Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Ketchikan Saxman Native Village Excursion Reviews

Ketchikan Saxman Native Village cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Visit Ketchikan's own Saxman Native Village, home to an authentic clan house and the world's largest collection of standing totem poles. If you book a tour through your cruise ship you can even see a native dancing show.
Member Image CraftySabine
2 reviews
Jul 2016
The Saxman village was very educational. The totem poles were great.
Read CraftySabine's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Palawala
1 review
Jul 2016
Very cultural and interesting. Beautiful totem polls and great views.
Read Palawala's full Disney Wonder cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image Supertwinsmom
1 review
Jun 2016
Unfortunately we were there on a Sunday so we could not see the master totem carver but the rest of the tour was great. My daughter even got up and danced with the native dancers. She was so excited when they dressed her up and taught her a traditional dance. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and told us many of the stories that went along with the totem poles. My favorite was oyster boy.
Read Supertwinsmom's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Susandron
1 review
Jun 2016
We enjoyed the tour.
Read Susandron's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image CEOofVacation
1 review
Jun 2016
Enjoyed ourselves
Read CEOofVacation's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image ColoradoPlainsCruiser
1 review
Jun 2016
Good to see thru a native Alskan Tlingit's eyes.
Read ColoradoPlainsCruiser's full Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image v336
1 review
Jun 2016
Not much to see. If you have seen one totem, you have seen all. Plan in advance if you plan to take city bus. Service is sporadic.
Read v336's full Zaandam cruise review
Provider: Self
Member Image Nicknet
1 review
May 2016
GREA
Read Nicknet's full Volendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image AIPTravelBlog
1 review
May 2016
Because we were transported in a wheelchair-accessible van, we had our own private guide. He was knowledgeable about the Village and the totem poles, and was personally attentive and delightful!
Read AIPTravelBlog's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Canuck Chick
2 reviews
May 2016
Really pretty totems! The work that went into them is so detailed.
Read Canuck Chick's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Alaska Coach Tours
Member Image DACzuhause
1 review
Sep 2015
We were supposed to go on coastal drive and then to Potlach Totem Park, but tour operator wasn't offering that even though we pre-booked. Unknown to us, they pointed us to a van, checked off our names, and instead we went on another tour. The guide was so annoying, never shut up.
Read DACzuhause's full Volendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image goldenpup
1 review
Sep 2015
It was nice but slow moving. Took a long time to get everyone on the bus and out to the village. Combining two groups made it too many people in my opinion. They grouped the lumberjack group with us. Had we been seperate would could have toured some of the town too.
Read goldenpup's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image dessleo
1 review
Sep 2015
The bus driver to the village was entertaining and informative. The stories behind the totems were interesting. The most impressive thing about the Clan House was that it was built entirely with no nails! The dancing, etc., was pretty cheesy but okay. We did enjoy it overall.
Read dessleo's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Helenabc
1 review
Aug 2015
We really enjoyed learning about the rich heritage and culture of the Tlingit people.
Read Helenabc's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image MarcJ50
2 reviews
Aug 2015
Excellent tour guide and lots of fascinating history and totems to check out.
Read MarcJ50's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Diminoj@yahoo.com
1 review
Jul 2015
Not much substance
Read Diminoj@yahoo.com's full Volendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image vpowerfiles
1 review
Jul 2015
Our tour guide was a retired high School Science teacher ( I think his name is Ray). He is amazing!! We saw a bear, 6 bald eagles. He told us all kinds of history about the climate, how the drought is affecting the salmon this year and the shellfish. He told a lot about the totem poles and the WPA projects in Ketchikan. Gave him a $20 tip. Just a great tour.
Read vpowerfiles's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image NwCrsr71
1 review
Jul 2015
Very good. Tour guide spent too much time talking and would have preferred time to sight see more.
Read NwCrsr71's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image docj9000
1 review
Jul 2015
Interesting totem poles, but largely just another tourist trap.
Read docj9000's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Chumley1
1 review
Jul 2015
Saw the totem poles, met the master carver and had a wonderful native guide. But, he wasn't at work when we were there.
Read Chumley1's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ron@ispconline.com
1 review
Jul 2015
Enjoyed the tour of the village and the dancing exposition
Read ron@ispconline.com's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Happy1211
4 reviews
Jun 2015
This tour visiting Saxman Village owned and operated by Natice Alaskans was fabulous and introduced us to the people and their culture. The totem pole park was exceptional.
Read Happy1211's full Statendam cruise review
Provider:
Member Image mbchappy
1 review
Jun 2015
Very informative although relatively short tour. Our driver Logan was very knowledgeable.
Read mbchappy's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Sherry Stein
1 review
Jun 2015
Enjoyed the totem poles and explanations by local guide but did not see any carvers at work or native dancing. I see more carvers on Vancouver beaches and on the streets than I did in these ports.
Read Sherry Stein's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image bittner.joanne@gmail.com
2 reviews
Jun 2015
Very informative and interesting, especially nice bus driver named Cameron!
Read bittner.joanne@gmail.com's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.