Become a Cruise Insider
Tips, deals and more in your inbox.
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Marseille Aix-en-Provence Excursion Reviews

Marseille Aix-en-Provence cruise excursion
Overall Rating
First founded in 123 BCE, this city has changed a lot in the intervening millennia. Cézanne is just one of many famous residents who have called Aix-en-Provence their home.
Member Image Sheila0824
1 review
Jun 2015
Fabulous day trip to Provence. Met downtown, walked to the Farmers Market, picked our groceries, stopped at a Chateau for Wine, proceeded to Gilles home to cook outside together! Delicious french food which i believe we can make at home. Great meeting other people from other countries with similar interests in food. Awesome to be like a local for a day! Gilles emailed us directions and made sure we got to and from the cruise ship safely and timely. He is warm and considerate and an excellent cook! I highly recommend this experience!
Read Sheila0824's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Provence Gourmet with Gilles Conchy
Member Image christyl
1 review
Jun 2015
We did not care for this tour. Lots of driving.
Read christyl's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image aautomo884
2 reviews
Jun 2015
We broke off and had a great lunch in a al fresco cafe which was very enjoyable.
Read aautomo884's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Mermaid2013
2 reviews
May 2015
Our bus got stuck behind a bus that broke down therefore we never made it to Aix. Also, a small town for so many tour buses it took forever in traffic. It was so hot and Marseille did not have a lot to see so we took a taxi back to the ship. the cruise line refunded our money which was great.
Read Mermaid2013's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image seahappy08
1 review
May 2015
6 of us had a van for a day tour of Aix, Cassis and Marseille. Very relaxed day and saw lots, also had a very nice lunch in Cassis. Marseille was much better than we expected.
Read seahappy08's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Frank of Provence Connection
Member Image J Seldon
1 review
May 2015
A lovely trip and enjoyable day although the courier on the bus might as well not have been there!
Read J Seldon's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image justluv2cruisewithhubby
6 reviews
May 2015
This one was a bit boring in Aix-en Provence; the highlight was seeing Notre Dame and the view of the city at the top; the city of Aix-en-Provence was just ok we did have lunch at a nice restaurant with good food and wine.
Read justluv2cruisewithhubby's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image China6
1 review
May 2015
We visited Aix-en-Provence and enjoyed the sights, sounds, and aromas at the farmers' market. The visited a couple of Luberon hill towns including Gordes. It was a very relaxing day and the sights were lovely. Could definitely go back to Provence.
Read China6's full Riviera cruise review
Provider: provence-connection.com
Member Image Mandala
1 review
May 2015
The excursion to Aix-en-Provence was delightful, as it is a lovely, quaint little village! We walked around the town, as our guide pointed out the historical sights, and wound up at a delightful outdoor market square where we purchased the ingredients to make our own little picnic lunch. All in all, a very nice, but way too brief, tour.
Read Mandala's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image shayv01
2 reviews
May 2015
Terrible tour. It was mainly an opportunity to shop in Ain-en-Provence which is really small (the area we were in was small). Lunch was included but, we chose to skip it because it was very windy & we were placed on the patio.
Read shayv01's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image skipcramer
3 reviews
May 2015
While I had lived on the Cote d'Azur, I had never visited Aix. We had hopes that the trip to/from Aix would give us a view of Provence but it was not very exciting. Aix itself was OK but not what I expected until we got fairly deep into the old city. By chance, we happened upon a wedding party. That was enchanting and really perked up the day. As a side note, the Mistral was blowing hard throughout this tour and became a "Black Mistral" by the time we headed back to Marseille.
Read skipcramer's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image mninem
2 reviews
Apr 2015
Positive: 25 people on the bus. Excellent lecture during the bus ride to the destination. The walk about was okay. At least got a sense of reference points for return to the bus pick-up after free time to wander on our own.
Read mninem's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image AWHW
3 reviews
Apr 2015
Excellent visit to Aix, having been to Marseille many times: the destination suits a few hours' interesting walk and Aix has everything with beautiful old town and market.
Read AWHW's full MSC Splendida cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image mistertoaster
7 reviews
Mar 2015
Excellent walking tour of the city. The guide was well versed in the history of the city. In addition to the tour, we had about an hour of free time to explore on our own. Prompt pick up and arrival back at the pier.
Read mistertoaster's full MSC Splendida cruise review
Provider: Cruising excursions.com
Member Image hsmcruise
13 reviews
Sep 2014

