Skagway Yukon Van Tour Excursion Reviews

Skagway Yukon Van Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
See the remarkable Yukon on a comfortable and intimate guided van tour in Skagway. You will be in awe of its captivating beauty!
Member Image A.P.
1 review
Aug 2016
Our guide Renee was so knowledgeable since she was a local and stopped at a lot of places for pictures (as well as taking pics of us!). She was also great with time management getting us through the Canadian checkpoint before the rest of the tour buses and charter buses as there was an hour+ wait the week prior. Also, Emerald lake is BEAUTIFUL! Would highly recommend this tour!!
Read A.P.'s full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Dyea Dave Emerald Lake Tour
Member Image saltydoc40
1 review
Aug 2016
Highway tour through White Pass with great tour guide lecture.
Read saltydoc40's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Gainesvillegirl11
1 review
Jul 2016
Awesome. Maybe the best part of the whole trip.
Read Gainesvillegirl11's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image kayguz
2 reviews
Jul 2016
We took the train up to Fraser, then took a van tour to Emerald Lake, Bridal Veil Falls, Carcross. We had a delicious BBQ lunch and a dog sled run at a summer training camp. The tour guide was very informative and entertaining.
Read kayguz's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Chilkhoot Tours
Member Image Jing2le_bells
1 review
Jul 2016
This is a combined City, White Pass and Yukon tour for half-day. Excellent trip with many stops to appreciate the beauty of Alaska. Skagway itself is very pretty, our favourite of the three ports.
Read Jing2le_bells's full Volendam cruise review
Provider: Viator
Member Image RJPerque
2 reviews
Jun 2016
6 to 6 1/2 hour tour that didn't feel like an eternity. Great job. Dillon was great. Had lunch at Carcross and up to Emerald Lake!! Drop off in town if needed.
Read RJPerque's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Frontier Excursions
Member Image journeycollector
1 review
Jun 2016
Loved this...enjoyed the scenery and didn't have to drive! Beautiful mountain vistas, lakes, waterfalls, forests...and bears!
Read journeycollector's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Frontier Excursions
Member Image Dawg67
2 reviews
Jun 2016
This was a jeep caravan to the Yukon. Trip was beautiful. The end point in the Yukon was off rode and up a rocky road. This part could be eliminated. No worthwhile point. They travel so fast and wildlife is few. If you saw something you don't have the opportunity for photos. Scenery awesome.
Read Dawg67's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image carolina29212
1 review
Jun 2016
Very knowledgeable guide (Luke) shared lots of information about the Yukon and it's people. Beautiful scenery! Lots of stops for pictures. Lunch was included...listed as BBQ lunch but was sandwiches.
Read carolina29212's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image wggrainger
1 review
May 2016
A bus tour to the Yukon - best tour of all....
Read wggrainger's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image craiginoregon
1 review
May 2016
A really long drive but lots of great sites to see in the country side.
Read craiginoregon's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image HaveDogWillTravel
2 reviews
May 2016
I have attached a photo. The Yukon is really spectacular. The Caribou Crossing tourist trap at the end of the road trip portion was not too offensive and the lunch was good.
Read HaveDogWillTravel's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image CyndiSue
1 review
May 2016
The highlight of our excursions. Excellent and knowledgeable guide (Mark). Would recommend this to anyone over and above the train ride. Plenty of stops for pictures,
Read CyndiSue's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Sandal23
1 review
Sep 2015
Our tour guide that took us up to the Yukon was Kevin, he was a wealth of knowledge of the area, very entertaining and was very considerate at making numerous stops along the way for those perfect photo opportunities! When we stopped at the mushing station just out of Carcross we treated to a delicious barbeque lunch and a chance to walk through the wilderness museum. I was just a little disappointed that we ran out of time to visit the sled dogs.
Read Sandal23's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Chilkoot Charters
Member Image Dan and Jan
1 review
Aug 2015
We loved our experience with Mark. He did a great job stopping for picturesque places and showing us so much of what he was so proud to call home to.
Read Dan and Jan's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image sdfgsdfg
1 review
Aug 2015
The area is beyond description. If you area outdoors-man, don't miss this one. I have read of the Yukon all my life, nothing will prepare you for what you will see.
Read sdfgsdfg's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image bcqajbk
1 review
Aug 2015
We opted not to take the Railway because we wanted the option to get out and smell the roses (or, feel the waterfalls) along the way. Dyea Dave told us when we called that we would see the same scenery from the motorcoach as we would from the train.....and he was correct. We were picked up right on the dock, led by our excellent tour guide Renee to the comfortable coach, and guided up to White Pass, Across to the Yukon, to Corcross and to Emerald lake. It was gorgeous. We were dropped off in town after the tour and we had some time to walk through the charming town of Skagway before returning to the cruise shipl
Read bcqajbk's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Dyea Dave
Member Image RLS2015
1 review
Jul 2015
Boring, too long, too dependent on outside factors. Train broke down twice and customer fell off train.
Read RLS2015's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image sammie511
1 review
Jul 2015
We took the White pass and Yukon Tour. It was long 8 hr drive. You must be a nature lover to appreciate the length of time being in a bus.
Read sammie511's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ron@ispconline.com
1 review
Jul 2015
Guide was knowledgable and friendly
Read ron@ispconline.com's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image BirdTravels
5 reviews
Jun 2015
This was a great all-day excursion. The mini-buses are small, comfortable, quiet and allow quick photo stops (not having to unload a full coach full of people). Our guide started with a short narrated tour of Skagway, its people and its history. He did a quick drive through town, pointing out sites to further explore upon our return. Our guide, a former national park service employee, was a superb storyteller. He took us back to the year 1898 as news of the discovery of large nuggets of gold reached the world, bringing thousands of prospector “stampeders” to seek their fortune. As we proceed along the White Pass Trail of '98, our guide explains the trials and tribulations of the gold miners as they climbed toward the Canadian border and over the pass. Along the way, there were several opportunities to get off the bus and take photos of the as we move above the treeline into the sub-artic tundra. The mini-bus also allows the driver to easily stop to view wildlife (including bears along the roadside). We stopped for 45 minutes a Spirit Lake Wilderness Resort for a light lunch of soup, sandwiches, and homemade apple pie. No trip in the Yukon is complete without obligatory stops at the “Welcome to Alaska” and “Yukon” signs where our guide helped everyone get great shots, quickly and efficiently. We make a 30 minute stop in the village of Carcross for some shopping and snacks. ShoreEx Tip: Don’t forget your passport. You will not be allowed to board the bus without a passport. The Canadian Royal Mounted Police come on the bus and [quickly] check passports at the border crossing.
Read BirdTravels's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image mortgagewizard
1 review
Jun 2015
Our tour guide was fabulous, so funny and so knowledgeable.
Read mortgagewizard's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Frontier Excursions
Member Image rhonda26
1 review
Jun 2015
Heidie the guide was great! The bus seated 20 and you could see well!! We made many stops for photos and those bears!
Read rhonda26's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: m and m excursions
Member Image lespres
2 reviews
Jun 2015
Great guide, Brittany, showed us the highlights of the area. The mountain scenery was beautiful. Without reservation I would suggest this tour for a group.
Read lespres's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Beyond Skagway
Member Image New York Nana
3 reviews
Jun 2015
Had another wonderful trip with Dyea Dave. Our driver/guide, Renee, was great fun and very accommodating to our groups' interests.
Read New York Nana's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Dyea Dave

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?