Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Ketchikan Lumberjack Show Excursion Reviews

Ketchikan Lumberjack Show cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Enjoy the Great Alaska Lumberjack Show while in port at Ketchikan. This extravaganza will introduce you to the world's best lumberjacks, who compete in a number of events for the title of "Bull of the Woods."
Member Image zetaome
1 review
Not Rated
Sep 2014

This really is a fun, family-friendly activity!

I don't think there was a single person there that didn't enjoy themselves! Everyone got into cheering for their side and the lumberjacks were great entertainers!

This was an easy 5 minute walk from the ship!

Read zetaome's full Carnival Miracle cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image stin2014
1 review
Not Rated
Aug 2014

The lumberjack show was fun and entertaining. I would recommend to anyone with kids. And as they advertised, it is in a covered and heated setting. In fact it was so warm we took all our jackets off to stay cool.

Walking through Creek Street was nice. There's a ton of souvenirs available in these stores. However it may have been the time of the season we went (late in their season) but the prices here were much higher than in the next ports for the exact same items. The next ports all had sales going on and their 50% sale prices brought their "inflated" prices down to better than in Ketchikan prices.

They also have a big selection of jackets and rain hear here for a cheap price. If you forget to bring anything, you can pick items up here for good prices.

Lunch at Annabelle's Keg and Chowderhouse was very good.

Read stin2014's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image greggliz@comcast.net
1 review
Aug 2014

Show was fun. They packed too many people into one show

Read greggliz@comcast.net's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image niceguyneastbay
1 review
Aug 2014

The town of Ketchican is small. Once you are off the ship there is a building that will sell you more excursions. The day we were there it was SUNNY! Now this is a bit unusual as in August they get 10 inches of rain and on the day we were there. NONE Sunny skies. Also if you like popcorn check out Yukon Heath’s Popcorn Emporium. YUMMM if you want to save it and keep it fresh, bring ziplock bags to store it in.

Read niceguyneastbay's full Zuiderdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image DonSolo96
1 review
Jul 2014

Cheesy, but a great time was had by all.

Read DonSolo96's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Zach's Mom
1 review
Jul 2014

1.5 hours of fun/silly lumber jack silliness with Chopping, Sawing, Tree Climbing, Axe Throwing, History and much more. One block off Cruise Ship Docks. Cushioned, Covered & Heated Grandstands. Rain or Shine.

Read Zach's Mom's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: walked into town
Member Image cameocameo
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2014

We did the lumber jack show and cultural tour. The kids were a bit bored on the tour but they loved the lumberjack show!

Read cameocameo's full Disney Wonder cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image cruzin4
4 reviews
Not Rated
Jun 2014

Lots of fun great way to start the day. You can walk down the pier and buy tickets on your own. My suggestions is to see the show and just stay in town and walk the creek.

Read cruzin4's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image 56suzy
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2014

Even in the pouring rain, this was a delightful show. It was informative and entertaining at the same time.

Read 56suzy's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Pauline Shirrefs
1 review
Jun 2014

Mediocre. A lot of shouting, strutting, flexing of muscles, some parts of the act were clever. Guess I was influenced because I came off a farm and chopped wood for cooking and warmth. Also some of our Agricultural shows have wood chop competitions.

Read Pauline Shirrefs's full Zuiderdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Travelgoer
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2014

A really neat 1hr family adventure. Lots of fun.

Read Travelgoer's full Disney Wonder cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image jorgfam
1 review
Not Rated
May 2014

Lumberjack tour was informative and fun. The crowd loved getting the wood chips from each competition. These are real competitors that compete all over the country.

Read jorgfam's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image nazarene-lady
1 review
May 2014

Kept us entertained.

Read nazarene-lady's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image firegal2539
2 reviews
Sep 2013

This was my 3rd time to see this show and my kids loved it as I did. The lumberjacks are funny, informative and nice to the passengers. I would see it again.

Read firegal2539's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Danbee46
9 reviews
Sep 2013

The four lumberjacks were divided into two teams representing the U.S. and Canada. The competition was fierce, with the audience cheering loudly.

Read Danbee46's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image TrixieLou
2 reviews
Not Rated
Sep 2013

The Lumberjack Show is fun and silly. Totally worth the ticket price. Loved wandering around Ketchikan. We went to the Totem Heritage Museum on our own via public transportation - very easy and free. Even saw the salmon swimming upstream! Enjoyed visiting Creek Street and Dolly's House. Really great port.

