Ketchikan Bering Sea Crab Fisherman's Tour Excursion Reviews

Ketchikan Bering Sea Crab Fisherman's Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Board a real life crab-fishing vessel in Ketchikan. Popularized by the television show Deadliest Catch, fishing for king crab is notorious for being one of the world's most dangerous professions.
Member Image aw1978
1 review
Jul 2016
Very hands on for the kids. They got to hold star fish and crabs. The tour guides were great. We also got to see Eagles! They offered hot chocolate and goldfish. Fun for the Family!!
Read aw1978's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Don Omaha
1 review
Jul 2016
My wife's favorite excursion. The crew of the Aleutian Ballad showed us lots of eagles and even a whale as well as how crab and long line fishing is done. The crabs were preset in the pots, but the methods of lifting and dropping the pots were accurately shown. This is a great tour and worth the time and money.
Read Don Omaha's full Zaandam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image tikibargirl
1 review
Jun 2016
WOW is all I can say! Great excursion! The men on the boat that run the tour are both informative and entertaining. There are a few hands on with the crabs and other sea creatures. The stop at the eagle nesting ground is an experience you will not want to miss. I still can't believe what we saw. This is a great excursion I would give it more than 5 stars if I could. Do not miss this!
Read tikibargirl's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Cmakar1
1 review
Jun 2016
This tour was absolutely amazing!!! The energy of the presentations was contagious, informative, and inspiring. This excursion far exceeded my wildest expectations.
Read Cmakar1's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Pennstatedj
7 reviews
Jun 2016
great experience
Read Pennstatedj's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image California78
1 review
Jun 2016
This was a very special day for everyone in our family. The tour was interactive, informative, and well-organized. This is a must-do on your Alaskan cruise!!!
Read California78's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Laura1025
1 review
Jun 2016
Wow, wow and a little more wow. This was the best excursion we went on independently of Holland America. The crew and staff were not only informative, they shared the personal stories. I do not want to ruin anything for anyone but I will let you know there is more than crab fishing. Worth the money we spent and then some.
Read Laura1025's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Shore Excursion
Member Image JackLJVette
1 review
May 2016
The staff and guides were EXCELLENT. Very attentive and very funny. The highlight was stopping at sea and feeding dozens and dozens of bald eagles. Too man to count. This excursion is highly recommended.
Read JackLJVette's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Richerts
2 reviews
May 2016
Interesting learning about crabs. The guides on the boat were brilliant and made it interesting. The crab feats was good fun too with as much crab to eat as you wanted.
Read Richerts's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image njfeller
1 review
May 2016
Fun
Read njfeller's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image ILoveJamaica2008
3 reviews
May 2016
great stories amazing eagles
Read ILoveJamaica2008's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image carolinacruiser72
3 reviews
May 2016
Very entertaining excursion. You learn all about how they catch fish, crabs, and shrimp. You get to see a lot of sea life and Bald Eagles up close!! This was just a lot of fun and the Captains on the boat have some really great stories that they share with the crowd.
Read carolinacruiser72's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image JimandChicky
1 review
May 2016
If you are a Deadliest Catch fan you will love this excursion! We really enjoyed it probably more just to meet the captains. It was so cool talking to them about the captains on that are on the show now. Really nice guys !
Read JimandChicky's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image BBMU
1 review
May 2016
We took the Bering Sea Crab Fishermen’s Tour (KE50). Great time, very informative and would recommend it. We saw close to 50 bald eagles, they demonstrated line fishing, pulling a couple different styles of crab pots and a plastic drum. The boat has been modified with seating to accommodate the tour, but they still use it for crab fishing as well. The boat was docked right next to the Solstice in port, so easy to get to. They had extra jackets if you needed one to keep warm as well.
Read BBMU's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image mistertoaster
9 reviews
May 2016
We took the Bearing Sea Crab Fisherman Tour. We are fans of Deadliest Catch, but even if you are not, I would recommend this tour. The crew puts on a great presentation and the stop to visit the eagles is amazing.
Read mistertoaster's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image sherrieg
1 review
Aug 2015
Awesome! Loved it. The guys doing the excursion were so hilarious and knowledgeable. Loved it ,best excursion ever! Just wish we got to eat the crab caught
Read sherrieg's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image yyzatc
3 reviews
Aug 2015
I'd give it more stars if I could! Fantastic. I also found the price cheaper on another website and Carnival reimbursed the difference plus 10% no problem!
Read yyzatc's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Tania1234
1 review
Aug 2015
Great and informative recreation of what a fisherman's life would be like. If you watch the Deadliest Catch, this is the same boat! Lots of sea creatures, lots of information, beautiful views, fun for the whole family.
Read Tania1234's full Pacific Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image toothpicker
2 reviews
Aug 2015
The Bering Sea Fisherman tour is probably one of the best "excursions" I've ever been on. The crew is engaging, friendly, entertaining, and informative. We saw various types of fishing demonstrated and got to see some pretty cool fish, different types of crab and an octopus. The crew also caught the attention of a couple bald eagles and it was neat to see them swoop down for some fish treats. It helped that we had a beautiful day but I am sure that these guys could make this a good time in the pouring rain.
Read toothpicker's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image BBBJ1998
4 reviews
Jul 2015
BEST TOUR of the trip. Educational and able to watch a group of 20+ eagles fish - fabulous staff on the boat.
Read BBBJ1998's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image SunLakesBob
2 reviews
Jul 2015
We did enjoy our experience. The high light was when the crew fed the eagles. The "crabbing" was staged. They keep the crabs in the cages. You do see how the process goes from hooking the line to hauling up the cage. I am glad that they are people who risk bodily harm so we can enjoy our crab dinners
Read SunLakesBob's full Statendam cruise review
Provider:
Member Image RLS2015
1 review
Jul 2015
Outstanding crew and very informative. Wildlife and scenery is unimaginable and can't be described other than simply BEAUTIFUL.
Read RLS2015's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image GEARLEW
1 review
Jul 2015
My wife didn't care for this as much as I did. But I loved seeing how the Deadliest Catch Season 2 guys worked. Loved listening to their stories. Showed how they fish for different crabs. Showed and let us hold crabs (except for the King). We photographed and watched the Bald Eagles feed on the fish from the side of the boat. That was a great up-close and intimate look at those huge, cool birds. Everyone was polite and the bathrooms were VERY clean! Looking at the octopus was a cool touch.
Read GEARLEW's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image rhiwderin_ray
1 review
Jun 2015
Really informative and fun crew of great characters. A couple of surprises including a major one (SPOILER ALERT).... ..... About 30 bald eagles fishing for scraps thrown from the boat. Really good trip even if expensive when booked via cruise ship.
Read rhiwderin_ray's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Howickgal
1 review
Jun 2015
This was so much fun. The fishermen and captain were great. The never stopped telling us their stories and enabled us to understand crab fishing a little better. We had plenty of opportunity to see eagles, crab, octopus etc Comfortable on the boat with good seating would do this one again
Read Howickgal's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.