Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Skagway Yukon Van Tour Excursion Reviews

Skagway Yukon Van Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
See the remarkable Yukon on a comfortable and intimate guided van tour in Skagway. You will be in awe of its captivating beauty!
Member Image Sandal23
1 review
Sep 2015
Our tour guide that took us up to the Yukon was Kevin, he was a wealth of knowledge of the area, very entertaining and was very considerate at making numerous stops along the way for those perfect photo opportunities! When we stopped at the mushing station just out of Carcross we treated to a delicious barbeque lunch and a chance to walk through the wilderness museum. I was just a little disappointed that we ran out of time to visit the sled dogs.
Read Sandal23's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Chilkoot Charters
Member Image Dan and Jan
1 review
Aug 2015
We loved our experience with Mark. He did a great job stopping for picturesque places and showing us so much of what he was so proud to call home to.
Read Dan and Jan's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image sdfgsdfg
1 review
Aug 2015
The area is beyond description. If you area outdoors-man, don't miss this one. I have read of the Yukon all my life, nothing will prepare you for what you will see.
Read sdfgsdfg's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image bcqajbk
1 review
Aug 2015
We opted not to take the Railway because we wanted the option to get out and smell the roses (or, feel the waterfalls) along the way. Dyea Dave told us when we called that we would see the same scenery from the motorcoach as we would from the train.....and he was correct. We were picked up right on the dock, led by our excellent tour guide Renee to the comfortable coach, and guided up to White Pass, Across to the Yukon, to Corcross and to Emerald lake. It was gorgeous. We were dropped off in town after the tour and we had some time to walk through the charming town of Skagway before returning to the cruise shipl
Read bcqajbk's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Dyea Dave
Member Image RLS2015
1 review
Jul 2015
Boring, too long, too dependent on outside factors. Train broke down twice and customer fell off train.
Read RLS2015's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image sammie511
1 review
Jul 2015
We took the White pass and Yukon Tour. It was long 8 hr drive. You must be a nature lover to appreciate the length of time being in a bus.
Read sammie511's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ron@ispconline.com
1 review
Jul 2015
Guide was knowledgable and friendly
Read ron@ispconline.com's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image BirdTravels
4 reviews
Jun 2015
This was a great all-day excursion. The mini-buses are small, comfortable, quiet and allow quick photo stops (not having to unload a full coach full of people). Our guide started with a short narrated tour of Skagway, its people and its history. He did a quick drive through town, pointing out sites to further explore upon our return. Our guide, a former national park service employee, was a superb storyteller. He took us back to the year 1898 as news of the discovery of large nuggets of gold reached the world, bringing thousands of prospector “stampeders” to seek their fortune. As we proceed along the White Pass Trail of '98, our guide explains the trials and tribulations of the gold miners as they climbed toward the Canadian border and over the pass. Along the way, there were several opportunities to get off the bus and take photos of the as we move above the treeline into the sub-artic tundra. The mini-bus also allows the driver to easily stop to view wildlife (including bears along the roadside). We stopped for 45 minutes a Spirit Lake Wilderness Resort for a light lunch of soup, sandwiches, and homemade apple pie. No trip in the Yukon is complete without obligatory stops at the “Welcome to Alaska” and “Yukon” signs where our guide helped everyone get great shots, quickly and efficiently. We make a 30 minute stop in the village of Carcross for some shopping and snacks. ShoreEx Tip: Don’t forget your passport. You will not be allowed to board the bus without a passport. The Canadian Royal Mounted Police come on the bus and [quickly] check passports at the border crossing.
Read BirdTravels's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image mortgagewizard
1 review
Jun 2015
Our tour guide was fabulous, so funny and so knowledgeable.
Read mortgagewizard's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Frontier Excursions
Member Image rhonda26
1 review
Jun 2015
Heidie the guide was great! The bus seated 20 and you could see well!! We made many stops for photos and those bears!
Read rhonda26's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: m and m excursions
Member Image lespres
2 reviews
Jun 2015
Great guide, Brittany, showed us the highlights of the area. The mountain scenery was beautiful. Without reservation I would suggest this tour for a group.
Read lespres's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Beyond Skagway
Member Image New York Nana
3 reviews
Jun 2015
Had another wonderful trip with Dyea Dave. Our driver/guide, Renee, was great fun and very accommodating to our groups' interests.
Read New York Nana's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Dyea Dave
Member Image bluveds
2 reviews
Jun 2015
We rented a car with Avis in Skagway and drove to Caribou Crossing in the Yukon for summer dogsledding and a great drive on the Klondike highway. The views from the Klondike highway were amazing. We saw bears on the drive back. Caribou Crossing in Carcrosse was a great place to go, especially after the big bus tours leave in the early afternoon. Renting the car in Skagway was super easy and it is near impossible to get lost in this remote area as there are very few roads. Do this trip yourself for a better trip than with the big bus lines.
Read bluveds's full Disney Wonder cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image royal3
9 reviews
May 2015
Great 6 hour van tour into the Yukon.
Read royal3's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image NewEnglandNANA
1 review
May 2015
Excellent tour! Our driver was great and Emerald Lake is beautiful we stopped several times for picture opportunity. Dave's Driver met us at the pier.
Read NewEnglandNANA's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Dyea Dave
Member Image Jayson41
1 review
May 2015
Our drivers name was Brian, his knowledge of the area was great. During our trip we saw bears roaming around, eagles flying, and other wild life. Brian stopped the small tour bus multiple times for photos and had a few stops he know for a great opportunity for an amazing back drop for a photo. The tour went into the Yukon and met at a dog team ranch where lunch was provided. After the same route was taken home. The day was very worth it and for a total of $200 the entire day was filled. I very much recommend this trip.
Read Jayson41's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Southeast
Member Image grannyp
2 reviews
May 2015
Brooke our tour guide is local, so she gave us lots of information. Her pride in her town was very evident. The van held 10 of us, it was brand new. We toured Skagway, including the cemetery with all its' stories. And we took the White Pass/Yukon highway into Canada. We did not see any bears, (our only disappointment). Brooke stopped several times for sightseeing, and background info. We would highly recommend this company, and especially Brooke, the tall redhead, for your guide. Wonderful. Support local businesses!
Read grannyp's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Frontier Excursions
Member Image goingfunplaces1
1 review
Aug 2014

