Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Ketchikan Bering Sea Crab Fisherman's Tour Excursion Reviews

Ketchikan Bering Sea Crab Fisherman's Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Board a real life crab-fishing vessel in Ketchikan. Popularized by the television show Deadliest Catch, fishing for king crab is notorious for being one of the world's most dangerous professions.
Member Image boomerone
14 reviews
Not Rated
Sep 2014

Fabulous excursion in calm waters highlighted by narration of real life (and near death experiences) told by the crew during transit between activities---very interesting! Stopped to feed eagles, pick up pots containing box crabs, more pots containing golden king crabs, nets with prawns, and bottom fish on fishing lines. We handled some of the catch and that was fun and a good photo opportunity. Saved some $$$ booking directly with the vendor.

Read boomerone's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Aleutian Ballad
Member Image mfh066
1 review
Not Rated
Sep 2014

The Bering Sea Crab Fisherman's Tour was the best one we went on...and we loved all three of our excursions so that is really saying something. My husband and I are big fans of the Discovery Channel show Deadliest Catch so it was really cool to be on ship that we'd seen on the show. We chatted with the co-owner of the boat Danene Lethin about how they turned the vessel into a tour boat and it was so interesting to her her passion for sharing Alaska's wildlife with visitors. The presentation by the crew was nothing short of spectacular. They were funny, engaging and so interesting. We got to see and hold/feel Opilio crab, Rock crab and golden King crab as well as Pacific prawn. They also showed up a huge Pacific Octopus. We got to see 2 mated pairs of bald eagles who they enticed out of the trees with some fish. It was incredible to see those beautiful birds soaring down to pluck the fish from the water. Everything about this tour was great. Highly recommend it whether you are already a fan of the show or not.

Read mfh066's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image bluereef
1 review
Aug 2014

We went on the Bering Sea Crab Fishermen's tour and saw bald eagles, box crabs, Dungeness crabs, king crabs, a sea cucumber, several giant sunstars, a giant octopus, and several fish (including a salmon caught on a long line--the first time the tour'd seen this happen).

This tour was entertaining, informative, and allowed a close-up experience with sealife.

You can only touch the box crabs because the other types have caused too many injuries on previous tours. We saw how aggressively devouring the Dungeness crabs were: when their pot (cage) was pulled onto the boat, half of a king crab was found inside, already eaten by the Dungeness crabs in the pot. At a known eagle perch and nesting location, the tour guides tossed frozen herring into the water one by one, allowing nearby eagles to swoop in to take the fish. Nice close-up experience with an eagle. This was my favorite part of the excursion.

Read bluereef's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image squeaky_1974
2 reviews
Not Rated
Jul 2014

The crab fishing demonstration was informative, and the eagle sanctuary was very impressive. I was hoping for a little more hands-on activity with the crab fishing, and was under the impression we'd get to eat the results, but that apparently is a different tour. I love listening to old-timers talk about their experiences, so if you like hearing fishing stories this is the place to go. There is a bit of sales-pitching for the DVD and souvenir products (there's a kiosk on board) but it's nowhere near as bad as being on the ship or in port.

You can find some locally owned shops if you're willing to go further north and east than you'll see on the map they hand you on the ship. Go ahead and cross the bridge over the creek, and then you'll find out where you can get things that really do support the local economy. Ketchikan is a much bigger town than Skagway and has a bona fide local industry (sustainable fishing) that allows a good chunk of the town to not depend on tourism for income. I scored big with some Copper River salmon and king salmon. It really is the salmon capital of the world.

Read squeaky_1974's full Zaandam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image LilMsFoodie
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2014

Sort of a Disney recreation of what goes on during a crabbing expedition. The fishermen were personable and gave excellent stories. We loved watching the hundreds of eagles dive for the chum they tossed into the water. This was our second choice, but we were happy with it.

Read LilMsFoodie's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Travelgoer
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2014

The ships dock just across street from Lumberjack Show. A really fun family excursion that lasts 1hr, which gives you enough time to walk about 300yds and also take the Bearing Sea Fishing Tour.....ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS. Booked directly with Shauna, she was something else!!! Kudos to her. She really went the extra mile making sure my family got everything we needed. We actually became very good email partners. She is the one that really sold me on doing both tours. On this excursion we had lots of hands on with all the crabs, prons, etc. which the kids loved. And oh my gosh, we fed eagles and took photos of hundreds of eagles. This was magnificent excursion.

Read Travelgoer's full Disney Wonder cruise review
Provider: Bearing Sea Fishing Boat
Member Image Guera
1 review
Not Rated
May 2014

I cannot rave enough about this tour, it was fabulous, they have heaters on the boat to keep passengers warm, they tell stories of fishing in the Bering sea, they have crab pots with crabs in then, an octopus, the best part about it hands down is that they take you to a spot where they throw herring in the water and 30-40 eagles all swoop down to get them and it happens right in front of your eyes, take your video camera because a regular camera just cannot capture all of the action.