Very pretty town and what you would picture a small french city to be. we were there when they
had an outside market that was selling scarves and soaps, etc. Tour guide was difficult to understand and talked to much

Read hsmcruise's full Ryndam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image sivadasil
1 review
Not Rated
Jul 2014

Very nice excursion to a delightful village. Many nice shops and scenery including 3 wedding parties. Flower and vegetable markets were very nice and scenic. Quaint shops and bakeries. I felt very safe. Very scenic area with old homes, hotels, fountains, churches.

Read sivadasil's full Costa Serena cruise review
Provider: Costa Cruises
Member Image daisy's mom
1 review
Jul 2014

Actually docked in Toulon which was the maiden docking for the Queen Elizabeth. Toured Aix-in-Provence which was charming with open air markets and had a brief walking tour. The guide said the bus wasn't allowed to stay in the town for long so we only had an hour free time. An extra hour would have allowed more shopping or a change to try one of the quaint outside cafes.This tour was ok. TIP: Our table mates who had guidance from their travel agent picked the Casellet tour (which was sold out) and they liked it very much.

Read daisy's mom's full Queen Elizabeth cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line
Member Image FLCRUISER007
3 reviews
Jun 2014

We took a walking tour. If we could have just gone there on our own and spent the afternoon I would have preferred to do that. It was a nice town. I was able to find Wi-Fi (for those of you who care about that). There were a lot of people walking dogs without leashes and I had one run into me and hurt my foot so watch out for unleashed dogs. Otherwise a very nice place. I think I would have opted to see Marseille if I could do it over again.

Read FLCRUISER007's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image arboreal
1 review
Not Rated
Dec 2013

We visited Aix-en-Provence on our own but used the transportation there and back provided by the cruise line. So it was a cruise line excursion, but we were on our own, which worked well. Aix-en-Provence is relatively compact.

Read arboreal's full MSC Splendida cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image Lilley
1 review
Not Rated
Oct 2013

Delightful tour. Avignon best place to buy Lavender. Extremely pretty place with some steps to the popes palace, but take it slowly it's well worth the visit as is Aix Provence. Just how you imagine France to be, very picture postcard. Lots of beautiful shops and cafes on the main boulevard a perfect end to the day.

Read Lilley's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Balcony12152
1 review
Sep 2013

We didn't have enough time to thoroughly wander around "X", but loved the parts we saw. The beautiful Cours Mirabile is worth another trip; the Cathedral is simply amazing and there were interesting squares and fountains to spend more time exploring the next time.

Read Balcony12152's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image BARRISTER70
1 review
Aug 2013

This was a very nice city to walk around in. There really were not a lot of sites to see.

Read BARRISTER70's full Legend of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image TravelingGal62
1 review
Jul 2013

This port was horrific -- no one felt safe. The tour was really poor. They just dropped you near a flea market area. Very touristy. No real local flavor.

Read TravelingGal62's full Wind Star cruise review
Provider: Windstar Cruises
Member Image Cruisedog123
1 review
Jul 2013

Aix is a nice city but you can see most of it in a few hours.

Read Cruisedog123's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Chocobaker1
1 review
Jul 2013

Our walking tour of Aix-en-Provence was fantastic. Such a cute area with the open air market, the shops and the very pretty streets and buildings. We had plenty of free time to shop and explore on our own after our tour. When we were brought back to the ship, we boarded the boat to Marseille and so glad we did. Wish we had much more time to see the Castle of Norte Dame. The entire tour to Aix-en-Provence was five hours.

Read Chocobaker1's full Legend of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Quem_Fala
4 reviews
Jun 2013

The home of Cezane and a lot of French poets. There is lots of history and plenty of photo opportunities here. It's a wonderful city to walk through and sample the sweets and pastries in the many shops along the way. We ended our short visit walking down the Cours Mirabeau; what a street! We were told that Cours Mirabeau was the street that you mentioned whenever you were going to meet someone in Aix; like "I'll see you on the Cours Mirabeau"!

