Become a Cruise Insider
Tips, deals and more in your inbox.
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Naples Sorrento Excursion Reviews

Naples Sorrento cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Visit the beautiful water-side town of Sorrento, home of the famous Limoncello, and enjoy!
Member Image mermamasailsagain
1 review
Jun 2015
Low key day. Guide was not the most personable or experienced but it was an okay day to just walk around the town. Would have preferred to spend time in Naples in hindsight.
Read mermamasailsagain's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image aautomo884
2 reviews
Jun 2015
This was a tour of under 20 to the almafi coast drive with stops in Positano, Sorrento and then Pompeii. It was magnificent, and the lunch was spectacular.
Read aautomo884's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Rozalpha
1 review
May 2015
Drove through Naples up to Sorrento. Free time to explore, followed by a pizza tasting lunch with wine. Very good pizza (3 kinds). Disappointed that we made no stops in Naples, except getting off the bus at the port.
Read Rozalpha's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image rudyred
1 review
May 2015
We were given maps & lots of information on coach before we arrived in Sorrento. Loved the time we spent there & enjoyed a lovely pizza lunch in a restaurant. On way back instead of stopping in Naples (which we expected) we got a sightseeing tour on bus instead. Quite a few of us disappointed that we were not given times in the city.
Read rudyred's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image worltravellingguy
1 review
May 2015
Pleasant
Read worltravellingguy's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image jalbetski@cox.net
1 review
May 2015
This was one tour with 3 parts, Capri by boat, Sorrento for lunch and Pompei in the afternoon. A busy day, but worth it.Tour guide remained with us for the whole tour.
Read jalbetski@cox.net's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image arlengarrison
1 review
May 2015
Could use an extra half hour for photo ops. Otherwise it was a good tour. The sites along the way were spectacular. I would go back there again given the opportunity.
Read arlengarrison's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image Ansky
2 reviews
May 2015
Booked an English speaking tour through MSC for Capri, Sorrento and Pompeii. It was a mess, they added a Spanish speaking group from another bus, they over booked that group, made us miss half of the sites. The tour guide didn't have the tickets for the two ferries needed nor the cable car on Capri. It took an hour just get on the cable car. The lunch in Sorrento was good, but that was all we saw of Sorrento. Same problem in Pompeii, the tour guide spent half her time doing two interpretations.
Read Ansky's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image lady travel
1 review
May 2015
It is a typical Italian town, a little too tourist oriented but beautiful. I walked the streets and admired the hand made woodworks and pottery but prices were high.The architecture is nice.
Read lady travel's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image seasoned60
1 review
May 2015
Brief time in Sorrento and had a provided turkey lunch in Italy. This was not what anyone wants when in Italy. Time is given for 25 minutes of shopping and that was good.
Read seasoned60's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image jackiewarren50
1 review
May 2015
Beautiful scenery on the way to Sorrento. Excellent guide, friendly and informative. We visited a small factory of wooded goods and then went to Sorrento for a walk around the shops before having lunch at a lovely Pizza Restaurant. We had two different pizzas and all the wine you could drink. After than we had a short tour around Naples. Very enjoyable and well organised by the Ship.
Read jackiewarren50's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image matkin
1 review
Apr 2015
great tour, great guide
Read matkin's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: naples tour service
Member Image hsmcruise
13 reviews
Sep 2014

Drove down the beautiful Amalfi coast, stopped near Positano (didnt actually go into town). Lunch
in Sorrento and some shopping and then Pompeii.

Read hsmcruise's full Ryndam cruise review
Provider: cbm tours
Member Image cfinley
1 review
Not Rated
Aug 2014

Loved this quaint little town full of lemons! The best surprise of the trip: My husband sat down on a bench outside of the Lucky store, and a man from another NCL cruise sat down beside him, and they ended up being cousins! They are both from Arkansas, but haven't seen each other since my husband was in Jr high! WOW!

Read cfinley's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image FLCRUISER007
3 reviews
Not Rated
Jun 2014

Loved Sorrento. We stopped by a farm where they make cheese. We were able to sample it with fresh tomatoes and olive oil. They also sold olive oil, Lemoncello and jam there. After that we went to Sorrento. They stopped at a wood shop where they make inlaid furniture. We were not prepared to shop there, but if you are looking for something really unique and beautiful bring lots of money with you, they will ship. They also sold smaller items. Sorrento was the best stop for leather. I wish I realized that early on. By the time I found the store it was time to go. I got a beautiful purse made there for 59 Euros. My Husband found a credit card wallet for 25 Euros (They wanted 100 in Florence for the same thing). Our tour guide Akem was a comedian that kept us entertained as well.

Read FLCRUISER007's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image jonasaa
2 reviews
Not Rated
Jun 2014

Value Package: Sorrento & Pompeii – Adult Only Departure

Sorrento is BEAUTIFUL, and I could easily have spent 2-3 days there just to relax and suck up the atmosphere. A charming little fairy tale city on top of a cliff, just like something out of a travel catalogue.

Read jonasaa's full Disney Magic cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image bharrelslp
3 reviews
Jun 2014

My daughter did the Amalfi coast and Sorrento tour and it was wonderful. She loved the boat ride and the time she spent in Sorrento. My other daughter and I did Leisurely Sorrento and though there was more walking than a tour 1 would expect it was very nice and we enjoyed our day there buying Lemoncello and a few other things.

