Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Maui Road to Hana Excursion Reviews

Maui Road to Hana cruise excursion
Overall Rating
This beautiful day trip is a fantastic way to take in the beauty of Maui -- it is not to be missed.
Member Image electrician513
1 review
Apr 2016
This road is very long 2-1/2 hours to go about 30 miles but truly an experience - don't know how the buses can do it
Read electrician513's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image RJ in SC
1 review
Jan 2016
The road to Hana is one of those times when it probably is best to let someone else do the driving. 600+ curves, 59 1-lane bridges, a lot of the road is barely more than 1 lane anyway. It's gorgeous - you start out thinking every new vista is beautiful, only to realize it gets better and better. Black-rock beaches with blue, blue water, lush green hillsides with waterfalls, sheer cliffs and drop-offs, then a black sand beach with lava tube cave, and the seven sacred pools at Ohe'o Gulch. You can rent a car but apparently, the car rental companies won't let you drive the entire route because at a certain point, the road gets VERY rough. I can vouch for that. Tour companies do the full circle, so you see Charles Lindbergh's grave and the desert end of Maui. Plus, once the road straightens out, it's a lot easier going on than turning back . . . .Unless you stay somewhere along the way, you will be rushed to do this in one day whether by tour or rental car.
Read RJ in SC's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Valley Isle Excursions
Member Image sparrow12
1 review
Dec 2015
Awesome!!! Very long day. Many many stops. Breathtaking scenery! Road has been repaired in some spots so not as bumpy as previously. Not as scary as I was expecting. Excellent lunch provided at the flower shop stop. Medium sized van with comfortable seats. Tour guide was great. highly recommend!
Read sparrow12's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Valley Isle
Member Image KristaJGizzo
1 review
Nov 2015
The views are beautiful and it is so lush and colorful, but the steep cliffs inches away from a road with no railing, the several crazy twist and turns every 2 seconds coupled with tourist and locals who want to speed around the mountain made this drive terrifying! We've knick named it the Treacherous Road to Hana. Perhaps an experienced driver on a tour bus would be best but I don't think I would be any less terrified on a bus on those roads. We had an economy car and that was too big at some points on the road. A road that has two way traffic on a one lane road about 70% of the time I might add.
Read KristaJGizzo's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image HRE123
3 reviews
Oct 2015
Temptation Tours was magical. The picnic lunch in Hana was fantastic and thee Maui Pineapple I Could not get enough of. Linen table cloth and real silver on a beach in Hanna made our day. Our guide Al Jangl was the best. He pointed out numerous sites to us that we would never have picked up on own as well as give us a history of the area. Friends of ours rent ed a car and drove the road to Hana. They regretted it as they had no knowledge what to see and where to stop.
Read HRE123's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Mid43
2 reviews
Oct 2015
Decent tour, Surfer Sue was very knowledgeable, but sometimes too knowledgeable. She spoke the whole time, but was only trying to give you as much info as possible, we also did a cave tour as part of this tour and this was neat, but not worth the added price.
Read Mid43's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Temptation Tours
Member Image jhawkkarla
1 review
Oct 2015
Beautiful, but way too long. Could not in all honesty recommend.
Read jhawkkarla's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Valley Isle Excursions
Member Image junebugcomputer
1 review
Jun 2015
If you never experienced the Road to Hana, doing the excursion is the best way to do it. The drive can be crazy and scary at times, leave it to the professionals. The cruise excursion can seem a bit long a times and short at certain spots, but I still think it's the best way to do this especially if it is your first time.
Read junebugcomputer's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image kaemom
2 reviews
Jun 2015
See my review. Great experience with "the local boy". Very informative.
Read kaemom's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Valley Isle
Member Image kxb7662
1 review
Jun 2015
Bjorn was good but a long day, went all the way around island.
Read kxb7662's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Hawaiian Dicount
Member Image Sunny Sydney
1 review
Jun 2015
Its a beautiful drive, very windy road.
Read Sunny Sydney's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image 2atfurnas
1 review
Apr 2015
Had some bad weather. Disappointed at first as could not stop to take pictures but things got better. Long ride but got to get out at the half way point and take beautiful pictures. Saw many sea turtles on the beach.
Read 2atfurnas's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image skm3998
1 review
Apr 2015
Very interesting. Driver was spectacular. I was worried about frequent bathroom stops - but plenty were provided. The scenery was nice especially the water falls.
Read skm3998's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image twinwaters
2 reviews
Apr 2015
This tour took us on the Road to Hana and Beyond. We loved the small bus and group size, our tour guide Walter, the delicious lunch, the chance to go beyond Hana and the chance to see and experience the island.
Read twinwaters's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Valley Isle Excursions
Member Image jh1301
1 review
Apr 2015
MY-OH MY! First, the tour guide was most knowledgeable and took time to show and tell! The crooked road is one that I will never forget. The great sights and pictures taken will last for a lifetime. Local shop stops were great The best of many tours.
Read jh1301's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image MAS4467
1 review
Jan 2015

