Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Ketchikan Totem Bight State Park Excursion Reviews

Ketchikan Totem Bight State Park cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Parks such as Ketchikan Totem Bight State Park feature recreated Native Alaskan villages with traditional homes for a taste of native history and mythology.
Member Image zetaome
1 review
Not Rated
Sep 2014

We had a wonderful driver/guide for this part of the tour. He took us on a brief tour of the city, then brought us out to Totem Bight State Park.

Once at the park, he led us on a tour through the woods, and described in detail everything we were seeing. He told wonderful stories about different totems, and even entertained us with stories on the return bus ride.

The path way is uneven and although there are benches scattered throughout, I don't think they are close enough together for someone that would have trouble walking.

Read zetaome's full Carnival Miracle cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image cruzin4
4 reviews
Not Rated
Jun 2014

great way to learn about the native cultures of the Pacific Northwest. It is a short tour. Our tour guide was very nice and knowledgeable .

Read cruzin4's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image 56suzy
1 review
Jun 2014

We took the public bus line to Totem Bight State park ($1 per person, one way). The bus runs on the hour. We viewed the Totem poles and the Clan house well with in an hour. May have spent longer there but the rain was miserable. Don't miss the totem and souvenir next door to the park. This place is a museum in of itself with old cars and guns.

Read 56suzy's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image dosi33
1 review
Not Rated
May 2014

We did the Totems, Eagles, and Lighthouses tour through ShoreTrips. The scenery was absolutely beautiful and I was especially glad that they provided binoculars for us to use. We got great pictures of the totem poles and tons of gorgeous eagle shots. I was a little disappointed in the lighthouse though. It seemed pretty modern and was not nearly as "romantic" as the one's on the Georgia coast. The guides were very friendly and helped us find the animals and other interesting things to see.

Read dosi33's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Shore Trips
Member Image John C of SC
1 review
Aug 2013

We had a very knowledgeable and friendly tour guide. The excursion ened with a lumberjack show, which was sort of corney, but still very enjoyable.

Read John C of SC's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image SnowBird Cruzer
3 reviews
Aug 2013

We rented a car from First City Car Rental. He met us under the "Welcome to Ketchikan" sign and after signing some papers, we were on our way! We drove up the one and only highway to Ward Lake Campground and hiked around said lake. The salmon were spawning. We didn't see any bear, but we did encounter some fresh scat though! One pile was VERY fresh, and aromatic.
We also visited Settler's Creek and Totem Bight. Settler's Creek has an easy 1/4 mile hike to a beautiful step waterfall. Lots of salmon trying to get upstream there too.

Read SnowBird Cruzer's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Peaker4k
1 review
Aug 2013

The bus ride to the State Park was a little long but the driver/guide made it interesting. She was knowledgeable and informative and she even baked cookies for the group to snack on at the gift store after the tour. The gift store featured Native-made carvings and contained a museum with antique firearms (including a Gatling gun) and cars. After hearing comments from other passengers I'd probably opt for the Saxman Native Village instead.

Read Peaker4k's full Sapphire Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image RetiredTravelerTN
1 review
Jul 2013

Took the city bus out to the park where we had an hour and twenty minutes to enjoy the totem poles. The buses run hourly.

Read RetiredTravelerTN's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image kwogni
2 reviews
May 2013

At $50 per person, it was a bit of a disappointment.

Read kwogni's full Volendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image karen of PA
2 reviews
May 2013

Educational and informative. I enjoyed visiting the clan house.

Read karen of PA's full Sapphire Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Cruise Xpert
1 review
May 2013

Very educational! The Tour Guide Ed was excellent and funny!

Read Cruise Xpert's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image HeinBloed
13 reviews
May 2013

Transportation was nightmare as driver could not handle air-condition so some in the bus had sauna while other had fridge. As it was raining outside and cold the best way to get sick.

Read HeinBloed's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image rickyace33
1 review
Sep 2012
Do not waste a penny going to see either of these attractions. We got the feeling that the totem poles were manufactured and painted by someone trying to make a buck. The clan house, they admit is a "replica".
Read rickyace33's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Troyer5
2 reviews
Sep 2012
At this port, mother purchased tickets on the pier. They waited to leave until more cruise ships were in. We were the 1st of 4 in that day. The guide was a native to this city and was in the Raven/Bear tribe. He gave a talk about how the town was constructed and stopped in a few places on the way. At the park we indepently walked and looked at the totem in one area. At that time the Carnival Spirit was getting in. At the carving shed he braided souvenir for the group while the carver was giving the talk. He took us into a house when free,there were 2 other tours there also. He told the story of Eagle Boy and fisher woman. On the way back to town he had some items that we passed around and he talked about. While waiting we looked around the pier around and walked Creek Street when back. A Princess and HAL ships were also in.
Read Troyer5's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image FunGranny
5 reviews
Aug 2012
Ed, our driver and guide did an excellent job. He was very informative.
Read FunGranny's full Oosterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image 416christina
1 review
Jul 2012
Nice, educational and in small groups which is really preferred.
Read 416christina's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Ms. bear
1 review
Not Rated
Jul 2012
With the Saxon Sourdough tour, we rode in a small van which took us on a drive in and around Ketchikan. We stopped at many spots where we saw eagles and bears. The actual tour of the Saxon Village was disappointing because so much of the time was taken up in the earlier stops that our time at the village to see the totem poles was limited.
Read Ms. bear's full Statendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image GICNJC
2 reviews
Jul 2012
cruise critic van trip that was excellent.
Read GICNJC's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image xmasteach
3 reviews
Jun 2012
Took the blue line, $2 round trip, self guided tour of park, should not be missed.
Read xmasteach's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: City bus
Member Image kaiachris
2 reviews
Jun 2012
interesting to see totems being made in the old methods.
Read kaiachris's full Disney Wonder cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image JulesBee
1 review
Jun 2012
The Totem State Park and the bears were great. The Park is beautiful and it was fun to watch the bears, but our tour guide was just plain awful! My daughter and I were able to just ignore him and have our own fun, but it was pricey and not really worth the money. The only excursion we didn't book through Holland America, and the only excursion we regretted. We also went to the Lumberjack Show and it was a lot of fun. It was a great stop especially if you have kids.
Read JulesBee's full Oosterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image refswife
1 review
May 2012
Nice tour of Totem Bight Park. It's location is lovely sitting right on the edge of the water and all of the totems were really unique! The path thru the dense trees and vegetation from the parking lot to the totems was beautiful. Had plenty of time afterwards to take pics on your own or wander thru the gift shop.
Read refswife's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image AZDee
1 review
Not Rated
May 2012
This one was a little underwhelming....
Read AZDee's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image ChillKat
1 review
May 2012
We took the city buses (The Bus) blue line out to the park $1.00 each way, about 30 minutes to get there from the docks, 45 minutes to do a self guided tour with pamphlets provided by the state park and 30 minutes back (the bus picks you back up an hour after dropping you off). If you want to see totem poles this is a good place. We enjoyed the park and seeing and learning about all the totem poles and replica clan house on a picturesque setting on the water. The buses were easy to get on and off-we downloaded a schedule ahead of time or you can pick on up at the visitor center at the ship docks.
Read ChillKat's full Sapphire Princess cruise review
Provider: Not applicable

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.