Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Ketchikan Saxman Native Village Excursion Reviews

Ketchikan Saxman Native Village cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Visit Ketchikan's own Saxman Native Village, home to an authentic clan house and the world's largest collection of standing totem poles. If you book a tour through your cruise ship you can even see a native dancing show.
Member Image DACzuhause
1 review
Sep 2015
We were supposed to go on coastal drive and then to Potlach Totem Park, but tour operator wasn't offering that even though we pre-booked. Unknown to us, they pointed us to a van, checked off our names, and instead we went on another tour. The guide was so annoying, never shut up.
Read DACzuhause's full Volendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image goldenpup
1 review
Sep 2015
It was nice but slow moving. Took a long time to get everyone on the bus and out to the village. Combining two groups made it too many people in my opinion. They grouped the lumberjack group with us. Had we been seperate would could have toured some of the town too.
Read goldenpup's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image dessleo
1 review
Sep 2015
The bus driver to the village was entertaining and informative. The stories behind the totems were interesting. The most impressive thing about the Clan House was that it was built entirely with no nails! The dancing, etc., was pretty cheesy but okay. We did enjoy it overall.
Read dessleo's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Helenabc
1 review
Aug 2015
We really enjoyed learning about the rich heritage and culture of the Tlingit people.
Read Helenabc's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image MarcJ50
2 reviews
Aug 2015
Excellent tour guide and lots of fascinating history and totems to check out.
Read MarcJ50's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Diminoj@yahoo.com
1 review
Jul 2015
Not much substance
Read Diminoj@yahoo.com's full Volendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image vpowerfiles
1 review
Jul 2015
Our tour guide was a retired high School Science teacher ( I think his name is Ray). He is amazing!! We saw a bear, 6 bald eagles. He told us all kinds of history about the climate, how the drought is affecting the salmon this year and the shellfish. He told a lot about the totem poles and the WPA projects in Ketchikan. Gave him a $20 tip. Just a great tour.
Read vpowerfiles's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image NwCrsr71
1 review
Jul 2015
Very good. Tour guide spent too much time talking and would have preferred time to sight see more.
Read NwCrsr71's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image docj9000
1 review
Jul 2015
Interesting totem poles, but largely just another tourist trap.
Read docj9000's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Chumley1
1 review
Jul 2015
Saw the totem poles, met the master carver and had a wonderful native guide. But, he wasn't at work when we were there.
Read Chumley1's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ron@ispconline.com
1 review
Jul 2015
Enjoyed the tour of the village and the dancing exposition
Read ron@ispconline.com's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Happy1211
4 reviews
Jun 2015
This tour visiting Saxman Village owned and operated by Natice Alaskans was fabulous and introduced us to the people and their culture. The totem pole park was exceptional.
Read Happy1211's full Statendam cruise review
Provider:
Member Image mbchappy
1 review
Jun 2015
Very informative although relatively short tour. Our driver Logan was very knowledgeable.
Read mbchappy's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Sherry Stein
1 review
Jun 2015
Enjoyed the totem poles and explanations by local guide but did not see any carvers at work or native dancing. I see more carvers on Vancouver beaches and on the streets than I did in these ports.
Read Sherry Stein's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image bittner.joanne@gmail.com
2 reviews
Jun 2015
Very informative and interesting, especially nice bus driver named Cameron!
Read bittner.joanne@gmail.com's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image parkeroliviasnana
1 review
Jun 2015
Educational and a once in a lifetime experience.
Read parkeroliviasnana's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Patricia Trotman
1 review
May 2015
The historical aspects of Native American culture were very much in view and documented by the guide. All aspects of the totem pole carvings were clearly demonstrated.
Read Patricia Trotman's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image NWLACruiser
1 review
Jun 2014

Following a short bus ride from the pier, we arrived at the Saxman Native Village for our tour. The main attraction for this stop is the totem poles and our guide provided interesting background and history on several of them.

Upon arrival to the village, you enter a small auditorium and watch a 15 minute presentation regarding the history of the Indian tribe and the development of the village. Following the presentation, there is a short walk to the heart of the village. For those unable to walk or those in wheel chairs, carts are available for transportation.

At the heart of the village, guests are treated to a brief introduction of the songs and dances of the tribe and then escorted to the building where totem poles are undergoing restoration. Afterwards, there is a small gift shop which you can visit.

This is not a large village but it has some interesting history.

Because of time constraints there it felt we were being pushed quickly from area to area to make room for the next group. If you plan to do any shopping in the gift shop, you will feel rushed. We were allowed about 20 minutes to browse, shop and purchase before our bus departed for the cruise port.

Read NWLACruiser's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Coco Chanel 1
1 review
Aug 2013

Beware of the off boat tour. we stood in parking lot to view the creek and salmon hatchery. found out the cruise line owns the land with the walkway.

Read Coco Chanel 1's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image cmlk14
1 review
Aug 2013

We wanted to see and learn about the totems. This site was too far to walk and the tour gave access to the "Native Village." The totems were great and our tour guide did a nice job explaining the customs and native stories. We saw 2 carvers who spoke with us, also good. The rest was pretty much a rip off. There is no native village, just one empty clan house. No displays or demonstrators or other buildings. In this clan house you will see a native dance, maybe 10 minutes presentation. You will also see a poorly done documentary movie of about 15 minutes. This trip should have been $10 or $15. There seem to better much better things to do in Ketchikan, I would not bother with this.

Read cmlk14's full Volendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image ski2pla
1 review
Aug 2013

This excursion was very informative and interesting as well as being accessible for someone who is handicapped. The village has transportation available for those whose walking is limited. Seeing the young people being taught the dances, songs, language and culture of their native tribes was encouraging to see. Their dancing exhibition was beautifully done; learning about totem pole making was really interesting; and seeing a totem carver at work brought it all to life. Highly recommend this excursion!

Read ski2pla's full Sapphire Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Normsie
1 review
Aug 2013

Enjoyed the native culture and the dancing. enjoyed learning about the totem poles and the carving of them.

Read Normsie's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image NancyBarn
1 review
Jul 2013

Tour guide was knowledgeable but this tour was the beginning of a series of tours that ended in shopping and pleas to purchase more tours

Read NancyBarn's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image SoCal Cruise Critic User
3 reviews
Jul 2013

There were no "must see" places according to the tour books I read. Saxman Village turned out to be a worthwhile visit with good introduction to the native people and the best selection of totem poles - not too expensive either. Difficult to do much in Ketchikan in 4 hours, so this tour provided some insight into native cultures and also gave us some time to walk around town. We did the Saxman village tour first to avoid any possible crowding in town when the ships unloaded. The flight to Misty Fjords is highly recommended but it was cloudy, rather pricey and my spouse is not a small plane person.

Read SoCal Cruise Critic User's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image sailingfinn
3 reviews
Jul 2013

Tour was blah. Dull and uninspired.

The dock in Ketchikan is Cozumel in a plaid shirt and rain gear. Yet, a lot of ships stop there. Columbian emeralds and Tanzanite in Alaska? Best bet is to get out of town....way out of town in a seaplane or helicopter. Thats the opinion of shipmates who took to the air in Ketchikan.

Read sailingfinn's full Oosterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.