Ketchikan Saxman Native Village Excursion Reviews

Ketchikan Saxman Native Village cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Visit Ketchikan's own Saxman Native Village, home to an authentic clan house and the world's largest collection of standing totem poles. If you book a tour through your cruise ship you can even see a native dancing show.
Member Image cmoncrieff
1 review
Sep 2016
This tour was very amateurish compared to our other tours on this cruise. There is so much more they could have done ... and what they did could have been done so much better. It's a pity really!
Read cmoncrieff's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image ca92111@hotmail.com
1 review
Aug 2016
This Sourdough Tours was just okay. Ketchikan was filled with tourist trap shops and it was hard to find authenticity there. The guide didn't seem very knowledgeable about the Saxman Native Village and I heard much more about the meaning of the totem poles from a Native Alaskan guide conducting the tour behind us-- wish I'd gone with them instead! The tour ended back in Ketchikan at Dolly's House, a historic red light district tour which was an on-our-own option after we returned. Only a few of the folks in our tour group bothered to go, opting to grab some souvenirs and get back to the ship instead.
Read ca92111@hotmail.com's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Sourdough Tours
Member Image sagafemina
2 reviews
Aug 2016
Our supposed tour did not actually include the longhouse or performance, merely a view of the totems. This we could have had for much less using city bus, but at least we had some narration by a tourguide who was also a carver.
Read sagafemina's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Mntryswed
1 review
Aug 2016
Not very well executed, do not enjoy watching school children dance and perform. Was not a very polished visit or guided tour.
Read Mntryswed's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image ibeplato
1 review
Aug 2016
Our tour guide explained several of the totems, well worth an hour or so to visit.
Read ibeplato's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Sourdough Tours
Member Image madigan008
1 review
Aug 2016
excellent dance presentation
Read madigan008's full Zaandam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image goblualum
1 review
Jul 2016
The driver was friendly and informative but being a Sunday, the artist was not working and this was not worth the price to see totem poles.
Read goblualum's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image edwardtravels
1 review
Jul 2016
Saxman Village is amazing. Enjoy meeting the native people and enjoy their totem poles. Take your camera as this place is beautiful
Read edwardtravels's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image CraftySabine
2 reviews
Jul 2016
The Saxman village was very educational. The totem poles were great.
Read CraftySabine's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Palawala
1 review
Jul 2016
Very cultural and interesting. Beautiful totem polls and great views.
Read Palawala's full Disney Wonder cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image Supertwinsmom
1 review
Jun 2016
Unfortunately we were there on a Sunday so we could not see the master totem carver but the rest of the tour was great. My daughter even got up and danced with the native dancers. She was so excited when they dressed her up and taught her a traditional dance. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and told us many of the stories that went along with the totem poles. My favorite was oyster boy.
Read Supertwinsmom's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Susandron
1 review
Jun 2016
We enjoyed the tour.
Read Susandron's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image CEOofVacation
1 review
Jun 2016
Enjoyed ourselves
Read CEOofVacation's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image ColoradoPlainsCruiser
1 review
Jun 2016
Good to see thru a native Alskan Tlingit's eyes.
Read ColoradoPlainsCruiser's full Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image v336
1 review
Jun 2016
Not much to see. If you have seen one totem, you have seen all. Plan in advance if you plan to take city bus. Service is sporadic.
Read v336's full Zaandam cruise review
Provider: Self
Member Image Nicknet
1 review
May 2016
GREA
Read Nicknet's full Volendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image AIPTravelBlog
1 review
May 2016
Because we were transported in a wheelchair-accessible van, we had our own private guide. He was knowledgeable about the Village and the totem poles, and was personally attentive and delightful!
Read AIPTravelBlog's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Canuck Chick
2 reviews
May 2016
Really pretty totems! The work that went into them is so detailed.
Read Canuck Chick's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Alaska Coach Tours
Member Image DACzuhause
1 review
Sep 2015
We were supposed to go on coastal drive and then to Potlach Totem Park, but tour operator wasn't offering that even though we pre-booked. Unknown to us, they pointed us to a van, checked off our names, and instead we went on another tour. The guide was so annoying, never shut up.
Read DACzuhause's full Volendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image goldenpup
1 review
Sep 2015
It was nice but slow moving. Took a long time to get everyone on the bus and out to the village. Combining two groups made it too many people in my opinion. They grouped the lumberjack group with us. Had we been seperate would could have toured some of the town too.
Read goldenpup's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image dessleo
2 reviews
Sep 2015
The bus driver to the village was entertaining and informative. The stories behind the totems were interesting. The most impressive thing about the Clan House was that it was built entirely with no nails! The dancing, etc., was pretty cheesy but okay. We did enjoy it overall.
Read dessleo's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Helenabc
1 review
Aug 2015
We really enjoyed learning about the rich heritage and culture of the Tlingit people.
Read Helenabc's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image MarcJ50
2 reviews
Aug 2015
Excellent tour guide and lots of fascinating history and totems to check out.
Read MarcJ50's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Diminoj@yahoo.com
1 review
Jul 2015
Not much substance
Read Diminoj@yahoo.com's full Volendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image vpowerfiles
1 review
Jul 2015
Our tour guide was a retired high School Science teacher ( I think his name is Ray). He is amazing!! We saw a bear, 6 bald eagles. He told us all kinds of history about the climate, how the drought is affecting the salmon this year and the shellfish. He told a lot about the totem poles and the WPA projects in Ketchikan. Gave him a $20 tip. Just a great tour.
Read vpowerfiles's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?