Read TrixieLou's full Oosterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image renee_t
1 review
Aug 2013

This was a silly diversion. It was great that is was so close to the pier. Of course, nobody had any control over this, but it was fantastic that it was a beautiful sunny day -- our only sunny port on this trip. The Show was corny and fun.

Read renee_t's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Romatalia
1 review
Not Rated
Jul 2013

How can one go wrong with a Lumberjack show!

Read Romatalia's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image deBeer
1 review
Jul 2013

Touristy, but what can you expect? They work hard but overpriced.

Read deBeer's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image CruiseGuy95
3 reviews
Jul 2013

I was a bit skeptical at first but it's a lot of fun and the show is produced specifically for Disney so it's you and hundreds of fellow shipmates. Our kids loved this show. A good time had by all!

Read CruiseGuy95's full Disney Wonder cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image Myloan6
2 reviews
Jul 2013

Something different but notthing really give you a "WOW"

Read Myloan6's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: The Great Alaskan Lumberjack show
Member Image Dragonesque
4 reviews
Not Rated
Jun 2013

So worth it - really fun!

Read Dragonesque's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image karen of PA
2 reviews
May 2013

Corny but fun.

Read karen of PA's full Sapphire Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Cruise Xpert
1 review
May 2013

Very entertaining!

Read Cruise Xpert's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image pletzkeb
3 reviews
May 2013

The only ship excursion we took was the Great Alaskan Lumberjack Show in Ketchikan. The show was very good and worth the price of the $35.00 ticket.

Read pletzkeb's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image kathleenwalsh
1 review
Not Rated
May 2013

loved this show! great for adults, great for children.......performers even took the time to pose for photos at shows end......nice souvenir!

