Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Skagway Yukon Van Tour Excursion Reviews

Skagway Yukon Van Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
See the remarkable Yukon on a comfortable and intimate guided van tour in Skagway. You will be in awe of its captivating beauty!
Member Image goingfunplaces1
1 review
Aug 2014

Van tour into the Yukon with Dyea Dave Tours. It was a lot of fun, and the tour guide got us through the border crossings really fast, which gave us more time to enjoy the scenery.

Read goingfunplaces1's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Dyea Dave
Member Image jpug22
1 review
Not Rated
Jul 2014

We decided to take a tour into the Yukon. Mike, our driver, was awesome. He was very funny, gave an incredible amount of information, stopped at scenic areas along the way and took pictures for everyone. We love Skagway!! It has the cleanest air you have ever breathed. The smell of pine trees was beautiful. We enjoyed gong to the dog sled camp and playing with the puppies. The museum was also very interesting. On the way back, our driver stopped along the highway as there was a bear near the road, and we got the most spectacular pictures of a cinnamon bear who was very big, over 600 pounds. My wife and I said that we could find ourselves retiring to Skagway, for the summer anyway, not so sure about the winters.

Read jpug22's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Frontier Van- Mike
Member Image Redbarnphotog
3 reviews
Jun 2014


Skagway -Here we booked the 3.5 hour Train/Bus tour ($128 +tax). We took the White Pass Rail train up to the Yukon (Cananda) and took a bus tour back down. Our driver was full of information and stopped several places for photo ops. The train itself kind of dragged on. It was packed full and we had a very loud group of people in our car, so we didn't get to hear much of the narrative and you are allowed to stand on the outside platforms to take pictures but there's really only room for one person, so it was an endless fight. If I ever came to Skagway again, I would take the opportunity to do a private tour or boat/plane ride. You just cannot get the true feeling of this glorious wilderness on a bus of 20 noisy people.

Read Redbarnphotog's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Chilkot
Member Image Floydmb
1 review
Jun 2014

We took the bus/train tour up White Pass. Our bus driver was very knowlegeable and stopped often for photo opportunities. The return trip by train was beautiful. The company arranged for us to be in the last car so we could stand outside on the platform and get unobstructed views.

Read Floydmb's full Carnival Miracle cruise review
Provider: Chilcoot Tours
Member Image carencpa
5 reviews
May 2014

Again, tour operator overbooked, so tried to separate our group. After some complaining and delay, got put with another driver, and rest of day was wonderful! Spectacular scenery, great driver.

Read carencpa's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Guera
1 review
Not Rated
May 2014

Beautiful.......great guide.

Read Guera's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image jbar434
2 reviews
May 2014

Skagway – This port was COLD and windy. We did the Yukon/ Rail ride excursion with Chilkoot Charters. (more info on Tripadvisor) James was our driver. He did a decent job given the construction. A little preachy at the end, but still a good story teller, very informative, safe, and accommodating. We got to see two bears from a distance.. one on the bus and another on the train. Dog sled camp was interesting .. “puppy” area not what I expected as they dogs are between 6 m to a year or so. Lunch was decent and fast. White Trail Train ride back was outstanding and a “must do” for sure!

Read jbar434's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Chilkoot Tours
Member Image yiye34
2 reviews
Sep 2013

We booked the Skagway Van Tour with Matt. It was an outstanding experience. Matt was knowledgeable, patient, accommodating and very friendly. The tour through White Pass and Yukon was just breath taking. Such pretty scenery! Very much recommended!

Read yiye34's full Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image ajhall921
1 review
Sep 2013

Again, I didn't want to go through the cruise line to book my tour but preferred a local company. I ended up booking with Dyea Dave and it turned out to be a wonderful choice. I know a lot of people go with the White Pass train, but I wanted to do something beside just go up and back. With the van tour, we went along the same route as the train, but we got to stop and get out and take pictures. We went clear up into the Yukon Territory and were able to experience some beautiful scenery. Our tour guide was wonderful! She was friendly and personable and provided us with lots of information. There were only about 15 people on the tour so it made it personal. It was a full day tour from 8am-3pm and a great value for only $79/per person. We even had a little time to wander around town once the tour was over.

Read ajhall921's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Crentist
1 review
Not Rated
Aug 2013

Very nice tour, booked in town with frontier. They were knowledgeable, friendly, and helpful. Our driver had a lot of insight and told corny jokes. It was a beautiful drive with frequent stops for pictures. Highly recommended.

Read Crentist's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image rdgrah2
1 review
Not Rated
Jul 2013

Great guide. Good tour of the area and trip into the Yukon.

Read rdgrah2's full Carnival Miracle cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image cathycaz
1 review
Jul 2013

In Skagway, we pre-booked a 5-hour Super Tour through Discover Skagway for $75 per person. Our tour guide, Candy, met us at the dock area in a van. First stop was to see The Days of 98 Show - an eighty-six year running, approximately 1-hour, fun musical about Skagways beginnings. This was followed by an enjoyable historical tour of the town, and then a drive up through White Pass Summit into Canada - with plenty of stops along the way to enjoy the scenery and take photographs. Returning to Skagway, the tour visited Jewell Gardens & Garden City Glassworks, one of the most amazing gardens that I have ever seen, and with a resident glass-blower and gift shop. At the end of our tour, we asked to be dropped off in the downtown area - about a 1/4 mile walk from the ship - where we visited Skagway Brewing Company for an adult beverage, followed by a stop at the Red Onion Saloon and Brothel for second adult beverage and a souvenir t-shirt for the hubs, before walking back to the ship.

