Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Naples Sorrento Excursion Reviews

Naples Sorrento cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Visit the beautiful water-side town of Sorrento, home of the famous Limoncello, and enjoy!
Member Image PuryEnd
1 review
Jan 2016
Sorrento & Naples sightseeing Sit on the right side of the bus otherwise you miss the views of the Amalfi coastline. It snowed in Sorrento on arrival for like 15 mins then the sun came out and it was bright but crisp. Sorrento as always is a jewel and IMO not to be missed if nothing else to bring home some Lemoncello. Liked the included pizza lunch and the quickie bus tour and small walk round Naples on the home stretch thought it was good value as they packed in a lot on this 7 hour excursion.
Read PuryEnd's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Lorial1989
1 review
Jan 2016
Would have loved to have more time in Sorrento. The main shopping area has wonderful quaint gift stores as well as upscale clothing and shoe stores. The area is known for growing spectacular lemons and there is a limoncello factory that gives free samples of the liqueur as well as lemon candy. They are smart to do this as they know once people taste it they will buy it, which we did! The Christmas decorations were still up and the weather was so cold it actually snowed on us, but this just added to the loveliness. This is a destination that deserves more time but it was just one stop on our tour which included Pompei and Herculaneum.
Read Lorial1989's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image lovetogobyebye
1 review
Nov 2015
Lots of road work so limited time in town. Also started raining for Carmine took us to a local olive oil company (Gargiulo) for a tasting. Sorrento was all decorated for Christmas and was quite charming.
Read lovetogobyebye's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: See Amalfi Coast-Carmine
Member Image Beh Soo seng
1 review
Nov 2015
Serene beach resort with shopping streets!
Read Beh Soo seng's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image mushyspud
1 review
Nov 2015
We took a trip to Sorrento, which itself was lovely, but they do not give you enough time to look around yourself (about an hour) before you have to get back on the bus.
Read mushyspud's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image joste64
1 review
Oct 2015
Fantastic
Read joste64's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Pegggers
1 review
Oct 2015
What a beautiful drive to Sorrento. This was mostly just transportation to the city and we walked for a couple of hours on our own...had pastry and coffee at an outdoor "bar" and then met up with the bus to go back to the ship. Easy walking town and very friendly people and shop owners. The ship is docked across the street from a castle and then beyond that castle is Naples. We went walking and had NO problems with pick pockets (as you are warned to avoid on the ship). We went into this area which was a lot of shopping and restaurants. We had fried fish, shrimp and octopus in a cone...then found a restaurant right across from the water...with a view of Mt. Vesuvius...we had pizza and wine. What a great experience.
Read Pegggers's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image julie910
1 review
Oct 2015
Very nice, if very touristy, walkable town. Lots of interesting shops and good restaurants. We only had a few hours there, but it was enough to get the flavor of the place.
Read julie910's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Cruising Excursions
Member Image HACKT
11 reviews
Sep 2015
We pre-booked a great excursion this day, the Pompeii-Sorrento-Capri tour – highly recommended. Drove thru not-so-scenic Naples (it’s a shipping port) to Pompeii, had a great tour there. Then had a real exciting drive to Sorrento further down the coast – Italian drivers are pretty aggressive, inc our bus driver! Very scenic drive as we were going up the bluffs and the coastline south of Naples is beautiful. Sorrento is a small town, very scenic on the coast, where we had lunch provided. Not a great meal but it was OK. Then we took a ferry to Capri, about 40 mins. Capri was the highlight, a mountainous island off the coast. After we docked, we took the tram (called a funicular) up the mountain and spent 2 hours at the top. The guide took us to an overlook with a very scenic rock formation, then we wandered around the shops and cafes, then returned to the harbor. After that, we had a 1 hr ferry ride direct to the Allure so avoided the rush hour traffic – very cool!
Read HACKT's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image bifocalpear
1 review
Sep 2015
Lovely, but not enough time there.
Read bifocalpear's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image hawkshoe
2 reviews
Sep 2015
I was a bit disappointed with Sorrento. I was expecting more of a seaside town built on the cliffs. It really isn't how I had envisioned it. We did have a very good pizza meal there.
Read hawkshoe's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Rome in Limo
Member Image carlosuru74
1 review
Aug 2015
Lunch included: we ask for another plate
Read carlosuru74's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Jul.Abbott
1 review
Aug 2015
Don't bother with leisurely sorrento excursion, 2 hours only in Sorrento and now new tunnel is open drive is spoiled
Read Jul.Abbott's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image msupovitz
2 reviews
Aug 2015
I was here before and did Pompeii and the Amalfi coast so we did something different. Went to Sorrento and had freetime to explore. Then went for a pizza tasting lunch which was great. Then we headed back to Naples and did a bus tour of the city with a 10 minute stop.
Read msupovitz's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image s46560b
1 review
Aug 2015
Not enough time, lunch should be on your own mediocre at best
Read s46560b's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image mdfrance
1 review
Aug 2015
The tour of Sorrento included an enjoyable stop at a mountain side farm. While we liked it there, we were only left with an hour in Sorrento that was just too short.
Read mdfrance's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Pamela pedley
1 review
Jul 2015
Beautiful place, want to go back again.
Read Pamela pedley's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image kessepha
1 review
Jul 2015
Sorrento is not much to see. If I had it to do again I would have chosen another excursion. Our guide was amazing.
Read kessepha's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Deep Thinking Fish
1 review
Jul 2015
Top marks, great informative guide. Could have done without the seemingly mandatory 15 Euro Lunch on arrival at Pompeii though.
Read Deep Thinking Fish's full Thomson Majesty cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image Manifestjoy
1 review
Jul 2015
Both the day at the beach & tour of Sorento were great. Relaxing.
Read Manifestjoy's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image TravelingActuary
1 review
Jul 2015
We visited a Sorrento farm house to taste local foods. The drive to Sorrento from the port is beautiful. Lots of great coastline views. The farmhouse tour was one of our favorite activities of the whole cruise. We learned about cheesemaking and olive oil making, then got to taste cheese, salami, and limoncello.
Read TravelingActuary's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image brd1121
1 review
Jun 2015
CBM tours was wonderful! Save some money and go with them
Read brd1121's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: CBM
Member Image mermamasailsagain
1 review
Jun 2015
Low key day. Guide was not the most personable or experienced but it was an okay day to just walk around the town. Would have preferred to spend time in Naples in hindsight.
Read mermamasailsagain's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Stan1112
1 review
Jun 2015
Disappointed in Sorrento. Absolutely jammed with tourists all crowding into shops that all sold the same thing. Maybe we were in the wrong part but nothing worth seeing here
Read Stan1112's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: CBM
Member Image galbro1
1 review
Jun 2015
A combined day tour that took us to Pompeii and Sorrento. We had a very knowledgeable guide that took us through Pompeii and then we spent a couple of hours in Sorrento to wander and shop on our own.
Read galbro1's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.