Cozumel Sightseeing Excursion Reviews

Cozumel Sightseeing cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Get the most out of your one-day call on Cozumel with a sightseeing tour of all the major attractions on the island.
Member Image vec1211
reviews
Apr 2017
More of a tour of t-shirt shops!
Read vec1211's full cruise review
Provider:
Member Image jalbertfarm
reviews
Jan 2017
Awesome! So nice to have a tour guide to ourselves!! Gerry was amazing!!
Read jalbertfarm's full cruise review
Provider: Tours plaza
Member Image carribmom
reviews
Dec 2016
Took an independent taxi driver who showed us all around the island. Tequila factory, and chocolate factory, blow holes, west side of island, toured the city, saw a beautiful church.... very relaxing day. Then went back on board for lunch, and some got off to try and find beach... El Cid was having a private group and was very crowded. The beach is terrible in this area, would suggest going to a resort all day for beach time, but the beaches are incredibly small. Go away from the port area.
Read carribmom's full cruise review
Provider:
Member Image rctony123
reviews
Sep 2016
feel good and relax with fresh air and clean water
Read rctony123's full cruise review
Provider:
Member Image jaikishan
reviews
Sep 2016
There much time spent on shopping and make travellers buy .
Read jaikishan's full cruise review
Provider:
Member Image cruiseenthusiastic2
reviews
Jul 2016
Our driver, Taz, took us on a city tour which included, to our surprise, a small chocolate factory. Lots of fun.
Read cruiseenthusiastic2's full cruise review
Provider: Cozumel Tours
Member Image cruisefire
reviews
Apr 2016
it was cool
Read cruisefire's full cruise review
Provider:
Member Image bhambamacruiser
reviews
Dec 2015
We saw the ruins at San Gervasio. Good tour guide. Very informative. Comfortable bus ride. Stopped at Mayan chocolate location. Nice people and nice location. Just a random, touristy spot. Not much to really see. Tulum was cancelled because of length of time to get to location and make it back before ship sails.
Read bhambamacruiser's full cruise review
Provider:
Member Image goldytx16
reviews
Dec 2015
We booked this tour after arriving in Cozumel. Our driver Dario was polite, spoke great English was very nice. The van sat about 12-13 people. It was clean and comfortable, new with good air conditioning We stopped at a family owned Tequila business, samples and lovely place to walk around. we visited a lovely beach that had a beautiful pool . There were also shops and a restaurant and bar. This would've been a lovely beach day place. We also stopped at one part of the island which was a lovely look out elevated spot for pictures. Also stopped at a Mayan community which was not impressive. Dario was a great tour guide and answered a lot of questions that everyone asked him. Glad we decided to book this tour with Dario. Cost was $25/pp plus tip Would recommend doing if you ever get the chance. The parts of the island we drove around and through were very nice.
Read goldytx16's full cruise review
Provider: Island Tours
Member Image suefish1
reviews
Mar 2015
we along the coast and through south part. we to the beach, a tequila shop, learned the history of the island. Had time to shop after the tour. Coach bus was comfortable.
Read suefish1's full cruise review
Provider:
Member Image Wislaw
reviews
Mar 2015
Ruins were fine restaurant for lunch was amazing. Open air with amazing view of the ocean. Best sangria ever and would go back to Cozumel just to eat at restaurant.
Read Wislaw's full cruise review
Provider:
Member Image merrywhiterose
reviews
Feb 2015

Cozumel, Mexico: You can't take fruit into Mexico. (They have fruit-sniffing dogs as soon as you get off the ship.)
Our excursion: Chichen Itzu Mayan Ruins. You take a 45 min. ferry ride to the mainland. Several people had sea sickeness. You need water for the trip & you can buy it for $2./bottle on the ship. I suggest you take 2 per person. The bus ride is 2 hrs. & very boring. We were given a bag with: 1 muffin, condiments, a banana, juice box & potato chips. Save the condiments for later. After seeing the ruins, we were handed a sub sandwich & a soda. The ruins were great! Take insect repellant just in case. There were acres of ruins. We were given time after the tour to wander around ruins & to shop. There were plenty of local vendors selling colorful t-shirts, blankets, etc. You can get a great price too! DON'T take swimwear! You won't be around water. There are plenty of iguanas at the ruins that don't seem to be scared of tourists. Get back to the bus on time or you WILL be left behind. There were at least 2 people that weren't back in time & we left them there. It was 92 degrees in Feb. so wear a large brimmed hat & sunscreen!

