Nassau Dolphin Encounter Excursion Reviews

Nassau Dolphin Encounter cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Get up close and personal with the world's smartest marine mammals with an amazing dolphin encounter.
Member Image primerfa83
1 review
Sep 2016
Outstanding interactions with the team. The dolphins are in a natural environment and the interaction is well planned and executed
Read primerfa83's full Disney Dream cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image phillyfun
1 review
Jul 2016
Awesome dolphin experience! We were disappointed that we couldn't take pics and the encounter would not sell single photos. The price for the disc was $75. Too much for us. The food was very overpriced as well. Worth it to meet the dolphins.
Read phillyfun's full Carnival Elation cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Bayonex
2 reviews
Jul 2016
Be prepared for a 30 minute walking tour of Atlantis that they don't advertise. The Atlantis staff was rude and bossy and unfriendly. We waited for 30+ minutes in a room for a trainer to come speak to us before our dolphin encounter. The actual encounter with the Dolphins was a lot of fun. Be prepared to pay a lot for pictures with the Dolphins if you want them.
Read Bayonex's full Carnival Elation cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image ReneeL255
1 review
Jul 2016
very good experience and really enjoyed the clean private beach.
Read ReneeL255's full Enchantment of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image djwalker82@gmail.com
1 review
May 2016
We did the shallow water experience because our daughter was too young. The dolphin was a little ornery but we still got to do everything. They do not let you take any of your own photos unless someone else in your group not doing the excursion is available to take pictures from the beach. The pictures they take are nice but too expensive.
Read djwalker82@gmail.com's full Disney Dream cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image Judya2505
1 review
May 2016
Awesome experience !! Definitely get the deep water swim for the best experience.
Read Judya2505's full Carnival Sunshine cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image galbr46031
1 review
May 2016
The dolphin encounter was great. Be warned they take you to an island 30 minutes by flat bottom type ferry thing (double decker) 30 minute away. The boat holds a lot of people AND I didn't see life vests. I mean I think you could have asked for one. Anyway, a thunderstorm built up right before we left and we were all out on this little ferry in the middle of the ocean and storm surge, wham! Rain ice cold hits all of us. Not a life vest on a one of us. We put along at 15 mph because that is as fast as that thing goes. Lightning popping everwhere, waves, rain! Crazy then you disembark and in the pooring rain had to run to the boat through water that smelled awful bad. Anyway, you take a chance riding out that far. The excursion itself was good. The dolphins were great. Be warned they DO NOT take sign and sail cards. You cannot take dolphin pics yourself. But this excursion was fine. We got the special price.
Read galbr46031's full Carnival Sunshine cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image wolfatlga
5 reviews
May 2016
We went to Balmoral Island, next to Scandals on a private island, and the water was very cold. Walked in about waist deep and played with the Dolphin tummy rub, kiss, etc. did not look at any photos, since we have done this many times. Bought a hamburger to spit and a Coke, about 25 dollars, but very good. Plenty of room to spread out and two large pools.
Read wolfatlga's full Enchantment of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Capt288
1 review
Dec 2015
Geared toward younger kids. Pretty neat none the less.
Read Capt288's full Enchantment of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image DEBBIEWAGS
1 review
Dec 2015
We were in the water on a platform and got to touch the dolphin, feed the dolphin by hand, got a hug and a kiss from the dolphin and dance with the dolphin. Quite a memorable experience.
Read DEBBIEWAGS's full Norwegian Sky cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image johnny_v
1 review
Nov 2015
The shallow water Dolphin encounter was awesome. You had a good amount of time to spend with the Dolphins, as well as being able to interact with them, and even touch them. We all enjoyed it very much. The downsides were that we had to wait an hour once we got there for our assigned tour time. We had the Dolphin Encounter and Beach Break combo tour. With the time that we were stuck in traffic, and the hour wait built in for the encounter, we had no time to go to the beach or the aquarium.
Read johnny_v's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image David69
1 review
Oct 2015
Meeting and playing with trained Dolphins
Read David69's full Carnival Splendor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image bcreasey
1 review
Sep 2015
Dolphin Encounters at Blue Lagoon Island, Nassau - we booked the dolphin encounters (http://dolphinencounters.com/) excursion before the cruise. We were concerned about the reviews we read about the treatment of the dolphins at excursions like this one, but the staff at Blue Lagoon Island was professional and did not force the dolphins to do anything they did not want to do. The first dolphin to interact with our group decided not to return to the area we were in so the staff released another dolphin from its pen to join us for the rest of the program.
