Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Ketchikan Misty Fjords Flightseeing Excursion Reviews

Ketchikan Misty Fjords Flightseeing cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Explore Misty Fjords -- one of nature's most spectacular natural creations -- while cruising on a luxury vessel through Ketchikan.
Member Image andreaphillp
1 review
Sep 2015
There are a lot of the standard tourist, jewellery & t-shirt shops, in amongst a few local shops. Creek Street was good for a walk through, luckily we beat the crowds and the rain! We booked our tour independently with Island Wings, and did the Misty Fjords National Monument Flightseeing Tour. Our pilot was very informative, and every seat in her aircraft was a window seat. The tour included landing at a mountain lake for about 20 minutes. The scenery was amazing, and we saw areas that would be inaccessible by boat.
Read andreaphillp's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Island Wings
Member Image Stephinjoe
1 review
Sep 2015
We flew over the mountains in a sea plane. It was an absolutely amazing experience and one that everyone should experience at least once.
Read Stephinjoe's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Chasfroggie
3 reviews
Aug 2015
Beautiful & amazing sights. Great for folks with limited mobility; boat right by ship.
Read Chasfroggie's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image jean74
1 review
Aug 2015
Wonderful views
Read jean74's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Misty Fords Air
Member Image Newbcruiser1
4 reviews
Jul 2015
We thoroughly enjoyed our flight. The scenery was beautiful! Unfortunately our pilot was not exactly a wealth of information and we came off the plane not knowing anything about anything we saw.
Read Newbcruiser1's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Carlin Air
Member Image jpohio
1 review
Jul 2015
Pilot was very informative, views were amazing. Landed on a lake, stood on the pontoon and just took in the scenery and quiet. The day before they had seen a small pod of orcas, but unfortunately we did not. Definitely worth the time and money.
Read jpohio's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image BobBow1
1 review
Jul 2015
110 mile boat ride. Did see nice fjord but was overpriced.
Read BobBow1's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Not going back to work
1 review
Jul 2015
This was my 1st "excursion"ever, so I was naturally nervous as to the distance we traveled into the rain forest, but in the end, they actually brought us back right to the MS Zuiderdam. As for the tour, new boat, very safe, nice crew, and it's hard to believe your still in Alaska, you'd think. tropics somewhere near equator, but a lot to see hear and a very nice ride with even some waterfalls.
Read Not going back to work's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image GEARLEW
1 review
Jul 2015
One of my favorite excursions. I sat next to the pilot and had a first hand view when we took off and flew between the mountains. We landed on a little inlet and we hopped out onto the pontoon for a few minutes and some great photos. Awesome stuff!
Read GEARLEW's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Missymo
3 reviews
Jul 2015
Went on the Bear of the Fjords Tour in 4 seater floatplane. Awesome experience even though we were in the air almost an hour and no bears. Weather was hot for Alaska (80 degrees) so bears didn't come out.
Read Missymo's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Alaska Seaplane Tours-Marty Rust -Pilot
Member Image Cynthiaschaefer
1 review
Jul 2015
My husband did this one and really enjoyed it. He has owned his own plane also.
Read Cynthiaschaefer's full Seven Seas Navigator cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image olivanova
5 reviews
Jun 2015
We flew in a float plane over lakes, volcanoes, waterfalls and granite cliffs and landed near a wooden platform in a lake. The water was too high for a walk on the shore but it was nevertheless a memorable experience.
Read olivanova's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Island Wings
Member Image PCMAINTTEAM
3 reviews
Jun 2015
Boring ride in a plane. The pilot didn't say hardly anything the whole hour we was with him. Just a flight to look at the top of the mountain we saw on the way into port.
Read PCMAINTTEAM's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image TMgal
1 review
Jun 2015
Family owned and operated, Steve, our pilot from Sea Wind Tours, was born and raised in Ketchikan so he knows the terrain and the area. What a wonderful plane and sights we saw - beautiful. We highly recommend this company for a great tour in comfort and safety.
Read TMgal's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Sea Wind Tours
