Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Ketchikan Totem Bight State Park Excursion Reviews

Ketchikan Totem Bight State Park cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Parks such as Ketchikan Totem Bight State Park feature recreated Native Alaskan villages with traditional homes for a taste of native history and mythology.
Member Image JnA mom
1 review
Sep 2015
Meh -it was ok. Seemed to drag on and on. Would have preferred a shorter self guided tour of the park.
Read JnA mom's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image mgoblue72
1 review
Aug 2015
Go on the public transportation. It's only $1 on the bus. Don't book a tour for this. It's not needed.
Read mgoblue72's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Alaska bucketlist
1 review
Aug 2015
Interesting but I'm sure better options. Tight on time.
Read Alaska bucketlist's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Rafavila
1 review
Jul 2015
Very interesting.
Read Rafavila's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image JJca
1 review
Jul 2015
Small museum but interesting. Staff is very attentive and knowledgable
Read JJca's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image CBH52
2 reviews
Jul 2015
We were taken by van to see some trees where eagles hang out. i saw them in the trees as we cruised into the harbor. They sometimes you can see bear but we weren't so luck that day. Went to the totem pole park then dropped off at Dolly's House. Walked back to ship which was very close.
Read CBH52's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image db7425
1 review
Jun 2015
Very informative. Learned a lot about the history of the Totem poles
Read db7425's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Frank34
1 review
Jun 2015
This was kind of slow and boring. It was led by a tour guide named Mary who was inaccurate and a little bossy.
Read Frank34's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Sandy from TX
1 review
May 2015
Tour guide was very knowledgeable and learned much about native culture and totem poles, enjoyed the easy narrated walk through the park. This was a combination tour which included city highlights.
Read Sandy from TX's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Sewingbear2
1 review
May 2015
Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and informative. The walk was nice and flat and there were benches placed close by for those who needed to sit. The tour was at a pace that was very relaxing. Learned a lot about Totem's and how they are made and what they represent. Recommend this to everyone!
Read Sewingbear2's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image cruise1234
2 reviews
May 2015
We had an awesome tour guide, she worked the audience and provided the appropriate information on the totem poles as we walked through the park. The stories seemed a but suspicious but the history of totems holds some religious aspects.
Read cruise1234's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image lrichards
1 review
May 2015
The totem park was good probably wouldn't do it again. I suppose I expected a little more and wasn't expecting a fauna tour and the guide was very knowledgable.
Read lrichards's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image zetaome
2 reviews
Not Rated
Sep 2014

We had a wonderful driver/guide for this part of the tour. He took us on a brief tour of the city, then brought us out to Totem Bight State Park.

Once at the park, he led us on a tour through the woods, and described in detail everything we were seeing. He told wonderful stories about different totems, and even entertained us with stories on the return bus ride.

The path way is uneven and although there are benches scattered throughout, I don't think they are close enough together for someone that would have trouble walking.

Read zetaome's full Carnival Miracle cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image cruzin4
4 reviews
Not Rated
Jun 2014

great way to learn about the native cultures of the Pacific Northwest. It is a short tour. Our tour guide was very nice and knowledgeable .

Read cruzin4's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image 56suzy
1 review
Jun 2014

We took the public bus line to Totem Bight State park ($1 per person, one way). The bus runs on the hour. We viewed the Totem poles and the Clan house well with in an hour. May have spent longer there but the rain was miserable. Don't miss the totem and souvenir next door to the park. This place is a museum in of itself with old cars and guns.

Read 56suzy's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image dosi33
1 review
Not Rated
May 2014

We did the Totems, Eagles, and Lighthouses tour through ShoreTrips. The scenery was absolutely beautiful and I was especially glad that they provided binoculars for us to use. We got great pictures of the totem poles and tons of gorgeous eagle shots. I was a little disappointed in the lighthouse though. It seemed pretty modern and was not nearly as "romantic" as the one's on the Georgia coast. The guides were very friendly and helped us find the animals and other interesting things to see.

Read dosi33's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Shore Trips
Member Image John C of SC
1 review
Aug 2013

We had a very knowledgeable and friendly tour guide. The excursion ened with a lumberjack show, which was sort of corney, but still very enjoyable.

Read John C of SC's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image SnowBird Cruzer
4 reviews
Aug 2013

We rented a car from First City Car Rental. He met us under the "Welcome to Ketchikan" sign and after signing some papers, we were on our way! We drove up the one and only highway to Ward Lake Campground and hiked around said lake. The salmon were spawning. We didn't see any bear, but we did encounter some fresh scat though! One pile was VERY fresh, and aromatic.
We also visited Settler's Creek and Totem Bight. Settler's Creek has an easy 1/4 mile hike to a beautiful step waterfall. Lots of salmon trying to get upstream there too.

Read SnowBird Cruzer's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Peaker4k
1 review
Aug 2013

The bus ride to the State Park was a little long but the driver/guide made it interesting. She was knowledgeable and informative and she even baked cookies for the group to snack on at the gift store after the tour. The gift store featured Native-made carvings and contained a museum with antique firearms (including a Gatling gun) and cars. After hearing comments from other passengers I'd probably opt for the Saxman Native Village instead.

Read Peaker4k's full Sapphire Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image RetiredTravelerTN
1 review
Jul 2013

Took the city bus out to the park where we had an hour and twenty minutes to enjoy the totem poles. The buses run hourly.

Read RetiredTravelerTN's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image kwogni
2 reviews
May 2013

At $50 per person, it was a bit of a disappointment.

Read kwogni's full Volendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image karen of PA
2 reviews
May 2013

Educational and informative. I enjoyed visiting the clan house.

Read karen of PA's full Sapphire Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Cruise Xpert
1 review
May 2013

Very educational! The Tour Guide Ed was excellent and funny!

Read Cruise Xpert's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image HeinBloed
15 reviews
May 2013

Transportation was nightmare as driver could not handle air-condition so some in the bus had sauna while other had fridge. As it was raining outside and cold the best way to get sick.

Read HeinBloed's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image rickyace33
1 review
Sep 2012
Do not waste a penny going to see either of these attractions. We got the feeling that the totem poles were manufactured and painted by someone trying to make a buck. The clan house, they admit is a "replica".
Read rickyace33's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.