Ketchikan Misty Fjords Flightseeing Excursion Reviews

Ketchikan Misty Fjords Flightseeing cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Explore Misty Fjords -- one of nature's most spectacular natural creations -- while cruising on a luxury vessel through Ketchikan.
Member Image Stolibear
1 review
Sep 2016
We booked an amazing excursion through the ship. It was the Misty Fjords Seaplane & Crab Feast at George Inlet Lodge. It was amazing, I highly recommend it and I would do it again in a heartbeat!
Read Stolibear's full Silver Shadow cruise review
Provider: Silversea Cruises
Member Image ban1104
1 review
Aug 2016
Best excursion of the trip. Outstanding. Smooth ride, excellent pilot, scenery breathtaking.
Read ban1104's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Crytostasis
1 review
Aug 2016
Fantastic weather when we got here. Clear skies and just stunning views of the fjords, majestic and just surreal.
Read Crytostasis's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image klrgourmet@aol.com
1 review
Aug 2016
I thought I'd be terrified going up in a 6 person plane but it was incredible. So smooth and the sights were to behold. We had the best pilot named Rolf and he took extra time to show us mountain goats. Landing in water is like sliding in on butter. Great trip!
Read klrgourmet@aol.com's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image jabi8236
1 review
Aug 2016
Highly recommend! This was our favorite excursion! Absolutely beautiful and wonderful company to fly with!
Read jabi8236's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Island Wings
Member Image Longs
1 review
Jul 2016
Since our dogsledding in Juneau was cancelled, we booked a flightseeing tour to Misty Fjords. Since it was last minute we could only get on the 7:30 tour. We got up early, assembled in the Follies theater, took a bus to the float plane airport, watched the safety briefing, and only then found out that they were cancelling because of low ceilings/bad weather. You can't predict the weather but you'd think that they could have sent a plane out earlier and cancelled ahead of time. We couldn't get on a later tour. Some folks even asked the airline if they'd just take us up and fly us around for a while to site-see but they checked with Carnival and Carnival said "no". Carnival probably didn't want to allow the change and have people complain that they didn't get what they paid for and want their money back. By that time we couldn't do anything else so we went to the Lumberjack show.
Read Longs's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image xinnia317
1 review
Jul 2016
Amazing experience. We were lucky to have good weather. The views are just stunning and it was really fun to land and take off from a remote fjord halfway through the flight!
Read xinnia317's full Regatta cruise review
Provider: Taquan (via Viator)
Member Image Cruizer Bill
5 reviews
Jul 2016
The ultimate Alaskan excursion. Fly over the 3500 foot cliffs with 3000 feet deep fjords. It is simply the best excursion for Alaska. Unforgettable!
Read Cruizer Bill's full Maasdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Misto827
1 review
Jun 2016
Awesome 2hr flight tour with a 20min landing on a lake!
Read Misto827's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Misty Fjords Air
Member Image kimannt18
1 review
Jun 2016
Great pilot and organized excursion, highly recommend.
Read kimannt18's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image steverk
1 review
Jun 2016
It was incredible! The clear skies meant that we had unlimited views of breathtaking scenery. It was by far the most awesome excursion I've ever taken.
Read steverk's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image SDNonna2B
1 review
Jun 2016
Fantastic trip. Taquan Air was the best, we had a wonderful extremely competent female pilot. The views were incredible and when we landed on the lake, stood on the pontoons and the took off again...what a thrill! Don't hesitate to take the flight plane if you have the chance.
Read SDNonna2B's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Taquan Air
Member Image Jane2357
2 reviews
May 2016
Michelle from Island Wings is an icon in Ketchikan. With a drizzle and low ceiling we were delighted with an awesome flight, and landing in the fjord. Michelle is the expert - book her and book early.
Read Jane2357's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Island Wings
Member Image spideyswims
7 reviews
May 2016
The sound through the headphones was not good, but it did not spoil our views. We were the 3pm flight and understood that earlier flights were cancelled due to low cloud which is quite common in this area.
Read spideyswims's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Tammy64
1 review
May 2016
Best excursion ever! Michelle is the owner and pilot. She is amazing. I would highly recommend this excursion.
