Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Grand Cayman Rum Cake Factory Excursion Reviews

Grand Cayman Rum Cake Factory cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Satisfy your sweet tooth with a tour of Grand Cayman's rum cake factory and learn how the delectable Caribbean dessert is made. Don't forget to take some home as a souvenir.
Member Image predator
1 review
Nov 2014

Interesting tour but in terms of lots of information not very good 20 mins at the rum factory an hour at the turtle farm

not much else... Georgetown is a total tourist cash place

Read predator's full Carnival Splendor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image Tobias10
2 reviews
Mar 2014

Rum factory was okay - we got a small sample of rum cake and you could buy rum there but guide said it was the same price at the dock, so stop was nothing special.

Read Tobias10's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image leftyofnorth
2 reviews
Feb 2014

You have to a take tender to the port from the ship. The tour was rushed with 15 minutes at each stop and the obligatory gift shop mention. We thought the excursion included a tour of the factory but it was just a rum and cake tasting. The tour did show the beautiful island with clean streets and sidewalks. We felt safe on the island.

Read leftyofnorth's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image virgintraveller
1 review
Feb 2014

This was a great place to stop & taste the wares. The option of having the cakes etc. shipped home, we will certainly take advantage of if we return to Grand Cayman.

Read virgintraveller's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image dispachcops
2 reviews
Not Rated
Dec 2013

For only $75 bucks per person we did Hell, Turtle farm, Rum Cake Factory, Stingray City, and snorkeling. The Stingrays were awesome and so was the turtles. Hell and Rum Cake Factory could be missed if needed...

Would have loved to have had an actual tour of the factory rather than their store only. If you want to skip this, you will not miss a thing.

Read dispachcops's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Cayman Adventure Tours
Member Image robsmom
3 reviews
Dec 2013

Would not know, because our tour guide skipped this scheduled stop. The tour start 30 mins late and then the skipped stop was blamed on "traffic".

Read robsmom's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image NCSuz
3 reviews
Dec 2013

Rum Cake Factory was part of the Land & Sea tour. Great samples so I bought some to take home. If the rum cakes had been sold from the shops next to the pier that would have been nice.

Read NCSuz's full Carnival Paradise cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image niteshift
1 review
Not Rated
Jul 2013

Lots of samples of rum as well as cakes, fudge and other rum enhanced goodies. A bit crowded, but worth it to check out.

Read niteshift's full Carnival Liberty cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image candyman53
1 review
Mar 2013
This excursion cost the same as the Cruise Lines one. They just went Stingray on a junkie boat and back 2 1/2 hours. Captain Marvins-We went faster, nicer boat. More Stingray interaction, plus another snorkeling stop, and trip to Tortuga Rum Factory and Hell for only 8 bucks more.5 hours
Read candyman53's full Mariner of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image BODICERIPPER
1 review
Jan 2013
Part of a general bus tour. Pretty much just a stop designed for us to buy rum cake and rum. Didn't learn anything and the store was very crowded, although the shore behind the store was interesting. Worth a miss.
Read BODICERIPPER's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image ladyhawk415
1 review
Jan 2013
Definitely in the tourist trap category, but the rum cake was good and the location was beautiful.
Read ladyhawk415's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image kaydee115
1 review
Dec 2012
Grand Cayman--we decided to do an excursion--the Taste of Cayman. Don't bother! What I waste of money. First, totally unorganized at the dock. Showed up at 9:30 and did not get onto bus until closer to 10 AM. Bus driver's microphone did not work, so unless you were sitting next to him you did not here him talk about the island. The brewery and rum distillery tours were uneventful and the rum cake factory was literally a dirty window you could peer through. Total waste of time and money. The town itself was expensive. We had lunch at a beach side bar and only ordered two sandwiches and two sodas --it was $52 plus tip. Yikes!
Read kaydee115's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image ercbman
1 review
Dec 2012
Part of the Hell tour but wasn't a factory at all. Just a retail store for their rum products and cakes.
Read ercbman's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image N323DL
1 review
Sep 2012
Great deals on Rum and Rum Cake!
Read N323DL's full Carnival Paradise cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image vips_va
1 review
Sep 2012
Really just a store - you don't see a factory at all. You can try samples of the cake and the rum.
Read vips_va's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image iaminadaze
1 review
Mar 2012
Tiny.
Read iaminadaze's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.