Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Florence (Livorno) Wine Tour Excursion Reviews

Florence (Livorno) Wine Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Walk by vineyards and olive groves as you sip on Florence’s tastiest Italian wines.
Member Image LibrarianLizy
1 review
Oct 2014

The winery was a disappointment. I was expecting something more along the lines of the winery I visited during my study abroad time, but this was really more of a farm that was designed to feed large tour groups authentic Italian food overlooking the Tuscan countryside. They did have a small vineyard and an olive tree grove, but it really wasn’t impressive. However, the food was fantastic. Homemade pasta in a very nice bolognese sauce, and lots and lots of crusty bread, olive oil, various cured meats and cheeses, olives, and some of the best sundried tomatoes I’ve ever eaten. And wine of course. :)

Read LibrarianLizy's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Cateye18
1 review
May 2014

Florence and wine tasting at a Tuscan Castle was very good as well. The Tuscan country and the wine tasting were highlights. In Florence (and anywhere in Italy I suppose), be careful of the illegal street vendors, they can be pushy and can get aggressive if you refuse to buy something. We were told that you can be fined 1000 euros for buying something from them. The city of Florence was lovely but it was very crowded. The shopping is great! Only thing that didn't impress us from Norwegian is that they try to sell you water bottles just before your shore excursion when they are very well aware that most shore excursion booked through Norwegian provide you with water bottles for free (at least both of ours did).

Read Cateye18's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image connellsville
4 reviews
Not Rated
Nov 2013

Went to a winery outside of Lucca for a tour and tasting. Followed by a walking tour of Lucca on our own. Guide was fantastic.

Read connellsville's full Seven Seas Mariner cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image strummer
2 reviews
Aug 2013

Part of the Ships tour was to visit a vineyard and experience wine tasting and local meats and cheeses. We had expected a couple of sips of wine and a hard sell for wine but it was actually just under two hours of a sit down wine tasting where we tasted 8 different wines (and they were not stingy) and a olive oil and a balsamic vinegar. Yes there was the usual sales pitch but no hard sell and you never felt obliged to buy. Quite funny as they kept pouring my DS the same amount of wine where he did have a small taste of each luckily there was a spit bucket on the table that he could pour the rest into - if I'd also drunk his he would've had to carry me back to the bus!!

Read strummer's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image traveldestination
1 review
Jul 2013

4 of us did Florence and Posa on your own and 2 of us did the Wine tour

Read traveldestination's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image squigglymip
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2013


Castle and wine tasting in Tuscany-one of the highlights of our trip! Amazing history at the castle and they let you tour the cellar as well as part of the castle.,Castello Trebbio.Best tour guide yet, the cousin of the owner was very funny! After you will have leather factory ploy to get you to buy stuff. Prices are same as my local mall.

Read squigglymip's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image hall4me
2 reviews
Not Rated
May 2013

very good well worth it

Read hall4me's full Thomson Dream cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image CommuterBob
1 review
Oct 2012
The winery was a good time and they offered a basic lunch with plenty of wine. We even got to take the bottles on the bus with us for a fun busride back to the port. After getting back to the dock from the tour, we took the shuttle ($5 pp) back into Livorno, which is a nice, but small city and had a great market square. We even bought some more cheap wine to take back on the boat.
Read CommuterBob's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image Rimavh
1 review
Sep 2012
Montevarlo winery and lucca tour were nice. More time in Luccaand a time when the shops were open would have been nicer
Read Rimavh's full Seven Seas Mariner cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image foodiegirl50
1 review
Aug 2012
Great day. Florence is so packed so glad to get out of the City to Luca and then Tuscany. Unforgettable meal and experience at Trattoria Omero. Then on to Tuscany to the San Michele vineyard. Great experience.
Read foodiegirl50's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: RomeInLimo
Member Image TnTravel
2 reviews
Aug 2012
Actually docked in Livorno. I had been to Florence and Pisa, and husband not interested, so opted for a delightful winery tour with a generous sampling of the wines and some food. Very leisurely and relaxing.
Read TnTravel's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image ELeb
1 review
Jun 2012
Was good. Winery was quaint, best part was looking at the vineyard, and tasting the olive oil.
Read ELeb's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Helen Pask
1 review
May 2012
tuscany wine tour really enjoyed the ride out to the vineyard, scenery was lovely. We were shown around the vineyard and where they made the wine. Then we were given a taster of the four wines produced there. Very nice and worth the trip.
Read Helen Pask's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.