Read bcreasey's full Enchantment of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image cgal
1 review
Aug 2015
Absolute highlight of the entire week! Our morning wasn't so great as we explored Nassau, tried to walk to Dunkin Donuts but it was much too far and walking was difficult on the narrow streets, many without sidewalks and drivers are aggressive. We got soaked in the rain, dried off on the boat and then prepared for our trip to Blue Lagoon for the Dolphin encounter. The ferry ride over was fun, snacks and drinks available for purchase, friendly and enthusiastic staff, and scenic. The session with the Dolphin was great, very interactive, I still can't believe I was able to kiss, hug and dance with a dolphin!! The only downside was that it took a very long time to wait for pictures to print if you order them and we would have liked to enjoy their beach instead of stand around. I would highly recommend this to any animal lovers!
Read cgal's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image nnc0
1 review
Aug 2015
Poorly run dockside and dangerous. We were 2 hrs late departing and there was no water to drink while we waited in the heat. The dockside coordinator didn't seem to care and was either incompetent or overwhelmed. A kid narrowly escaped serious injury or worse when we boarded the tour boat and he fell through the gap between the boat and the dock. Our time at the actual dolphin experience was cut short by a few hrs obviously and we didn;t get to use the beach but the actual encounter with the dolphins was great for little kids that can't swim.
Read nnc0's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image moesizzlac
1 review
Aug 2015
Possibly the best excursion we enjoyed. Still, the extra 25 minute wait to embark on the Gem was too long. Maybe it would be prudent to have more than 2 people checking ID's.
Read moesizzlac's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image MsSnorkelTube
1 review
Jul 2015
It was very organized, the people in charge of this excursion helped in every way possible. Swimming with the dolphins is a wonderful memory I will cherish forever.
Read MsSnorkelTube's full Carnival Fantasy cruise review
Provider: Swimming with Dolphins @ Dolphin Cay Atlantis
Member Image Leisa69xo
1 review
Jul 2015
Dolphin experience was great. recommend.
Read Leisa69xo's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image moconnell
1 review
Jul 2015
Atlantis Dolphin Cay shallow water dolphin encounter. AMAZING! I have wanted to swim with dolphins since I was a little girl. Sad that I have waited this long (mid 40's). It was magical. My parents who are in their 70's and my 8 year old son came with us and we all were so moved by being so close to the beautiful dolphins and to learn so much about them.
Read moconnell's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Holpridelover
1 review
Jun 2015
I preferred this dolphin experience to the one in Freeport. The dolphins were in a more natural habitat.
Read Holpridelover's full Carnival Pride cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Kfamilycruise
1 review
Jun 2015
Blue Lagoon Dolphin Encounter was less than Atlantis and just perfect. With only a small amount of time in port, we were in and out and I got to do what I always wanted, hug a dolphin!
Read Kfamilycruise's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Emmie79
1 review
Jun 2015
We had a great time at the Dolphin Cay and although it is not the cheapest excursion we both felt the dolphin encounter was well worth the money. How often can you say you have kissed a dolphin!
Read Emmie79's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image PeggyC54
1 review
Jun 2015
We had a wonderful day with the dolphins. They took pictures of us interacting and we were able to purchase a CD with all our pictures from the day on it. The dolphins are very social and love the attention all of us gave him. And he especially loved getting his picture taken. I would highly recommend this excursion to anyone thinking about going on this trip. We had a little time at the beach while waiting for our turn with the dolphins. The beach is beautiful and the water is so blue it looks like a picture with the white sand beach.
Read PeggyC54's full Carnival Valor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Nita Fay Holliday
1 review
Jun 2015
AWESOME!!! Loved how up close and personnel you get with the dolphins....
Read Nita Fay Holliday's full Disney Dream cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image patty4410
1 review
May 2015
The Dolphin Cay swim was a once in a lifetime incredible experience. It's too short, but they all are. The kids got to meet the dolphins on the shallow ledge with some one on one interaction. The foot push on the kick board was a rush! Then the free swim in the deep water. They were sad when it was over but they loved it and will never forget it. We did buy the $80 photo package since they were great shots and a memory for a lifetime. The resort is HUGE and we did check out the aquarium and beach afterwards. It takes a long time to see everything and get from Dolphin Cay to the beach. But we did get about an hour on the beach and in the water. Great day.
Read patty4410's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?