Become a Cruise Insider
Tips, deals and more in your inbox.
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Kauai Luau Excursion Reviews

Kauai Luau cruise excursion
Overall Rating
To go to a Luau in Kauai is to venture into an unforgettable world of rich culture and delicious cuisine -- a must do!
Member Image FAM_Cruiser
1 review
Jun 2015
The Smith Family Best of Island Luau was fantastic! The 30-acre garden tour was beautiful. Everything was perfect; the Imu ceremony, the luau feast and hula show were spectacular.
Read FAM_Cruiser's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Roberts Hawaii-Best of Island Luau
Member Image eewhlpn
1 review
May 2015
The luau was delicious with a react variety of food. The shopping vendors where the best we had seen on our whole trip with real items from Hawaii, and the performance was great.
Read eewhlpn's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image rbrady25
1 review
May 2015
The Luau was amazing!! Make sure you get your time early. Loved that there was so much to do and see around where the ship docked. Very beautiful beach, stores and restaurants by.
Read rbrady25's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image tigerfanatics
2 reviews
May 2015
Awesome luau. The food was tolerable, and the pork was really good. The drinks were way-too-sugary. The show was very entertaining and a great story-telling experience. Close to the end, go to the bus. It's 800 people waiting in line for an hour if not.
Read tigerfanatics's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image paularudd
1 review
May 2015
The food was great and the entertainment was amazing. Very good show. Nice plantation with lots to see. The bus drivers that took us to and from the luau were engaging and fun.
Read paularudd's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image GrannyPat48
1 review
May 2015
We did the train ride with the luau. The entertainment was awesome and the food was very good. Learned the history of the site and loved the way it was layer out.
Read GrannyPat48's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Jaybeeaz
1 review
May 2015
Great experience. Lots of entertainment, good food and drinks. Cruise handled the transfers to and from very well. Great photo opportunities and the fresh leis were a nice touch.
Read Jaybeeaz's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image SharlaU
1 review
May 2015
Outstanding. I appreciated the opportunity for front row seating. There was so much to see and enjoy. I would have hated to be far away. The food was good, not exceptional, but good. It was fun to try poi. The Luau was the only place it was offered! Had a fabulous time!
Read SharlaU's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image gbowman2
1 review
May 2015
Informative and entertaining; excellent transportation and guide -- just the right pace; appreciated the experience and would recommend it. The price was right!
Read gbowman2's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image tmwsbm
1 review
Apr 2015
After returning to the ship from a day at the beach and shopping, we attended Luau Kalamaku. Upon arrival, they take your photo and show you your table. There are no bad seats. The drinks weren't that good. The Mai Tai tasted like straight rum while the non-alcoholic version was watered down. Prior to the show, they have several vendors - mostly stuff that you've probably already seen or purchased elsewhere. More variety would be nice. They also have traditional games, but very little explanation. Once seated, the had a band, hula demo, etc. They served salad, taro rolls, and pineapple/coconut/pink salt family style. The buffet was great - plenty of options both traditional and non-traditional. Several dessert options were also available - the rice pudding with rum sauce was the best. The show itself was about an hour long and very good. While waiting for your bus back, you can mingle with the performers if you would like.
Read tmwsbm's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image skm3998
1 review
Apr 2015
The food was fine but it was difficult to see the program. The tables are not elevated by rows like a theater so it was difficult to see everything. We bought the video on the boat so we will be able to see what we missed.
Read skm3998's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image RLONGSTONE
1 review
Apr 2015
This is a must see !!! Just jaw Dropping !! Food wasn't my thing but the show was GREAT. Booked this ahead of time and saved some money. The grounds are just beautiful and the show .... well you will just have to see for your self
Read RLONGSTONE's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Mark Scott
1 review
Mar 2015
Very good but not as great as the polynesian cultural Center on Oahu, much more to offer and better selection and quality of food and entertainment for the same price at the cultural center. We did enjoy both Luau
Read Mark Scott's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Cozumel Jim
3 reviews
Not Rated
Sep 2013

This is the best on the islands! Smith Family, they do it up right! Camera again.

Read Cozumel Jim's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Roberts
Member Image Ernest Hemingway
1 review
Jul 2013

Really fun. Great show, fantastic dancing. Food was OK.

Read Ernest Hemingway's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image rockabutzer
2 reviews
Jan 2013
Absolutely wonderful show. If you book it, don't forget to do the manor house and plantation train ride. All worth the price.
Read rockabutzer's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image jnap
1 review
Jul 2012
First, I must say that Kauai was probably our favorite island! Beautiful greenery, fantastic beaches, great swimming, boarding, etc. However, it was also the location of our worst experience during the trip. The Wailua River and Fern Grotto tour saw actually pretty nice, but the Smith Family Luau was a DISASTER! For our review of this event, please refer to Trip Advisor and look up "Smith Family Luau (Robert's Tours)- Save your time and money!!" I certainly won't repeat the entire review here, but the pay-off was when my wife found a very long hair in her food, which naturally destroyed our appetites, and when she told the host for the evening- a Mr. Cominga Smith- his response was simply "Okay. Thanks." as if it happens all the time! Suffice it say that the title tells you all you need to know! As I said, it was clearly the "low-light "of our entire trip!! On the second day, we departed the port early so that we could cruise by the beautiful NaPali coastline--- fantastic! I should also mention that when we disembarked, we took the N.C.L. excursion "Early Bird Pearl Harbor Tour". It was an excellent, and a very moving experience. N.C.L. makes the disembarking very easy, and it locks up all of your luggage, etc. on the bus, while you're at the memorial and then they drop you off at your terminal in the airport. Very well organized.
Read jnap's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Robert's Tours
Member Image thefenderbender
1 review
Dec 2011
After the plantation tour we joined the Kalamaku luau. It was great! They took a few photos (like they do everywhere on the cruise) and it turned out well so we actually bought it, our embarkation day photo and NCL album. Before the luau there was lots of little shops and things to try all around the area. Then you move inside - where we found drinks, even alcohol ones, to be free! Yep, all you wanted with the caveat that if you got routey you would be sent back to the ship by cab on your dime. The food was great - pig, chicken, rice, salad and deserts - all you could ever want to eat! Then the show. The seating aspect was a little disappointing. We paid for the best sets you could and just before the show started the moved the ADA folks to the very front. Now before you call me a horrid person, I have an aunt who is disabled and it wasn't that they moved them, it was that the woman who was placed in-front of us has this I'm miss rich attitude and basically she looked perfectly fine to us, just elderly. We had gone on another shore excursion with us and she constantly looked down at us and moved around okay, better than us sometimes - so I may have just been annoyed in general. Exiting was a bit chaotic too - they didn't dismiss by table like they said they wood and it was a mob for the busses. Not sure how long we waited our turn, but was a fair bit. They eventually got us all back to the ship. Aside from that annoyance, the show itself was amazing, sound was well heard, fire on stage, and then side stages were set all through the dinning area. My hubby was not so impressed, but he's not a live performance person - he was really there for the food and because I wanted to go. Defiantly recommend and would do again.
Read thefenderbender's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.