Become a Cruise Insider
Tips, deals and more in your inbox.
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Nassau Blue Lagoon Island Beach Day Excursion Reviews

Nassau Blue Lagoon Island Beach Day cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Spend a day relaxing on the beautiful Blue Lagoon Island. Once a frequent stop for pirates and privateers, the island is now the perfect place for an excursion.
Member Image jdechter
26 reviews
Aug 2015
very nice facility, good lunch, nice beach, good snorkeling. plenty of activities.
Read jdechter's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image TheKozlowskis
1 review
Aug 2015
food wasn't that great. But the place looked beautiful
Read TheKozlowskis's full Norwegian Sky cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image jgb2
3 reviews
Aug 2015
Nice enough beach, bad food. Expensive extras.
Read jgb2's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image buckeyecruiser44081
3 reviews
Jul 2015
Get to the ocean side from the eating area walkway. stay to the right by the rocks to swim out to the ocean. Put your gear on as soon as possible and swim out beyond the rocks. if you do that you will save yourself walking on the rocks and algae.
Read buckeyecruiser44081's full Enchantment of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image woopuppy
1 review
Jul 2015
Very relaxing day and the complimentary lunch was very good. The water was awesome.
Read woopuppy's full Norwegian Sky cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image jsirp2
1 review
Jul 2015
While the Blue Lagoon itself was great. We spent way too much time on the boat to get there and back.
Read jsirp2's full Norwegian Sky cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ranchhandgal
1 review
Jul 2015
nice and relaxing, but crowded
Read ranchhandgal's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image anto65
1 review
Jul 2015
The island is about fifteen minutes from narcotics and is a true Paridiso, white beaches and clear water and if you want an extra charge you can swim with dolphins
Read anto65's full Enchantment of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image CruiseShipper2
1 review
Jul 2015
Fantastic -- 30 minute boat ride each way; they pointed out houses owned by Oprah, Tiger Woods, JZ and Beyoncé, Michael Jordan, Prescilla Presley, an island owned by Eddie Murphy and the island from "Gilligan's Island." Great island - like paradise - nice lunch and drink included and got to get up and personal with dolphins and sea lions without any additional charge. A great day!
Read CruiseShipper2's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image QTsKid
1 review
Jul 2015
We were told that it was illegal to open shops because it was their Independence Day (July 10th), but they 'got special permission' and it seemed like everything was open! We did the Blue Lagoon Beach Day, wouldn't do it again. The boat ride over was full of the guide telling us about people who used to own property on the islands and he ended everything with 'oh yeah' which was annoying after the first five minutes. The included lunch was a hot dog, hamburger or chicken leg – I guess I expected something more tropical. The entertainment was a man on a keyboard with a really, really bad sound system. Hubby said bar service was terrible. One cashier, five bartenders. Stood in line for almost 30 minutes to buy the drinks and then another 15 for them to make the drink. Kudos to the guys who brought out beach chairs and umbrellas – they were working hard digging holes and making sure families were sitting together.
Read QTsKid's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image djones7767@aol.com
1 review
Jul 2015
Beautiful location and enjoyed the ride to the lagoon. Gorgious location. There were too many people at the lagoon and the staff was overwhelmed to properly handle all of the childrens acitivites. Very Chaotic. It would have been much better had there been less people.
Read djones7767@aol.com's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ngamark
2 reviews
Jun 2015
Absolutely beautiful. The snorkeling is a little difficult as the water is no more than 1-3' deep. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The crew of the transportation vessel from the ship to Blue Lagoon was very entertaining and even got my wife up to do some dancing!!!
Read ngamark's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image SPL0011
1 review
Jun 2015
Was fun! Bring your money because everything costs more money than what you already paid!!!! My children wanted to do the water stuff - wipe out course, slides, kayaks, etc. That was an extra $39 per person! But we had fun so I guess $39 pp x 5 ppl was worth it, right?!
Read SPL0011's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Rachelleleigh
1 review
Jun 2015
Blue Lagoon is a pretty neat place with lots to do. My main complaint is that the driver of our boat waited on a late passenger who never showed up for about 30 min, which took time away from our time there. The other guests on the boat were irate.
Read Rachelleleigh's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Labram
1 review
Jun 2015
The beach was beautiful, but the staff were not very helpful.
Read Labram's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Irene7
5 reviews
May 2015
Loved loved this island. It is so pretty and well laid out. The lagoon was fun to swim in. The floats are free and lunch is included. Be sure to visit the dolphin and sea lion habitat. Great Time and the weather was good.
Read Irene7's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image MartyD123
1 review
May 2015
