Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Ketchikan Float Plane Excursion Reviews

Ketchikan Float Plane cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Take to the skies and explore the deep Alaskan wilderness with a guided float plane expedition.
Member Image funkypanda
1 review
Sep 2014

The weather in Ketchikan was cloudy and drizzily. We had a 7:30 excursion in a float plane to the Misty Fijords. (We later heard all the later excursions were cancelled). The plane takes off from the water. Our pilot was Kevin and he was very nice. I sat in the co-pilot seat and my wife sat in the back. She didn't find it too comfortable and their was a some wind going through the door which made her cold. I didn't have any of these issues in the front. The plane ride was smooth and when you are flying through the Misty Fijord, it was just breath taking. The plane does land in the Fijord and you get to just float and enjoy the scenery for about 15 minutes. Yes, I would definitely do this again but if you had sunny weather, it would be even better.

Read funkypanda's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image goingfunplaces1
1 review
Not Rated
Aug 2014

NCL excursion flightseeing and bear watching was excellent. The guide was informative and knew his stuff.

Read goingfunplaces1's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image cryan
2 reviews
Jul 2014

It was okay. Loves of forest. We did our flight on the most sunny day of the year. Beautiful views from the skies. Saw some goats, but that is it. 30 minutes was plenty.

Read cryan's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: same as above
Member Image Ski Crazy!
1 review
Not Rated
Jul 2014

Went to Neets Bay to see the Salmon Hatchery and watch bears. Unfortunately no salmon running so only saw a couple of bears in the distance. But well worth it for the flight and the scenery.

Read Ski Crazy!'s full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image tasdiwine
1 review
Jun 2014

So much fun

Read tasdiwine's full Seven Seas Navigator cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image ggroggey
1 review
Sep 2013

Our experience with Island Wings was phenomenal! Michelle made us feel comfortable and confident in her skills. She showed us an amazing experience. We loved the music she played in the headphones which made us feel relaxed. We would highly recommend Island Wings. We booked this independent of Norwegian.

Read ggroggey's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image BlueEyesMI
1 review
Aug 2013

Loved it! They picked us up near the ship and took us to their office. Flight was 1.5 hours with sometime docked on a lake. Scenery was amazing, service was great. They then dropped us off on the far side of Creek Street so we could walk balk.

Read BlueEyesMI's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image pizza4749
1 review
Not Rated
Jul 2013

Sea Wind Aviation is the best. Our pilot Ralph gave us a fantastic day.

Read pizza4749's full Carnival Miracle cruise review
Provider: Sea Wind Aviation
Member Image sonsan1
2 reviews
Jul 2013

Flight to Tongass National Forest and hike to viewing stand for Bear sighting.
Saw 1 small black bear way down the stream cross from one side to the other and disappear into the woods. My wife saw 1 small black bear come out of the woods, grab a fish and run back into the woods. Happened so fast I never saw it. A little disppointed. Our guide "Joshua" was very, very good. Lived on the island with the darned bears; a real outdoorsman.

Read sonsan1's full Statendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image lifesabeachum
2 reviews
Jul 2013

We took a float plane to Anan Creek Bear Observatory for a completely magical experience. The float plane itself was in great condition and the pilot was very experienced and we felt very safe. However, as a whole, the rest if Island Wings seemed very very disorganized and completely underestimated how long it would take for us to hike back to a different pick up point due to low tide. We barely made it back to the ship on time and the other couple was actually very late but luckily, the other ship waited.

The float plane ride itself was great and so was the pilot. The guide was very knowledgeable and we were glad he was with us but he totally underestimated when we needed to leave. We had to HOOF IT back down and walk about an extra 3/4 mile due to low tide. The Island Wings assistant was NOT great at all.

Read lifesabeachum's full Volendam cruise review
Provider: Island Wings
Member Image Bamagirl123
1 review
Jun 2013

This was ok but not a great value for the money. Diesel fuel smell was very bad in the plane. You dont see anything worth the amount of money they charge you to do this....

Read Bamagirl123's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image orilliaguys
1 review
Sep 2012
Best Port, nicest town. and Best tour! We were bused to a peaceful resort on a quiet part of the water with no neighbors. Had an amazing all you can eat Crab Lunch, and then were picked up by floatplane and flew over some mountains, seen a sheep, and landed beside the ship.
Read orilliaguys's full Sapphire Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image MRANDMRSSKGORDON
1 review
Aug 2012
Float plane to Traders Bay in Tongass National Park. Smooth flight and very informative. Spectacular views. AJ was the naturalist we met. He was incredible. We watched about 10 bears feast on salmon and even had 2 cubs playing in a tree just feet from the viewing platform. Easy walk for anyone ambulatory. Take an extra camera or extra battery. Never have seen so much green before. Also learned tons about old growth forests.
Read MRANDMRSSKGORDON's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ridgerunner51
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2012
Wonderful excursion. Pilot was very knowledgeable, professional and friendly. We flew to a beach and landed on the water.
Read ridgerunner51's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Island Wings

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.