Nassau Blue Lagoon Island Beach Day Excursion Reviews

Nassau Blue Lagoon Island Beach Day cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Spend a day relaxing on the beautiful Blue Lagoon Island. Once a frequent stop for pirates and privateers, the island is now the perfect place for an excursion.
Member Image danielsyr
1 review
Jul 2016
Ohhhh that beach... Take me back to that beachhhhh... $65 including lunch sounded like a good deal for us!
Read danielsyr's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ravenmb
2 reviews
Jun 2016
Loved the lagoon. We rented a clam shell with two lounge chairs. This came with drinks, souvenir glasses and souvenir towels, which we thought was well worth the extra money. The dolphin encounter area made me sad. One dolphin was swimming in a very small area and seemed agitated. The ferry over to and back from the island was fun.
Read ravenmb's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Elationismyship
4 reviews
May 2016
You port at noon and have to be back on the ship at 6:00 - with a 45 minute ferry ride each way, you get a couple of hours at most on the beach. Not worth it in my opinion. Our ship got in 2 hours late, would have been no time on the beach but NCL was still taking folks there versus cancelling because we're basically paying for ferry ride, hop on the beach and ferry ride again. Allowed us to cancel day of. Wouldn't do this again, would walk to the free (yes a little dirty) but free beach by ship port called Junkanoo.
Read Elationismyship's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image RickSchu
1 review
May 2016
Never made it. The ship was hours late docking. Our tour was scheduled to begin at 1:30pm, we did not dock and given clearance to disembark until after 2:00pm. We were reimbursed but missed a day at the beach and had to endure the obnoxious D.J. again at the pool area.
Read RickSchu's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image queenbeelynn
1 review
Apr 2016
A rip off. Not a real beach. Just a stream of shallow water. Rocky beach. Limited chairs. Extra charges for everything.
Read queenbeelynn's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Flamingo15
2 reviews
Apr 2016
Was necessary to take a cab from the cruise docks to Paradise Island ferry terminal but Nassau makes this very easy with no hassle, professionally handled. Cab fare was $5/person, and unlike in Cayman, only the number of passengers the vehicle was supposed to carry was allowed in the vehicle. The lagoon beach was quite crowded when we arrived, but the ocean side which has a smaller beach was basically empty. I think most people don't know about this side, but I'd been there before so made a beeline to it. It's not a beach for little kids, it has rocks in the water and the surf is a little rough, but perfect for sitting in the sun, getting in the water enough to cool off, and a gorgeous view of that Bahamian water! After lunch (burgers, hotdogs, fries, fried plantain, peas and rice, BBQ'd chicken, salad bar, cookies) a lot of the folks were headed back and so many chairs on the lagoon side opened up. We moved over at that time and spent time in the calmer waters - very nice.
Read Flamingo15's full Carnival Victory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image 2NattyFans
3 reviews
Apr 2016
The water is lovely and the beach itself was very pretty, but there weren't enough beach chairs and we had to find someone to get us beach chairs, which took about 45 minutes while we stood there and waited. This may be a completely different experience in the off season. Our ship was packed though. Water is very calm and would be great for kids or if you just want to float around and not have any waves. April water was very chilly though, but I'm not sure if that is the norm.
Read 2NattyFans's full Norwegian Breakaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ChocoAmy
1 review
Apr 2016
It was a relaxing afternoon. We enjoyed the water, sunshine and seeing the sea life.
Read ChocoAmy's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image jblb1020
1 review
Mar 2016
Blue Lagoon was the best money we spent on this cruise. After being stuck on the boat for most of the cruise I needed to get on a beach and off the boat. We booked this last minute after not being able to go to Norwegian's private island. Blue Lagoon is absolutely beautiful, relaxing and the kids loved it. I would highly recommend this excursion and for the price it was worth every penny! I would highly recommend getting the earlier excursion as there was an 8:15am departure time at 10am We had the 8:15am and where able to pick our chairs and area on the beach. By the time the 10am boat got to Blue Lagoon most chairs where already taken and they had to lay on towels.
Read jblb1020's full Norwegian Breakaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image dittysauce15
2 reviews
Mar 2016
Nice day at the beach. Get there early though.
Read dittysauce15's full Norwegian Breakaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Jab2012
1 review
Mar 2016
Probably could of done without this! It was fun but not a lot of time to shop when your back to the port. There is no real shopping at this beach.
Read Jab2012's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image kdurks
1 review
Mar 2016
Our Nassau go to. Family friendly, safe small private island with restaurant, outdoor bar, hammocks, clean beach, complimentary beach chairs and small gift shop. Kayaks, water bikes available for rental but lines tend to be long and staff tends to be slow. Note the 5 hours consists of approximately an hour boat ride their and back on a larger boat. Crew was very entertaining.