After the stop to Great Stirrup Cay was cancelled, we booked an excursion to Blue Lagoon Beach off the coast of Nassau where I hoped we wouldn't become crime victims. (Nassau is a high crime area and passengers are warned about walking around there) It was advertised as being 4 1/2 hours and it cost $60.00 per person. The reality was that we met at the pier at 10am, walked 15 minutes to a boat which took 10 minutes to board. Rode to another pier where we picked up passengers from town, then rode 40 minutes to the island. There we ran off the boat to claim chairs under a tree. It was 11:20 when we were settled. We were called for lunch and waited in line then ate quickly. We returned to our chairs and did a quick dip in the water before packing up to catch the final boat back to the ship at 2pm. For that I paid $240.00. The island is beautiful, but cruise passengers should be told the excursion is a rush job and they really can't relax on the beach. It is more like an attraction that involves taking a boat ride and meeting people up close then it is a beach excursion.
Read MartyD123's full Norwegian Sky cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image MIA2015
1 review
May 2015
Would recommend this excursion to anyone. As you ride over to the private island the crew gives you a brief history of the island. Once you arrive the island is beautiful and well maintained. Our favorite part of watching the dolphins and sea lions play.
Read MIA2015's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image RevScott
3 reviews
May 2015
See above for more details but this was a great day. Pricey but it was worth it. Not a very large place, but on the day that we went we had absolutely no problems with the crowds. We didn't do the Dolphin experience but were able to see them none the less.
Read RevScott's full Enchantment of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image billich
1 review
May 2015
beautiful spot under palm trees, enjoyed it so much we could have done it more days. great place great value, not high pressure to upgrade to dolphin adventure. seeing dolphins and sea lions was very nice. the dolphin trainer had them do tricks for us
Read billich's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image BirdTravels
3 reviews
May 2015
Beach Day Fun! This is a day to enjoy the Caribbean sun and sand on a private island. The ride out to the island through Nassau harbor has great views of Atlantis and the homes of the rich and famous. The boat ride is all part of the day’s experience. You can definitely enjoy the island whether you are young or old. If you have kids, there are water slides and the water in the lagoon is shallow and appropriate for children. For adults, grab your favorite umbrella drink and wade in the water, lay out in the sun, or grab a hammock under the trees. The lagoon itself is not large, so check out the attach photo to set your expectations. The lunch at Bahama Mama’s was good picnic food. You had a choice of a hamburger, hot dog, chicken sandwich, or vegi burger. There was a selection of cold salads and your choice of punch or lemonade. Take your food back to the beach or stay and eat to some live music. ShoeEx Tip: If you are on the beach, go early and grab an umbrella. You can moderate the amount of sun you get throughout the day.
Read BirdTravels's full Norwegian Sky cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image fxk922
1 review
May 2015
The ferry crew are so much fun and full of info on the island and eager to please! The island is beautiful and the water was great! The food was average! Dolphins and sea lions are very pleasing to watch even if you didnt buy the dolphin excursion! plenty to do and see! this is absolutely recommended!
Read fxk922's full Norwegian Sky cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image KBW225
1 review
May 2015
This was an excursion I was terribly disappointed in. They overbooked this excursion and half of our group made it on the excursion boat, the rest of us had to wait for the local ferry. The ferry makes other stops before making it out to the lagoon. By the time we made it there, we lost an hour and a half of our time. Lunch was included, but most of us didn't have time to eat and swim before we had to head back. Very poorly managed.
Read KBW225's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image sallykiss53
1 review
Apr 2015
What a beautiful, peaceful location. Ferry staff was fun and entertaining. The lunch provided was excellent and all the staff at the lagoon were wonderful. Lots of activities to choose from or simply enjoy the calm waters and scenic views. You are welcome to visit the dolphins and sea lions.
Read sallykiss53's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image spanmom
1 review
Apr 2015
I thought the price was a bit high. I heard than another group had gone even earlier but that was not made known. By the time we arrived it was after 11 and since we wanted to do some shopping in the city we left on the 2pm boat back. I would have liked to have stayed longer. It was a gorgeous day.
Read spanmom's full Norwegian Breakaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Marilyn M
1 review
Apr 2015
We had a fun day at the beach! Spending the time with my family was what made it special but it was a beautiful beach! The boat operators were a bit testy when we were boarding to go back to the ship but otherwise it was great!
Read Marilyn M's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Amberd1118
1 review
Apr 2015
Absolutely loved it, it was beautiful, it wasn't packed, the beach was great. We rented a cabana which I highly suggest, it's worth the $40 for the shade and you get some drinks and souvenir towels. The Blue Lagoon beach day was the best part of the Cruise.
Read Amberd1118's full Disney Dream cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image cruisinmama19
1 review
Apr 2015
When we arrived it was low tide. The water in the lagoon was KNEE DEEP! I was so upset. we walked around the whole island looking for a spot to claim, some was private, and half the beach was reserved for a special group. Didn't leave much options. As the day went on and the tide came in the lagoon improved and we were able to swim and enjoy. Walking over to see the dolphins and sea lions was fun. All in all, I would have rather gone to a better beach that we could just relax and swim on.
Read cruisinmama19's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image zane78
1 review
Mar 2015