Read bharrelslp's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image jacsdan
2 reviews
Jun 2014

Part of Capri, Sorrento, Pompei excursion

Read jacsdan's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image UberShopper
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2014

Excellent shopping, beautiful area.

Read UberShopper's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Shore Excursions in Italy
Member Image FLSuep
2 reviews
Not Rated
Apr 2014

Beautiful and a must. Great lunch and fun shopping.

Read FLSuep's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image dvanlang
2 reviews
Oct 2013

Naples: We wanted to see Sorrento and Pompeii and heard that the traffic along the coast can be tricky so we decided to take a ship excursion to make sure we didn't miss the ship. We had a very good guide but it should be noted that in Sorrento we were herded into an inlaid wood shop to use the bathrooms. DO NOT buy anything in that shop. The same thing down the block is half the price. Someone is making a commission on it we were told. Again in Pompeii, we stopped at a Cameo "factory" which was also overpriced.

Read dvanlang's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image prinsjh
2 reviews
Not Rated
Sep 2013

Loved this town. Much bigger than Positiano but vibrant, clean, and interesting. Tour included visit to wood inlay furniture demo and shop. No hard sell which was nice. Time to stroll the shopping area. Many cute shops. GREAT lunch at the Htoel Mediterraneo on the outskirts of town. Meal was delicious with an absolutely phenomenal view. We had upgraded to this tour as it was the only one NCL offered which included Positano. I preferrred Sorrento but am not sure if we would have dined at the same place for lunch on a larger tour.

Read prinsjh's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image lostg8rinva
1 review
Aug 2013

Great experience with Elisa our guide. The farm visit in Sorrento was great and the Limoncello was amazing. We had a wonderful time even though time was cut short in Pompeii.

Read lostg8rinva's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image KentuckyBelle
1 review
Jul 2013

Bus trip to Sorrento with free time to explore. Great half day trip leaving time to explore Naples in the afternoon.

Read KentuckyBelle's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Quem_Fala
3 reviews
Jun 2013

We came across the Sorrento Peninsula, over the mountains and approached Sorrento on the road alternately called "Via Nastro Azzuro" and "Via Nastro Verde". As we crested the final hill and turned onto the "Via Capo" we had the whole valley, the Bay and the city of Sorrento laid out in front of us in spectacular fashion. Not only did we have the great views of the city, but during the last 4 or 5 miles of the drive into town, we were surrounded by grape vines and lemons. Not so much lemon "groves", but more like lemon trees planted by everybody who had a spot to plant one. No wonder we were overwhelmed by the availability of Limoncello. It was the local "White Lightning"! Every country in the world must have some kind of a local brew made from whatever is available. Brasil has their cacha?a or pinga, we have White Lightning and I guess the Italians have Limoncello!It was pretty and picturesque from a distance and didn't disappoint when we arrived. While it is in close proximity to Naples, it's as different from Naples as night and day. Although we only passed through Naples on our departure from the ship, the ever-present graffiti and trash littered streets which were "paved" with potholes, wasn't what we saw in Sorrento. It's as though there was an invisible fence of some sort that separated Sorrento from its surroundings and welcomed visitors in a much friendlier fashion. It seemed very evident that tourism was king and the locals intended to make the most of it with as inviting experience as they could.

Read Quem_Fala's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Rome in Limo
Member Image xlucim
1 review
May 2013

Beautiful place, don't miss it.

Read xlucim's full Carnival Sunshine cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image raylor1
1 review
Not Rated
Apr 2013
Excellent.
Read raylor1's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image flycgb
1 review
Jan 2013
Excellent. Comfortable new Minivan with 6 in it + driver and excellent English speaking guide. see abve
Read flycgb's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: cruisingexcursions.com
Member Image la bon
1 review
Sep 2012
We enjoyed all all of the sights outside of Naples. Pompeii was amazing, and Sorento, Positano, and the Amalfi coastline were exceptionally beautifully!!
Read la bon's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ruby0512
1 review
Not Rated
Sep 2012
Nice little tour after the two previous days of very big ones. Had lunch which was a bit of a mistake as we had very little time to shop or look around after that
Read ruby0512's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image FePerk
3 reviews
Sep 2012
Naples: "Flavors of Sorrento and Pompeii" excursion. The quality of this excursion was a pleasant surprise. Sit on the right-hand side of the bus on the way out to get the best pictures! We had time to shop in Sorrento, and I would say it had the best opportunities for gifts and decent shopping of any port, perhaps with the exception of the Grand Bazaar in Istanbul. The lunch at the farm was outstanding, and very relaxing. We had visited Pompeii previously, but this tour was better than the first. Great excursion.
Read FePerk's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Rotenmutts
9 reviews
Sep 2012
Naples is a bit of a grubby city and the great Archeological Museum was closed on Tuesdays but a quick train ride to Sorrento or high-speed ferry is worth the trip to this beautiful little cliff side town. Lots of interesting shops and cafes. Pompeii is the usual attraction here and should not be missed but avoid ship's tours here too because they are awful.
Read Rotenmutts's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image vs8864
4 reviews
Sep 2012
Beautiful part of Italy. I as smitten.
Read vs8864's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image kingrodney
1 review
Sep 2012
We did Pompeii and Sorrento on our own. Our tour of Pompeii was a little rushed and we didn't get to soak it all in as we would have liked but overall it was okay. Our tour guide was a female clone of Newman from the Seinfeld series and she was quite aggressive which took away from the tour a little. Sorrento on our own was nice and very relaxing.
Read kingrodney's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.