Rome (Civitavecchia) Rome / Private Train Excursion Reviews

Rome (Civitavecchia) Rome / Private Train cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Take a train to Rome and see a plethora of astounding art and architecture ranging from the Ancient Roman Pantheon to the Renaissance frescoes of Michelangelo.
Member Image Saligo
6 reviews
Sep 2016
Getting to Civitavecchia rail station independently involves both a shuttle bus and a town bus and Italian trains are not the most reliable, so we decided to take the private train. A short bus ride from the ship takes you to a rail siding just inside the port, and from there the private train with its red leather seats takes you to San Pietro station in Rome. The tour guide walks you to St Peter's Square and from there you are on your own for five and a half hours. We took a local bus to Piazza Venezia (1.50 Euros, buy tickets before boarding at machines or tobacconists) and from there visited the Palatine Hill and Roman Forum. The same ticket (12 Euros) gets you into the Colosseum. The Palatine entrance has the shortest queues; if you try to buy your tickets at the Colosseum you could be in the queue for hours. We then visited the Trevi Fountain, gleaming after a recent restoration, and the Spanish Steps which you can see but not walk up during a restoration project. If you haven't already seen it the Pantheon is well worth a visit, as is Piazza Navona. We took the metro from Spagna to Ottaviano for an easy walk back to St Peter's Square. If you want to visit Vatican sights you will need most of the day and will probably want to investigate skip-the-line options.
Read Saligo's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image CCC+
1 review
Jul 2016
cheap and on time.
Read CCC+'s full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Tren Italia
Member Image Je ne sais quoi
1 review
Nov 2015
By taking this private train, we were able to get into Rome very promptly, and it took us to the Vatican stop.
Read Je ne sais quoi's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Stevesteam
1 review
Sep 2015
Well organised if expensive way to get to Rome but you don't have the worry if the transport fails as you might if travelling indepently for this distance.
Read Stevesteam's full Oceana cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image HACKT
12 reviews
Sep 2015
The port is Civitavecchia and is an hour outside Rome. We pre-booked the Lake Bracciano Wine Tour but it was cancelled a day before without any reason. We weren’t really interested in Rome as we had been there before but decided to go anyway. So we booked the Rome Shuttle & Express Train which included a bus to the train station and a 40 min train ride to St Peters Train Station right next to the Vatican, and return. I highly recommend this if you want to go into Rome on your own as we had a guide to get us to Rome and back, plus the train ride was very scenic, fast, and no traffic. Once at the station in Rome we were free for 5 hours on our own to sightsee. We used a Hop On-Hop Off bus by St Peters to go to the Forum & Coliseum. Some long lines but we were able to get into the Coliseum. We bused back to St Peters and took pictures there and had lunch. Probably not enough time to do both the Coliseum and the Vatican due to the lines for tickets and entry, so pick one. Or just take the HO-HO bus around everywhere and take pictures. They are guided rides with headsets in selectable languages. If you have not been to Rome before, I recommend you take a fully guided tour.
Read HACKT's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Knowles.s78
1 review
Sep 2015
Train was good and views of the country side. Rome was very crowded and not well signposted to see the sites some lovely statutes and fountains would recommend the pathion
Read Knowles.s78's full Azura cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image Hazel Marr
4 reviews
Aug 2015
To put it briefly, the train was excellent, clean, comfortable, quick and within 10 mins walk of the Vatican. Great information from the guide and plenty of free time to look around.
Read Hazel Marr's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image steve1219
1 review
Aug 2015
Didnt give us the return tickets so we had to bunk on the return train !! however gave us a free meal at choppes grille to compensate us !! yippee !
Read steve1219's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image rachelevans
1 review
Aug 2015
Air-conditioned train a very comfortable way to travel to Rome! Too much to see in a short space of time, but managed to get to the Sistine Chapel and Colosseum.
Read rachelevans's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Bonmac
1 review
Jun 2015
This is basically a tour on your own but get transportation to the train station and walked to the Vatican City. You can get a train on your own but if you want peace of mind then book this.
Read Bonmac's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image topjen
1 review
May 2015
expensive at £46 per person for train ride on 'vintage' train to Rome and back. would have saved lot of money if took local train independently - port short walk away from railway station.
Read topjen's full Ventura cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image harveyanger
1 review
Not Rated
May 2014

The guided tour was great we saw lots of the sights of Rome in one day. This was a very active day with lots of walking but plenty to see - i would love to do it all again to capture the sights a second time.

The private train was a luxury i did not expect, leather seats, toilet available to use while traveling. Well worth paying the extra money to do this.

Read harveyanger's full Island Escape cruise review
Provider:
Member Image andypandy123
1 review
Aug 2013

Although it was very hot it was a lovely day. The train was a lovely alternative to the coach

Read andypandy123's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Gary@Lpool
4 reviews
Jul 2013

We just LOVE Rome !! Fantastic port of call and the only problem is the distance from the port (1.5hrs each way) so if you are booking your own tour please BEWARE of the time it takes to get back to ship. We took the private train to Rome but we had already booked our Vatican Tickets online (Direct with Vatican...Beware of imposters) and this was literally a godsend !! as the queues were nearly half a mile long and we just walked in at our allotted time !! so please do this before you go !! Sistine Chapel and all of the rooms were amazing and well worth the visit. Vatican square is were you enter the Vatican Church (which is free to enter) but the queues were even bigger for this and in this heat would have been unbearable.