Blue Lagoon is excellent.
The photo / video packages are very overpriced. ($62+ for the dvd)
The dolphin encounter is excellent and just long enough to feel like you had a good value and entertainment.
Blue Lagoon beach is amazing. Crystal clear water. Lots of things to do. The dolphin encounter doesn't include lunch, but the beach day does (makes no sense). Buy the beach day for everyone, and buy the dolphin encounter once you're on the island you'll save money in the long run.

Read zane78's full Norwegian Breakaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Rob9999
1 review
Feb 2015
Overpriced, expensive drinks, poor food. It was a pretty island but that was about it.
Read Rob9999's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image majorjan
3 reviews
Not Rated
Jan 2015

Excellent tour! Catamaran ride to Blue lagoon. Many lounge chairs with shade, Large beach, with shops, restrooms, restaurant, bar. Given use of floats, noodles, to use, and lifeguard s were on duty. Clean, white sand, crystal clear water. Given lunch tickets and non alcohol drink with tour. Lunch was very good choices, nice picnic area, and long wharf to walk over to see dolphins. a very relaxing ,fun day.

Read majorjan's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image pollyyyz
1 review
Not Rated
Dec 2014

This was an excellent excursion. The ferry ride over was good. I do wish that they used the PA system to announce the sites instead of trying to scream. The beach was good, we were able to get chairs, it was surprisingly not overcrowded. The beach was clean and the water was crystal clear. The provided lunch was excellent and the bartenders at the bar weren't shy with the alcohol. This was an excellent beach day!! I would definitely do this again. .

Read pollyyyz's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Abiding
1 review
Not Rated
Nov 2014

At Nassau, though, we did the Blue Lagoon excursion, which was really nice. I've heard complaints about the long boat ride, but I really liked it-it was part of the excursion. It took about 40 minutes each way, with one, quick stop near the Atlantis to pick up-return locals or hotel guests. Beautiful beach-something like I envisioned Great Stirrup Cay to be like. Plenty of lounge chairs with shade and sun. The meal was really good, especially the jerk chicken! I should have thought to bring some extra drinks along, though. We did buy a couple bottles of water in their gift shop for $2.50 each. I brought my own snorkel gear-saw lots of medium sized fish. Some parts of the beach are rocky, so be aware. Water shoes would have helped. There is an extra charge for use of the water toys, I was surprised by that, given the expense of the trip ($65/pp) In the future, it would have been better to get a day pass to a resort. While we didn't participate, we were able to watch the Dolphin Encounter and a little bit of Dolphin Swim-it looked really neat!