Read kathleenwalsh's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image jrbrack
1 review
Sep 2012
Corny but fun
Read jrbrack's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image dbr123
1 review
Sep 2012
Wasn't real sure if I would like this show, but it was great!
Read dbr123's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Wapascu
1 review
Sep 2012
This was totally worth while except the guide was not good, he gave us directions on how to get there in a town to when we have never been before, i think that the guide should have lead us to where we were suppose to go.
Read Wapascu's full Celebrity Century cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image MSO4STATIV
2 reviews
Sep 2012
Was a combo tour of a city tour (via motorized trolley), the Saxman Totems, & the Lumberjack Show. Only downside was the rainy weather that day BUT everyone stayed nice & dry at the Lumberjack Show (covered area with heaters above).
Read MSO4STATIV's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image rickyace33
1 review
Sep 2012
The lumberjack show was a bad excuse for trying to hustle tourists. There were several young men attempting to convince us there was some sort of competition between them. They did a few stunts that were mildly interesting, but not worth the time or money to us. Very young children might be amused.
Read rickyace33's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image mocruzn
1 review
Aug 2012
This lumberjack "contest" was quite a kick. The humor was silly, but the skill demonstrated was fantastic. Most people (especially the kids) had a great time.
Read mocruzn's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image FunGranny
5 reviews
Aug 2012
Lots of fun. I think our grandsons, who went on fishing trip instead, would have enjoyed it. Wish we had more time in Ketchikan.
Read FunGranny's full Oosterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image baruchgershom
4 reviews
Aug 2012
A lot of fun for the whole family. If you have young children (5-10), save room in your luggage for a large chip of wood given out as a souvenier.
Read baruchgershom's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image cdnjma
2 reviews
Aug 2012
Lumberjack show was rather lame. Mostly boring. Good for little kids. Skip it and go on a different excursion.
Read cdnjma's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image rough and ready
2 reviews
Jul 2012
This was a Disney exclusive excursion. I wasn't sure about going to it at first, but the kids talked my husband and I into it. It was actually very good. The lumberjack performers were very good, and personable. They gave the kids an opportunity to join in their performances.
Read rough and ready's full Disney Wonder cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image Cruiseman616
3 reviews
Jul 2012
If lots of muscular men chopping wood and doing some pretty silly comedy lines seems fun, take your camera along and enjoy. Unfortunately the lumberjacks were not shirtless.
Read Cruiseman616's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Freedom58
1 review
Jul 2012
After a Self walking tour we went to the Lumberjack show. Although it is aimed, primarily for the younger crowd, we enjoyed it as well. The show is a bit Hokey but in order to do the stunts these guys definitely have to be in good shape and watch what they are doing or there could be serious injuries.
Read Freedom58's full Zuiderdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image jb01876
1 review
Jul 2012
we did the early lumberjack show and the duck tour, as brochure stated that you would be able to do both Both were fun and entertaining, and suitable for all ages
Read jb01876's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Jaymndad
1 review
Jul 2012
This show was entertaining, even though it was drizzling on us throughout the show. The only problem was we were not in port that long and the vast majority of the time in port was taken up with the show. But bottom line it was an entertaining show.
Read Jaymndad's full Disney Wonder cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image ellbelle
2 reviews
Jun 2012
This is just silly fun!
Read ellbelle's full Sea Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image cndwhite
2 reviews
Jun 2012
It was a short walk from the peir to the lumberjack show. The show is entertaining with various lumberjack skills demonstrated. The trolley tour drove around the town telling about the history of the town, then we went to the totem pole park. many totem poles were there and a working shop to see the totem poles being made. We found the best deals for souvenirs in Ketchikan. Be sure to get the discount book and use the coupons.
Read cndwhite's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image newcruiserATL
1 review
Jun 2012
The lumberjack show as very entertaining.
Read newcruiserATL's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image music*mom*2
1 review
Jun 2012
Lots of fun to watch especially if you have kids. Its an outdoor show but is covered and has huge heaters in the rafters which really make it pleasant.
Read music*mom*2's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image osuwarman
1 review
Jun 2012
The show was entertaining and fun. It was very close to the ship so not far to go.
Read osuwarman's full Disney Wonder cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image momklaus
1 review
Jun 2012
Trolley and lumberjack show was good too! Learned about totem poles, and saw authentic lumberjack games from long ago!!.
Read momklaus's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image busyone
3 reviews
Jun 2012
The Lumberjack Show was pure cheese but it was fun! To enjoy the show you need to accept the competition premise, lose you inhibitions, cheer your team, and play along with the performers. The audience did joined in with a high level of energy, and we had a great time. We spent the rest of our time in Ketchikan walking around town and looking at the totems and eagles. It was another good day for us.
Read busyone's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image calmpets
3 reviews
Jun 2012
Really enjoyed the Saxman Native Village, but the lumberjack show ran a bit long for my taste.
Read calmpets's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image 2streets
1 review
Jun 2012
Very interesting show and they involved the audience and made them feel like they were a small part of the show. Very family oriented and would highly recommend It.
Read 2streets's full Zaandam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image krkernfamily
1 review
Jun 2012
In Ketchikan, we shopped as this is the premier place for shopping of all the ports and we also watched the Great American Lumberjack Show. This was really enjoyable. Bald Eagles were flying above the show arena:-) We also walked to Creek Street which is another must see - it is the old bordello area for "working girls" now turned into shops. We took the tramway up the mountain and hiked down "Married Man's Trail" back to Creek Street. We also saw "Dolly's House"...she was the main prostitute that bought her house for $800 and turned it into a brothel. She also provided alcohol for the men folk ;-) It was $15 for all of us to see this and worth the 30 minutes to see it as it's pertinent history for Creek Street.
Read krkernfamily's full Carnival Spirit cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image speller63
1 review
Jun 2012
Very funny and entertaining
Read speller63's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Geraldmacboingboing
2 reviews
Jun 2012
Because of the weather we left the show early to avoid the people returning to the ship. There is not enough time for a combo tour including the Saxman Native Village.
Read Geraldmacboingboing's full Carnival Spirit cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image travelingchef21
1 review
May 2012
It was entertaining for kids and the elderly. It was kind of cheesy for me and my hubby.
Read travelingchef21's full Carnival Spirit cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image Grumpy100
7 reviews
May 2012
I found Ketchikan very nice. We walked all around the town and took the lift up the a lodge where you could get good views of the city and took pictures of the Totem Poles. We had great weather and did some shopping. Then in the afternoon we went to the Lumberjack show and I found it quite entertaining. It was covered and had heaters in the stands as it was very cold that day. It was packed with 450 people in the stands.
Read Grumpy100's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image hawaiijos
2 reviews
May 2012
Very fun. Lumberjacks are competitive and they really get the audience involved. Lots of good lumberjack jokes. Highly recommended.
Read hawaiijos's full Sea Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image refswife
1 review
May 2012
Cute (kitchy) one hour show with plenty of typical jokes but was lots of fun. The two teams of lumberjacks put on a good show.
Read refswife's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Lauraloha
3 reviews
May 2012
Ridiculous and stupid.
Read Lauraloha's full Diamond Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image grandmamlw
1 review
May 2012
Very entertaining and a lot of laughs.
Read grandmamlw's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image cruzin_ga_gal
10 reviews
May 2012
Fun and interactive with the audience. We've seen the pros on tv and wanted to see the exhibition in real life. Those guys are real athletes.
Read cruzin_ga_gal's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.