Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Ketchikan Seaplane Excursion Reviews

Ketchikan Seaplane cruise excursion
Overall Rating
View Misty Fjords National Monument and the prehistoric land of the Alaskan Glacier from above on a seaplane excursion in Ketchikan.
Member Image Azure Moon
6 reviews
Sep 2014

Very, very good to excellent seaplane, wilderness scenery, and wildlife excursion. Awesome!

Read Azure Moon's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image celticspirit
1 review
Sep 2013

Ketchikan is it's perennial rainy self. It has a few quaint spots, but I think it is the place to get out of town! Due to a major port diversion, we ended up with more time here. I splurged on a floatplane trip into Misty Fjords at the last minute and was not disappointed. Value for the money? Not so sure.
However, Misty Fjords is stunning! Flying over serene mountain lakes with myriad waterfalls running down mountain sides to the sea ....

Read celticspirit's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Crentist
1 review
Not Rated
Aug 2013

We took a seaplane to meets bay hatchery, where we saw many bear catching salmon. Probably the highlight of the trip. This was the only day when it rained so the view from the plane wasn't as good as it could have been, but that can't be helped. Another good guide who showed as the salmon hatchery and then led us to watch the bear come out of the woods, catch and eat salmon(which were plentiful), and lumber back into the woods. A wonderful visit.

Read Crentist's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image cbrown747
1 review
Aug 2013

one of a kind of experience

Read cbrown747's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Catlady63
1 review
Aug 2013

First time on a seaplane and it was a great experience

Read Catlady63's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image mrskliff
1 review
Not Rated
Jul 2013

This outfitter has a permit to land on remote lakes--many do not. We had an amazing experience flying through the Misty Fjords.

Read mrskliff's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Alaska Seaplane Tours
Member Image PattiRA
1 review
Jun 2013

Not worth it!! We walked about 1/8 mile with an overly talkative tour guide giving not much of information. She kept telling us that there was "bear skat" on the trail and fungus on the trees. Who really cares?? My husband kept hearing the zip-lines going overhead and asking why we were doing this. I complained to the cruise line & have never been on such a side trip.

Read PattiRA's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image GtrJim
2 reviews
Not Rated
Jun 2013

Wonderful experience. Perfect weather. Excellent, veteran pilot, just 4 passengers, landed in lake in the middle of the Fjords.

Read GtrJim's full Silver Shadow cruise review
Provider: Misty Fjords Air & Outfitting
Member Image Gilly allen
1 review
Jun 2013

Excellent

Read Gilly allen's full Volendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image myracle777
1 review
Aug 2012
Awesome. Great pilot (Mike). Weaher although a bit cloudy, for Alaska couldn't have been better. Got super photos. Mike got my 87 year old Mom in his little plane with no hesitation although my brother and I were holding our breaths!
Read myracle777's full Zuiderdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image ISLABONITA
2 reviews
Aug 2012
Took the Alps & Harbour tour with Steve the owner/pilot . Great plane ride and smooth landing and take off. Took us above the harbour and city limits over the water and mountains , spotted mt goats and searched for other wildlife.
Read ISLABONITA's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: SeaWindAviation
Member Image Ms. bear
1 review
Jul 2012
Our Flight-seeing tour with Island Wings was awesome. She flew us over the Misty Fjord Glacier. We landed on the river and were able to walk in the Alaskan Wilderness (Valentine River) where we saw a Grizzly Bear across the river.
Read Ms. bear's full Statendam cruise review
Provider: Sourdough tours, Island Wings Flightseeing
Member Image ckellyne
1 review
Jul 2012
We did the float plane mountain tour and crab feast. We didn't realize you start the tour taking a bus to a restaurant from the ship about 20 minutes away. Finish lunch and then get onto a float plane at the dock at the restaurant to fly back to the boat. I wish we did the float plane bear tour instead vs. mountain tour via the float plane since the views were not much different than what we had seen already except a bit closer.
Read ckellyne's full Sapphire Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image CruiseGal999
1 review
Jul 2012
Was raining, heavy low lying fog and we got up in the air and about 10 - 15 minutes later we turned around and landed. Fog was too low to sea the Misty Fjords or any waterfalls or anything.
Read CruiseGal999's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ebmedic
3 reviews
May 2012
This was my second time flying over Misty Fjords with Island Wings. Amazing views and experience. 5 minute ride to plane with convenient pick up. Words can't describe the beauty. The pilot, Michelle, pointed out lots of great sights. We landed and walked on shore for awhile--an exclusive feature for this company. Standing in the silence of the fjord looking at the snow-covered mountains was fabulous.
Read ebmedic's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Island Wings
Member Image Orangeguy
1 review
May 2012
Flightseeing tour over the Misty Fjords National Monument
Read Orangeguy's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Island Wings

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.