Ketchikan Rainforest Hike Excursion Reviews

Ketchikan Rainforest Hike cruise excursion
Overall Rating
A rainforest hike in Ketchikan is a great way to get active outdoors—and admire the flora and fauna that makes Alaska so memorable.
Member Image karenbink@aol.com
1 review
Jul 2016
Guides were fabulous, the ride in the inflatable (very sturdy!!) was fun. Saw a whale while going to the island for the 1 mile hike. Great time and knowlegdable guides
Read karenbink@aol.com's full Maasdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image misslyss1220
3 reviews
Jul 2016
I’ll admit that I was disappointed in the NCL excursions (and non-NCL excursions) in this port. DH and I chose the Nature Walk, Totems, & Eagle Center excursion in the hopes of possibly seeing bears. The bus took us to the Alaska Rainforest Sanctuary where we did a guided walk through the Tongass National Forest, the second largest rainforest in the world. We saw a TON of eagles there, but no other wildlife. It was a very pretty area though and we learned alot from our guide, Chris. Then we saw totem pole making, although this was very underwhelming because the native gentleman was just getting started on one, so he was only measuring at the time. Then we walked into the raptor center, where they rehabilitate eagles. After this, we had time in the gift shop, and then it was back to the port. We ate “breakfast” at Crab Cracker in Ketchikan, which consisted of fish (halibut) & chips and Alaskan beer. Then we walked around and shopped for a couple hours before getting back onboard.
Read misslyss1220's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image charris0013
1 review
Jul 2016
Good boat ride, a little boring in the rainforest, not for kids.
Read charris0013's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image lnoonan
1 review
Jul 2016
We hiked in the afternoon. Our guide was very knowledgeable about the forest and the history of the area. She pointed out many interesting plants and trees. We didn't see any wildlife in the forest, but I did see a black-tailed deer on the drive out. I also heard many birds, but saw few. I did see banana slugs of several colors. It's my understanding that there are five different species in the forest, and we were able to see three - black, white, and a spotted slug. It was a great hike!
Read lnoonan's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image middleton183
1 review
Jun 2016
not really worth it, poor value for money. The wildlife walk was about an hours walk along a path with little to see in the way of wildlife. The guide tried her best pointing out trees and slugs, but that was about it. The wildlife bird sanctuary had one eagle and that was it. Saw a guy making a totem pole but he wasn't in a communicative mood and said nothing other than "yes" twice. All in all not worth the expense.
Read middleton183's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Carolyn448
1 review
Jun 2016
Excellent tour but gave 4 stars because we had to wait a long time at the end before they took us back to the ship.
Read Carolyn448's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image andym888
1 review
Jun 2016
Personal tour. Just the 3 of us. Friendly and knowledgeable guide. Yummy salmon dip snack.
Read andym888's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image drumming cruisers
7 reviews
Jun 2016
wonderful
Read drumming cruisers's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image drkitkat123
2 reviews
Jun 2016
Nice easy hike
Read drkitkat123's full Seven Seas Mariner cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image dog fancier
1 review
May 2016
We did not see any wildlife. The hike was okay. You have to really like trees to enjoy this excursion.
Read dog fancier's full Regatta cruise review
Provider: Alaska Shore Excursions
Member Image DJKMS
1 review
May 2016
We went before the salmon ran therefore we didn't get to see much wildlife, but the scenery was wonderful. The walk was through a well marked path, and not too difficult.
Read DJKMS's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image simigirl
1 review
May 2016
So much fun taking a Seahawk boat to the island. So beautiful.
Read simigirl's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image AIPTravelBlog
1 review
May 2016
Nice walk through the rain forest, but not as spectacular as I had hoped.
Read AIPTravelBlog's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image SkipJaxn
1 review
May 2016
Hard to believe that Ketchikan has a rainforest. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and enthusiastic.
Read SkipJaxn's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: M&M Tour Brokerage
Member Image Fezndids
3 reviews
May 2016
We did the walk through the rain forest, just four of us with two guides. It was very interesting, not that far to walk, maybe about a mile, but very wet in the rain. main disappointment was not seeing any bears. It was also a bit on the expensive side .
Read Fezndids's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image HoustonMomof2
1 review
Aug 2015
The guides were helpful and we saw eagles, black bear and a lot of salmon.
Read HoustonMomof2's full Silver Shadow cruise review
Provider: Silversea Cruises
Member Image RossandRebecca
1 review
Aug 2015
Saw a bear at the start up in a tree...
Read RossandRebecca's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Evie.v
1 review
Jul 2015
The tour guide was well informed and showed a great love for her job and the area covered. As I have a mobility problem I was using walking poles and had been wondering if I would be able to complete the hike. There was no problem completing it. We saw a black bear , several eagles and dozens of salmon going upstream to spawn
Read Evie.v's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Cruising mom 3
3 reviews
Jul 2015
Very pretty with a knowledgeable guide. Lots of uphill walking in the rain. My husband, daughter and I enjoyed this excursion.
Read Cruising mom 3's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image sammie511
1 review
Jul 2015
It was educating to know the rain forest
Read sammie511's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image CatsRule!
1 review
Jul 2015
Beautiful flora- knowledgeable and well spoken guide. Would have preferred a bit more rigor but it was true to its description.
Read CatsRule!'s full Seven Seas Navigator cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image canela41
1 review
Jun 2015
This was a combo ticket so same applies "They aware on time to pick us up next to the ship. Small group and out guide was very informative and out going. If you like lots of physical activity this is not the tour for you it's nice and pictures but not that demanding we still liked it.
Read canela41's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Wilf wolf tours
Member Image Tucson Guy
2 reviews
Jun 2015
Naturally it was raining. Just a fraction of the 13 feet of rain that Ketchikan gets every year. But still it was very informative. Had a great guide.
Read Tucson Guy's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image NYCruiseNoob
2 reviews
Jun 2015
The Sea Eagle boat ride out to the island was fun, and the forest itself was lovely. We had a young and enthusiastic guide (Krista) and she was fun and informative. Very enjoyable experience.
Read NYCruiseNoob's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Tucson Guy
2 reviews
Jun 2015
Very informative but as usual, it was raining in Ketichkan.
Read Tucson Guy's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.