Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

St. Thomas Magen Bay Beach Excursion Reviews

St. Thomas Magen Bay Beach cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Arguably St. Thomas' most gorgeous and calmest beach, Magen Bay includes a bar, a cafeteria-style eatery, and one of the islands best shops for beach wear. A small admission fee is well worth it!
Member Image Zevo
2 reviews
Mar 2016
This was a great excursion. Open air bus to Magen's Bay. Approx. 1.5 hrs. of beach time. Than off to the shopping district. Had lunch at a little restaurant called Cousins. Very good. Lunch was not included.
Read Zevo's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image ellenoneil
1 review
Mar 2016
Gorgeous beach, beautiful water. Nice bar with good snacks. Travelling with a wheelchair and asked the driver to let us off at the restaurant, which he denied.
Read ellenoneil's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image bestgirl
1 review
Feb 2016
Stunning Waters. Beautiful !
Read bestgirl's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image rosanphs@gmail.com
1 review
Feb 2016
Beautiful Beach.
Read rosanphs@gmail.com's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Tagong
3 reviews
Jan 2016
Magen's is beautiful but extremely busy with six ships in port. We'd only go back if less ships were in port. See review for more detail.
Read Tagong's full Disney Fantasy cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image mitzframe
1 review
Jan 2016
Very nice beach! We payed $39 per person for this, which, even though our 2yr old was free, can still get expensive when you have 5ppl to pay for. We talked to some other people who took a cab for $7/person and the only thing they missed was the viewpoint, which I'm sure for $10 each the taxi would've taken them there as well since it was just past the bay turnoff. The tour buses seemed to have decent truck style body's on the front but the back where we sit is all torn up and we weren't sure the truck was going to make it up some of the hills. All the roads are very compact and they all drive crazy! Our driver hit the mirror of a car parked on the side of the road and didn't even think twice about it.
Read mitzframe's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image kkerr1313
1 review
Jan 2016
Great beach for a nice relaxing morning!
Read kkerr1313's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image declansdad
1 review
Dec 2015
Scenic drive and great beach
Read declansdad's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Reddy2sail
7 reviews
Dec 2015
This was one of the ugliest dirtiest beaches I've ever seen. We considered staying on the bus when we pulled into what looked like an overcrowded campground. It was smelly, dirty, crowded. Yes, from AFAR the view is pretty but the bathrooms are nasty the bar and restaurant dirty, the sand is not pretty and I can't believe they charge an admission ... for what ??? UGH don't waste your money. I may be a bit of a beach snob - we are lucky to live on a beautiful beach in Florida near Clearwater and have visited many others that are truly beautiful in Hawaii, California, the Caymans, Orient Beach in St. Martin, Passion Island in Cozumel ... this is not remotely as good as any of those and probably many others. A total waste of time in our opinion and just way too dirty and smelly. We did get off the bus and have a beer but couldn't wait to return to the ship.
Read Reddy2sail's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Belindaaussie
1 review
Dec 2015
We rented a car with Budget which was located directly at the port. Managed to figure out the sketchy narrow roads and drove to Magen Bay which was just beautiful. Had a rum punch and got some sun.
Read Belindaaussie's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Car rental Budget
Member Image sailing sisters
1 review
Nov 2015
It was supposed to be Magen Bay Beach and tour of St. John. The beach was closed because heavy rains the night before washed contamination into the water. What I saw of St. John was depressing. I felt like the entire place was dirty and a slum area.
Read sailing sisters's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image BeachLover68
1 review
Oct 2015
Beautiful beach with a bar and food (although expensive). The water is calm and clear and we had turtles swimming close to us. There's snorkeling there too although we didn't take advantage of that.
Read BeachLover68's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image GinaB910
1 review
Oct 2015
GORGEOUS beach, good time management, driver knowledgable and friendly, friendly locals, lots of great shopping
Read GinaB910's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image versaco46
1 review
Oct 2015
Excellent & cheap transportation from & to ship with set island prices.
Read versaco46's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Karen4120
1 review
Sep 2015
Just wish it was longer than 2 hours! We did the 2 hour beach with 2 hour shopping . Next time all beach. The shopping area was crazy and they were all over us trying to sell
Read Karen4120's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image missrobin
1 review
Sep 2015
It was our third visit to Magen Bay Beach. It's beautiful!
Read missrobin's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image jcronin3175
1 review
Jul 2015
Great time, as always.
Read jcronin3175's full Carnival Splendor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Auntyk1965
1 review
Jul 2015
Beautiful beach , beautiful island and we loved shopping at the local market.
Read Auntyk1965's full Carnival Valor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image ngamark
2 reviews
Jun 2015
Beach was a little smaller than anticipated and the drive over the mountain isn't for the faint of heart. But a very nice experience.
Read ngamark's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image dmchun
1 review
Jun 2015
Just take a cab to the beach for $8 each way per person (plenty going.. just walk off the pier for few minutes and follow the direction).. and $4 for the beach entrance per person.. it's one of the 10 best beaches of the world so it's worth a visit if you haven't been there.. No need to book it through the ship..
Read dmchun's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Self Cab
Member Image Rachelleleigh
1 review
Jun 2015
Beach is not as pretty as I expected based on its description. We didn't have very much time to spend at the beach once there.
Read Rachelleleigh's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image leeb331
2 reviews
Jun 2015
Very good tour. Booked because of recommendations from other crusiers on this site. Our driver was Elvis and he was wonderful. Would highly recommend this tour Shopping, tour of city and up to the top of the mountain and a 2 hr stop at Magen Bay for some swimming.
Read leeb331's full Carnival Splendor cruise review
Provider: Sunny Liston
Member Image Saraimari
1 review
May 2015
this is not to be missed. Paradise by any other name. We had a great time and the staff was great. The facilities were clean and getting to and form Magen Bay was a breeze. You can take a cab right from the the port. It was $16 round trip and the driver was very informative and friendly. The beach was pristine and not overly crowded.
Read Saraimari's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image hhmom
1 review
May 2015
Nice beach. Not too crowded. Snack bar. Chairs for rent. Bathrooms.
Read hhmom's full Carnival Liberty cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image traveler301
1 review
May 2015
In general the tour is a ride to the Magen beach no more no less. It suppose to stop for some photo ops above the bay but I guess our driver did not thought it is too important for us. The beach is very nice , it was not crowded and two hours was enough for us to enjoy it.
Read traveler301's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.