Van tour into the Yukon with Dyea Dave Tours. It was a lot of fun, and the tour guide got us through the border crossings really fast, which gave us more time to enjoy the scenery.

Read goingfunplaces1's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Dyea Dave
Member Image jpug22
1 review
Not Rated
Jul 2014

We decided to take a tour into the Yukon. Mike, our driver, was awesome. He was very funny, gave an incredible amount of information, stopped at scenic areas along the way and took pictures for everyone. We love Skagway!! It has the cleanest air you have ever breathed. The smell of pine trees was beautiful. We enjoyed gong to the dog sled camp and playing with the puppies. The museum was also very interesting. On the way back, our driver stopped along the highway as there was a bear near the road, and we got the most spectacular pictures of a cinnamon bear who was very big, over 600 pounds. My wife and I said that we could find ourselves retiring to Skagway, for the summer anyway, not so sure about the winters.

Read jpug22's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Frontier Van- Mike
Member Image Redbarnphotog
3 reviews
Jun 2014


Skagway -Here we booked the 3.5 hour Train/Bus tour ($128 +tax). We took the White Pass Rail train up to the Yukon (Cananda) and took a bus tour back down. Our driver was full of information and stopped several places for photo ops. The train itself kind of dragged on. It was packed full and we had a very loud group of people in our car, so we didn't get to hear much of the narrative and you are allowed to stand on the outside platforms to take pictures but there's really only room for one person, so it was an endless fight. If I ever came to Skagway again, I would take the opportunity to do a private tour or boat/plane ride. You just cannot get the true feeling of this glorious wilderness on a bus of 20 noisy people.

Read Redbarnphotog's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Chilkot
Member Image Floydmb
1 review
Jun 2014

We took the bus/train tour up White Pass. Our bus driver was very knowlegeable and stopped often for photo opportunities. The return trip by train was beautiful. The company arranged for us to be in the last car so we could stand outside on the platform and get unobstructed views.

Read Floydmb's full Carnival Miracle cruise review
Provider: Chilcoot Tours
Member Image carencpa
reviews
May 2014

Again, tour operator overbooked, so tried to separate our group. After some complaining and delay, got put with another driver, and rest of day was wonderful! Spectacular scenery, great driver.

Read carencpa's full cruise review
Provider:
Member Image Guera
1 review
Not Rated
May 2014

Beautiful.......great guide.

Read Guera's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image jbar434
3 reviews
May 2014

Skagway – This port was COLD and windy. We did the Yukon/ Rail ride excursion with Chilkoot Charters. (more info on Tripadvisor) James was our driver. He did a decent job given the construction. A little preachy at the end, but still a good story teller, very informative, safe, and accommodating. We got to see two bears from a distance.. one on the bus and another on the train. Dog sled camp was interesting .. “puppy” area not what I expected as they dogs are between 6 m to a year or so. Lunch was decent and fast. White Trail Train ride back was outstanding and a “must do” for sure!

Read jbar434's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Chilkoot Tours
Member Image yiye34
2 reviews
Sep 2013

We booked the Skagway Van Tour with Matt. It was an outstanding experience. Matt was knowledgeable, patient, accommodating and very friendly. The tour through White Pass and Yukon was just breath taking. Such pretty scenery! Very much recommended!

Read yiye34's full Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.