Read Abiding's full Norwegian Breakaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image clancy43
3 reviews
Not Rated
Oct 2014

Beautiful, well appointed and just right~ would definitely do this one again.

Read clancy43's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image bklynangel
9 reviews
Not Rated
Jul 2014

I really enjoyed Blue Lagoon Island Beach day. lunch was included and also the your operators were very nice, dancing on the ferry ride over to the beach. You get to see the dolphin trainers teaching the dolphins tricks . Its family centered and not crowded. will definitely go back again someday soon. I recommend this tour.

Read bklynangel's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image kauaian-kitten
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2014

Blue Lagoon Island is beautiful and fun! A perfect Bahama excursion. The beach area has many infatables in the water - slides and obstacle courses. There are plently of hammocks and beach chairs. The quiet side of the island is beautiful. The sea bottom is rocky there, but it is great for off-shore snorkeling. Some pretty fish and hermit crabs. It's so scenic on that side - exactly how I pictured the Bahamas. We also did the Dolphin encounter. It was very expensive, but a "once in a lifetime" experience for the kids. Even if you don't pay to do the Dolphin encounter, you can still walk to that side of the island to see the dolphins and sea lions.

Read kauaian-kitten's full Carnival Fantasy cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image !cocruising!
5 reviews
May 2014

Nice. Food was mediocre. My mistake was - booked the shore excursions on the ship and unfortunately paid $11 per person more on the ship than online. Found a 14K gold Ring with diamond on the beach which we gave it to the lady but she did not announce it for couple of hours. Kind of was disappointed.

Read !cocruising!'s full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image GingerBubble
1 review
Not Rated
Apr 2014

Blue Lagoon itself is a little slice of heaven...and would go back in a heart beat! We also did the Sea Lion encouter there...which was awesome. We got alot of time with the sea lions, and of course photos to buy. The staff was did a wonderful job also.

Read GingerBubble's full Norwegian Breakaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image coordinator23
5 reviews
Not Rated
Mar 2014

What a lovely beach! Actually, lovely beaches to choose from. We enjoyed the lunch and found the refreshments to be reasonably priced. Play areas for the kids (both in and out of the water), hammocks for the adults (and a nice adult bar, if you want a tropical drink), and many sunny/shady areas to choose from. Very nice. Very clean

Read coordinator23's full Enchantment of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image legaldoll
2 reviews
Not Rated
Feb 2014

Although the weather was overcast, we took an excursion to Blue Lagoon Island. The boat ride through the harbor and to the island was very nice. You will see Gilligan's Island along the way, as well as many beautiful properties and islands. The intent was to spend the day on the beach, however, when we arrived, we first went to the shops which were nice and not overpriced. Then we stopped at a dolphin tank to watch the dolphins because they are absolutely amazing animals. The dolphins and sea lions were well taken care of and seemed to love people and their trainers. Most of these dolphins were born in captivity. There were some who chose to interact in the water with the dolphins and they seemed to have a great time. We spent a good deal of the day watching the dolphins. In fact, at one point, we were on a bridge watching trainers interact with them. The trainers saw us and had the dolphins put on quite a show for us.

The beach was beautiful with abundant lounge chairs, hammocks and umbrellas. There is a water play area with blown up floats that we did not use. The lunch that was included was delicious and they gave you plenty of food. There were hamburgers, hot dogs, chicken, ribs, corn, salads and quite the spread. The food was good and was served under a pavilion, where a gentleman was playing the keyboard and singing reggae music. The entire staff on the island were great.

Well worth the $60 per person for this excursion, especially if you want to view dolphins up close or interact with them. There are 3 tenders returning to the ship - one at 1 pm, one at 2 pm and one at 4 pm. Due to the inclement weather and an ominous storm approaching, an announcement was made that the last tender would be at 3 pm and we took the 2 pm back to the ship. We will definitely do this excursion again when in Nassau so we can enjoy the entire beach experience as well.

