Marseille Aix-en-Provence Excursion Reviews

Marseille Aix-en-Provence cruise excursion
Overall Rating
First founded in 123 BCE, this city has changed a lot in the intervening millennia. Cézanne is just one of many famous residents who have called Aix-en-Provence their home.
Member Image richera1
5 reviews
Oct 2016
OMG our best day. We went to Aix En Provence in the morning, Cassis for the gorgeous view and lunch in town and Notre Dame de Marseille. Fabrizzio was our guide. He was fantastic.
Read richera1's full Marina cruise review
Provider: Provenceconnection.com
Member Image RVA
1 review
Oct 2016
great tour to Aix, Callis, Marselles
Read RVA's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: provence connection
Member Image Unhappy from Cornwall
1 review
Oct 2016
This was an interesting part of France, big enough to see most of it it in an excursion.
Read Unhappy from Cornwall's full MSC Armonia cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image spritesmom
1 review
Sep 2016
This town was a surprise, lovely walking town, would go again.
Read spritesmom's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Bluewater21
1 review
Sep 2016
Arles, Avignon and Les Baux de Provence. Very pleasant tour, knowledgeable guide.
Read Bluewater21's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image proudmama53
2 reviews
Aug 2016
we went to Aix-en-Provence and had an average walking tour. Had a nice lunch in a café. As it turns out, my favorite part of this excursion was going to Notre Dame de la gard and le vieux port. That area of Marseilles was lovely and I wish we had more time to spend there. It was a surprise.
Read proudmama53's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image ZapCity
1 review
Aug 2016
Beautiful town.
Read ZapCity's full MSC Poesia cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image canadian9981
1 review
Aug 2016
Just the right amount of time.
Read canadian9981's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image omwatt
1 review
Aug 2016
Very impressed with the tour and the city.
Read omwatt's full Thomson Majesty cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image simchabayla
5 reviews
Aug 2016
A mile a or so walking tour at a very leisurely pace in a lovely city with lots of shade. Our guide was knowledgeable and friendly. At the end of the tour, we had maps to get us back to the bus (about 15 minutes) and lots of chances to shop, eat and enjoy the day.
Read simchabayla's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: Azamara Club Cruises
Member Image Happicruzrr
1 review
Aug 2016
Shore excursions group... a perfect day, well paced, and great guide
Read Happicruzrr's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Trixie21
2 reviews
Jul 2016
We had an hour walking tour around Aix and an hours free time. Would have liked more independent time - Aix is a beautiful town.
Read Trixie21's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image vk3307
1 review
Jul 2016
We had a lovely guide and driver, Lucille. She drove us to Aix en Provence giving us information along the way. She took us thru the town and thru the various markets that were doing business that day. She was very knowledgeable about the history of Aix. She then drove us to Cassis where she suggested we see the Calanques and we were so glad we did. We finished the tour at Notre Dame de la Gard with beautiful views of Marseille.
Read vk3307's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Shore Excursions Group
Member Image Pmmlsf
1 review
Jul 2016
I would highly recommend this tour with Patrick. He ws very knowledgable and gave us a fantastic experience!
Read Pmmlsf's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: A Day in Provence- William Templer
Member Image Lorna Doone
5 reviews
Jul 2016
Aix-En-Provence & Marseille. Walking tour of Aix but this was a day after the terrible Nice attack and we were surprised how crowded the city was. The tours to Nice were cancelled. Good way to get to around but finding our bathroom was a major issue. Oceania should have something arranged for people on this tour. Only one of 4 public bathroom was working with a long waits and not convenient to where we were touring. The guide told us to use a bar after purchasing a meal. Everything was extremely crowded and this took away from our enjoyment of the area. We loved Marseille, the views from the Notre Dame de la Garde Basilica and walking around the boat area.
Read Lorna Doone's full Riviera cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image Pollypops
2 reviews
Jun 2016
Lovely place, the guided tour was interesting but would have liked more free time at the end.
Read Pollypops's full Oriana cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image GAcruisegirlie
1 review
Jun 2016
Used a company called One Day in Provence w/ William Templer. Best tour guide EVER! http://onedayinprovence.com/ I highly, highly recommend this company. Excellent experience.
Read GAcruisegirlie's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: One day in Provence
Member Image johncastellano
1 review
Jun 2016
Good tour director but left us off in poor spot to meet.
Read johncastellano's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Beach Traveler
1 review
Jun 2016
We thought this town was just ok. It was larger than we expected. There is a tourist information building down the street from the public bus station. They were very helpful.
Read Beach Traveler's full Riviera cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image Beachwalker5
1 review
Jun 2016
Enjoyed the drive to and the time in Aix-en-Provence. Our tour guide was very informative. For me, there was a little too much free time (1-3/4 hours). I would liked to have seen more historical venues.
Read Beachwalker5's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image cheftom1
1 review
Jun 2016
Tour was late to depart because there were too many Italians and not enough english speaking that it caused a problem with the tour guides figuring out the logistics. The city of Provence was nice but our guide was too slow and this only left us with 30 minutes to explore and shop on our own.
Read cheftom1's full MSC Poesia cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image anna hutchison
1 review
Jun 2016
love the pope palace
Read anna hutchison's full S.S. Catherine cruise review
Provider: Uniworld Boutique River Cruise Collection
Member Image Dennisschornack
1 review
Jun 2016
We had two nights and one real day to experience Aix-en-Provence' and I wish we had more.
Read Dennisschornack's full S.S. Catherine cruise review
Provider: Uniworld Boutique River Cruise Collection
Member Image stacysgal1974
1 review
Jun 2016
Our tour guide was the worst I've ever had. First of all, she never stopped talking the entire time, even in the bus. When we got to Aix, she started taking us through the town. She spent so much time at each place, many of us left the tour. We wanted to shop, eat and see the town,
Read stacysgal1974's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image worcesterite
1 review
May 2016
Aix is a very nice small city to explore - very French. Our guide was excellent for a walking tour before some free time.
Read worcesterite's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?