Ketchikan Fishing Excursion Reviews

Ketchikan Fishing cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Opt for a salmon fishing adventure or go bottom fishing for rockfish and halibut -- two popular fishing excursions enjoyed by locals and visitors alike.
Member Image mochas8
1 review
Jun 2017
Caught some salmon and other fish, saw eagles, got rained on!
Read mochas8's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Annjenette
1 review
May 2017
Caught halibut and cod and had a wonderful time. One of us took a sightseeing tour through a local company and it was amazing. Ray the guide was a local in his 70's and knew all the good scoop! We saw eagles, totem pole park, waterfall, salmon hatchery, Dolly's house, sea lions, Tongass National Forest, etc.
Read Annjenette's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image steveg49
2 reviews
May 2017
Worst day fishing is better than the best day sightseeing. Quality boats and captains, very comfortable on a cold wet day. Fish for multiple kinds of Salmon and other fish. Met us right at the dock, and their boat was tied up right next to the ship, ready to go. Reasonable prices too. Will book one to six.
Read steveg49's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Ketchikan Charters
Member Image TerrikBailey
1 review
Sep 2016
Fished for salmon and were able to catch three that were big enough to be processed and sent home to Ohio
Read TerrikBailey's full Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Strike Zone
Member Image kazalcruise2
1 review
Aug 2016
Booked through charters.com. Captain John was a cynic and no one on board could please him. Constantly ridiculing us for our ineptness. Just made the trip unpleasant. We did however catch some fish and we arrived back home safe and sound just not happy campers.
Read kazalcruise2's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Viator.com
Member Image carolsuehogan
1 review
Aug 2016
Even though only a couple fish were caught, it was a very good trip. All the boat captains communicated back and forth to try and find the fish that were biting.
Read carolsuehogan's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Pegatha5
1 review
Aug 2016
The biggest expense is if you catch something having shipped home. Cost more than the excursion.
Read Pegatha5's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image clyde2016
1 review
Aug 2016
Not told prior to fishing about limits and whether or not the fishing was good, or bad. The boat operator seemed more interested in the lone female aboard, and kowtowing to her wishes, than he was interested in successful fishing.
Read clyde2016's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Baranof and Company
Member Image Kathylou
1 review
Aug 2016
We caught fish and had it sent to our home. People in charge of this trip were friendly and helpful.
Read Kathylou's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image IdahoPam
1 review
Aug 2016
It was awesome. Four of us on the boat salmon fishing. I caught 3 and my husband caught 5. Company filleted them, packaged them, froze them and sent them to us over night.
Read IdahoPam's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Alaska Sport Fishing Adventures
Member Image PrincessIsTheWorst
1 review
Aug 2016
Before our trip, Princess encouraged us to take their excursion, as they only used the best and most qualified. We spent $800 for the Halibut fishing excursion. As avid fishing enthusiast, my husband and I recognize catching Halibut cannot be guaranteed. However, with 5 tourists on the boat, I did not expect to have to SHARE rods. Way to make me pay $400 for half a rod Princess. To make matters even better, I had read on Princess’ excursion site that we could bring enough fish on board to cook for a meal one evening. When I posed the question to the captain, he said no. Only later did I find out other fishing excursions allowed their tourists to bring the fish aboard the cruise for a lovely fresh fish meal. So glad Princess has a rigorous screening process for their excursion vendors. Don’t waste the money!
Read PrincessIsTheWorst's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image susychristensen
1 review
Aug 2016
One of the best excursions. You are with just 5 or 6 other people and the fisherman who takes you out walks you through what to do so you don't need any experience. My husband and I each caught 4 salmon - had them sent home and we have been enjoying wild salmon that we caught ourselves! We also saw whales, eagles and other wildlife.
Read susychristensen's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Horned Frog 2
1 review
Jul 2016
While it was fabulous to go salmon fishing, time in port is too short to make this a great trip.
Read Horned Frog 2's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image bigalgreen
2 reviews
Jul 2016
While I did not catch any halibut... did get some salmon In the past, had my catch processed and shipped.
Read bigalgreen's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image ledaebel
2 reviews
Jul 2016
Enjoyed but very cold. 17y/o caught and released 3 sharks.
Read ledaebel's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image sgfink
1 review
Jul 2016
Our captain and his deck hand were right on time and had his boat waiting for us right where we exited the cruise ship. He had a cooler of water and soft drinks as well as snacks and cookies waiting on board. His boat was very clean and had a bathroom. We were traveling with 4 adults (around age 40) and 5 kids ages 8-13. The captain and deckhand were so knowledgeable and taught us how to do everything so we could all be hands on. We caught tons of crabs and after we were done fishing, we pulled into a quiet cove. There the captain set up a stove and cooked all of our crab to eat right there. It doesn't get any fresher than that. He even had tools to crack the legs open and melted butter for dipping. We loved it all!
Read sgfink's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image jimsgyrl1
1 review
Jul 2016
No one was at the dock to meet us as promised. After several telephone calls was told to just walk to the dock. Got back very close to time for ship to leave.
Read jimsgyrl1's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image 6thking@gmail.com
1 review
Jul 2016
The cruise said their salmon fishing excursion was booked, so I hit the pier on my own to find a fishing charter. Fortunately there were other people doing the same thing. There's a "Fishing Charter" office right off the Cruise Ship pier that set 4 of us up with a local boat and captain. Between the 4 of us we caught 9 salmon over 5 enjoyable hours. The cost was $213 per person for the charter.
Read 6thking@gmail.com's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: The Domo
Member Image ElKabong
1 review
Jun 2016
Would have been a five if I caught one but three buddies did. Captain Matt was a great guide.
Read ElKabong's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image dixielou222
1 review
Jun 2016
Had some Kings on but no keepers.
Read dixielou222's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image debndar
1 review
Jun 2016
There were 5 of us on the boat, another couple and their daughter from our cruise ship. It was fun. The captain (Kevin) could have been a little more friendlier. The weather was cool but sunny and the seas were rough in a spot, but he moved to calmer seas when someone got sick. We caught fish, but not too many. Although that's why it's called fishing not catching. There were two other boats from our cruise. Neither of them caught anything. We did see a lot of bald eagles though.
Read debndar's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Kramer1953
2 reviews
Jun 2016
Great time with Jerry. Better time to fish is late June and on, although we caught some and feed some to the eagles.
Read Kramer1953's full Zaandam cruise review
Provider: AAA Sport Fishing Charters.
Member Image vlhcruise
1 review
Jun 2016
No fish caught or one single bite on the line for ever person on our boat.
Read vlhcruise's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image lillyhen
1 review
Jun 2016
We caught a big King Salmon and one got away!
Read lillyhen's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image nittany04
1 review
May 2016
The boat captain should be given an A+ for effort. He tried his best the salmon in the bay were few and far between. We were too late for the May Salmon run and too early for the mid-June run.
Read nittany04's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?