Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Maui Road to Hana Excursion Reviews

Maui Road to Hana cruise excursion
Overall Rating
This beautiful day trip is a fantastic way to take in the beauty of Maui -- it is not to be missed.
Member Image OhJinkies
2 reviews
Not Rated
May 2014
I chose this company after reading a lot of reviews. This was a small group (12 passenger) tour that did the full Road to Hana, including the rough roads. But we saw some spectacular scenery, did some wine tasting, etc. It was a long day, but worth it. I think my favorite stop was Waianapanapa State Park, which had a beautiful black sand beach and cool little sea cave.
Read OhJinkies's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Valley Isle Excursions
Member Image flgranny4
1 review
May 2014

ROAD TO HANA DELUXE - should have gotten the 22 person tour because the windows in the van blocked most of the views! Tour guide was very good but disappointed that we didn't get to swim under the waterfalls - there were 8 people on the tour and my husband and myself were the only ones with swimsuits and we didn't want to make everybody wait when we were swimming.

Read flgranny4's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image rjjones
1 review
Not Rated
Apr 2014

I highly recommend this trip. As there was only one day there (an overnight would have been nicer), I had set upon this one-having previously met someone from that island, recommending that drive. Being transported is the way to go-do not even think of driving it yourself-it is incredibly winding, and has many bridges, which are one lane, meaning that one or the other direction can go at one time. The driver will have a white-knuckle experience and will miss most of the scenery. Actually, the road from Hana was more hair raising, as it bordered sheer cliffs. The scenery was magnificent.

Read rjjones's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Cozumel Jim
3 reviews
Not Rated
Sep 2013

Made whole circle on tour bus. Fed us and many stops for photos opts.

Read Cozumel Jim's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Roberts
Member Image Loveabeach
1 review
Aug 2013

We booked 'The Road To Hana' with Valley Isle Tours. It is 52 miles, has 617 curves and 56 one lane bridges so you want to have a comfortable ride and this company has very comfortable 12 seater vehicles with wide comfy seats and good headrests as well as huge windows so you can enjoy the scenery. We travelled through the rainforest region and visited a black sand beach with a lava tube, and saw many beautiful waterfalls with lots of stops to take photos. You get the opportunity to swim at the base of one of the waterfalls, but due to recent rain it was deemed unsafe and therefore closed, much to our disappointment. The other side of the mountain was dry and volcanic in comparison, but gave us a great snapshot of the island.

Read Loveabeach's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Valley isle tours
Member Image SunshineDawn
1 review
Jun 2013

The drive to Hana was just beautiful. Our driver, Pu, did an excellent historical background of each site. Lunch provided was delicious. After Hana the back road around Maui was EXTREMELY BUMPY. Could have skipped this part as it was boring. Also, could have skipped the Tedeschi Vineyards as the wine was terrible and their gifts costly (but the bathrooms were necessary by this time). We should have turned back on the Road to Hana after the Seven Pools. Very long and tiring day.

Read SunshineDawn's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Valle Isle
Member Image Mighty Joe
1 review
Not Rated
Apr 2013
Very interesting 9-hour tour; part of the road was unpaved, one lane, very bumpy, scary ride. Beautiful sceneries. Lunch was included by the beach, a good size ham & turkey sandwich, salad water or juice. Stopped at Half Way to Hana for their freshly baked excellent banana cake. Dropped us at the Maui Mall across the pier where I used the free internet at Whole Food. There are many tables outside the store where many sat eating or using the free wi fi.
Read Mighty Joe's full Carnival Miracle cruise review
Provider: Roberts
Member Image heidi's dad
1 review
Feb 2013
Some beautiful sights but too much bad road. Very uncomfortable ride for a good portion of the day.
Read heidi's dad's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image jannielee
2 reviews
Dec 2012
The tour was excellent and the tour guide definitely knew his stuff!
Read jannielee's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image gypsylady
2 reviews
Nov 2012
Thankfully most of the road had been repaved since my last visit. That 10 mile final stretch was a killer on unpaved roads.
Read gypsylady's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image askmeanother
1 review
Sep 2012
This was a fantastic day and a great way to celebrate our anniversary. I had booked with Valley Isle after researching on the Internet and was a bit nervous it would all work out OK. I need not have worried - the bus was waiting for us exactly where they said it would be. It was a small van for only 12 people and very comfortable. The driver, Barry, was amazing and talked to us all day with lots of really interesting information. The scenery we saw that day was amazing - the road is very twisty and narrow in places and it was quite hair raising at times but great fun. Lunch was provided and was lovely. We went to a flower farm all the ladies were given a flower and Barry set out proper tables for us and served BBQ chicken and salad which was delicious. He also had a cool box of drinks on the van and we could just help ourselves to these whenever we wanted to all day. All in all a fabulous trip and I do recommend Valley Isle - the price worked out at £75 each.
Read askmeanother's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Valley Isle
Member Image 7Flags
2 reviews
Aug 2012
Drove ourselves. What a great drive in a small car. I don't know how the buses do it. It was fun to drive and the sights are magnificent! Leave early and take a bite to eat. There is very little along the way to spoil the natural state of the route.
Read 7Flags's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image soxfan1495
2 reviews
Jun 2012
This was probably the highlight of our trip. Well worth it if you have a private guide who knows the hidden spots to visit.
Read soxfan1495's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: No Ka Oi Adventures
Member Image flower_gal12
1 review
Jun 2012
This was awesome! The only drawback was that the description said it was about 7 3/4 hours long, and we were almost gone 9 hours. The tour guide knew so much about the area, which was a plus over the long drive. We saw so much, and there were plenty of stops for us to take pictures and use the restrooms. We also stopped for lunch. The curves did not bother me, but I did take some motion sickness pills before we left just in case. I would also wear some type of tennis shoe.
Read flower_gal12's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Kellie Poodle
6 reviews
Not Rated
Apr 2012
This is the famous "Road To Hana" We had a small bus with about 12 people. Excellent and very knowledgeable driver. The tour was very long, but we were comfortable. We got to take a lot of photos. The lunch stop had great food and terrible table service, but it is the only place to go. We got to see most of the Island on the tour. It was well worth the time and expense.
Read Kellie Poodle's full Celebrity Century cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image lizmit
4 reviews
Apr 2012
This is a VERY long tour that takes you all the way up and back on the Road to Hana. We had a very good tour guide who told us lots of information about Maui, plant life, Hana. The tour company (booked through Celebrity) was Polynesian Tours (I think) and we were on a 22 passenger bus/van same as the Oahu tour. Take a motion sickness pill before you go - the road is very curvy.
Read lizmit's full Celebrity Century cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image nickatnight
2 reviews
Mar 2012
Amazing tour--didn't want it to end!
Read nickatnight's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Valey Isle Excursions

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.