow ship day. I think there were only 2 ships in port that day but sometimes there are 10 or more. Godfrey supplied water, but you were on your own for food. I would recommend taking a box of Cheerios or other cereal from the ship to hold you over or you can buy food but it was late by the time we could have bought food. Also take note of the time. There was a lot of construction and we barely made it back by 4:30 for a 5 pm departure. He was great about finding a short cut to get us back on time as he was very mindful but the road was very winding and we were a little rushed so it was an adventure. We do recommend him.
Read seagrams82's full Carnival Victory cruise review
Provider: Godfrey Tours
Member Image chesapeake_traveler
3 reviews
Dec 2012
In St. Thomas, the ship was docked at Crown Bay which I did not like because there is nothing to see or do there. The port at Long Bay is located next to the best shopping in St. Thomas. The morning snorkel excursion with sea turtles and stingrays was amazing. In the afternoon, I took a horrible open-air safari taxi to Megan's Beach. The beach was crowded, but I thoroughly enjoyed delicious pizza and rum punch at the local bar. I took a different taxi back to the ship. The taxi fare to Megan's Beach was $19.00 per person, a complete rip off considering that they squeeze up to 25 people in one taxi. That's a total of $475 for a 15 minute ride through downtown, and they also expect a tip. Cruisers beware.
Read chesapeake_traveler's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image maachi
4 reviews
Dec 2012
Tour was very short and over priced. Take this tour thru t he Tourist Desk at the Terminal Instead.
Read maachi's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Southwoods
4 reviews
Nov 2012
Beach was void loungers and umbrellas, where we were forced to use our meager ship pool towels to lay upon the sand. The water was remarkably clear and the sand smooth.
Read Southwoods's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image bibiinri
3 reviews
Not Rated
Oct 2012
Coral World was fine, nothing special. Megans Bay was beautiful and a terrific swimming bay. We rented lounge chairs for not much money and just relaxed and enjoyed!
Read bibiinri's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image JaYbarra2086
1 review
Oct 2012
At St. Thomas we got a taxi and went to Magen's Bay. We filled a taxi with our group so we paid $6 a person, then it was $4 a person to get into the beach. Once you get there you can lay out on the sand or rent beach chairs for the day. The water here is crystal clear and the temperature is perfect! After lounging around in the water for awhile we hit up the bar/ restaurant for some food and drinks. We got back in the water and it decided to rain, i mean pour on us for about 5-10 minutes but no one seemed to mind so we all just stayed in the water. This happened a few times throughout the day but didn't ruin anything it is still a beautiful beach and we had a awesome time here.
Read JaYbarra2086's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image rotorhead1
1 review
Oct 2012
St Thomas is good for shopping. Downtown is a little better tha Havensight pier. Magen's bay is a beautiful beach. Be sure to have a 'Pain Killer'. St Joh tour is cool also. Don't drink the Sour Sap.
Read rotorhead1's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image bushmouse
3 reviews
Oct 2012

Magen's Bay is beautiful--go if you get the chance.

Read bushmouse's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image Mrsdstewart
1 review
Sep 2012
We did a combination of shopping and beach tour. Next time we'll just take a cab to the beach which was a bit of paradise here on earth. Absolutely loved it!
Read Mrsdstewart's full Carnival Miracle cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image Hardy95
3 reviews
Feb 2012
Megan's Bay was a beautiful area, but we wish we had known what little time we would end up having here. We would have loved to have spent more time here. Once we got back on our tour bus (America was our driver and she did a great job), she took us down to the shopping district, the market area. They have tons of makeshift tent/booth type area. We did end up buying some souvenirs, but everyone wants you to buy from them. They are willing to barter a little. Loved all the colorful buildings and architecture. From here, we caught some type of shuttle from there back to the port and checked out a few more shops. By the way, while at Magen's Bay, we got cell reception and was able to call home to the states, which was a treat.
Read Hardy95's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.