Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Ketchikan Bering Sea Crab Fisherman's Tour Excursion Reviews

Ketchikan Bering Sea Crab Fisherman's Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Board a real life crab-fishing vessel in Ketchikan. Popularized by the television show Deadliest Catch, fishing for king crab is notorious for being one of the world's most dangerous professions.
Member Image sherrieg
1 review
Aug 2015
Awesome! Loved it. The guys doing the excursion were so hilarious and knowledgeable. Loved it ,best excursion ever! Just wish we got to eat the crab caught
Read sherrieg's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image yyzatc
3 reviews
Aug 2015
I'd give it more stars if I could! Fantastic. I also found the price cheaper on another website and Carnival reimbursed the difference plus 10% no problem!
Read yyzatc's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Tania1234
1 review
Aug 2015
Great and informative recreation of what a fisherman's life would be like. If you watch the Deadliest Catch, this is the same boat! Lots of sea creatures, lots of information, beautiful views, fun for the whole family.
Read Tania1234's full Pacific Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image toothpicker
2 reviews
Aug 2015
The Bering Sea Fisherman tour is probably one of the best "excursions" I've ever been on. The crew is engaging, friendly, entertaining, and informative. We saw various types of fishing demonstrated and got to see some pretty cool fish, different types of crab and an octopus. The crew also caught the attention of a couple bald eagles and it was neat to see them swoop down for some fish treats. It helped that we had a beautiful day but I am sure that these guys could make this a good time in the pouring rain.
Read toothpicker's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image BBBJ1998
4 reviews
Jul 2015
BEST TOUR of the trip. Educational and able to watch a group of 20+ eagles fish - fabulous staff on the boat.
Read BBBJ1998's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image SunLakesBob
2 reviews
Jul 2015
We did enjoy our experience. The high light was when the crew fed the eagles. The "crabbing" was staged. They keep the crabs in the cages. You do see how the process goes from hooking the line to hauling up the cage. I am glad that they are people who risk bodily harm so we can enjoy our crab dinners
Read SunLakesBob's full Statendam cruise review
Provider:
Member Image RLS2015
1 review
Jul 2015
Outstanding crew and very informative. Wildlife and scenery is unimaginable and can't be described other than simply BEAUTIFUL.
Read RLS2015's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image GEARLEW
1 review
Jul 2015
My wife didn't care for this as much as I did. But I loved seeing how the Deadliest Catch Season 2 guys worked. Loved listening to their stories. Showed how they fish for different crabs. Showed and let us hold crabs (except for the King). We photographed and watched the Bald Eagles feed on the fish from the side of the boat. That was a great up-close and intimate look at those huge, cool birds. Everyone was polite and the bathrooms were VERY clean! Looking at the octopus was a cool touch.
Read GEARLEW's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image rhiwderin_ray
1 review
Jun 2015
Really informative and fun crew of great characters. A couple of surprises including a major one (SPOILER ALERT).... ..... About 30 bald eagles fishing for scraps thrown from the boat. Really good trip even if expensive when booked via cruise ship.
Read rhiwderin_ray's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Howickgal
1 review
Jun 2015
This was so much fun. The fishermen and captain were great. The never stopped telling us their stories and enabled us to understand crab fishing a little better. We had plenty of opportunity to see eagles, crab, octopus etc Comfortable on the boat with good seating would do this one again
Read Howickgal's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Rsun
1 review
Jun 2015
So so
Read Rsun's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Ralph Shrom
2 reviews
Jun 2015
Great insight into crab boat operations. Saw crabs and prawns up close. These retired fishermen were very informative and entertaining. Included a side trip to a location where bald eagles abound.
Read Ralph Shrom's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image HONKHONK
1 review
Jun 2015
very educational and entertaining.
Read HONKHONK's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image MBHMarietta
2 reviews
Jun 2015
This was a great tour. Great stories about crab fishing. Crew was outstanding. We saw at least 50 bald eagles. Got to hold some really big crabs. If you are a fan of Deadliest Catch don't miss this.
Read MBHMarietta's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image kf93
1 review
May 2015
worth the trip, family had great experience. Kids loved the hands-on with the crabs and learning about the process. Staff was wonderful and loved what they were doing.
Read kf93's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: directly with crab boat
Member Image PreacherGlenn
1 review
May 2015
If you like Deadliest Catch, You will love this excursion!! This was a once in a life time dream of mine to ride on a crab boat. It was a mind blowing experience!!
Read PreacherGlenn's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image surgie
1 review
May 2015
This was an awesome tour. Well organized and professionally run. Highlights included getting up close to various sea creatures that were caught and released and the feeding of the eagles. Boat provided ponchos if needed and hot drinks.
Read surgie's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Bering Sea Crab Fisherman's Tour website
Member Image NewEnglandNANA
1 review
May 2015
All the staff and owner of this tour are friendly and very informative. It shows that they want you to learn about what they do. Also the boat had the cleanest restrooms! This was well worth it!
Read NewEnglandNANA's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Bering Sea Crab Tour Website
Member Image gmkerns
1 review
May 2015
This excursion was AWESOME! They have every moment planned to be exciting and the crew was amazing. The opportunity to be on a Deadliest Catch boat is a special thing. This is, hands-down, one of the very best excursions EVER!
Read gmkerns's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Potter66
1 review
May 2015
We did the Baltic Sea excursion (the Deadliest Catch boat, the ???) and it was VERY mellow but fun. The best part was when they “fed” the eagles. Cool, informative, and a nice morning on the water. You’re never on open ocean so the ride is easy, and they have coffee and treats. Some friends did the Misty Fjords, and next time I think we’d choose to do that. We walked to Creek Street and then had a yummy lunch at Alaska Fish House.
Read Potter66's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image VSGCruiser2015
1 review
May 2015
Eagle feeding, lots of fishing stories, educational, interactive. Do this as adults or with kids. You won't be disappointed. These guys know how to entertain and educate!
Read VSGCruiser2015's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Sharon Thomson
1 review
May 2015
Comfortable seating and very informative crew. Bonus seeing bald eagles as well as several sea animals. We were allowed to hold the giant crabs abs touch other species
Read Sharon Thomson's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image boomerone
21 reviews
Not Rated
Sep 2014

