Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Marseille Aix-en-Provence Excursion Reviews

Marseille Aix-en-Provence cruise excursion
Overall Rating
First founded in 123 BCE, this city has changed a lot in the intervening millennia. Cézanne is just one of many famous residents who have called Aix-en-Provence their home.
Member Image vladimirbeograd
1 review
Oct 2015
Well organized, with a tour guide. A bit overpriced for my standards.
Read vladimirbeograd's full MSC Preziosa cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image kilkenny
1 review
Oct 2015
Excellent guide and interesting tour.
Read kilkenny's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image carolinacruiser72
2 reviews
Oct 2015
Walking tour that hits all the highlights of Aix en Provence. This was a wonderful tour. The tour guide gave us an overview of the history and walked us all around then we had free time to shop our way back to the meeting point. I bought some lovely souvenirs and took some great pictures.
Read carolinacruiser72's full MSC Orchestra cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image hbrooke1124
2 reviews
Sep 2015
Booked a driver to take us to Aix. We were basically dropped off at the main street and allowed an hour there. They had a soothing street market going on but other than that we had no idea what to see or look for so just walked the main street and had a coffee at a cafe. There really wasn't much to see.
Read hbrooke1124's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Marseille Provence Tours
Member Image lawyer 47
1 review
Sep 2015
Pleasant tour of Aix and Cezannes studio
Read lawyer 47's full Star Legend cruise review
Provider: Windstar Cruises
Member Image Lee/Cy
1 review
Sep 2015
We left the group in Aix-en-Provence and really enjoyed touring on our own. Charming and lovely place for French food. The guide was driving us crazy with endless chatter that was meant for idiots. Rejoined the bus tour to see Marseille which was such a beautiful surprise. Would like to return.
Read Lee/Cy's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image carlosuru74
1 review
Aug 2015
Lunch included: average
Read carlosuru74's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image readytogo155
1 review
Jul 2015
Bus was uncomfortable (no leg room, no bathroom) but the tour guide was energetic and nice so that made up for it. He loved the city and that came through. During the free time at the end we had a treat from a local shop and it was the best dessert I had the entire trip.
Read readytogo155's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image LA Cruise Lover
3 reviews
Jul 2015
Took a taxi from the ship up there. 70 euros for the four of us. Not much more than the train or bus, but much quicker and less time waiting. The town is much, much nicer than Marseilles and worth the trip.
Read LA Cruise Lover's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Broadhurstbob
5 reviews
Jul 2015
Another port that we had never been to and we took the excursion to Aix-en-Provence and Lourmarin. Lourmarin is a pretty village full of craft shops and cafes, a bit touristy. Aix was on our own and it's a pleasant town to walk round.
Read Broadhurstbob's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Sheila0824
1 review
Jun 2015
Fabulous day trip to Provence. Met downtown, walked to the Farmers Market, picked our groceries, stopped at a Chateau for Wine, proceeded to Gilles home to cook outside together! Delicious french food which i believe we can make at home. Great meeting other people from other countries with similar interests in food. Awesome to be like a local for a day! Gilles emailed us directions and made sure we got to and from the cruise ship safely and timely. He is warm and considerate and an excellent cook! I highly recommend this experience!
Read Sheila0824's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Provence Gourmet with Gilles Conchy
Member Image galbro1
1 review
Jun 2015
This was the way to see Aix-en-Provence and Marseille! If we had not used this tour we never would have seen all the great sites of this area.
Read galbro1's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image christyl
1 review
Jun 2015
We did not care for this tour. Lots of driving.
Read christyl's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image aautomo884
2 reviews
Jun 2015
We broke off and had a great lunch in a al fresco cafe which was very enjoyable.
Read aautomo884's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Mermaid2013
2 reviews
May 2015
Our bus got stuck behind a bus that broke down therefore we never made it to Aix. Also, a small town for so many tour buses it took forever in traffic. It was so hot and Marseille did not have a lot to see so we took a taxi back to the ship. the cruise line refunded our money which was great.
Read Mermaid2013's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image seahappy08
1 review
May 2015
6 of us had a van for a day tour of Aix, Cassis and Marseille. Very relaxed day and saw lots, also had a very nice lunch in Cassis. Marseille was much better than we expected.
Read seahappy08's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Frank of Provence Connection
Member Image J Seldon
1 review
May 2015
A lovely trip and enjoyable day although the courier on the bus might as well not have been there!
Read J Seldon's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image justluv2cruisewithhubby
6 reviews
May 2015
This one was a bit boring in Aix-en Provence; the highlight was seeing Notre Dame and the view of the city at the top; the city of Aix-en-Provence was just ok we did have lunch at a nice restaurant with good food and wine.
Read justluv2cruisewithhubby's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image China6
1 review
May 2015
We visited Aix-en-Provence and enjoyed the sights, sounds, and aromas at the farmers' market. The visited a couple of Luberon hill towns including Gordes. It was a very relaxing day and the sights were lovely. Could definitely go back to Provence.
Read China6's full Riviera cruise review
Provider: provence-connection.com
Member Image Mandala
1 review
May 2015
The excursion to Aix-en-Provence was delightful, as it is a lovely, quaint little village! We walked around the town, as our guide pointed out the historical sights, and wound up at a delightful outdoor market square where we purchased the ingredients to make our own little picnic lunch. All in all, a very nice, but way too brief, tour.
Read Mandala's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image shayv01
3 reviews
May 2015
Terrible tour. It was mainly an opportunity to shop in Ain-en-Provence which is really small (the area we were in was small). Lunch was included but, we chose to skip it because it was very windy & we were placed on the patio.
Read shayv01's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image skipcramer
3 reviews
May 2015
While I had lived on the Cote d'Azur, I had never visited Aix. We had hopes that the trip to/from Aix would give us a view of Provence but it was not very exciting. Aix itself was OK but not what I expected until we got fairly deep into the old city. By chance, we happened upon a wedding party. That was enchanting and really perked up the day. As a side note, the Mistral was blowing hard throughout this tour and became a "Black Mistral" by the time we headed back to Marseille.
Read skipcramer's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image mninem
2 reviews
Apr 2015
Positive: 25 people on the bus. Excellent lecture during the bus ride to the destination. The walk about was okay. At least got a sense of reference points for return to the bus pick-up after free time to wander on our own.
Read mninem's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image AWHW
8 reviews
Apr 2015
Excellent visit to Aix, having been to Marseille many times: the destination suits a few hours' interesting walk and Aix has everything with beautiful old town and market.
Read AWHW's full MSC Splendida cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image mistertoaster
8 reviews
Mar 2015
Excellent walking tour of the city. The guide was well versed in the history of the city. In addition to the tour, we had about an hour of free time to explore on our own. Prompt pick up and arrival back at the pier.
Read mistertoaster's full MSC Splendida cruise review
Provider: Cruising excursions.com

Sponsored links

 
Have you taken a cruise before?
Thank you!

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.