Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Nassau Island Tour Excursion Reviews

Nassau Island Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Once a haven to pirates, see everything Nassau has to offer on an amazing island tour.
Member Image smog
2 reviews
Not Rated
Oct 2014

All for $30 pp. 3 hour sightseeing tour which covers 40% of the island, Atlantis, the queens staircase, John Watlins distillery, shopping, conch fritters. Wonderful tour, great to see the locals side of the island and to enjoy a fresh made piña colada and see rum made and bottled the old fashioned wa. Fabulous for the money!

Read smog's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Mario
Member Image coldinkansas
2 reviews
Sep 2014

Enjoyed the ride and was shown many areas of the Island.

Read coldinkansas's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image shenstar
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2014

We did the Rum Runners walking tour through Islandz Tours which we found through Trip Advisor. Started with a rum tasting at the pirate bar adjacent to the Pirate museum. Tasted white, gold and spiced rum and then had the bar's signature rum cocktail while learning about the role that piracy and rum running has had in the development of the Bahamas. Then we visited a local artist's gallery and enjoyed conch fritters in the garden. We learned more about the history of the island and various sites along the way to Graycliff Hotel where we walked through their grounds and then stopped at their chocolate shop for rum balls (excellent!). The chocolatier there was on Top Chef- Just Desserts show. Then we walked up to the John Watling Rum Distillery. We tasted their rums, had their signature rum cocktail, and had guava duff (a traditional dessert). Our host was great and very accommodating.

Read shenstar's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Islandz Tours
Member Image Wicklow_Joe
1 review
Mar 2014

We went to a Carnival seminar on how to get the best from your shopping in the Bahamas and how to get all the deals with Brandon. After we returned from our shore shopping in Nassau, we realized it was a sales pitch to sell us a book for 20.00 which supposedly had all these wonderful deals and free coupons. The book was a total scam. We received dollar store trinkets from on shore vendors, rather than these precious gemstones that Brandon toted. Shame on you Carnival! Wake up.. this was one of the biggest turn offs we had on the ship. I was a first time cruiser, but I will not be taken again… guaranteed! The other adults in our party, along with other cruisers we overheard talking all felt the same way, "scammed by the cruise line". We went on an island excursion to see the island, which was the best part of our Nassau stop. The driver was friendly, and we got to see a little bit of what life was like on the island with a few stops along the way. He narrated the trip so there was a good understanding of what you were seeing.

Read Wicklow_Joe's full Carnival Splendor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image Ironsiren
2 reviews
Mar 2013
we saw this tour offered online, but when you went to book it, it said you had to book it through the cruise, so we did. It was organized well, but in case of inclement weather, they DO NOT refund your money. Luckily, the rainy weather burned off and we were able to go. The tour operator was friendly and humorous, and showed us many parts of the island people don't see or know about. He must have had a connection to The Poop Deck, because of all the restaurants and sea-side fish-fry places we could have eaten at, he chose to stop there and that place was EXPENSIVE and slow (but good).
Read Ironsiren's full MSC Poesia cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image SethroK
1 review
Mar 2013
After wandering the shopping district near the port, we decided to get some history via a horse-drawn carriage ride. Flagging down a driver was no problem - as he approached us first. The cost for the 4 of us was fifty bucks (probably could have negotiated lower) - the ride lasted about 20min - and it was enjoyable. The kid at the end offered to take our photo then (of course) asked for a tip for doing so. Three large ships were in port that day, which made for a VERY long line re-entering port security (the wait was about 15min).
Read SethroK's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image dhernan81
3 reviews
Mar 2013
This was a first for us and we found this to be the best deal for $75 for a 2 hour tour for 4 people. Our driver showed us the sites and gave us history and taught us about the culture and lifestyle of the Bahamas, shout out to Lennox. She showed us how to get conch out of the shells and how they are cooked, he took us to the fort and the Queen staircase, Paradise Island for a quick Atlantis peak. Just to go inside Atlantis was over $30, not even to use the facility. We played one quick game in the casino. Last stop was he dropped us at the beach and restaurants for Fish fry, the beach was not that nice, the water was beautiful, but the sand was grainy and stuck to you. Most of the shops were closed for Good Friday, but overall a nice stop.
Read dhernan81's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Lennox
Member Image smiles4U2sea
1 review
Not Rated
Feb 2013
The tour director did an excellent job. I'm glad we got to see the island, but I don't care to go back.. It's has a lot of traffic..
Read smiles4U2sea's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image SheilatequilaPat
1 review
Jan 2013
Driver was good, but had to be in the crazy Nassau traffic!! The tour lasted about an hour, but 20 minutes was getting out of the downtown area traffic. We were not very impressed with what we saw of the island. Also took a taxi over the Atlantis and were very disappointed in what little we could see of it if we didn't buy the expensive Atlantis excursion.
Read SheilatequilaPat's full Carnival Ecstasy cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image mansellcat
1 review
Dec 2012
Baba took us around to Atlantis, straw market, beach area and toured. Only thing we got ripped off with, he stopped at a fresh fish maket at the water. We purchased a conch shell, cruise line took it. Couldn't bring it on board, tour guide knew that but was trying to support the locals, glad it only cost $5.00. So many people had them taken away. Missed getting a store bought shell from the market at the pier.
Read mansellcat's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Baba
Member Image Posada
1 review
Oct 2012
Learned a lot about the island
Read Posada's full Carnival Fantasy cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image tigresanica
1 review
Oct 2012
The day at Nassau (I didn't seem much hurricane damage there) was warmer so I took a reasonably priced city tour with an extremely nice lady who called herself friendly Fanny. It was supposed to be 2 hours long but the whole van of passengers was having such a good time it ended up being close to 4 hours and she was in no rush, happy to make her customers have a good experience while enjoying herself too! We went to a Fort shaped like a ship with nice island views, the queen steps, souvenir shopping, to the lower, middle and upper income class areas to see the difference, have fresh conch salad made before your eyes by the water with some super powerful coconut milk/coconut water/rum mix that everyone wanted more of, and finished off at Atlantis resort, before being driven back to our starting point. This lady was very friendly, very knowledgeable, fun and entertaining. Definitely recommend her! Afterwards, I got a chance to do a lot of shopping on the port, sightseeing, eating, and it was great. It was a bit hard to find an internet cafe (the one I found first was not working) and the like, but it was a good experience. I had to try another local favorite, rum cake (yum!), with rum tea (yum again!) and later I had the soda called Bahamas Goombay punch. It tasted like champagne, pineapple and bubble gum sodas together. It was good (have it with ice, since it is quite sweet).
Read tigresanica's full Norwegian Sky cruise review
Provider: Francis Perez
Member Image Stacktester
1 review
Aug 2012
It was raining all day. We took a taxi tour around the island and saw how the Chinese are buying up everything on the island. Visited, Atlantis but it was raining so after 15 minutes we left. Went shopping downtown but because Carnival had 4 ships in port at once it was like shopping at the mall the day after Thanksgiving, so we returned to the ship early again.
Read Stacktester's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.