Maui Road to Hana Excursion Reviews

Maui Road to Hana cruise excursion
Overall Rating
This beautiful day trip is a fantastic way to take in the beauty of Maui -- it is not to be missed.
Member Image speedo45
1 review
Oct 2016
This was an all day excursion. It was on a comfortable 8 person conversion van. Hana Road is extremely narrow and winding. I would have loved more stops for picture taking but, the road itself doesn't provide a lot of opportunities. The scenery is beautiful and there is a stop to try and swim in the waterfall. It was very cold.
Read speedo45's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image travelwithmetv
1 review
Oct 2016
An amazing tour that everyone should take advantage in doing. Its a 9 hour road trip with lots of stops in between with food snacks and drinks provided. Its worth the trip because it is one of the most stunning views I have ever seen.
Read travelwithmetv's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image islandmanintas
1 review
Oct 2016
Great tour and great way to see a large slice of Maui. Only criticism would be tour operator needs to update bus.
Read islandmanintas's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image 49erteacher
1 review
Oct 2016
This is a 10 hour tour that takes you around the east side of Maui. About 40 miles of the route is the Road to Hana a very curvy (620 curves) with many (59) one lane bridges and road sections that are really one lane but you may need to squeeze by other vehicles. Our mini-bus hugged the mountainside many times. The scenery is tropical rain forest passing several beautiful waterfalls, scenic views, and cattle ranches. There is a short stop at the Waianapanapa State park and black sand beach. I was fortunate to have Bruce as the driver/guide for the day. Bruce a transplanted Texan made it an enjoyable day and took into consideration the needs of his 15 not so young passengers. At the end of 10 hours we all felt we had a great time and made new friends. There are sufficient breaks and opportunities to get out, stretch your legs, and use bathroom facilities. The stops allow enough time to view the area but you don’t feel rushed. The stop at Palapala Congressional Church the location of Charles Lindbergh’s grave was very interesting as well as the Kipahulu National Park location of the 7 sacred pools. It is about a half mile walk down to the pools. The visitor/ranger station had some very interesting history of early Hawaiian life. Along the highway are homes of several famous people - Oprah, one of the Beach Boys, Willie Nelson and others. There is a stop at Travaasa Experiential Resort for lunch which was just OK, but I am a bit jaded after many days of superb cruise ship dining. A word of warning, they caution people with back backs and pregnant women to avoid this trip – pay attention to this warning the road has many miles of unpaved and poorly paved roads.
Read 49erteacher's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image janice2348
2 reviews
Sep 2016
Spectacular views and scenery. Our driver, Dennis, was a hoot. Very long day. Lots of walking up and down hills. But totally worth it.
Read janice2348's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Valley Isle tours
Member Image jcvhcv
1 review
Sep 2016
We took the Deluxe Road to Hana Excursion, small mini bus. Excellent scenery, however, the bus really can not stop on the road for photos, so most of your photos are taken through dirty windows. There are several places where stops are made that have parking facilities.
Read jcvhcv's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Sailor1268
1 review
Aug 2016
Roberts Tours did an excellent job. Kind of a long day though.
Read Sailor1268's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Roberts
Member Image bonnierph
1 review
Aug 2016
Pretty drive but over 9 hours on a bus was a bit long.
Read bonnierph's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image salsalisa
2 reviews
Jul 2016
The bus was comfortable, and driven by a driver who was friendly and professional. There were beautiful views of the rainforest and coastline during the tour. There were good stops along the way, and a nice lunch that was served. There were unlimited waters, juices, and sodas available on board the bus.
Read salsalisa's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Valley Isle Excursions
Member Image Pulga60
1 review
Jun 2016
Tour guide great and the experience was more than I expected.
Read Pulga60's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Valley Isle
Member Image Peggyloves cruising
1 review
May 2016
Good big bus experience. Wish we had done it privately with Holo Holo! Helicopter ride back was fine but not what we expected.
Read Peggyloves cruising's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image billslowsky
4 reviews
May 2016
A long day but we had a good guide. The drive is the tour - there really isn't anything there when you get to Hana. Lots of vegetation, waterfalls, and cliffs. We got rained on (heavily) twice, always when farthest from the bus.
