Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Colon (Cristobal) Embera Indian Tour Excursion Reviews

Colon (Cristobal) Embera Indian Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Journey into the lives of the Embera Indians on a tropical adventure in Colón! You will experience excitement, bliss and tranquility as you explore this culturally rich and preserved tribe.
Member Image rubinstein2r
6 reviews
Jan 2014

Excellent tour to see this tribe and how the people live. Includes boat ride, rainforest tour with shaman describing medicinal plants, lunch (fish, plantains and fruit) and dance performance as well as sale of handcrafts.

Read rubinstein2r's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Embera Village Tours
Member Image odysseuschicago
1 review
Mar 2013
The ride from Colon which is a decrepit city to the Embera Indian village took us half way across the isthmus and up some unpaved roads to dugout canoes on a river. The Indian village is fascinating and the mini lectures by the native chief is informative. The bathroom facilities are crude but sufficient. We bought several unique handcraft items there as the Indians only source of income comes from craftwork since the area was turned into a National Park and they can not farm it as they once did. This excursion was one of the best I have been on.
Read odysseuschicago's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image StartrainDD
16 reviews
Jan 2013
Once in Gatun Lake, we tendered off the Zuiderdam as we were booked on the well-reviewed excursion to the Embera Indian village. We ended up seated in the front of the canoe and ended up being "Well splashed" en route. It's a good thing it was 85 degrees and a sunny day! The provided ponchos kept our main body dry but arms and legs were soaked, as was my wallet. We very much enjoyed the visit and found the Embrea to be a warm and welcoming people. We also were able to see more of Panama than can be viewed during a canal transit.
Read StartrainDD's full Zuiderdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Vagabondvoyager
8 reviews
Dec 2012
This tour was awesome! Be sure to wear shoes you don't mind getting wet. I wish I had brought some stickers or something to give to the children in the village. They were adorable! I definitely would tell everyone to go on this tour.
Read Vagabondvoyager's full Zuiderdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image SJandSinFolsom
1 review
Dec 2012
We did this as part of Celebrity's "Grand Tour." The only thing we experienced was a short explanation of their culture and dress. They performed a few dances for us and then gave us a few moments to peruse their handicrafts and shop.
Read SJandSinFolsom's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image jeffnjan
1 review
Dec 2012
Very interesting and fun. To get there we went in dug out canoes across the lake and to a waterfall that was beautiful and refreshing, then stopped at the village where they fed us fish they had caught and grilled, very good. Gave us some history and did some dancing for us.
Read jeffnjan's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image dusty1117
1 review
Nov 2012
Highly recommend. One major disappointment - when we got off the bus we had to walk down a slippery mud embankment to get into boat. There needs to be a railing to hold on to. There is one at the village. Between the rain and the water from the motor driven dug out canoe, 30 minutes couldn't come soon enough to get to village. An experience I would repeat. We were very much welcomed by the natives. While the guide gave us a history, we were offered home cooked fried tilapia and plantains in a home made leaf pouch and fresh fruit. Food was good. Men played instruments and men, women, & children danced. Bring small bills to buy their home made wares. Bracelets were $5 with plates from $20 to $50. I didn't buy enough bracelets. After arriving back to Colon, we were told to stay in port. There is nothing in port unless you want to eat. Unless you didn't get enough pictures of Panama Canal, take an excursion and get off ship.
Read dusty1117's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image big canoe
6 reviews
Oct 2012
What a great day. Tour of Gatun locks followed by trip up into highlands to dugout canoe trip across lake to visit with the Embera Indians. Good experience...thank you My Friend Mario tours.
Read big canoe's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: My Friend Mario
Member Image advaitin
1 review
Oct 2012
Very nice tour, although the guides were sometimes disingenuous. My wife speaks Spanish and knew that the Indian spokesman was saying one thing and the guide another.
Read advaitin's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.