Ketchikan Kayaking Excursion Reviews

Ketchikan Kayaking cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Kayaking through Ketchikan's icy waters is an active way to experience Alaska's gorgeous scenery.
Member Image HitherGreen
2 reviews
Sep 2016
This was 15 miles outside of town and included a very fast Rib boat to get out to a secluded island, not for the faint hearted! The Kayaking itself was stunning and the guide very knowledgable.
Read HitherGreen's full Silver Shadow cruise review
Provider: Silversea Cruises
Member Image Roxy5341
1 review
Sep 2016
Tatoosh Island kayaking. Well organized. Beautiful scenery. This kayak trip can be done by anyone. No experience necessary as the waters are calm and all equipment provided. The guides are knowledgeable and great at explaining the plants and wildlife. It is a serene experience, to be away from the city and out in the islands with the quiet. Just the birds and the wildlife. This part of Alaska is a rain forest. Amazing greenery!
Read Roxy5341's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Aliyah17
1 review
Aug 2016
Very nice operation, not a very challenging kayak trip. Didn't go as far as I'd hoped.
Read Aliyah17's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Ketchikan Kayak
Member Image GideonS
1 review
Aug 2016
An excellent, easy paddle. Skilled, and very informative kayaking guides. The bus guides driving us to and from the pier to the excursion site were also very entertaining and informative.
Read GideonS's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image lakeforestCA
1 review
Aug 2016
Sasha was a great guide - had a blast. First time in a kayak!
Read lakeforestCA's full Maasdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image markam
1 review
Jul 2016
Knowledgeable guide. Equipment in excellent condition. Scenic area with good wildlife. Southeast Exposure Kayak Tours and Rentals.
Read markam's full Regatta cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image misshousam
1 review
Jul 2016
We were a little biased due to excursion before cruise began in Homer. We had an overnight trip. She was knowledgeable and did have safety gear. We were hoping the "red light district" would be longer. However, the cool waterfall is awesome, and we saw a Sea Lion.
Read misshousam's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Alaska Shore Excursions
Member Image MB1969Traveler
1 review
Jul 2016
The guides were very nice and everything was fine, but there wasn't much to see. Recommend Juneau for kayaking or whale watching vs. Ketchikan
Read MB1969Traveler's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image ltoneill
1 review
Jun 2016
Southeast Sea Kayaks gave us a wonderful kayaking trip in Ketchikan. It was just us 4 and our knowledgeable, fun, and very patient guide. The water was calm, the weather beautiful, and we got to see bald eagles, an otter, and perfect scenery from our sit-in double kayaks. Definite trip highlight!!
Read ltoneill's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Southeast Sea Kayaks
Member Image Oregonone
1 review
Jun 2016
Great tour with Autumn, quiet and peaceful!
Read Oregonone's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image AmandaO722
1 review
May 2016
Best excursion we booked. From start to finish the tour was about 3 hours. I've never been kayaking before, but my husband has. The pace was slow enough that I didn't feel like we were behind or had to play catch-up and our tour guide was very informational. He picked up a starfish from underneath one of the cliffs and passed it around for everyone to hold and told us a lot about the history of Ketchikan and the sea life that you would typically find in the area. We were lucky enough to see a few harbor seals swimming next to our kayak, about 30 bald eagles circling over us, jellyfish, and even got to see the first Orca sighting of the summer!! Highly recommend and the guides were great!
Read AmandaO722's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Ketchikan Kayak Company
Member Image lizzien18@hotmail.com
1 review
May 2016
1 1/2 hour kayaking trip - novices but thoroughly enjoyed it
Read lizzien18@hotmail.com's full Volendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image calycruising
1 review
May 2016
The company that provided us the tour did an excellent job. Would do it again.
Read calycruising's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image quercus alba
3 reviews
Jul 2015
Nice small group (just our 4 and a local guide). Short tour across the channel and around the harbor, but good use of time. Wife and son went on a salmon fishing charter and had a great catch.
Read quercus alba's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Southeast Sea Kayaking
Member Image cfinnrun
1 review
Jul 2015
Lots of fun, but bring waterproof jackets and a hat. It poured for the first 40 minutes, and I was ill-equiped.
Read cfinnrun's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Redeemed_1
1 review
Jul 2015
Tatoosh Kayaking - 20-minute bus ride to business HQ, 20-minute boat ride to launch point (friendly, knowledgeable drivers); 90-minute kayaking experience on still water that included numerous bald eagle sightings as well as one sea lion swimming a distance away. The guide were very friendly and fun but would have enjoyed the challenge of more turbulent water.
Read Redeemed_1's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image grendel_z
1 review
Jul 2015
Perfect duration, not too strenuous, amazing guide, small group, lots of wildlife.
Read grendel_z's full Volendam cruise review
Provider: Southeast Seas Kayaking
Member Image raychill88
2 reviews
Jun 2015
We started our morning with some sea kayaking booked through a local company (I never book cruise ship excursions as they tend to be overpriced, over crowded and inauthentic). The sea kayaking was nice and we saw some bald eagles and sea lions, however it was raining for most of the day.
Read raychill88's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Jeni B.D.
1 review
Jun 2015
Awesome! Our group was small so we got a lot of attention. We spotted jellyfish, starfish, an Eagles' nest with babies in it, seals and a mink! This was a fun excursion for the grownups!
Read Jeni B.D.'s full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Traveladdict99
1 review
May 2015
Out to and around Eagle Island, nice paddle, good guides. Fine for beginners but if you are experienced it is no longer than a warm up paddle.
Read Traveladdict99's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image grobma
3 reviews
Not Rated
Aug 2014

Probably the cutest of the ports we visited. We thoroughly enjoyed this sea kayaking, even getting close to a fishing trawler, which was pretty fascinating to watch, and had enough time for lunch and walking around town upon our return.

Read grobma's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Southeast Sea Kayaks
Member Image Jim Henry
2 reviews
Jun 2014

Very friendly an knowledge tour guides. Unfortunately did not see whales, but did see unique sea creatures clinging to rocks.

Read Jim Henry's full Statendam cruise review
Provider: Ketchikan Kayak Co
Member Image WEGL81
15 reviews
Aug 2013

Viewed eagles and other wildlife. Guides were passionate and informative.

Read WEGL81's full Sapphire Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image dischic89
1 review
Aug 2013

Had a great time in our kayak. We were in small group of ten. We saw a few eagles, starfish, and deer. It was so relaxing to be out on the water in Alaska.

Read dischic89's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Ketchikan Kayak CO
Member Image ntvsdgrl
1 review
Aug 2013

There were only 4 of us that went on this excursion but it was perfect. Our guide was knowledgeable and patient with us first timers. They were always friendly and polite.

Read ntvsdgrl's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?