Read Tammy64's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Island Wings
Member Image mikethebus
1 review
May 2016
Another great trip but still expensive.
Read mikethebus's full Volendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image kiesm001
1 review
May 2016
Don't miss this! Worth the price. An air tour gives you a sense of the vastness and scale of Alaska you don't get from the ship. Michelle is an excellent and experienced pilot that gave us a very relaxing and informative air tour. We landed on one of the mountain lakes for a brief but unhurried time away from it all. Island Air is excellent, flexible, and local. We didn't feel like we were being handled, hustled, or hurried. Would be a great resource for other kinds of charter trips, if you have the time.
Read kiesm001's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Island Wings Air
Member Image Van2010
1 review
May 2016
1991 Beaver de Havilland float plane, beautiful day, touched down in a deserted lake for 15 minutes for photos. Looked for Mountain Goats (successful) and Bear (unsuccessful). Wonderful experience.
Read Van2010's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image FunInTheSun9
1 review
May 2016
This is the shopping mecca of Alaska. We found great deals on shirts and trinkets at The Outlet Store at the far end of the pier near cruise berth #1 at the end of Front St., though there are many shops and galleries throughout the first several streets in town. Prices seemed higher, as were taxes, the further north we travelled. We took a floatplane tour here into Misty Fjords National Monument Wilderness Area with Family Air (Dave Rocke, owner) and had a fabulous time. The weather was amazing, sunny, clear and 75 degrees, so we had an exceptional day. Flew into and around the area for about 2 hours, including a water landing where we were able to leave the plane and hike (on our own) into the woods, which later opened up into a spectacular meadow with wooded views all the way down to the water. Spent about 30 minutes in our little green plot of paradise before taking off back to tour more by air and then return to port. I highly recommend Dave Rocke and Family Air Tours.
Read FunInTheSun9's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Dave Rocke, Family Air Tours
Member Image dz63
2 reviews
May 2016
With Mitchell, the owner of Island Wings as our skilled pilot, we boarded her red and white DeHavailland Beaver seaplane and were off on a 2-hour Misty Fjords flightseeing adventure! From the air we viewed lush rain forests of pine, cedar, spruce and hemlock, snow-capped mountains, pristine mountain lakes, spectacular waterfalls that plummeted thousands of feet into the sea and deep glacier carved fjords. We also landed in Punchbowl Cove. Here amidst the untouched serenity of the wilderness, we were able to get out of the plane and step ashore onto a remote stretch of beach. The scenery of Misty Fjord National Monument is breath-taking, offering lots of picture postcard moments! This was our first time on a seaplane and we had a great and enjoyable experience exploring the mystifying and scenic natural beauty of the Misty Fjords National Monument with Michelle of Island Wings!
Read dz63's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Island Wings
Member Image andreaphillp
1 review
Sep 2015
There are a lot of the standard tourist, jewellery & t-shirt shops, in amongst a few local shops. Creek Street was good for a walk through, luckily we beat the crowds and the rain! We booked our tour independently with Island Wings, and did the Misty Fjords National Monument Flightseeing Tour. Our pilot was very informative, and every seat in her aircraft was a window seat. The tour included landing at a mountain lake for about 20 minutes. The scenery was amazing, and we saw areas that would be inaccessible by boat.
Read andreaphillp's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Island Wings
Member Image Stephinjoe
1 review
Sep 2015
We flew over the mountains in a sea plane. It was an absolutely amazing experience and one that everyone should experience at least once.
Read Stephinjoe's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Chasfroggie
3 reviews
Aug 2015
Beautiful & amazing sights. Great for folks with limited mobility; boat right by ship.
Read Chasfroggie's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image jean74
1 review
Aug 2015
Wonderful views
Read jean74's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Misty Fords Air
Member Image Newbcruiser1
4 reviews
Jul 2015
We thoroughly enjoyed our flight. The scenery was beautiful! Unfortunately our pilot was not exactly a wealth of information and we came off the plane not knowing anything about anything we saw.
Read Newbcruiser1's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Carlin Air

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?