Florence (Livorno) Wine Tour Excursion Reviews

Florence (Livorno) Wine Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Walk by vineyards and olive groves as you sip on Florence’s tastiest Italian wines.
Member Image sgruenig@aol.com
1 review
Sep 2016
We drove to the area of Bolgheri and toured a winery. The winery was very unusual in both design and we tasted 3 wines with some light snacks. The tour then drove to the tiny old village of Bolgheri and we had a little time to walk around this charming village lost in time.
Read sgruenig@aol.com's full Seven Seas Explorer cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image shangri-la
1 review
Sep 2016
Disappointing. Didn't see an awful lot of the vineyards and even journey through Tuscany a bit of a let down as didn't see enough
Read shangri-la's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Presto2
6 reviews
Aug 2016
We did a wine tasting tour which was very enjoyable and as it was an afternoon tour it gave us the chance to catch up on some sleep on our first real day. The tour gave us a horse and carriage ride around the estate and the wines tasted and food provided was excellent.
Read Presto2's full Oceana cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image settersx3
1 review
Jul 2016
We had a fantastic lunch and wine tasting experience at the Tenuto Torciano winery. The table was all set up and ready for our arrival. The food served was delicious and expertly paired with the very generous servings of wine.
Read settersx3's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Italy Shore Drivers
Member Image Wbfloormachines
1 review
Jul 2016
Fantastic fun filled day my favourite trip
Read Wbfloormachines's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image nancez
1 review
Jul 2016
had a great time...nice wine. took a trip in the morning before the wine tasting to Pisa (took the train...watch out for the pick pockets) great time
Read nancez's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image AmNotRay
1 review
Jul 2016
Great sampling of Chianti's and some that not available in the US
Read AmNotRay's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image SteveS
1 review
Jun 2016
Visited two wineries and had wine and snacks. Bought a 5 liter box of wine and got it on board.
Read SteveS's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image rubybug
2 reviews
Jun 2016
Though our tour did not turned out as planned, the wineries we visited and the Tuscan landscape were amazing! We so enjoyed having a relaxing time in Chianti--driving over the hills and valleys and seeing the gorgeous olive groves and vineyards.
Read rubybug's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Jpejmill
1 review
Jun 2016
We had a vineyard owner who explained to us that there are only three types of wine; white, rose, and red. It was quite a character and made it interesting.
Read Jpejmill's full Riviera cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image LesKeggin
1 review
May 2016
This trip is enjoyable, however we only tasted 3 wines and were then put through the obligatory shop visit to buy the wine which in my view was overpriced. A good trip if you have seen Florence.
Read LesKeggin's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Lv2bmovin
1 review
May 2016
They took us up into the hills and we were able to stop at a quaint village,Monte Carlo,, would have like to spend more time there shopping and dining. Wine and lnch at the winery was great,, my husband doesnt drink, but he enjoyed this tour also.. probably not as much as me, but we did by some wine and oil to take home
Read Lv2bmovin's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image PeterB52
2 reviews
Nov 2015
Excellent tour with instruction into wine making from a very passionate and knowledgeable guide.
Read PeterB52's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image nevilleward
1 review
Oct 2015
Too large of a group in my opinion, but had a great time. The winery was beautiful ("Varramista" winery) and the staff there were very nice and well educated. The wine tasting and meat/cheese were very generous and wine to purchase was afforadable.
Read nevilleward's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image spideyswims
6 reviews
Sep 2015
Excellent tour guide on the bus, just enough info and knew when to stop, a fantastic vineyard made all the better from the views and perfect family run business.
Read spideyswims's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Bonmac
1 review
Jun 2015
This was ok, I drink white or rose and they gave 2 red so was not good for me. Had a buffet and a wine in a lovely setting. Would not do this again as done it once.
Read Bonmac's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Supt
2 reviews
May 2015
As with Rome have been many times before to Livorno so we wanted something different from pisa - luca. Very enjoyable afternoon
Read Supt's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image LibrarianLizy
1 review
Oct 2014

The winery was a disappointment. I was expecting something more along the lines of the winery I visited during my study abroad time, but this was really more of a farm that was designed to feed large tour groups authentic Italian food overlooking the Tuscan countryside. They did have a small vineyard and an olive tree grove, but it really wasn’t impressive. However, the food was fantastic. Homemade pasta in a very nice bolognese sauce, and lots and lots of crusty bread, olive oil, various cured meats and cheeses, olives, and some of the best sundried tomatoes I’ve ever eaten. And wine of course. :)

Read LibrarianLizy's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Cateye18
1 review
May 2014

Florence and wine tasting at a Tuscan Castle was very good as well. The Tuscan country and the wine tasting were highlights. In Florence (and anywhere in Italy I suppose), be careful of the illegal street vendors, they can be pushy and can get aggressive if you refuse to buy something. We were told that you can be fined 1000 euros for buying something from them. The city of Florence was lovely but it was very crowded. The shopping is great! Only thing that didn't impress us from Norwegian is that they try to sell you water bottles just before your shore excursion when they are very well aware that most shore excursion booked through Norwegian provide you with water bottles for free (at least both of ours did).

Read Cateye18's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image connellsville
6 reviews
Not Rated
Nov 2013

Went to a winery outside of Lucca for a tour and tasting. Followed by a walking tour of Lucca on our own. Guide was fantastic.

Read connellsville's full Seven Seas Mariner cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image strummer
2 reviews
Aug 2013

Part of the Ships tour was to visit a vineyard and experience wine tasting and local meats and cheeses. We had expected a couple of sips of wine and a hard sell for wine but it was actually just under two hours of a sit down wine tasting where we tasted 8 different wines (and they were not stingy) and a olive oil and a balsamic vinegar. Yes there was the usual sales pitch but no hard sell and you never felt obliged to buy. Quite funny as they kept pouring my DS the same amount of wine where he did have a small taste of each luckily there was a spit bucket on the table that he could pour the rest into - if I'd also drunk his he would've had to carry me back to the bus!!

Read strummer's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image traveldestination
1 review
Jul 2013

4 of us did Florence and Posa on your own and 2 of us did the Wine tour

Read traveldestination's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image squigglymip
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2013


Castle and wine tasting in Tuscany-one of the highlights of our trip! Amazing history at the castle and they let you tour the cellar as well as part of the castle.,Castello Trebbio.Best tour guide yet, the cousin of the owner was very funny! After you will have leather factory ploy to get you to buy stuff. Prices are same as my local mall.

Read squigglymip's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image hall4me
2 reviews
Not Rated
May 2013

very good well worth it

Read hall4me's full Thomson Dream cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image CommuterBob
1 review
Oct 2012
The winery was a good time and they offered a basic lunch with plenty of wine. We even got to take the bottles on the bus with us for a fun busride back to the port. After getting back to the dock from the tour, we took the shuttle ($5 pp) back into Livorno, which is a nice, but small city and had a great market square. We even bought some more cheap wine to take back on the boat.
Read CommuterBob's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?