Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Maui Whale Watching Excursion Reviews

Maui Whale Watching cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Maui is a great place for whale watching, and a guided boat is the perfect way to make sure you're in the right place at the right time to catch the underwater behemoths.
Member Image Home on the range
1 review
Mar 2014

On this particular boat you could not really see out from inside the boat. They would only talk about what they were seeing out in front of the boat, so you had to be outside, in front to see. They did not turn so that everyone outside in the back and around the sides, had a chance to see, and there were not enough seats in front for everyone. Disappointing.

Read Home on the range's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image margipoo
2 reviews
Apr 2013
Great crew who were enthusiastic and shared lots of information about the humpback whales we were hoping to see...not too many whales but understand we were there toward the end of the mating season (late April).
Read margipoo's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image stub's dad
3 reviews
Mar 2013
Being in Maui in March was prime for whales, I am guessing we saw way over 100 whales. We had a baby, mom, and 3 males right beside our boat. Great photos and even better video for a lifetime. This tour was cheaper than ship price and a better time for doing the 4:30 luau.
Read stub's dad's full Celebrity Century cruise review
Provider: unknown
Member Image shumpy61
1 review
Mar 2013
This was very nice and worth the price of the trip. I would have liked to see them closer up but the ships have to stay 500 feet away unless the whales swims to them.
Read shumpy61's full Sapphire Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image ajnat
1 review
Not Rated
Mar 2013
Our whale whatching experience was phenomenol!! We were not in the water 10 minutes and we saw the "whole enchalada" completely emerge out of the water and do a '360' in the air and back down....WOW!!!! It made my whole day to see that! What a spectacular sight!
Read ajnat's full Sapphire Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image norcalmann
3 reviews
Mar 2013
Great tour. Saw about 20 whales. wonderful experience.
Read norcalmann's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Kaz1969
2 reviews
Mar 2013
Lovely island with lots of shops bars and restaurants along the front, Tender in to this port and shops are immediately in front of you. Whale watching was excellent saw lots of whales (this does depend on the season)
Read Kaz1969's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image BudinFla
16 reviews
Mar 2013
Saw lots of whales. Picked up right at the ship and dropped off in town.
Read BudinFla's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image RetiredNTraveling
3 reviews
Not Rated
Mar 2013

Fortunately, we had scheduled a PCL Whale Watching Tour and boarded a separate ship for this. During this excursion, we were never more than 1 ½ miles from the Golden Princess. Our first sighting was within ½ a mile and that was a mother and her calf. Both of whom were being followed by a male as an escort. As our guide stated, he was hoping to get lucky as the mother would not leave the Hawaiian waters until she was pregnant with her next calf. So he was hanging around... hoping to get lucky!!!!!

Read RetiredNTraveling's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image landboater
2 reviews
Feb 2013
We saw moms with calves, males fighting, and lots of whale action. The boat was crowded, so it was impossible to move away from an area where a fellow passenger had gotten seasick. (We could no longer hold onto the railing, etc.)
Read landboater's full Ocean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image rockabutzer
2 reviews
Jan 2013
Saw lots of whales and had a good time. If you are prone to motion sickness, take whatever take to combat this before you go out on the boat. It really rocks and rolls!
Read rockabutzer's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image cat0603
1 review
Jan 2013
First experience seeing whales, and we loved it. However, we saw whales on every island when we were on or near the water.
Read cat0603's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Terilani Whale Watch
Member Image TheWowFactor
1 review
Jan 2013
Good people, comfortable boat. Seen many whales but none too close.
Read TheWowFactor's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Pacific Whale Foundation
Member Image Dmausa
1 review
Apr 2012
I recommend this to families with kids interested in wildlife. We seen a few whales but was disappointed that none of them breeched completely, they just teased us with their tails, and did a couple of fin slaps. But over all it was a good excursion. After we were dropped off at the pier, and we did the city tour which was very informative and relaxing.
Read Dmausa's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Ikenuts
1 review
Mar 2012
We had an overnight in Maui - Day 1 rented a car with Enterprise, Free shuttle from the pier, a small hiccup at the rental place, but they handled it well. Headed to Lahaina and found a small catamaran providing whale watching trips. Great crew, beer/pop/water included. Only about 15 ppl on the boat compared to the uber-large ships. We were lucky to have 2 past crew members on-board so double the knowledge. Great lunch at Cool Cats prior.
Read Ikenuts's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Scotch Mist
Member Image Cruise Raider
11 reviews
Mar 2012
Fantastic whale watching. Even saw a turtle swimming along. Tour did seem to be cut short.
Read Cruise Raider's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image dnsflynn
1 review
Mar 2012
Great!!! It was the best experience on the cruise. Mother / calf pairs came within 20 feet of our Zodiac.
Read dnsflynn's full Celebrity Century cruise review
Provider: Pacific Whales.org
Member Image chic8739
1 review
Feb 2012
It was very windy that day but we saw many whales. It was a good experience overall.
Read chic8739's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image NativeTexanCruiser
2 reviews
Feb 2012
As the whales migrate to the warm waters to give birth & mate, there was an abundance of whales! You could easily see them all around the ship and if we had known that, we could have saved our money...but we still enjoyed it!
Read NativeTexanCruiser's full Sapphire Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.