Read Quem_Fala's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Transferts Service -Delphine Segret
Member Image louirish
1 review
Not Rated
May 2013
A much better value than what the ship offered
Read louirish's full Legend of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Provence tours
Member Image russg140
14 reviews
Dec 2012
Great guide. Very knowledgeable and informative both going to Aix and returning. Once we arrived in Aix our guide gave us the permission to leave the walking tour at any time and explore on our own, provided we return to the meeting point at the assigned time. We walked off the beaten path and found a local market - loaded up on olive oil, herbs, lavender, soaps, etc. Lots of fun. Once back we explored the town of Sevigne sur Mer (?) where the ship was docked. Kind of down on it's heels, but walk around a bit then back on the ship.
Read russg140's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image cruzcruzcruz
3 reviews
Oct 2012
We got soaked in rain sharing one umbrella, but loved it.
Read cruzcruzcruz's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image pinor1
3 reviews
Sep 2012
Lovely experience, had a wonderful guide. Great shopping
Read pinor1's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Rimavh
1 review
Sep 2012
Great shopping in a charming town
Read Rimavh's full Seven Seas Mariner cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image artist5320
3 reviews
Aug 2012
Provence Actually landed in toulan..... We took the tour that included a walking guided portion and then were on our own Isabel took us for 1 our and we saw the market on the main street, the fruit market, the old street, old theater and the Basilica where we saw a refurbished painting with the King and Queen kneeling before the Baby Jesus and the town of Aix in the background. I don't know how they can afford to keep up these massive churches but they must. Very small streets and shops and just a picturesque town......of course another Crème glace.
Read artist5320's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image lexmiller
13 reviews
Aug 2012
Our next port of call was Toulon, France, where we decided to book the shore excursion TU03 Aix-en-Provence. Such a beautiful picture perfect postcard of a town! Our guide gave us an informative guided walking tour, leaving us plenty of time at the end to explore on our own. We happened to be in town while two markets were going on, a big clothing market and a farmer's and flower market. At the farmer's market, we purchased fresh peaches and fresh apple-pear cider. The cider was delicious but the peaches were extraordinary, ranking in our minds as the best peaches we have ever had along with the peaches from last summer's cruise on the Equinox, the peaches from the village of Sirince in Turkey. We definitely recommend this shore excursion as it provided an excellent trip into the countryside and a lovely visit to Aix. We had no interest in seeing Marseille, from our research, and we were very happy with our choice.
Read lexmiller's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Ocean Diva
1 review
Jul 2012
Booked a ship tour to Aix-en-Provence and was not disappointed. Had a lovely morning getting a walking tour and going through the markets. It was nice getting there early before all the tons of people showed up. I love Provence and lavender so got some nice things in the shops there. There are also some shops right next to the ship selling Provence items and souvenirs.
Read Ocean Diva's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Buckeye90
1 review
Jul 2012
This tour was very good but far too short. Tour of buildings and the market were rushed. We only had about 1 hour of free time which is insufficient. The actual length of tour was 4 hours from the time we assembled in the ship to leave. The guide was knowledgeable although gave misinformation about being able to use excursion ticket to use Marseilles old port shuttle. Msc wanted to charge another fee, we took local taxis for 20 euro each way which was cheaper than msc shuttle bus price for our group of 4.
Read Buckeye90's full MSC Fantasia cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image puablo
3 reviews
Jun 2012
We took the NCL tour of Marseille & Aix-en-Provence. It was just ok, really. There's not a whole lot to do in Provence that compares to the remainder of the trip, so it's unfair to hold it against the region. We did have a nice day though - Aix was a cool town, and while we were only briefly in Marseille it seemed nice, and we had stunning views from the Notre Dame cathedral.
Read puablo's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Magnolia53
1 review
Mar 2012
This guide was so informative and kept the group enthralled with her knowledge
Read Magnolia53's full MSC Fantasia cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image smahk
2 reviews
Feb 2012
We selected the ships tour to Aix en Provence. Honestly -- it was really just transportation as the "tour" part was not really well done for one guide and 50 clients. We split from the group and wandered around the very pretty city on our own, had lunch and shopped then back to the ship.
Read smahk's full MSC Splendida cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.