Once we completed the Vatican (3hrs) we headed off towards the Trevi Fountain but in this heat we gave up after 30 minutes walking and plonked ourselves in a fantastic pizza restaurant which hand made the pizzas (They were the best I have ever eaten) and a few Becks biers swilled them down ... what a day ... Tired , exhausted and euphoric.

Highly recommended

Read Gary@Lpool's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image ladyolivia
2 reviews
Jul 2013

What can you say about Rome? We saw everything, got into the Vatican without queuing, seeing the length of the queue we wouldn't have been able to wait so long. The excursion was expensive and I must admit I was surprised that so many people did it, but it was worth every penny. The advice seems to be do 'Rome on your own' I'm glad we did the expensive trip. My complaint is the included champagne lunch. I know we British only eat fish & chips, but a choice would have been nice. Lovely pasta starter followed by not fish & chips, but pork, boiled potatoes vegetables and gravy.

Read ladyolivia's full Island Escape cruise review
Provider:
Member Image DGJax
2 reviews
Oct 2012
We have always been under the impression that if you are on an excursion that was offered by the ship, that the ship was responsible for you and would ensure you got back on time or would wait to depart until you had returned. This is not always the case, and was a very tough lesson for us to learn, so I'll tell you about our experience with the hopes that it might save someone else from having to go through what we did. When the ship docks in Civitavecchia, you are actually about 90 minutes away from Rome proper. So you have to take a transfer into Rome, and Celebrity offered either a Bus or a private train that would take us in to Rome and bring us back to the ship. We spent 5 days in Rome last year, so were already fairly familiar with Rome, and we chose to take the private train since it should be a little faster. The train ride was fine, and we were given a map that also had 3 numbers to call in case of emergency. The guide stressed this fact about having the 3 numbers to call in case of emergency. We got off the train and the guide was going to walk to the Vatican and then we would be on our own, to meet at a bar next to the train station at an appointed time for the ride back to the ship. Unfortunately, this guide was a very fast walker and had a large group of people following her. To top it off, she zig-zagged down different streets to get to the Vatican. To make a long story short, when it was time to head back, we could not find the train station and the map was completely useless - it wasn't a detailed, street-level map, and the photo representations of landmarks were not even close to being accurately oriented. The map showed that we came in behind and to the left of the Vatican. Unfortunately that was not correct. We tried calling all 3 emergency numbers, and 1 didn't work at all and the other 2 went straight to voice mail. We left several messages but no one called us back. We finally got in a taxi and he took us to the train station, and we arrived 5 minutes after we were told to meet. By that point, the group (and our train) had already left. We panicked since no one would answer the emergency phone numbers and our ride back to the ship had already left. Generally speaking, if you do not arrive back to the ship on time, it leaves without you and it is your responsibility to catch up to it at the next port of call. This would have been a disaster for us, however, as we had no clothes or passports with us since we were advised not to take our passports with us, and little money due to pickpocket concerns. We ended up buying train tickets at our own expense and just barely made it back to the ship with about 10 minutes to spare - the officers were literally there waiting to pull the gangway up. We went to a manager in the Shore Excursions department and showed them our receipts for the metro, the taxi and the train for all 4 of us, and showed them our phone and where we had been calling frantically with no return phone call. Celebrity took our information, said they would "file a report" and 2 days later we had a note left in our room that thanked us for our feedback and apologized for the disappointment we encountered. The appropriate response would have been to refund 1/2 of the excursion cost, as we did not get to ride the private train back to the ship, and we provided receipts proving that we had to pay our own way back and showed all of our attempts to reach someone with their emergency phone numbers.
Read DGJax's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Rimavh
1 review
Sep 2012
Express train is the way to go
Read Rimavh's full Seven Seas Mariner cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image Diplomaticus
1 review
Sep 2012

The problem with Rome on a cruise, is that it is a city with so much to do, at least a week worth, and you lose 90 minutes in transit each way from Civitavecchia. Plus, we booked a train, and were given a bus somehow instead, which got stuck in traffic. We only had 5-10 minutes at some places, like the Pantheon, and had to entirely skip the Castel San Angelo. It's a long trek from the Coliseum to the Vatican, and you need 3 hours for the whole Vatican at a minimum. So you're literally running past all sorts of cool things. There's really little time for lunch if you don't want to skip a major site like the Pantheon or the Vatican. And you still really need a tour guide for the Vatican, or you'll waste time. Overall, RCI handled this stop rather poorly.

Read Diplomaticus's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image kingrodney
1 review
Sep 2012
Like Florence we were quite disappointed with Rome. Firstly we expected the private train to be a bit more luxurious but we found ourselves sitting knee to knee with the passengers opposite which was quite uncomfortable for an hour long trip. The train dropped us into Rome quite a distance from all the major sites which we didn't realise until we got int there so we ended up paying more for to go on the hop-on-hop-off bus. All in all $A250 which was very expensive for what we got. On top of that the bus wasn't worth the time. Rome itself is too over commercialised as is most cities of a similar nature. It definitely worth seeing and maybe even staying there for more than just a day but I doubt if we'd be rushing back again.
Read kingrodney's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?