Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Ketchikan Misty Fjords Flightseeing Excursion Reviews

Ketchikan Misty Fjords Flightseeing cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Explore Misty Fjords -- one of nature's most spectacular natural creations -- while cruising on a luxury vessel through Ketchikan.
Member Image erdrwife
1 review
Not Rated
Jul 2014

After much research, I decided that this is where I would pay the bucks to see Alaska from air. We were blessed by blue skies. Skies that they had not seen for 6-weeks, so beware! We saw fjords, landed on one, followed glaciers, and saw peaks that the pilot even rarely sees due to the amazing weather that day. I cannot explain how much this was worth the price. Plan on at least $250 per person per hour, second hour cheaper.

Read erdrwife's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Family Air
Member Image ebert52
1 review
Jun 2014

Very picturesque fishing village. We had a gorgeous day and thoroughly enjoyed the beautiful scenery at Misty Fjords.

Read ebert52's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image smollie20
1 review
Aug 2013

Did the float plane on a whim. Treat of a lifetime

Read smollie20's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image keepitup
2 reviews
Aug 2013

Very efficient operation: felt very safe and well looked after! Pilot really friendly and helpful. Views are spectacular and landing on a lake and stepping on the pontoon is the icing on the cake!

Read keepitup's full Statendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image tkwelsh1
1 review
Aug 2013

Very beautiful. Would do it again.

Read tkwelsh1's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Shore trips
Member Image BURNSMN
7 reviews
Aug 2013

Doesn't get any better than Michelle and Island Wings. You actually get out of the plane and go on shore at a lake and truly get to soak up the beauty and stillness of the area.

Read BURNSMN's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Cop Chef
1 review
Jul 2013

We did the Misty Fjords Tour with Seawind Aviation. Co-owner, Lesley Kamm picked us up at the pre-designated location and drove us to a dock about 5 to 10 minutes away where we boarded a yellow sea plane flown by Pilot Rolf. While flying he was very informative about the Misty Fjord area, the lakes, rivers, and waterfalls. He landed the plane in a secluded river where there was a floating dock. We got off the plane to stretch our legs a little and took more pictures in this calm and tranquil location. We must have been there for about 20 minutes before lifting off again and circling around more ice cap mountains and watching the mountain goats running around before heading back to the base. Very smooth take-offs and landings, much smoother than our commercial flights on Alaska and United Airlines. We would definitely book with Seawind Aviation if we came back here, well worth it.

Read Cop Chef's full Celebrity Century cruise review
Provider: Seawind Aviation
Member Image Triciab
1 review
Jun 2013

Amazing experience.a highlight of our trip.

Read Triciab's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image bkghosh
1 review
Jun 2013

Time was very short. Nothing spectacular.

Read bkghosh's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Wozzie29
2 reviews
Not Rated
Jun 2013

Beautiful flight and excellent pilot. We landed on the water mid-flight and it was lovely. A perfect day meant there was no mist. We even saw a pod of killer whales.

Read Wozzie29's full Volendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image matt32
1 review
May 2013

The Fjord was beautiful but not worth the price that cruise charges. You are better off booking this excursion one you disembark at the visitors center. We saved about $80 by booking there instead of the ship.