Read kdurks's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image mikrisamandy
1 review
Mar 2016
We had some great views of beaches we wished we were on. The "lagoon" was waist deep at the most during our visit (I think the tide was going out) with no waves, snorkeling was available but nothing to see other than some small fish. The food was a pleasant surprise but may have been the highlight. We got the first ferry back out instead of investing another hour there. The ferry ride to and from was not a scenic tour, you do boat by Paradise Island which technically is scenic but no information regarding the houses there or the nature preserve you transit through/around. I would skip this one if you have the choice. Not sure what else to do in Nassau though.
Read mikrisamandy's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image alda1113
1 review
Feb 2016
Waited a long time to get off boat. Would've been better off meeting in the Escape theater again and separating the Dolphin encounter and the Beach Goers. Took 2 hours to get off the Escape and then to Lagoon. Then didn't spend much time there. Left on the 4 PM boat and did a little shopping.
Read alda1113's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image TXrelaxationchaser
1 review
Dec 2015
Horrible when Disney is in town.
Read TXrelaxationchaser's full Enchantment of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image ATravelDiva
2 reviews
Dec 2015
This was a very highly rated excursion but once we arrived we weren't as impressed with the beach as the reviewers had boasted.... next time we'd go back to Atlantis beach instead. Just ok. Kinda boring. Beach wasn't bad but wasn't anything special.
Read ATravelDiva's full Enchantment of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image stillwater53189
1 review
Dec 2015
This was fun, but way to short. Ship docked at 12, wasn't able to get off until 12:45 due to Bahamas port authority not clearing ship. Didn't get to Blue Lagoon until 2 and then had to be back on return boat at 4. We only got 2 hrs of play time with kids when we could of spent the whole day at this place. Inflatable water play area for kids is extra ($16/p/p). Lunch was good and provided with excursion.
Read stillwater53189's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image psychopharmacist
2 reviews
Dec 2015
We had done this before (and had done the "Dolphin Encounter" too.) We just wanted to kick back on the beach. But it was a little cool, and the beach water was not warm enough for these old people to swim. But the lunch was phenomenal, the bartender makes a mean Bahama Mama, there was a Reggae artist playing Christmas songs, and the shopping was great. We had a good time.
Read psychopharmacist's full Riviera cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image madmarvin23t
1 review
Nov 2015
This was a great day. Snorkeling all day and I even got to see the dolphins and take pictures without having to pay the extremely high prices. Snorkeling was fun but not alot of fish until we got to were the Lagoon connected with the ocean. I was pleasantly surprised with the lunch that was served which was included in the price.
Read madmarvin23t's full Norwegian Breakaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image phillyshrink
4 reviews
Nov 2015
Very pleasant beach day. Clean, well maintained beach. Adequate food.
Read phillyshrink's full Norwegian Breakaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image mopeygoff
2 reviews
Nov 2015
We loved this excursion. Best beach day of our trip. The lagoon is about chest deep in the deepest part and there is a slight current which keeps the water crystal clear. There were some fish around to keep us company and although there were four ships in Nassau all offering excursions to this island, it didn't seem crowded at all. We all had a lot of fun just relaxing in the clear water.
Read mopeygoff's full Norwegian Breakaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image BellaNell526
1 review
Nov 2015
This was the highlight of our cruise. The island was beautiful, we were able to encounter the dolphins at no extra charge & really enjoyed the boat ride to and from.
Read BellaNell526's full Norwegian Breakaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image MommaMickey
6 reviews
Oct 2015
It was a nice day very reminiscent of a day at the cruise line's private island. Enjoyed ourself but not sure I'd spend the money again. Lunch was included and tasty
Read MommaMickey's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Seagirl77
1 review
Oct 2015
Very nice place plus the dolphin encounter was right next to it and even though we didn't pay mega $$$ to kiss a dolphin we were able to walk their boardwalk and see then when they were done with the paying customers. One dolphin on its own tossed a football up to us and my husband was able to play catch. It was amazing:)
Read Seagirl77's full Norwegian Breakaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ronnmaryc
3 reviews
Oct 2015
A complete waste of time, energy, and, most importantly, money. The beach, at most, was only fair but there was adequate lounge chairs. Although the tour featured a lunch, it was nothing but cold garbage. The hot dogs and hamburgers were cold, the "fixings" looked a day old and wilted, and your beverage choice was either lemonade or fruit punch, and NO WATER! We took the first tender back and discussed this with the tour desk on board. Even though we have taken the cruise 3 previous times, this was our first shore excursion and probably our last.
Read ronnmaryc's full Enchantment of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.