Read legaldoll's full Norwegian Breakaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Nancy27
1 review
Feb 2014

I just wanted to go to the beach and was worried about safety and cleanliness of going on our own so went with the tour. The boat ride took an hour. The lagoon is small and does not front the ocean. You can walk behind the lunch pavilion and get to a small beach on the ocean but it is not good for swimming. Plenty of chairs and umbrellas. Lunch was disappointing after the great food on the ship. It was safe and clean and not so crowded the last hour as many people had to catch the 4:00 boat and we could wait for the 5:15. We walked over and saw the dolphins.

Read Nancy27's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image awreaper
3 reviews
Not Rated
Jan 2014

Very nice excursion. Lots to do for all ages. Highly recommended.

Read awreaper's full Disney Wonder cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image eheilker
1 review
Jan 2014

Very nice. Good for family and kids. Would not recommend Nassau itself, but recommend staying on Paradise Island. Blue lagoon is great place for the kids and family. Just not enough time at the beach once again.

Read eheilker's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image iamkilo
1 review
Sep 2013

Neat little cove. Felt a little artificial, but still the water was nice. Lots of extra costs if you want to do "premium" activities like slides which should probably be included, but still a nice day.

Read iamkilo's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Englishfirsttimecruisers
1 review
Sep 2013

Della was a great host and all the other staff were fun. Highlights were the dolphins and a dance off between the staff. A good day out.

Read Englishfirsttimecruisers's full Carnival Sensation cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image freepeople
3 reviews
Aug 2013

Don't book on the ship. Cost is $95 for adults and $84 for kids. We booked at the "info desk" just inside the "orange building" and we paid $54 for adults and $42 for kids and got a full days use as compared to the 2.5 hrs offered on through the cruise line.

Read freepeople's full Carnival Fascination cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Edster8
1 review
Jun 2013

On the fifth day, we would be in Nassau which is the capital of the Bahamas. On the island, you would see other ships pull in as your ship came in. On our ship we had also seen:

The Carnival Fantasy and Fascinations, NCL Sky, which my grandmother and grandfather took in the Winter of 2010 and they said it was better but they had to fly down to Florida which didn't take long but also the Royal Caribbean, Enchantment of the Seas was there too. You got to pick many ideas to do in the Bahamas, you could go to Atlantis or you could go to Blue Lagoon Island in which where we had went. You would take a 35 minute boat ride to the Island which included food, swimming and more. For the kids, there was a Dolphin Encounters and a Inflatable Waterpark in the ocean which amazed me! Your kids would enjoy it but they would have to wear life jackets because the water would be between 9 and 10 feet deep!

Read Edster8's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image hersheyk19
1 review
May 2013

Great day!

