Become a Cruise Insider
Tips, deals and more in your inbox.
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Hilo Helicopter Tour Excursion Reviews

Hilo Helicopter Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Take to the skies on a helicopter tour of beautiful Hilo and see the city from a bird's eye view.
Member Image RJAYL
3 reviews
Jul 2015
Fire & Falls Tour was awesome!
Read RJAYL's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Paradise Helicopters
Member Image HappyCoupleForever
1 review
Apr 2015
There was a chance we were not going to be able to go on this due to weather. However when we got to the airport it was a "GO". Even though is was cloudy and overcast, drizzly, the volcano was amazing to see. We even saw a hot lava flow. Our helicopter pilot Colleen was a wealth of information and she made sure everyone in the helicopter was able to get a picture of everything we saw. This tour was well worth taking.
Read HappyCoupleForever's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Hillman53
1 review
Mar 2015
Highly enjoyable helo flight with an excellent pilot, half the price of the ship tour of a similar nature.
Read Hillman53's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Safari Tours
Member Image soapcakes
1 review
Not Rated
Nov 2014

Booked a Circle of Fire helicopter tour through Blue Hawaiian. Their website was easy to negotiate and all the information was great. We paid for a seat and a half each because we are heavy, and it was worth it. Our pilot Brett was astounding in his welcoming and making us feel comfortable and in his knowledge. The guy seriously knows his stuff. We had headsets and microphones to be able to ask questions and talk to each other. We saw the devastation of the current lava flow towards Pahoa town and learned the history of the island. Mt. Kilauea was stunning and we were treated to a lava window where we saw the molten flow. He threw in some pretty waterfalls for fun and we left feeling that this helicopter tour was likely the highlight of our entire vacation. The benefit of paying for extra seats was being able to both have window seats and enjoy those incredible views. Amazing!

Afterwards we took a taxi into Hilo town for lunch. There is not much to the town and although Cafe Pesto was a great lunch, I don't really recommend the trip into town. We had great difficulty getting a taxi back to the ship and happened upon the Hoppa On Hoppa Off bus which was an absolute hoot. We picked up a free tour of the city and a super cheap ride to the port. That was a great happenstance. Neat guides and met some cool people.

Read soapcakes's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Blue Hawaiian
Member Image Woobstr112G
8 reviews
Mar 2013
Great pilot/guise. Absolutely amayzing sights.
Read Woobstr112G's full Sapphire Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image shumpy61
1 review
Mar 2013
This was a very nice excursion. I was hoping to see more lava flowing but we only saw a little. Don't be disappointed if you don't see any its just the luck of the draw.
Read shumpy61's full Sapphire Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image MoJo527
1 review
Oct 2012
Flew over active volcano vents and saw lava flows. Our pilot, Roger, was an excellent tour guide.
Read MoJo527's full Celebrity Century cruise review
Provider: Blue Hawaiian Helicopter
Member Image James Coulton
4 reviews
Aug 2012
This was our second time on this tour ... the volcanic activity was much quieter than in 1994 but it was a great experience.
Read James Coulton's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Blue Hawaiian Helicopters

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.