Become a Cruise Insider
Tips, deals and more in your inbox.
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Barbados Agapey Chocolate Factory Tour Excursion Reviews

Barbados Agapey Chocolate Factory Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Melt away in Barbados’ Agapey chocolate factory as you learn about chocolate production and sample rich, decadent treats.
Member Image kimmiloulovestocruise
1 review
Apr 2015
This was approximately an hour and a half tour where we got to sample all the raw ingredients that go into making quality dark chocolate. There is an opportunity to purchase their chocolate at the end. We really enjoyed it and learned a lot.
Read kimmiloulovestocruise's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Apagey web site
Member Image papasprep
1 review
Mar 2015
Booked this directly with the owner online. The Owner sent excellent directions after we booked the tour. It was only about a 10-15 minute walk from the ship, but beware, many seem to get lost, perhaps because they do not pay careful attention to the directions?? If you take a left at the very first traffic circle right outside the gate for the shipyard,then another left at the roads end, you will see the sign for Agapeys on your left. If you get lost, ask a bus driver where the old Colgate bldg is. Agapey is in the back of that bldg. Anyway, tour, which is all in one room is educational and interesting. Tried the different beans, sugars and final products, and learned a lot about chocolate making from the owner. He explains the process and shows you the machines he uses and how they work. Bring cash if you want to buy chocolate at tours end. Great tour!
Read papasprep's full Carnival Liberty cruise review
Provider: Directly booked
Member Image birthdaygal
2 reviews
Not Rated
Jan 2015

Booked the chocolate tour online with the owner and he gave us a map so we could just walk from the cruise ship...an easy walk...some others did take a taxi. He had us taste the raw ingredients and explained where they were from etc. Then he showed us how the machines worked and explained what each did. Then he had us taste the candy! Incredible...my faves the dark chocolate with rum and caramel inside; the chocolate with almonds and others liked the coconut one too...the owner has a passion for his business and it shows. He limits the tour to just ten people so be sure you book early. I really learned a lot and really enjoyed the tastings...And I bought some bars to take back to share with other friends on the ship. I am going back next January as you cannot buy the chocolate online so I must return!

Read birthdaygal's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image LHT28
6 reviews
Not Rated
Jan 2014

In Barbados we organized a tour to the Agapey Chocolate Factory there ..well worth the walk and the price.
The owner explains how chocolate is made and the differences in the beans etc..
You got to taste the different types of chocolate and sugars used.
Highly recommend this tour but you need to prebook and prepay in advance .
A little tricky to find

Read LHT28's full Riviera cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image SueRocks
1 review
Feb 2013

The Dolphin Swim on Tortola was fantastic! I would do it again. The photos were taken in quick time and put on a CD, which was reasonably priced. I felt safe and the dolphin trainers were very good. The dolphins seemed to be well taken care of.

Read SueRocks's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image paul8
22 reviews
Jan 2013
We went on a tour to a cholocate factory, it was very interesting & we had the oportunity to buy some chocolate.
Read paul8's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image ibxcruiser
1 review
Mar 2012
Interesting.
Read ibxcruiser's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image erniesband
1 review
Jan 2012
Barbados: Having been to Barbados many times on Southern Caribbean cruises, we were looking for something fun and different to do, and this did not disappoint! The Agapey Chocolate factory is just over a year old, near the port, and started offering tours a couple of months ago. Reservations must be made on-line and paid for in advance (http://www.agapey.com/chocolatefactory.html). The price is a very reasonable $15.00 per person. A map is available, and the walk is not far, but it is a little confusing. Plus, you have to navigate a gauntlet of taxi drivers all out for your business to get there. And, most of the cab drivers do not yet know about the factory. It's been there only a year. We ended up going with a great driver, Adrian, who took a look at our map and ran us over there. We had an agenda for the day - chocolate, then flying fish for lunch, and then the Mount Gay rum tour, and he stuck with us, recommended a great place for lunch, and took us everywhere for just $15 per person for the day (plus tip). Back to chocolate, though. If you tell your cab driver, or who ever you ask for directions, that the chocolate factory is in the old Colgate Palmolive factory, at the back, they'll be able to direct you. The place is small, the tour is intimate. The owner has one employee, and it's basically one room. The tour is a chocolate educational experience. The owner is a chemical engineer by training, and his engineering background shows. You get to taste different chocolates, cocoa beans, and sugars, to understand what makes Agapey chocolates very special. Beans are roasted during the experience, and you get to taste the beans during the roasting process to see how they change flavor as they are roasted. All the machines are explained and demonstrated. Agapey Chocolate is luxury chocolate. He only makes dark chocolate, including an espresso flavor. I don't like coffee, but found all three chocolates he makes delicious! Unfortunately, he doesn't have a gift shop at the factory or any way of buying it right there. However, it is sold at Cave Shepherd, downtown, or Best of Barbados, in the mall at the cruise terminal. You can bet we stopped there and bought them out! Since you also get to taste various kinds of sugar, you learn the difference between the white refined sugar we have generally available in the stores, and the brown Barbados cane sugar (larger crystals) used to make the chocolate. That, too, is available in small bags at Best of Barbados, and we bought some of that, too - there truly is a difference. The whole experience took us a little over an hour, leaving us plenty of time for our flying fish lunch at the Waterfront Cafe (on the Carenage) and rum factory tours.
Read erniesband's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.