Read hersheyk19's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image leasure
1 review
Apr 2013
Bad weather. Rained all day and it was cold. The water was too cold to swim in. Lunch was messy. Waste of money.
Read leasure's full Carnival Pride cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Meers78
1 review
Mar 2013
Good fun, kids had a blast, nothing much to do as such. We still had some time to shop after the excursion and bought several items. In the city, keep an eye on small kids, there can be weird drunk people everywhere, esp in the evening.
Read Meers78's full Carnival Pride cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image cokelbl
1 review
Mar 2013
The boat ride over was gorgeous! I would have paid the price of the excursion just for that. We found chairs on the beach and just relaxed and read our book. There is a lunch provided on the island and it was way better than I thought it was going to be. The hamburger had some kind of BBQ sauce on it and it was delicious.
Read cokelbl's full Majesty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image lhlm75
1 review
Mar 2013
Awesome, super clean beach...choice of hamburger or chicken sandwich w/ fries salad and juice... fried conch $5.00 worth it, $ 30. for bucket of beer worth it. love it
Read lhlm75's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image mj cruiser
6 reviews
Mar 2013
Tons of stuff for kids to do they have a water play area but it costs money so make sure to bring credit card or cash!! We forgot so there were so many things we could not do! Some of it smelled like sewage not sure if there was just a problem that day. The sand was dirty and water was shallow. Would not go there again but it was ok for one time.
Read mj cruiser's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image NCJean
3 reviews
Feb 2013
Described in detail, above
Read NCJean's full Carnival Victory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image crickette24
2 reviews
Feb 2013
Love Blue Lagoon Island. The beach is calm and sheltered and safe. Perfect for children. The lunch buffet is good. My only complaint is that there seems to be inconsistent pricing through different cruise lines on the same excursion. We did the Blue lagoon island beach day on RCL in December and my 2-year-old was free of charge (same beach, same ferry, etc.). But on Disney Cruise LIne, we had to pay $55 for him to participate.
Read crickette24's full Disney Wonder cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image txagcol1
2 reviews
Jan 2013
Blue Lagoon does a good job of keeping you entertained and relaxed.
Read txagcol1's full Majesty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Ripkin
1 review
Not Rated
Jan 2013
Overcast all day so that ruined the mood. Beach and lagoon were awesome, could only imagine what it was like if the sun was shinning! Food was decent for what it was. Staff very friendly.
Read Ripkin's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image firemanjacko
1 review
Jan 2013
lay on the beach in the sun, had a couple of overpriced drinks. buffet lunch was ok
Read firemanjacko's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image yogaini24
1 review
Jan 2013
The only bad weather of the cruise was in Nassau. Staff was honest and told everyone the weather was not going to clear up. 68 and cloudy is still better than back home. Six of us elected to go anyway. We had more time to see the dolphins play and had the place almost to iurselves. The water was warm but I didn;t want to get wet for the ride back as it was windy. Beautiful spot worth seeing.
Read yogaini24's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image pittnh
1 review
Jan 2013
Lot of fun!
Read pittnh's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Sarecycle
2 reviews
Dec 2012
The island had lots to do for kids. We did regret not booking the dolphin encounter, it looked like a lot of fun. Staff at the bar on the island were quite rude and didn't seem to really want to sell any food or drinks. We waited forever and had to actually waves our hands for attention (it wasn't busy). They did have lots of lounge chairs, hammocks and a great waterpark of inflatable stuff to play on.
Read Sarecycle's full Norwegian Sky cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Need a Miracle
1 review
Dec 2012
Late arrival, early departure.... water that was equivalent of sitting in a bathtub
Read Need a Miracle's full Carnival Miracle cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image mikeyd
3 reviews
Dec 2012
We have been to Nassau a bunch of times in the past and were unsure what we wanted to do. When we docked in Nassau it was very windy (20-25 knots) and we wanted to do a beach day. We knew from previous visits that Blue Lagoon was well protected and opted for that. It was very nice and, as we hoped, protected from the winds. It was also pretty dead, but I'm not complaining. The food was decent and the lagoon was okay for swimming. Very shallow. We walked over to the sea lion and dolphin area and really enjoyed watching them play around. It was between shows and there was no one around. They do have an awesome inflatable toy area with slides and an obstacle course too. It was extra $$ but looked really cool.
Read mikeyd's full Norwegian Sky cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image marief19
2 reviews
Not Rated
Dec 2012
I loooooved it!! Walk around to see the dolphins and sea lions. Very worth it!
Read marief19's full Carnival Sensation cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image crickette24
2 reviews
Dec 2012
