Ketchikan Bering Sea Crab Fisherman's Tour Excursion Reviews

Ketchikan Bering Sea Crab Fisherman's Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Board a real life crab-fishing vessel in Ketchikan. Popularized by the television show Deadliest Catch, fishing for king crab is notorious for being one of the world's most dangerous professions.
Member Image jumping person
1 review
Sep 2016
Fantastic! Ready to join them for their next season!
Read jumping person's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image kwkiwi
2 reviews
Sep 2016
Was ok if you like Deadliest Catch show, they go in very calm waters and pull up crabs in pots and talk about being a fisherman up in the Bering Sea. I didn't enjoy it as much as others who have raved about it. Thought it was a bit long, not that relevant to the area (Bering Sea is a lot further north) and quite expensive at $179 for the outing.
Read kwkiwi's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image rleefamily
1 review
Aug 2016
Fantastic!
Read rleefamily's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image HARP
2 reviews
Aug 2016
Great tour.
Read HARP's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image isewnsew@gmail.com
1 review
Jul 2016
This was a very fun and informative excursion. We love "Deadliest Catch", so this was a have-to excursion for us. We loved the owners, loved the whole tour. We got to hold crabs and prawns. We got to watch them feed eagles in the water. Awesome!
Read isewnsew@gmail.com's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image diamondgalshell
1 review
Jul 2016
Loved it! It was fun and informative. Lots of bald eagles.
Read diamondgalshell's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image LindaLouise
1 review
Jul 2016
Bering Sea Crab Fisherman's Tour was the best! Enjoyed Ketchikan.
Read LindaLouise's full Maasdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image hulagirl1951
2 reviews
Jul 2016
We liked this excursion so much, we took it again on our second cruise because of the Eagles and sea life we saw. Crew were informative and demonstrated the techniques for commercial fishing.
Read hulagirl1951's full Zaandam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image aw1978
1 review
Jul 2016
Very hands on for the kids. They got to hold star fish and crabs. The tour guides were great. We also got to see Eagles! They offered hot chocolate and goldfish. Fun for the Family!!
Read aw1978's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Don Omaha
1 review
Jul 2016
My wife's favorite excursion. The crew of the Aleutian Ballad showed us lots of eagles and even a whale as well as how crab and long line fishing is done. The crabs were preset in the pots, but the methods of lifting and dropping the pots were accurately shown. This is a great tour and worth the time and money.
Read Don Omaha's full Zaandam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image kinosh
1 review
Jul 2016
When we got off the ship, the tour rep was at the gangway and directed us to their boat. The Trip Advisor reviews sold me on this excursion. The highlight was indeed the eagles. After throwing some fish into the water, there were about 10 bald eagles flying around. That was really cool and worth 5 stars. Truly amazing! The boat made several stops. One was where they had a line with a bunch of hooks. They pulled the line in to see what they caught. That was ok too. There were several varieties of fish, including a shark. It was hard to see the fish, especially for those sitting in the back. And that brings me to the main complaint about this excursion -- it was way too crowded. The stage wasn't that big, but they managed to seat about 150 people with viewing on only one side of the boat, so people were climbing on top of each other to see the eagles. When they brought up the crabs, everyone rushed to the stage and, again, there was little room to maneuver. The website makes it sound like they are actually fishing for crabs, but that is false. There are crabs in the pot. Once everyone is done holding and taking pictures of them, the crabs go back into the pot, and the pot gets dropped into the ocean, only to be repeated for the next tour. Then they bring up another pot with plastic king crabs (apparently king crabs are really hard to catch so they use fake ones for the demonstration and store live king crabs in the live tank on the boat). Then they go to another location and bring up a large live octopus that is stored in the plastic barrel. The octopus slimes around with the crew, goes back into the barrel and into the ocean, only to be brought back up for the next tour. The tour felt like a glorified aquarium. Why are we on this boat? And the kicker was the Deadliest Catch. It's on the website, there's a video in the gift shop, and the crew talks about it ad nauseum. Enough already! They are lucky to have it on video, otherwise there would be nothing to talk about. If it weren't for the eagles, this tour gets one star.
Read kinosh's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Bering Sea Crab Fisherman's Tour
Member Image tikibargirl
1 review
Jun 2016
WOW is all I can say! Great excursion! The men on the boat that run the tour are both informative and entertaining. There are a few hands on with the crabs and other sea creatures. The stop at the eagle nesting ground is an experience you will not want to miss. I still can't believe what we saw. This is a great excursion I would give it more than 5 stars if I could. Do not miss this!
Read tikibargirl's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Cmakar1
1 review
Jun 2016
This tour was absolutely amazing!!! The energy of the presentations was contagious, informative, and inspiring. This excursion far exceeded my wildest expectations.
Read Cmakar1's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Pennstatedj
7 reviews
Jun 2016
great experience
Read Pennstatedj's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image California78
1 review
Jun 2016
This was a very special day for everyone in our family. The tour was interactive, informative, and well-organized. This is a must-do on your Alaskan cruise!!!
Read California78's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Laura1025
1 review
Jun 2016
Wow, wow and a little more wow. This was the best excursion we went on independently of Holland America. The crew and staff were not only informative, they shared the personal stories. I do not want to ruin anything for anyone but I will let you know there is more than crab fishing. Worth the money we spent and then some.
Read Laura1025's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Shore Excursion
Member Image JackLJVette
1 review
May 2016
The staff and guides were EXCELLENT. Very attentive and very funny. The highlight was stopping at sea and feeding dozens and dozens of bald eagles. Too man to count. This excursion is highly recommended.
Read JackLJVette's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Richerts
2 reviews
May 2016
Interesting learning about crabs. The guides on the boat were brilliant and made it interesting. The crab feats was good fun too with as much crab to eat as you wanted.
Read Richerts's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image njfeller
1 review
May 2016
Fun
Read njfeller's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image ILoveJamaica2008
3 reviews
May 2016
great stories amazing eagles
Read ILoveJamaica2008's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image carolinacruiser72
3 reviews
May 2016
Very entertaining excursion. You learn all about how they catch fish, crabs, and shrimp. You get to see a lot of sea life and Bald Eagles up close!! This was just a lot of fun and the Captains on the boat have some really great stories that they share with the crowd.
Read carolinacruiser72's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image JimandChicky
1 review
May 2016
If you are a Deadliest Catch fan you will love this excursion! We really enjoyed it probably more just to meet the captains. It was so cool talking to them about the captains on that are on the show now. Really nice guys !
Read JimandChicky's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image BBMU
1 review
May 2016
We took the Bering Sea Crab Fishermen’s Tour (KE50). Great time, very informative and would recommend it. We saw close to 50 bald eagles, they demonstrated line fishing, pulling a couple different styles of crab pots and a plastic drum. The boat has been modified with seating to accommodate the tour, but they still use it for crab fishing as well. The boat was docked right next to the Solstice in port, so easy to get to. They had extra jackets if you needed one to keep warm as well.
Read BBMU's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image mistertoaster
9 reviews
May 2016
We took the Bearing Sea Crab Fisherman Tour. We are fans of Deadliest Catch, but even if you are not, I would recommend this tour. The crew puts on a great presentation and the stop to visit the eagles is amazing.
Read mistertoaster's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image enjoy49
1 review
May 2016
Go see this even if it is expensive. The eagles are fantastic and the crew is incredible as the relate true life experiences. Easily accessible for the mobility impaired. ADS accessible bathrooms. Seats undercover.
Read enjoy49's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?