Read matt32's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Sourdough62
2 reviews
Sep 2012
Weather was magnificent. Took off between 8-8:30am while there was still some cloud cover in the Monument. (After all, who wants to see "Misty Fjords" without the "Misty"?) The classic DeHavilland Beaver was a joy to fly in and the 450hp P&W radial just purred like a kitten. Surprised at how close to the cliffs our bush pilot, Dan, came at times, but it just made the experience that much more memorable. The brief land in "The Amphitheater" and getting out on the pontoons was an added treat. Our first ride in a float-plane... Spectacular Alaskan scenery, great pilot, great aircraft! Probably will never get the chance to do it again, but so pleased we got to do it once!
Read Sourdough62's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image JudyA_TX
1 review
Sep 2012
Due to being the only cruise ship in port that day, we had only 7 people on our trip. The weather was spectacular, the pilot was friendly and knowledgeable. He was almost giddy at the prospect of getting to fly in such perfect weather after weeks and weeks of rain. There was absolutely nothing that could have made the excursion any better.
Read JudyA_TX's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Cruiseinful
2 reviews
Sep 2012
A very large boat looking at Rock cliffs. Very bored.
Read Cruiseinful's full Sapphire Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image suzrai
1 review
Aug 2012
I read that Island Wings was the company to fly with and that Michelle was the best. They were correct. It was one of the highlights of our Alaskan trip and I would suggest this even to people who are "white knuckle fliers" (like me). there is nothing like it. Flying close to the mountains and landing on a lake in the wilderness was an experience like no other.
Read suzrai's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Kirby420
1 review
Jul 2012
Excellent adventure, guide/pilot excellent. Landing on lake amazing.
Read Kirby420's full Statendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image TrnrMom
5 reviews
Jul 2012
It was a rare sunny day in Ketchikan. Sea Wind Aviation was prompt in replying, professional, on time, and we had a first rate tour.
Read TrnrMom's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Sea Wind Aviation
Member Image Stiletto1958
3 reviews
Not Rated
Jul 2012
Misty Fjords By floatplane and boat.. This was a very expensive excursion but was cancelled. We didn't find out until we disembarked, having spent quite some time getting ourselves ready, quite annoying really. The weather I presume was to blame but honestly it wasn't so bad at all a very light rain quite fitting I would have thought for a tour with "Misty" in the title. The cruise line had refunded the full cost of the excursion before we disembarked in Vancouver two days later.
Read Stiletto1958's full Celebrity Century cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image samjam99
2 reviews
Jul 2012
Excellent trip, and excellent value.
Read samjam99's full Zaandam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image jwally99
1 review
Jul 2012
I enjoyed the float plain flight. It was a unique experience to take off and land on the water. We flew around the fjords and saw a lot of beautiful areas. The pilot tried to find wildlife for us, but we did not have a lot of success.
Read jwally99's full Diamond Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image 12rudy0169
1 review
Jun 2012
Beautiful scenery - amazing trip. Got to stand on floats in water. Could have fallen off - didn't realize floats had no sides.
Read 12rudy0169's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image hawco458
1 review
Jun 2012
We found Kethican to be a little too "touristy" of all the Ports. The excursion was little pricey...but we were very lucky to experience a sunny, cloudless, 73 degree day, which made it worth the money.
Read hawco458's full Silver Shadow cruise review
Provider: Silversea Cruises
Member Image pablo312
1 review
Jun 2012
My wife and I were booked on the Misty Fjord-Glacier tour with Family Air (Dave is the owner and pilot) on 6/23/12. We selected Dave and Family Air because he is the only flightseeing company that would book a glacier flight for only 2 people. The other companies require a minimum of 4 people. Gretchen picked us up in front of our cruise ship dock. She was very friendly. It was a sunny day in Ketchikan, but that was causing turbulence. Dave said that the flight over the glaciers might be very turbulent, but still safe for flying. Dave said it would be our choice if we wanted to proceed with that portion of the tour, and he would credit our credit card for this portion of the tour if we chose not to proceed. This was our first experience on a seaplane, and we loved the experience. My wife could have done without the turbulence, but Dave has no control over the weather. Even with the turbulence, she did not experience any airsickness and still enjoyed the flight. We decided to not do the glacier tour. The Misty Fjord tour was great. The scenery was very pretty. It was a cool experience flying into a fjord. My wife likes waterfalls and we saw plenty of these. Dave is very personable and gave great commentary on Ketchikan, the island, and the fjords. The turbulence prevented us from landing on the lake and going ashore. He did do a water landing near a friend's boat. They had just caught a 50 lb fish. It would have been great to land in the lake and walk on shore, but standing on the pontoons in Misty Fjords was a good consolation. We enjoyed the trip and I would like to return to Ketchikan on a cloudy (hopefully not rainy) day to fly over the glacier on Dave's plane.
Read pablo312's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Family Air
Member Image Binary Bonnie
1 review
May 2012
We took off on the water, landed on the Fjord, and it was truly a beautiful, amazing experience. We had a lot of air time, the headphones with pilot info were great.
Read Binary Bonnie's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Alaska Seaplane Tours
Member Image way2cheap
2 reviews
May 2012
This time the seaplane was much older than previous but gave a great view of the Misty Fjords by air. We landed in a lake and stood on the pontoons to take pictures. The windows on the plane were so scratched that pictures from the plane were not crisp. Still a great adventure and the plane took us places we would not have seen otherwise.
Read way2cheap's full Celebrity Century cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image ChillKat
1 review
May 2012
After being picked up near the ship dock, we met Michelle who took us on an incredible flight around the Misty Fjords National Monument. Breathtaking scenery and Michelle points out many things of interest as well as interesting facts about the monument and area and had some awesome music playing in the background on our headphones when she wasn't speaking. We landed in a very picturesque and serene cove and Michelle took the extra effort for us to be able to get out on a small island in the middle of the cove (this sets her apart from other operators and one reason we chose her), where we could take in the scenery and walk around on the little island and get some awesome pictures! Then we took off for the return flight to see more amazing views. We loved this tour as a highlight of our trip and highly recommend Island Wings, very professional and took great care of us. You must spurge for this!
Read ChillKat's full Sapphire Princess cruise review
Provider: Island Wings
Member Image wismergirl
4 reviews
Aug 2011
On August 17, We got beautiful weather again! After an early lunch on our balcony, we got off the boat and waited for our private floatplane tour with Seawind Aviation. As there were 6 of us on the 6-seater floatplane, we got $10 family discount per person, over $100 cheaper than booking through RCI. The Kamm family (owner of Seawind Aviation) was very friendly. Steve was a great pilot with the smoothest landing on water. Lesley picked us up from the Visitor Centre right beside the ship and recommended many great places of interest for our walk-around after the flightseeing, including the famous Creek Street, where lots of brothels were situated during the Gold Rush. Steve said the clouds were so low and the wind was so strong on the previous day that they had to cancel all flying trips...lucky us! We could finally go shopping in the last Alaskan port, Ketchikan, where there were lots of totem poles in town and many little gift shops on Creek Street.
Read wismergirl's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Seawind Aviation

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.