I would have given this shore excursion 5 stars, except it was too short. Our Royal Caribbean ship didn't get into Nassau until approximately 12:30 PM on Christmas Day, so we didn't have enough time to do anything. The boat/ferry ride to Blue Lagoon island is advertised as being 40 minutes long, but it was much closer to 60 minutes at least. The ferry made another stop on the way. Was definitely longer than advertised. We didn't get to Blue Lagoon island until 2pm. Had enough time to eat a quick lunch, swim a little bit, and then had to board the ferry again at 4:30 pm for another 60 minute ride back to the Nassau pier. Basically we spent the same amount of time riding the ferry back and forth than we did on the island. That aside, Blue Lagoon island was beautiful. There was a calm lagoon side which was perfect for young children with water toys, soft beach, and calm shallow water. No sharks! :) The other side was more open-ocean and also had soft sand, nice water to swim. The BBQ lunch was very good with hamburgers, veggie burgers, grilled BBQ chicken (delicious!), fruit, salad, and french fries. TO note, there was lemonade and fruit punch offered, but it was made very clear that you could only have ONE cup and there were no free refills. Of Cool-Aid. LOL. But the staff didn't really care. This was definitely a worthwhile shore excursion. We did not do the Dolphin or Sea Lion enounter, but definitely enjoyed the boat rides (by Oprah Winfrey's estates!) and the lunch. We only wish that we had another couple of hours there on the beach.
Read crickette24's full Enchantment of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image russellrobby
1 review
Nov 2012
Nice beach, beautiful water, relaxing day on the island. Was never harassed by the locals. Excursion included a lunch (hamburger or Hotdog and Fries). Only complaint about the meal was they provide you with a very small cup of tea, punch or lemonade with no refills allowed and no free water. Had to buy water from the bar or a store on island.
Read russellrobby's full Norwegian Sky cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image jo24
1 review
Nov 2012
This place was actually paradise and I would go back in a heartbeat! We were there very early due to our itinerary and I would recommend this. Later in the day and as more ships arrived in Nassau, it became a little more crowded but there was still room for everyone!
Read jo24's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image altonthecat
3 reviews
Nov 2012
Perfect way to spend a perfectly relaxing day.
Read altonthecat's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Story girl
2 reviews
Oct 2012
Clean beach, tranquil waters. Wonderful slides for kids, tubes & floats for adults. Food was included and was fair - hot dogs, hamburgers, salad, fries, beverage. Alcohol is extra of course. Stayed for about 2 hours and returned. Too hot, not enough shade and uncomfortable with sand in suit. Island staff very pleasant
Read Story girl's full Disney Dream cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image taxgirl8900
1 review
Sep 2012
This was a beautiful beach area, well maintained and clean. Friendly people walking around and they were all very nice. The only negative was the lunch provided, the food was OK- burgers, hot dogs, fries, salad and fruit was good but the included beverage was a small cup and no refills. They could have given out waters as part of the beach day or refills at lunch.
Read taxgirl8900's full Norwegian Sky cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image nascarfan24
1 review
Sep 2012
Very nice - worth doing
Read nascarfan24's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image marrriedwithkid
1 review
Sep 2012
Awesome experience but don't fall for upgrade to all day beach pass. We could have stayed and played and just bought lunch on our own. Inflatables were covered with algae and handles ripped off so not worth the money. Will never forget dolphin encounter it was one of my greatest experiences ever!
Read marrriedwithkid's full Carnival Fantasy cruise review
Provider: Blue Lagoon Island
Member Image blondie11776
1 review
Not Rated
Aug 2012
This excursion was well worth it, we ALL enjoyed ourselves- it was like paradise (if you go, follow the sandy path over the dunes and you will find an untouched paradise). Blue Lagoon was very clean and had good food- burgers, chicken, hot dogs, and veggie burgers. The pina coladas were great too :). My son snorkeled all day long and we didn't want to leave! Hammocks and Palm trees were plentiful, get a shady spot as soon as you get there- they will be taken quick! We also enjoyed the inflatable obstacles, although were hard for my 8yr old to pull himself out of the water onto as the water was deep here (life jackets provided). Once he got up on them, it was thrilling and fun!! This was truly a great island experience. Be aware of your time to return to the ship- they will leave without you!!
Read blondie11776's full Carnival Fantasy cruise review
Provider: Blue Lagoon
Member Image narrow56
3 reviews
Jul 2012
I was pretty disappointed with this excursion. I think the rainy weather had a lot to do with it. There wasn't much to do at Blue Lagoon if you didn't pay for a dolphin encounter. The tour of some celebrity's houses on the way back was nice.
Read narrow56's full Carnival Pride cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image ulivonce
1 review
Jul 2012
Beautiful water. Lots of walking. Glad we did it, but would probably stay on the ship the next time.
Read ulivonce's full Disney Dream cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.