Colon (Cristobal) Panama Canal Tour Excursion Reviews

Colon (Cristobal) Panama Canal Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Take an unforgettable tour of the 48-mile architectural triumph -- the Panama Canal is a one-of-a-kind experience!
Member Image mitakart
1 review
Dec 2016
Ok, so we liked the tour but we didn't think that the price justified the tour. The Panama Canal tour was up close look at the locks, two ships crossed when we were there, my husband was thrilled. The train ride was about an hour through the jungle and lake, after we drove near Panama City and stopped by a small shopping area for ice cream and shopping. The train ride was a waste of time and money. Don't eat the sandwich that they give you at the bus, junk. We were dropped at Colon, which is a hole in the wall run-down port, to wait for the ship. We waited about three plus hours. Find the Lebanese restaurant and eat there, it's clean and the food is delicious. The day did not worth the money.
Read mitakart's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ejb cruiser
1 review
Dec 2016
Fantastic! I could not find any reviews or get info oaths tour before booking so after I arrived home I immediately wrote a great review!
Read ejb cruiser's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image norcalnick
3 reviews
Dec 2016
We took the boat tour where we boarded a bus from Gatun Lake, drove down 45-minutes and boarded a boat to pass through the Miraflores and Pedro Miguel, all the way out to the Pacific Ocean. It was nice to actually be in a ferry boat so you can see how immense the canal is! They served lunch, which the Tour folks said was a C+ lunch and it was. Overall, it was a great tour, was it worth $179.00 per person, nah. We met the ship at Colon and there's a nice shopping area at the port and a big supermarket as well, so stock up on snacks, soda, and water. They take USD so no worries and the prices are comparable to back home.
Read norcalnick's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image barbleo
2 reviews
Dec 2016
great to see the locks and surprised at Panama City
Read barbleo's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image pioneerdana
1 review
Dec 2016
This is a must. No large ship can give you the real feel of the locks like the smaller boat. We had a large tanker follow us through the locks, really got a close up view of how things work and how tight fitting it is. Fed a light lunch which was wonderful. Pork Shish ka bob, two salads, little sandwiches, choc, cake and fruits. Lots of water to drink. The guide was very informative. Its a very long day so be sure to bring and umbrella, you are in the rain forest, as we got dumped on twice. Have a hat to keep the sun off your head. Great excursion.
Read pioneerdana's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image tmcgillivary
1 review
Dec 2016
Fully narrated full passage of Panama Canal to Panama City & coach return
Read tmcgillivary's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image mysterygal
4 reviews
Nov 2016
We saw Safaricks Zoological Park first which was okay for a rescue zoo but disappointing compared to other zoos we've visited. Visit to Panama Canal observation platform was the highlight of the trip. Tour guide was poorly educated to her role, however, and barely spoke to the group.
Read mysterygal's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image bjahil47
1 review
Nov 2016
Just went to observation areas, not through the locks. Was very informative, and got to watch ships going through the locks!
Read bjahil47's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image MrChocoholic
7 reviews
Oct 2016
Loved every minute of this one. Saw the merging of old and new technologies
Read MrChocoholic's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image FionaFluffy
1 review
Apr 2016
Very interesting tour of the canal and we were very lucky that there were three ships going through. This excursion is really a must, so that you can understand better what happens during your own ship transit through the canal.
Read FionaFluffy's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image honeyb085
5 reviews
Apr 2016
This was the Expansion tour. As we drove closer to the old locks, the traffic congestion was terrible. The guide decided to go to the expansion section first, which was a great idea because we were the only folks there. We saw a film, then sat in the shade where he explained the view. The only problem here was that a recorded voice was also telling us what we saw (I guess for those folks who don't have a guide). By the time Celebrity comes back, these locks will be open and in use. We then went back to the old locks, where the crowds had shrunk. We had plenty of time for another explanation, this time from a live person sitting up the viewing area. It was very informative. If you can't climb the 90 or so steps to the viewing area, there's another shaded area at ground level. Due to the construction, it took us about an hour to drive back the few miles to the ship. Think seriously against taking a private tour in the afternoon, due to traffic issues.