Read merrywhiterose's full cruise review
Provider:
Member Image williamsk
reviews
Nov 2014

Grabbed a cab and paid $70 to be driven around after private excursion cancelled due to choppy weather. Gave a nice overview of the island and we will know where to go when we come back for snorkeling.

Read williamsk's full cruise review
Provider:
Member Image dmctc5
reviews
Not Rated
Jul 2014

Private taxi circled the Island and showed some different areas. Ruins, Tequila factory, and Lunch spot

Read dmctc5's full cruise review
Provider:
Member Image wvjlmartin
reviews
Not Rated
Mar 2014

We rented a jeep with a tour guide, maybe 6 jeeps total. Drove all around the island. It was very entertaining.

Read wvjlmartin's full cruise review
Provider:
Member Image BookieLang
reviews
Not Rated
Dec 2013

Cab/Van driver was nice. My brother in law was in a wheelchair and accomodations were made from him to get in the van and get to the attractions. The driver told us about the city and took us to some of the local areas. We stopped at the Big Shopping Forum lastly.

Read BookieLang's full cruise review
Provider:
Member Image me5161
reviews
Not Rated
Nov 2013

10 Best Sightseeing and Shopping.. Wehave done alot of excursions over the years, however this one was among the best! Our guide was Allen... He was outstanding.. I cant say enough about him.. I picked this excursion mainly for the wife and mother in law, however, he made it great! He was explaining everything and shared lot of his personal family history making it a very intersting tour. The Taquliia factory was very good.. The tasting as well as the history as to what went into making the Taquilla really held my interest! We then went downtown for about 40 minutes of shopping.. The stores there were on th dull side, so we decided to go eatand shop back at the Pier..

Read me5161's full cruise review
Provider:
Member Image F18Pilot
reviews
Oct 2013

In Cozumel we did go on the Carnival 2-tank certified scuba excursion and they were very good. Prompt and courteous. The dive master was very good with the two boys. Due to their age, they are limited in depth, but we could all dive in the same places and just keep the boys at the 40 foot level. Most of the diving is fairly shallow (60 feet or less). Beautiful!

Read F18Pilot's full cruise review
Provider:
Member Image arkansasboy
reviews
Not Rated
Jun 2013

A very friendly and helpful tour company who took care of us and tried hard to give us the best time while on the island.

Read arkansasboy's full cruise review
Provider: ToursPlaza
Member Image StacieJG
reviews
Mar 2013
Quote from the hubby: Tour of San Gervaiso ruins and then time at the beach. Patricio, the tour guide, was really good and thorough. He talked about everything from Mayan culture to how tequila is made. Also explained how to spot fake and genuine black coral jewelry. Very informative. Highly recommended.
Read StacieJG's full cruise review
Provider:
Member Image SJandSinFolsom
reviews
Dec 2012
This was our second time to Cozumel. We discovered on our first visit that taxis are always waiting outside the port. You can book a private taxi for about 3 hours and it will only cost around $75 US dollars. You can see what you want and do what you want. We had 3 people so $25 a person is pretty good in my opinion. When you do this you can get off the ship when you want and you have no one to answer to but yourself.
Read SJandSinFolsom's full cruise review
Provider:
Member Image crz4ksu
reviews
Nov 2012
lighthouse, ruins, and crocodile viewing
Read crz4ksu's full cruise review
Provider:
Member Image GayleTX
reviews
Nov 2012
Driver met us a arranged, spoke good English, very personable, good vehicle, baby seat...first visit so we just wanted to go sightseeing over the island. He did a good job at a very reasonable rate.
Read GayleTX's full cruise review
Provider: Hiring a Driver for the Day
Member Image ratycaty
reviews
Jul 2012
We went to Discover Mexico. It took one hour to do. It wasnot worth the 68 bucks I spent.
Read ratycaty's full cruise review
Provider:
Member Image gcalli1
reviews
Feb 2012
We tried to find a tour that all twelve of us could enjoy, but we were not successful. My mother is in a powerchair, so whatever we did would require accessible transportation. We walked around the port and found the transportation area that had people offering various activities. We found a guide that had an easily accessible van and would accomidate all six of us on this excursion. We wanted to see the lighthouse on the south side of the island, and he offered us a guided three hour tour for $25 per person. He was an amazing guide!!! One of our stops was a wooden boardwalk out to a tower where we saw crocadiles and other wildlife. Our guide helped life my mother and her chair over the step onto the walk so she could enjoy this overlook. He stayed with her and kept her company while we were in the tower; he went out of his way to make sure that she enjoyed herself. The lighthouse was very nice and offered some great photo opportunities.
Read gcalli1's full cruise review
Provider:

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?