Ketchikan Float Plane Excursion Reviews

Ketchikan Float Plane cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Take to the skies and explore the deep Alaskan wilderness with a guided float plane expedition.
Member Image abounceabove
1 review
Jul 2016
This was the float plane with crab feast. I will never be able to eat crab that was that good again. Just amazing and worth the cost.
Read abounceabove's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image AquaDame
1 review
Jul 2016
Loved flying through the Misty Fjords!
Read AquaDame's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Island Wings
Member Image journeycollector
1 review
Jun 2016
One of our most favorite travel experiences...EVER! Amazing experience with a landing on a beautiful lake.
Read journeycollector's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Island Wings
Member Image sierrajean
2 reviews
Jun 2016
Amazing flight. Took my breath away!
Read sierrajean's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Misty Fjords Air
Member Image writedesign
6 reviews
May 2016
Floatplane/Crab Feast. It was my idea to finally try a floatplane. I was disappointed but my husband loved it. Got a 1-way flight back, no frills, no commentary. Did some shopping in town, especially the Harley store.
Read writedesign's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image rbazor
1 review
May 2016
Booked direct, paid cash, and saved a ton. Excellent lengthy flight, landed in the most scenic lake Ive ever seen, and got to see baby mountain goats. Awesome memories.
Read rbazor's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Seawind
Member Image WECoyote
2 reviews
May 2016
This is the same tour that the cruise lines use. We know, they were on the same plane with us. The scenery was fantastic and the "crusty ole" (like me) pilot was knowledgeable and a lot of fun. The water landing in the "Amphitheater" was outstanding. Of course it didn't hurt at all to have a clear sky and record temps either!
Read WECoyote's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Alaska Shore Excursions
Member Image Off2seeAlaska
1 review
Aug 2015
when we arrived, it was too misty to take the morning flight. I called from the visitors center to check in as I was getting no cell service. Leslie was wonderful and accommodating and asked me to call in a bit to see if things cleared up enough to go in the afternoon Luckily they did! It was STUNNING!! We landed on a lake in the Fjord and walked along the pier. the scenery was breathtaking. Highly recommend!!
Read Off2seeAlaska's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Sea Wind Aviation
Member Image CCRCC
3 reviews
Aug 2015
Flew to Prince of Wales Island for bear watching in preserve - limited access, book early. Saw bears catch and eat salmon (2 large, 4 young); saw salmon in river and making spawning nests. Really great and guaranteed to see this in August when salmon are running. Really good nature guide.
Read CCRCC's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Seawind Aviation
Member Image bwaz
5 reviews
Jul 2015
We took the Neets Bay Bear watch excursion. Loved it .Very enthusiastic and informative pilot and guide. Saw 3 bears catching and eating salmon. Fun!
Read bwaz's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image gemchad
1 review
Jul 2015
The tour operator was highly professional and recommended. Beautiful scenery. I would be consider about this type of tour if you experience motion sickness, or at least prepare for it.
Read gemchad's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Island Tours
Member Image stl2012
1 review
Jul 2015
Took the float plane to the Misty Fjords. It was BEAUTIFUL. It had rained that morning and there were beautiful waterfalls.
Read stl2012's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Deeliteful
9 reviews
Jun 2015
Fabulous tour
Read Deeliteful's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Island WINGS
Member Image 30Aflorida
1 review
May 2015
The highlight of our trip. A 75 minute floatplane tour of the Misty Fjords complete with a water landing in one of the fjords followed by having our picture taken while standing on the floats.
Read 30Aflorida's full Silver Shadow cruise review
Provider: Silversea Cruises
Member Image baconlover1
1 review
May 2015
One of the best excursions ever. Randy, the owner and our pilot was awesome. He was very informative and showed us some of the best sights. Enjoyed this trip and would do it again.
Read baconlover1's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Mountain Air
Member Image funkypanda
1 review
Sep 2014

The weather in Ketchikan was cloudy and drizzily. We had a 7:30 excursion in a float plane to the Misty Fijords. (We later heard all the later excursions were cancelled). The plane takes off from the water. Our pilot was Kevin and he was very nice. I sat in the co-pilot seat and my wife sat in the back. She didn't find it too comfortable and their was a some wind going through the door which made her cold. I didn't have any of these issues in the front. The plane ride was smooth and when you are flying through the Misty Fijord, it was just breath taking. The plane does land in the Fijord and you get to just float and enjoy the scenery for about 15 minutes. Yes, I would definitely do this again but if you had sunny weather, it would be even better.

Read funkypanda's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image goingfunplaces1
1 review
Not Rated
Aug 2014

NCL excursion flightseeing and bear watching was excellent. The guide was informative and knew his stuff.

Read goingfunplaces1's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image cryan
2 reviews
Jul 2014

It was okay. Loves of forest. We did our flight on the most sunny day of the year. Beautiful views from the skies. Saw some goats, but that is it. 30 minutes was plenty.

Read cryan's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: same as above
Member Image Ski Crazy!
1 review
Not Rated
Jul 2014

Went to Neets Bay to see the Salmon Hatchery and watch bears. Unfortunately no salmon running so only saw a couple of bears in the distance. But well worth it for the flight and the scenery.

Read Ski Crazy!'s full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image tasdiwine
1 review
Jun 2014

So much fun

Read tasdiwine's full Seven Seas Navigator cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image ggroggey
1 review
Sep 2013

Our experience with Island Wings was phenomenal! Michelle made us feel comfortable and confident in her skills. She showed us an amazing experience. We loved the music she played in the headphones which made us feel relaxed. We would highly recommend Island Wings. We booked this independent of Norwegian.

Read ggroggey's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image BlueEyesMI
1 review
Aug 2013

Loved it! They picked us up near the ship and took us to their office. Flight was 1.5 hours with sometime docked on a lake. Scenery was amazing, service was great. They then dropped us off on the far side of Creek Street so we could walk balk.

Read BlueEyesMI's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image pizza4749
1 review
Not Rated
Jul 2013

Sea Wind Aviation is the best. Our pilot Ralph gave us a fantastic day.

Read pizza4749's full Carnival Miracle cruise review
Provider: Sea Wind Aviation
Member Image sonsan1
2 reviews
Jul 2013

Flight to Tongass National Forest and hike to viewing stand for Bear sighting.
Saw 1 small black bear way down the stream cross from one side to the other and disappear into the woods. My wife saw 1 small black bear come out of the woods, grab a fish and run back into the woods. Happened so fast I never saw it. A little disppointed. Our guide "Joshua" was very, very good. Lived on the island with the darned bears; a real outdoorsman.

Read sonsan1's full Statendam cruise review
Provider:
Member Image lifesabeachum
2 reviews
Jul 2013

We took a float plane to Anan Creek Bear Observatory for a completely magical experience. The float plane itself was in great condition and the pilot was very experienced and we felt very safe. However, as a whole, the rest if Island Wings seemed very very disorganized and completely underestimated how long it would take for us to hike back to a different pick up point due to low tide. We barely made it back to the ship on time and the other couple was actually very late but luckily, the other ship waited.

The float plane ride itself was great and so was the pilot. The guide was very knowledgeable and we were glad he was with us but he totally underestimated when we needed to leave. We had to HOOF IT back down and walk about an extra 3/4 mile due to low tide. The Island Wings assistant was NOT great at all.

Read lifesabeachum's full Volendam cruise review
Provider: Island Wings

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?