Read honeyb085's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Buck1949
2 reviews
Mar 2016
Roberto is a 35 year employee of the Panama Canal system who does independant tours and has an in depth knowledge of the workings of the entire canal system. We were able to view the original Gatun Locks and also the soon to be opened "new" locks which were in the final months of completion. Roberto provided us with an Air Conditioned bus, and also was able to show us the countryside, and small business operating along the roadside where we were able to obtain snacks and a cool drink.
Read Buck1949's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Robtads Tours (Roberto Whitaker)
Member Image dafcpa
1 review
Mar 2016
Our main goal for this trip was to see the canal. In Gatun Lake we disembarked and took a bus and boarded a ferry. We ended up taking the ferry all the way from Gatun Lake to the Pacific Ocean and thoroughly enjoyed it. We also had a unique experience of being in a minor collision with a freighter in the canal. No injuries but a little damage to our ferry. EXCITING!
Read dafcpa's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Arscar
2 reviews
Mar 2016
Good
Read Arscar's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Sunning
1 review
Mar 2016
This by itself was a well worth trip, we totally enjoyed this excursion of Panama, guide host was great in pointing out landmarks and and the locks.
Read Sunning's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image retiring soon
16 reviews
Feb 2016
This was an excursion we looked forward to but it turned out to be a long hot day, almost 12 hours! Our guide Ramses was very good, the tour interesting & luckily the ship waited for us as we were almost 3 hours late returning since we had to wait for the big ship that was transiting the canal with us.We sat inside on the ferry & were close to the lunch buffet. Water & pop was freely offered & there was also some refreshing fruit pieces available.
Read retiring soon's full Thomson Dream cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image Andy200
3 reviews
Jan 2016
Good. Interesting. Good guide.
Read Andy200's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Steambuff
4 reviews
Jan 2016
The guide was excellent and the tour lived up to expectations. We had to wait at the locks but all the reasons were explained. Best tour of the cruise
Read Steambuff's full Thomson Dream cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image WanderingTheWorld
4 reviews
Dec 2015
It's a once in a lifetime experience getting to go through the entire Panama Canal. However, the ferry was crowded and hot, and there were hours between locks. Take a ferry at your own risk.
Read WanderingTheWorld's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Happy NCL Cruiser
1 review
Dec 2015
Specifically the "Panama Canal Ferry Tour".. yes they do mean it can take up to 12 hours; it did and it was more than well worth it. A "must see" for anyone interested in the history and operation of the Panama Canal.. Although partly on bus the 6 +/- hour ferry boat trip from Lake Gatun through the Culebra Cut, Pedro Miquel and Miraflores locks and on the the Pacific was simply awesome. Taking a 300 passenger ferry into a lock chamber followed by a "mega freighter" was another experience altogether.
Read Happy NCL Cruiser's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Space Coast Cruisers
6 reviews
Nov 2015
we did the Gatun locks and expansion tour. We had the opportunity to see a couple of ships go through the canal and the guide was very informative. We then went to the expansion project and saw the progress on that. The excursion was interesting but a little long for what you got to see.
Read Space Coast Cruisers's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image GINNY L
1 review
Nov 2015
This excursion is just way too long. I am glad I experience it, but there was just way too much sitting around for me. Next time I go thru the canal I want to be on a cruise ship.
Read GINNY L's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Sandbox Cruiser
1 review
Nov 2015
Great tour. Roberto worked at the canal so knew everything there was to know about history and present day facts.
Read Sandbox Cruiser's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Roberto's
Member Image wtroller
1 review
Oct 2015
The guide was excellent and very informative about the area and its history.
Read wtroller's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image rmtheisen
1 review
Oct 2015
Two focuses on this tour were up close views of the operating locks and a review of the construction of the new locks. Major complaint with this tour is the waste of time at the new locks. We spent at least 1 hour more here than we should have, I suspect waiting for the Coral Princess to arrive in Colon.
Read rmtheisen's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?