Read Guera's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image YVR2dreams
5 reviews
Sep 2013

We really enjoyed this excursion. The crab fishermen are extremely engaging, humorous and educational. You really felt like you had a good understanding of what life is like for these men and their industry. It was fast paced, interactive and very interesting. Being out on the sea seeing bald eagles and other wild life on a sunny day was a total "Alaskan" experience.

Read YVR2dreams's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Cindy
13 reviews
Not Rated
Sep 2013

We had a fantastic time on the “Bering Sea Crab Fishing Tour!” I have had this tour bookmarked on my computer for several years just waiting until I got back to Alaska. It didn’t disappoint. Yes, parts of it are “staged,” but the fishermen and the gear they use are authentic, and I may never have another opportunity to see eagles that close again. I thought the tour was very well done, appropriate for all ages, and well worth the money. Interestingly enough, we had booked this tour on the internet, but most of the people booked through the ship…for $25 more per person.

Read Cindy's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Bering Sea Tours
Member Image LarBear
2 reviews
Aug 2013

Super well done! Guides are all actual Bering sea fishermen, with great stories to tell. Lots of "hands-on" with the sea creatures, nice tour.

Read LarBear's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image MaiCruise
1 review
Aug 2013

My husband and our 2 teenage girls went on the Bering Sea crab Fishermen's tour which I booked directly with. He said it was ok and cost should be more like $40 instead of the $159/adult $99/kid that I paid. He was disappointed that for the price, they didn't get to taste any of what was caught! Our kids said they enjoyed the hands on experience where they get to touch all the animals that were caught.

Read MaiCruise's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Bering Sea Crab Fishermen's Tour
Member Image grinthock
1 review
Jul 2013

What an amazing time - this tour is legit, this isn't acting or BS, these are real fishermen, on a real boat showing you the real deal. Totally worth it.

Read grinthock's full Celebrity Century cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image AT9
1 review
Jul 2013

Fantastic experience!

Read AT9's full Volendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image shofer
7 reviews
Not Rated
May 2013

We booked this independently not knowing it was also available through Princess. This is the best tour I have seen in 11 cruises. You don't have to be a fan of the show Deadliest Catch to enjoy this excursion. Not only educational but entertaining as well. Don't miss it.

Read shofer's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Bering Sea Crab Fisherman's tour
Member Image Gigi1977
1 review
May 2013

This was A M A Z I N G! Everybody should do this tour. We saw crab- got to hold them. Sunflower starfish. Beautiful Octopus! Whales - up close! And EAGLES, 25 to 30 bald eagles swooping out of the trees to eat fish that they had chummed in the water. The crew was wonderful. Best tour ever. We enjoyed it so much we would do it again in a heartbeat.

