Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Ketchikan Rainforest Hike Excursion Reviews

Ketchikan Rainforest Hike cruise excursion
Overall Rating
A rainforest hike in Ketchikan is a great way to get active outdoors—and admire the flora and fauna that makes Alaska so memorable.
Member Image frawnsay
1 review
May 2014

Van picked our group up at the Pier and a 15-minute drive through town and to our stop in the Tongass National Forest. Our guide was Rob, who is an author and participant in a documentary both in relation to Alaska. This was perfect for my eagle scout husband. And for any city gals like myself, I found the few varieties of trees and how to identify them interesting. And learned what a "muskeg" is...really cool. Highly educational and great insight into the circle of life in Alaska.

Read frawnsay's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image mbjbride06
1 review
Sep 2013

It was more of a casual walk than a hike, but loved the rainforest area. In addition, visited reindeer farm for opportunity to feed & pet the reindeer. Went to raptor center to see bald eagle & owl. And saw a native Alaskan making a totem pole (where we also saw a black bear at short distance). It was a well-balanced tour.

Read mbjbride06's full Diamond Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image NJBeast
3 reviews
Aug 2013

Nice little hike through Tongass Nat. Forest near Ward Lake but way overpriced. Found out you could have taken local bus to our starting/end point for a couple of dollars. Guide was very knowledgeable of local vegetation and wildlife.

Read NJBeast's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Imkat
1 review
Jun 2013

It was okay. We were hoping to see more animals and not so many plants and trees.

Read Imkat's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image dbr123
1 review
Sep 2012
Love this walk. We say bears and our guide was very informative.
Read dbr123's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image CruiseLoverNW
1 review
Sep 2012
We walked through the rain forest on elevated suspension bridges and watched bears eat salmon - it was run season so salmon were everywhere. A cool experience. The tour ended with a walk though a gift shop, reindeer zoo (odd), and a totem poll "sight seeing." Those things could have been axed from the tour.
Read CruiseLoverNW's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image coloradoute70
1 review
Sep 2012
At Ketchikan: We went on the HAL tour "Alaska Rain Forest Sanctuary, Raptor Center and Totems." The rain forest sanctuary walking tour was the best part. We saw four bears and video'd three of them for perhaps two minutes as they strolled down a creek near us, catching and eating Salmon. They were as close as 40 or 50 feet. As our guide said, "if they cross to this side of the creek, we're leaving!:" After the tour we enjoyed walking around town. Even though this is the place on earth with the most rainfall, on this cruise it was the only port in which it was not raining! The next day our cruise ended at Vancouver. We recommend the cruise. The best parts are the wildlife and the scenery. Dress for the climate. In Ketchikan, you really don't need a tour to walk the city.
Read coloradoute70's full Zaandam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image shadfish
1 review
Aug 2012
We did the rainforest hike on the island via the speedboat. Great speedboat trip to the island. Boat stopped several times to check out bald eagles and nests. Island temperate rain-forest quite interesting for those into that kind of thing. Hike is easy board walk of about 1 mile. Vendor provided hot drinks and fresh smoked salmon snack at end of hike - nice unadvertised suprise.
Read shadfish's full Celebrity Century cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image sunshine221
6 reviews
Aug 2012
Not impressive, we walked through a rain foresst and had a snack. I would have preferred to learn more of the native people.
Read sunshine221's full Carnival Spirit cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image cruisecriticfan2
2 reviews
Jul 2012
We took the Rainforest Wildlife Sanctuary tour in Ketchikan. The tour guide was knowledgeable and made the walk through the rainforest entertaining. From there we walked through an old timber mill and then met with a totem poll carver. We visited the animal sanctuary where we got up close and personal with reindeer, a bald eagle and an owl.
Read cruisecriticfan2's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image golfer4798
1 review
Jul 2012
Took pontoon boat to island for hike. Well done, excellent tour guides and a real treat for anyone who wants to see the natural beauty that is Alaska.
Read golfer4798's full Seven Seas Navigator cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image PiperNY
1 review
Jul 2012
Well organized and a great value. The temperate rain forest in Ketchikan is unique and not to be missed!
Read PiperNY's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Wild Wolf Tours
Member Image johnlfromdevon
1 review
Jul 2012
The rainforest "hike" is really a gentle stroll on boardwalks through the rainforest. A small group and an excellent guide. The highlight was seeing a black bear with cubs just below us. Take the first trip of the day the chance of seeing bears is better. On returning we sat on our balcony watching the busy activity around the dock - a constant flow of small boats and sea planes.
Read johnlfromdevon's full Sapphire Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image jt1120
9 reviews
Jun 2012
This excursion would have been 100% better if the guide didn't talk so much. Why would any wildlife be hanging around when they could hera her coming from a mile away? Probably why we didn't see any wildlife. Still, the rainforest was beautiful.
Read jt1120's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image COL_DAD
2 reviews
Jun 2012
Great time. Saw many eagles and small sea life and just missed whales. Saw many details of the rain forest in a mild but easy uphill hike.
Read COL_DAD's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image 21mel
1 review
Jun 2012
I love rain forests and enjoyed this one very much. We did not see bears, but did see tons of eagles. There is an area where you can feed and pet reindeer, they're awesome. If you go to the gift shop, buy the canned salmon. We got samples and it was wonderful! And of course bought some. We took the trolley tour... Just ok. We enjoyed Saxon Village very much, but Creek Street was a bust. If i could do it over, I'd go to Saxon Village, or even Totum Pole Park, but skip the trolly. Ended up just walking back to the dock area and shopping. We bought tons of souvenirs there.... They had jackets on sale for $25. We had already bought long underwear in Skagway or I would have been all over that! Really decent deals.
Read 21mel's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.