If you take the road to Hana and you get Wayne for your driver, take ear plugs. He will tell you about all his education on Hawaiian plants and eco systems. But not once did he show us anything really unusual or interesting that any bus driver on the city routes in Maui could not do. He can point out every Banyon tree along the way. A Green Bay Packers house, painted mail box, an old car and 3 sizes of houses together is not using the education you were bragging about. Share your knowledge and give us something really interesting

Read MAS4467's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image brino99
8 reviews
Not Rated
Jan 2015

We took the road to Hana tour with Roberts Hawaii. Our driver (Tai) was great and he was very knowledgeable. This was the best priced tour I could find and we were very pleased.

Read brino99's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Roberts Hawaii
Member Image OhJinkies
3 reviews
Not Rated
May 2014
I chose this company after reading a lot of reviews. This was a small group (12 passenger) tour that did the full Road to Hana, including the rough roads. But we saw some spectacular scenery, did some wine tasting, etc. It was a long day, but worth it. I think my favorite stop was Waianapanapa State Park, which had a beautiful black sand beach and cool little sea cave.
Read OhJinkies's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Valley Isle Excursions
Member Image flgranny4
2 reviews
May 2014

ROAD TO HANA DELUXE - should have gotten the 22 person tour because the windows in the van blocked most of the views! Tour guide was very good but disappointed that we didn't get to swim under the waterfalls - there were 8 people on the tour and my husband and myself were the only ones with swimsuits and we didn't want to make everybody wait when we were swimming.

Read flgranny4's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image rjjones
1 review
Not Rated
Apr 2014

I highly recommend this trip. As there was only one day there (an overnight would have been nicer), I had set upon this one-having previously met someone from that island, recommending that drive. Being transported is the way to go-do not even think of driving it yourself-it is incredibly winding, and has many bridges, which are one lane, meaning that one or the other direction can go at one time. The driver will have a white-knuckle experience and will miss most of the scenery. Actually, the road from Hana was more hair raising, as it bordered sheer cliffs. The scenery was magnificent.

Read rjjones's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Cozumel Jim
3 reviews
Not Rated
Sep 2013

Made whole circle on tour bus. Fed us and many stops for photos opts.

Read Cozumel Jim's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Roberts
Member Image Loveabeach
1 review
Aug 2013

We booked 'The Road To Hana' with Valley Isle Tours. It is 52 miles, has 617 curves and 56 one lane bridges so you want to have a comfortable ride and this company has very comfortable 12 seater vehicles with wide comfy seats and good headrests as well as huge windows so you can enjoy the scenery. We travelled through the rainforest region and visited a black sand beach with a lava tube, and saw many beautiful waterfalls with lots of stops to take photos. You get the opportunity to swim at the base of one of the waterfalls, but due to recent rain it was deemed unsafe and therefore closed, much to our disappointment. The other side of the mountain was dry and volcanic in comparison, but gave us a great snapshot of the island.

Read Loveabeach's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Valley isle tours
Member Image SunshineDawn
1 review
Jun 2013

The drive to Hana was just beautiful. Our driver, Pu, did an excellent historical background of each site. Lunch provided was delicious. After Hana the back road around Maui was EXTREMELY BUMPY. Could have skipped this part as it was boring. Also, could have skipped the Tedeschi Vineyards as the wine was terrible and their gifts costly (but the bathrooms were necessary by this time). We should have turned back on the Road to Hana after the Seven Pools. Very long and tiring day.

Read SunshineDawn's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Valle Isle
Member Image Mighty Joe
1 review
Not Rated
Apr 2013
Very interesting 9-hour tour; part of the road was unpaved, one lane, very bumpy, scary ride. Beautiful sceneries. Lunch was included by the beach, a good size ham & turkey sandwich, salad water or juice. Stopped at Half Way to Hana for their freshly baked excellent banana cake. Dropped us at the Maui Mall across the pier where I used the free internet at Whole Food. There are many tables outside the store where many sat eating or using the free wi fi.
Read Mighty Joe's full Carnival Miracle cruise review
Provider: Roberts
Member Image heidi's dad
1 review
Feb 2013
Some beautiful sights but too much bad road. Very uncomfortable ride for a good portion of the day.
Read heidi's dad's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.