Read billslowsky's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Roberts Travel
Member Image Capebeachwalk
1 review
May 2016
Road to Hana - beautiful vistas - not to be missed - but scary road back.
Read Capebeachwalk's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image electrician513
1 review
Apr 2016
This road is very long 2-1/2 hours to go about 30 miles but truly an experience - don't know how the buses can do it
Read electrician513's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image RJ in SC
1 review
Jan 2016
The road to Hana is one of those times when it probably is best to let someone else do the driving. 600+ curves, 59 1-lane bridges, a lot of the road is barely more than 1 lane anyway. It's gorgeous - you start out thinking every new vista is beautiful, only to realize it gets better and better. Black-rock beaches with blue, blue water, lush green hillsides with waterfalls, sheer cliffs and drop-offs, then a black sand beach with lava tube cave, and the seven sacred pools at Ohe'o Gulch. You can rent a car but apparently, the car rental companies won't let you drive the entire route because at a certain point, the road gets VERY rough. I can vouch for that. Tour companies do the full circle, so you see Charles Lindbergh's grave and the desert end of Maui. Plus, once the road straightens out, it's a lot easier going on than turning back . . . .Unless you stay somewhere along the way, you will be rushed to do this in one day whether by tour or rental car.
Read RJ in SC's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Valley Isle Excursions
Member Image sparrow12
1 review
Dec 2015
Awesome!!! Very long day. Many many stops. Breathtaking scenery! Road has been repaired in some spots so not as bumpy as previously. Not as scary as I was expecting. Excellent lunch provided at the flower shop stop. Medium sized van with comfortable seats. Tour guide was great. highly recommend!
Read sparrow12's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Valley Isle
Member Image KristaJGizzo
1 review
Nov 2015
The views are beautiful and it is so lush and colorful, but the steep cliffs inches away from a road with no railing, the several crazy twist and turns every 2 seconds coupled with tourist and locals who want to speed around the mountain made this drive terrifying! We've knick named it the Treacherous Road to Hana. Perhaps an experienced driver on a tour bus would be best but I don't think I would be any less terrified on a bus on those roads. We had an economy car and that was too big at some points on the road. A road that has two way traffic on a one lane road about 70% of the time I might add.
Read KristaJGizzo's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image HRE123
3 reviews
Oct 2015
Temptation Tours was magical. The picnic lunch in Hana was fantastic and thee Maui Pineapple I Could not get enough of. Linen table cloth and real silver on a beach in Hanna made our day. Our guide Al Jangl was the best. He pointed out numerous sites to us that we would never have picked up on own as well as give us a history of the area. Friends of ours rent ed a car and drove the road to Hana. They regretted it as they had no knowledge what to see and where to stop.
Read HRE123's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Mid43
3 reviews
Oct 2015
Decent tour, Surfer Sue was very knowledgeable, but sometimes too knowledgeable. She spoke the whole time, but was only trying to give you as much info as possible, we also did a cave tour as part of this tour and this was neat, but not worth the added price.
Read Mid43's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Temptation Tours
Member Image jhawkkarla
1 review
Oct 2015
Beautiful, but way too long. Could not in all honesty recommend.
Read jhawkkarla's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Valley Isle Excursions
Member Image junebugcomputer
1 review
Jun 2015
If you never experienced the Road to Hana, doing the excursion is the best way to do it. The drive can be crazy and scary at times, leave it to the professionals. The cruise excursion can seem a bit long a times and short at certain spots, but I still think it's the best way to do this especially if it is your first time.
Read junebugcomputer's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image kaemom
2 reviews
Jun 2015
See my review. Great experience with "the local boy". Very informative.
Read kaemom's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Valley Isle
Member Image kxb7662
1 review
Jun 2015
Bjorn was good but a long day, went all the way around island.
Read kxb7662's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Hawaiian Dicount
Member Image Sunny Sydney
1 review
Jun 2015
Its a beautiful drive, very windy road.
Read Sunny Sydney's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image 2atfurnas
1 review
Apr 2015
Had some bad weather. Disappointed at first as could not stop to take pictures but things got better. Long ride but got to get out at the half way point and take beautiful pictures. Saw many sea turtles on the beach.
Read 2atfurnas's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?