Fabulous excursion in calm waters highlighted by narration of real life (and near death experiences) told by the crew during transit between activities---very interesting! Stopped to feed eagles, pick up pots containing box crabs, more pots containing golden king crabs, nets with prawns, and bottom fish on fishing lines. We handled some of the catch and that was fun and a good photo opportunity. Saved some $$$ booking directly with the vendor.

Read boomerone's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Aleutian Ballad
Member Image mfh066
1 review
Not Rated
Sep 2014

The Bering Sea Crab Fisherman's Tour was the best one we went on...and we loved all three of our excursions so that is really saying something. My husband and I are big fans of the Discovery Channel show Deadliest Catch so it was really cool to be on ship that we'd seen on the show. We chatted with the co-owner of the boat Danene Lethin about how they turned the vessel into a tour boat and it was so interesting to her her passion for sharing Alaska's wildlife with visitors. The presentation by the crew was nothing short of spectacular. They were funny, engaging and so interesting. We got to see and hold/feel Opilio crab, Rock crab and golden King crab as well as Pacific prawn. They also showed up a huge Pacific Octopus. We got to see 2 mated pairs of bald eagles who they enticed out of the trees with some fish. It was incredible to see those beautiful birds soaring down to pluck the fish from the water. Everything about this tour was great. Highly recommend it whether you are already a fan of the show or not.

Read mfh066's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image bluereef
1 review
Aug 2014

We went on the Bering Sea Crab Fishermen's tour and saw bald eagles, box crabs, Dungeness crabs, king crabs, a sea cucumber, several giant sunstars, a giant octopus, and several fish (including a salmon caught on a long line--the first time the tour'd seen this happen).

This tour was entertaining, informative, and allowed a close-up experience with sealife.

You can only touch the box crabs because the other types have caused too many injuries on previous tours. We saw how aggressively devouring the Dungeness crabs were: when their pot (cage) was pulled onto the boat, half of a king crab was found inside, already eaten by the Dungeness crabs in the pot. At a known eagle perch and nesting location, the tour guides tossed frozen herring into the water one by one, allowing nearby eagles to swoop in to take the fish. Nice close-up experience with an eagle. This was my favorite part of the excursion.

Read bluereef's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.