Read cathycaz's full Carnival Miracle cruise review
Provider: Discover Skagway
Member Image JMS18
1 review
Jul 2013

It was lovely scenery but after so many days of lovely scenery, I am not sure that I would do the Yukon tour again; maybe if we'd done it through Celebrity we'd have had a more exciting experience.

Read JMS18's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Travelgrandma10
5 reviews
Jul 2013

We had a great tour and tour guide, Brian. He gave us a detailed account of the Yukon gold rush and the history associated with it. The pass was fogged in, but it's Alaska. I highly recommend Shore Excursions and Brian.

Read Travelgrandma10's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Shore Excursion
Member Image cruiser7199
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2013

This was an amazing tour. A must do for Ketchikan. Our guide Tyler was excellent, we saw plenty wildlife, and it was a great value for the money.

Read cruiser7199's full Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Frontier
Member Image Triciab
1 review
Jun 2013

Train ride was a bit boring. The van tour to the Yukon was great. I would rent a car here next time.

Read Triciab's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image CanWeGoYet?
3 reviews
Jun 2013
I booked with Dyea Dave again, for a van ride into the yukon. It was a lovely warm day, and this was our longest port day. We got to see numerous mountains, see the train (although I did not add on the white pass railroad to the excursion - I could have) and emerald lake. We went into carcross & saw the carcross desert, had lunch at a good bakery & stopped at a waterfall on the way back. No wildlife spotted, but others saw a porcupine and we all saw way way too many monster mosquitoes! Had plenty of time for shopping in town and wandering around, taking in the sights. Last year Dave did the tour, this time Barry. They both do a good job & I enjoyed Barry's dry wit.
Read CanWeGoYet?'s full Carnival Miracle cruise review
Provider: independent
Member Image matt32
1 review
Not Rated
May 2013

Would definitely recommend this to everyone. The tour was $79 and they will take you into the Yukon to Carcross. You will get to visit Emerald Lake. Beautiful place. It does get hot here if the sun is out so you might want to wear light clothing. They are very flexible and will accommodate your requests to stop at certain lookouts.

Read matt32's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Dyea Dave
Member Image KittyMeowit
6 reviews
Not Rated
May 2013

We booked a six hour Yukon Discovery Tour through Frontier Excursions. The cost was $99 a person but they had a coupon online for about $7 off per person. Totally worth every penny especially considering that we only had twelve people on our tour. Our tour guide, Mike, was great. He had lots of information about each place and was happy to take pictures of me and my husband with our camera. We saw so many beautiful places. We had a bbq chicken lunch at Caribou Crossing which was pretty decent and we got to hang out with the husky puppies. On our way out of there, Mike got radioed by another tour operator from their company that there were three moose at the watering hole nearby. Mike made a detour and we got to get out of the bus and take pictures of the mama moose and her babies. Priceless! We would love to do this tour again in July when the lakes are thawed and the bears are out of hibernation and looking for salmon.

Read KittyMeowit's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Frontier Excursions
Member Image karen of PA
2 reviews
May 2013

Great tour guide. We saw and learned so much.

Read karen of PA's full Sapphire Princess cruise review
Provider: Frontier Enterprises
Member Image cboyle
16 reviews
May 2013

We booked the 6-hour Yukon Discovery Tour (www.frontierexcursions.com/yukon-discovery.html) independently with Frontier Excursions & Adventures; you can be picked up on the dock or meet the tour in town (as we did). It was lucky that we arrived a bit early because the minibus was fully-booked and we could still get a good seat (on the right side for the outward journey). This tour follows the South Klondike Highway (www.milepost.com/highway_info/so_klondike_highway) into Canada as far as Emerald and Spirit Lakes.

Our driver/guide was Sherri, an actual native Alaskan. She was simply outstanding and succeeded in finding a willow ptarmigan (state bird of Alaska), a hoary marmot, mountain goats and Dall sheep for us as well as a very shy bear and a porcupine. Sherri gave us a map showing the tour route with 13 scenic stops. The stops vary by the guide's choice and the weather; we only had to pass one by without stopping and Sherri substituted a short tour of Carcross. She also postponed several stops until the return trip so that we could avoid the large tour buses. If you have a choice, choose Sherri!

The scenery along this 75-mile (each way) route is spectacular: snow-covered mountains, gushing waterfalls, gorgeous lakes. We stopped for lunch at Caribou Crossing (cariboucrossing.ca). Lunch is included in the tour price and consists of BBQ chicken (leg quarter), coleslaw, roasted potatoes, rolls and their celebrated donuts. I had heard the praises of these donuts sung on Cruise Critic and the batch that was sitting under the warming lights when we arrived certainly disappeared quickly. John managed to snag a couple of those for us but the ones in the fresh, hot batch that came out later were much better (although still nothing to rave about, IMHO). There is also a wildlife museum (many mounted specimens) and a petting zoo included with the tour. The especially interesting part of this attraction is the sled dogs. These are not your typical Husky-looking animals but are athletes who crave running. You can watch the dogs pull a wheeled sled (rides cost extra) and you can play with the puppies. At the end of the tour we had the option of being dropped off at several points in town or back at the dock. In all, this tour was a highlight of our cruise.

Read cboyle's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Frontier Excursions & Adventures
Member Image suzrai
1 review
Aug 2012
We were fortunate to find on Cruise Critic that Laurie had booked a private tour of Skagway and had some space for 2-4 people. On the internet I read great reviews about Becky from Beyond Skagway tours. It was great! we went into the Yukon saw the suspension bridge and Emerald lake (you have to see it to believe it)!
Read suzrai's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.