Member Image Suzanne Marie
1 review
Jun 2015
Bears, whales, Eagles and some of the most beautiful scenery imaginable. Steve navigated through the mist and showed us amazing sites. I have one picture of 30+ Eagles lined up along the water and it is a hauntingly beautiful reminder of this beautiful town
Read Suzanne Marie's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image cgold4911
1 review
Jun 2015
Adverbs only, awesome, outstanding, breath taking and extraordinary,
Read cgold4911's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image MKS2015
1 review
May 2015
The sea plane excursion to the fjords was breathtaking!! It was a clear day, so we were able to see more than usual - the flight was very smooth even though the plane was small. A must-do!
Read MKS2015's full Regatta cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image KTA1961
1 review
May 2015
Phenomenal! Our pilot, Carl, was informative and engaging, and really afforded us an amazing sightseeing experience. We landed in a small lake and spent some time standing on the floats and enjoying the spectacular scenery. On the return trip, we also were treated to a Humpback whale breaching.
Read KTA1961's full Zaandam cruise review
Provider: Promech Air
Member Image crowso
1 review
May 2015
The best way to see Alaska. We wanted to get an idea of the landscape and this did the job. A huge wilderness adjacent to Canada. Planes' interior was some worn compared to other flights--OK for fisherman or hunters, not so good for cruises.
Read crowso's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Taquan
Member Image JimGeraldine
1 review
May 2015
What can we say about Michelle and Island Wings that the other 300 reviewers haven't already said on tripadvisor!! Even our AMAZING photos look like many that are posted.! During our Alaskan cruise with Princess cruises, we discovered the Misty Fjords flight seeing as a possible tour. But as seasoned travellers that find the most amazing tours, restaurants and experiences on our own, we figured that we could find our own cheaper and better. Especially with Michelle offering the stopover at the halfway point in the flight, to book with Island Wings was no question. That's where you get the most individual chance to get 30 minutes to walk on the shore and get photos of each other and the plane on a beautiful glacial mountain lake. A couple of extremely friendly young men took care of pickup and return right to the docks, so transportation was no problem, and they even had a few stories to tell about Ketchikan on the short drive to the dock. Shona, that takes care of all the office bookings etc. is very efficient and helpful, as she addressed all our concerns/questions with email and phone calls. All in all, our Alaskan tour and cruise was the most spectacular trip we could imagine, but we must say, without a doubt, our flight to Misty Fjords with Michelle was the highlight. She not only made it such a trill, but made us all feel such at ease with her skill and professionalism. Her beautiful plane, "Lady Ester" was spotlessly maintained that added to our confidence
Read JimGeraldine's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Island Wings
Member Image wally_bushy
2 reviews
May 2015
If you have the opportunity do this! Flying across the rugged landscape and then landing on an alpine lake is breathtaking. The seaplane is a perfect way to see this area and we were blessed with a clear day
Read wally_bushy's full Regatta cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image Mandarina65
1 review
May 2015
Most enjoyable excursion, wonderful local naturalist Jenna onboard. Float/Sea plane ride was fun. Fjords are amazing. (The hot chocolate on board was delicious).
Read Mandarina65's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image erdrwife
1 review
Not Rated
Jul 2014

After much research, I decided that this is where I would pay the bucks to see Alaska from air. We were blessed by blue skies. Skies that they had not seen for 6-weeks, so beware! We saw fjords, landed on one, followed glaciers, and saw peaks that the pilot even rarely sees due to the amazing weather that day. I cannot explain how much this was worth the price. Plan on at least $250 per person per hour, second hour cheaper.

Read erdrwife's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Family Air
Member Image ebert52
1 review
Jun 2014

Very picturesque fishing village. We had a gorgeous day and thoroughly enjoyed the beautiful scenery at Misty Fjords.

Read ebert52's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image smollie20
1 review
Aug 2013

Did the float plane on a whim. Treat of a lifetime

Read smollie20's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.