Read Gigi1977's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image jmbest78
3 reviews
Sep 2012
The best shore excursion I have ever been on. Board a former crab boat and find a seat on the covered and heated deck. Learn about crab and other fishing.
Read jmbest78's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Kate's Daughter
1 review
Sep 2012
The crew of the Aleutian Ballad were wonderful! They provided much information and made the true world (as opposed to the created televised version) of crab fishing in Alaska come alive. We learned much about the ecological systems and the management of the fishing industry in Alaska. The crew were truly committed to providing a full and complete experience to each guest. The Aleutian Ballad is very comfortable and well tended. Be ready for the eagles! They are fabulous to see!
Read Kate's Daughter's full Zaandam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image kickboxrca
1 review
Aug 2012
This was the highlight of our trip. We watch The Deadliest Catch, and were not disappointed. The Aleutian Ballad was a short 10 minute walk from where we were docked (one of the ships in town was right beside), and we were greeted by the friendly crew as we boarded. We were offered stadium coats, and the stadium seating was covered and had overhead heaters. The 3.5h excursion took us out to an island area where the crew fed bald eagles so we could get some amazing pictures, covered how they fish, and catch various types of crab. All of the fish and crabs that were caught were shown to the guests - we could hold all but the Dungeness (they are vicious!), and allowed us to take pictures. We were shown how crabbing is done, the different types of pots, what life is like on the Bering Sea, and anything else we wanted to ask. The crew are REAL crab fisherman - not scripted - and can talk knowledgeably about what they are doing. It was obvious that they LOVE what they do, and love sharing it with us. They offered us complimentary coffee and hot chocolate, and there were small snacks to purchase, as well as t-shirts, etc. It was a GREAT day - but DRESS WARM - it is cold out there! At the end of the tour, they posed with us for pictures - taken on our cameras. Would do this one again tomorrow!
Read kickboxrca's full Zuiderdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image cruzlover64
1 review
Aug 2012
As I am borderline obsessed with the show the Deadliest Catch - taking this excursion was a no brainer. The crew was terrific and I learned even more about crab fishing. I have a lot of respect for these guys and the challenges they face.
Read cruzlover64's full Carnival Spirit cruise review
Provider: 56 Degrees North
Member Image CruisingAg01
3 reviews
Jul 2012
Booked the Bering Sea Crab Tour through Carnival. As fans of the Deadliest Catch, we enjoyed this. The boat is revamped and in fact offers 3 of the nicest restrooms I saw on the entire trip. They provided complimentary hot beverages and a snack and had a small gift shop on board. We saw and handled three types of crab and saw an octopus. The men all told their stories and were good in front of the crowd. Plenty of photo ops. One unexpected bonus -- a short stop where they fed bald eagles and we got to see quite a few of them in action. A bit pricey and something I'd probably only do once, but still very much worth it. I had about an hour in port after the excursion and just wandered a bit on Creek Street. Didn't even look at half of the port and would have appreciated more time.
Read CruisingAg01's full Carnival Spirit cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image MirandaM in CA
1 review
Jun 2012
We are big fans of the cable TV show that inspired this excursion. We loved the experience. It was like being on the show, but warmer and we had a galley with cocoa. The staff was friendly and full of interesting tales. The visit to the waterway owned by local Indians took us outside of US federal regulations and we were treated to a close up view of eagles. WOW. The live critters that came up in the crab pots were fascinating and we got some great pictures. This is one of the best excursions I have enjoyed out of all my 11 cruises.
Read MirandaM in CA's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image eagles2010
2 reviews
Jun 2012
Excellent tour for anyone who is interested in the crab fishing industry. The eagle portion of the tour isn't bad either!!! You will see long-line fishing, king crab pots, rock and other types of crab pots, and octopus traps. The tour is family owned and run and they treat you like family. Can't say enough about this tour - it was cold and a little rainy but they had lined coats you could borrow. In our 3 trips to Alaska (2 cruising) this was probably the best tour we have been on.
Read eagles2010's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image 12rudy0169
1 review
Jun 2012
Very professional. Get to know the life of these fishermen. Very personal stories - could have heard a pin drop. They threw fish in the water for an extended Bald Eagle Show that was absolutely amazing. They also showed crab and shrimp traps and other sea creatures. Highly recommend.
Read 12rudy0169's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image CoZach Cruiser
1 review
Jun 2012
KETCHIKAN - Bering Sea Crab Boat Excursion aboard the Aleutian Ballad. This ship was on the 2nd season of the Deadliest Catch. Check out Trip Advisor for reviews. We almost did not do this excursion due to a few reviews about it being cheesy and too touristy. I'm glad I ignored those few reviews. We thoroughly enjoyed our trip. The crew are so down to earth and just want to share with you "the life of a crab boat fisherman". Again, more great scenery! They feed eagles from the boat and you get to hear and feel them fly by you. It's amazing and beautiful. Kids would love this excursion. Dress warm and in layers. You have a bit of time to shop in Ketchikan, but not much. Shop fast!
Read CoZach Cruiser's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: 56 North (??)
Member Image neptune14
1 review
Jun 2012
Awesome! Saw whales, tons of eagles (within 5 feet of boat) & of course the crabs, starfish, jelly fish. Crew was entertaining & very professional-you could tell they really enjoy giving people the opportunity to see the wildlife.
Read neptune14's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image JD in MD
3 reviews
Jun 2012
Although it rained for most of the day and it was cold, the Bering Sea Fisherman's Tour was one of the best. We sat under a roof with heaters on the crab boat and got to examine and hold many of the creatures that live in the water. The crew pulled baskets and pots filled with live crabs, shrimp, fish, and even an octopus. We were also taken to a place with lots of eagles. The crew told funny stories and entertained us the whole time. It was a terrific excursion. (www.56degreesnorth.com)
Read JD in MD's full Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image jaf24
1 review
May 2012
Wonderful crew sharing their experiences and a glimpse into the life of a fisherman on a crab boat. Actual equipment that is used as well as a chance to see and touch many things that are fished for in the sea. Also a spectacular view of eagles in flight very close to the boat.
Read jaf24's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image peacey
1 review
May 2012
Had a wonderful time. Loved the stories told by the crew and seeing and handling the crabs. But the most spectacular part was being so close to bald eagles as they snatched bait fish out of the ocean right next to the boat. You will want to take video of this.
Read peacey's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image nwcruzertoo
1 review
May 2012
Great trip with a very friendly crew. I was able to get outstanding photos of eagles fishing, soaring, and sitting in nearby trees. This a must-do if you like wildlife!
Read nwcruzertoo's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.