Kauai Hollywood - Hawaii Excursion Reviews

Kauai Hollywood - Hawaii cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Take a tour of famous Hollywood set locations - a great way to see the island and be a part of the pictures.
Member Image billslowsky
3 reviews
May 2016
It was mindless entertainment but we saw a lot of the eastern side of the island. Our guide was a nice 24 year old lady who enjoys drinking.
Read billslowsky's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Roberts Travel
Member Image electrician513
1 review
Apr 2016
Didn't realize so many movies were filmed here - a great tour Roberts is an excellent company - they definitely give you your monies worth
Read electrician513's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Roberts
Member Image sueohara
1 review
Dec 2015
Personal sized tour on a small mini bus. Tour guide showed clips of numerous films where sites were used while we drove, and then we got out to see sites all along the eastern and northern sides of the island. A Beautiful way to spend a full day seeing so much. A really nice lunch too.
Read sueohara's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image VieraMaggie
1 review
Nov 2015
We took the "Director's Cut" tour and we really enjoyed it. The guide was extremely entertaining (big personality and funny). He showed clips of films as we were riding by the real-life scenes. We had numerous stops along the way where we were able to get out and take photos. The trip took us up to Hanalei where we had an excellent lunch at a restaurant (included in the price of the excursion). We also had time to shop in Hanalei. Great excursion and beautiful island!!
Read VieraMaggie's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Hillman53
1 review
Mar 2015
Great tour excellent guide, a bit pricy but a great way to spend the last morning before returning to Honolulu, recommended.
Read Hillman53's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ShootinRN
1 review
Mar 2015

Nice ride through the island to Hanalei Bay. Seeing Coco Palms completely destroyed was awful, but important to the history of the island. At least I walked where Elvis walked. Just a nice easy day seeing where all these films were made.

Read ShootinRN's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image twinnie18
1 review
Not Rated
Dec 2013

The Directors Cut tour was great, on the bus they have a screen at the front where clips from films are shown and as they show you the clip, you drive past/through the area where that scene was shot. The timing was excellent! They also take you to beautiful Hanalei Bay where the Descendants was shot and some other movie. We didn't stay there long but if we go back again I'd stay and swim there all day - it's absolutely beautiful. It's definitely a tour for movie buffs!

Read twinnie18's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Cruisin' Chick
2 reviews
Dec 2012
We booked the Hollywood in Hawaii -- Movies and Waterfalls excursions through Princess. My hubby and I did watch some of the movies listed in the tour's description in the few weeks before our cruise to get us in the mood Our tour guide played a video on the screen at the front of the bus that showed a quick summary of many of the movies that were shot on Kauai. During the day, we stopped at Wailua Falls ("The plane..."), Hanama'ulu Bay, Wailua (where the ruins of the Coco Palms hotel -- featured in "Blue Hawaii" -- sadly sit, a casualty of Hurricane Iniki), ?Opaeka?a Falls, Aliomanu (from where you can see a famous formation nicknamed King Kong Mountain). On the way to the next stop, we watched the open of the "Gilligan's Island" pilot that was never aired. After discussing the ways the show was changed before the sitcom finally was put on the air, we arrived at Moloa'a Bay, where the beginning shot with the coconut trees was filmed. We zipped by the grassy plain that was populated with dinosaurs in "Jurassic Park." Fortunately, the little buggers weren't around this day. Then we stopped for lunch at the diner featured in the movie "The Descendants." After our repast, we boarded our bus and headed to the Hanalei Pier and beach, where scenes from movies such as "South Pacific" were shot. On the way to our ship, we watched part of a Weather Channel special about Hurricane Iniki. The segment we saw described the Jurassic Park cast and crew's experiences at that time. All in all, a very enjoyable and informative tour of much of this beautiful island.
Read Cruisin' Chick's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image mauiedin87
2 reviews
Mar 2012
Small van tour, very expensive. Saw movie locations from Gilligan's Island, Fantasy Island, None but the Brave, South Pacific etc. We did not like that the tumble-down ruin of Coco Palms Resort was given a half hour, but less than 5 seconds to Jurassic Park as we drove by at 60 mph. Not even a photo stop. Very disappointed! Definitely not worth the money.
Read mauiedin87's full Oosterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Paula Baguley-Hems
reviews
Mar 2012
The coach broke down 20 minutes into a 6 hour trip and we were stranded for 3 hours, with no facilities, at a waterfall. We missed out seeing this island as by the time another bus got to us, it was too late for them to complete the trip and we were taken back to the ship.
Read Paula Baguley-Hems's full cruise review
Provider:

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?