Maui Whale Watching Excursion Reviews

Maui Whale Watching cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Maui is a great place for whale watching, and a guided boat is the perfect way to make sure you're in the right place at the right time to catch the underwater behemoths.
Member Image pretzels66
1 review
Feb 2017
bay was very rough that night, the crew did it's best but very hard to move around boat, whales were everywhere, pleasantly surprised to have any drink available with food provided. best sunset...
Read pretzels66's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image roytan
1 review
Jan 2017
Saw a lot of whales on this excursion. Beautiful day on the water.
Read roytan's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image carolerose85
1 review
Jan 2017
Located Lahaina Harbor Slip 17 Our reservation said it included snacks and beverages but didn't see any. We did see whales though and that's what we were there for.
Read carolerose85's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Ultimate Whale Watch
Member Image cinthom
1 review
Jan 2017
Saw lots of whales from far away.
Read cinthom's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image LreedCA
1 review
Nov 2016
We tendered to shore and after doing some shopping in Lahaina, we boarded a catamaran for a 2 hour excursion that included a wonderful lunch onboard. We even got to see some whales, which is always exciting. The crew had a lot to deal with since it was pouring rain that day, so they had to juggle wet passengers as well as sail the catamaran. They did an outstanding job. I highly recommend this tour.
Read LreedCA's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image DavidMann
1 review
Nov 2016
Rained a lot, but enjoyed what little we saw of the whales, so didn't mind much.
Read DavidMann's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image bellamed
7 reviews
Mar 2016
it was a very nice tour, we saw a lot of wales, but don't book this tour with cruise line, when you get off the ship, you can book the same tour with local tour company for 20$ less.
Read bellamed's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image jpm45t
1 review
Mar 2016
Saw several humpback wales with their calves very near the boat. On very large whale breached right near our boat -- spectacular sight! Walked around Lahaina, shopped, enjoyed the shaved ice while sitting under the large banyan tree watched the fishing boats come back in with their catch and had a great day.
Read jpm45t's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image RJ in SC
1 review
Jan 2016
Oh wow, words just can't do justice to this 2-hour tour. Maui in January is a cross-roads for whales. We saw whales swimming, breeding, nursing, breaching, courting, you name it. The naturalist on our boat said it best: "You're surrounded . . . and outnumbered!" The tour leaves from one of the waterfront locations just behind Lahaina Courthouse, which also gives you a chance to see the huge banyan tree that covers a full block. They take your picture as you get on the boat - obviously to sell you the photo at the end. It was a good shot of my husband and me, so we bought it. They throw in a CD of photos from earlier trips they've taken, so you get loads of great whale shots, even if your photos aren't great. Mine were pretty good, but it's a nice supplement.
Read RJ in SC's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Hawaii Ocean Project
Member Image ckorni1
1 review
Jan 2016
Independent whale watching tour with PWF (Pacific Whale Federation) out of Lahaina. They are researchers so are so knowledgeable, they dropped a microphone into the water so we could hear them singing. My best whale watch tour EVER! You do need to get there on your own, no port pick up. We rented a car, if you don't port in Lahaina it's just a straight drive through the middle of the island anyway so very easy.
Read ckorni1's full Carnival Miracle cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image haggis gal
1 review
Dec 2015
Easy check in and boarding. Knowledgeable crew and naturalist. Very cooperative humpback whale visitors to the waters off Maui, many sightings. Excellent day.
Read haggis gal's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Pacific Whale Foundation
Member Image giraffegirl
3 reviews
Feb 2015
We were totally surrounded by the whales, which was an incredible experience. The boat we were on, however, was mostly uncovered, which left us to the mercies of the Hawaiian sun.
Read giraffegirl's full Statendam cruise review
Provider:
Member Image Home on the range
1 review
Mar 2014

On this particular boat you could not really see out from inside the boat. They would only talk about what they were seeing out in front of the boat, so you had to be outside, in front to see. They did not turn so that everyone outside in the back and around the sides, had a chance to see, and there were not enough seats in front for everyone. Disappointing.

Read Home on the range's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image margipoo
3 reviews
Apr 2013
Great crew who were enthusiastic and shared lots of information about the humpback whales we were hoping to see...not too many whales but understand we were there toward the end of the mating season (late April).
Read margipoo's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image stub's dad
5 reviews
Mar 2013
Being in Maui in March was prime for whales, I am guessing we saw way over 100 whales. We had a baby, mom, and 3 males right beside our boat. Great photos and even better video for a lifetime. This tour was cheaper than ship price and a better time for doing the 4:30 luau.
Read stub's dad's full Celebrity Century cruise review
Provider: unknown
Member Image shumpy61
1 review
Mar 2013
This was very nice and worth the price of the trip. I would have liked to see them closer up but the ships have to stay 500 feet away unless the whales swims to them.
Read shumpy61's full Sapphire Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image ajnat
1 review
Not Rated
Mar 2013
Our whale whatching experience was phenomenol!! We were not in the water 10 minutes and we saw the "whole enchalada" completely emerge out of the water and do a '360' in the air and back down....WOW!!!! It made my whole day to see that! What a spectacular sight!
Read ajnat's full Sapphire Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image norcalmann
4 reviews
Mar 2013
Great tour. Saw about 20 whales. wonderful experience.
Read norcalmann's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Kaz1969
2 reviews
Mar 2013
Lovely island with lots of shops bars and restaurants along the front, Tender in to this port and shops are immediately in front of you. Whale watching was excellent saw lots of whales (this does depend on the season)
Read Kaz1969's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image BudinFla
20 reviews
Mar 2013
Saw lots of whales. Picked up right at the ship and dropped off in town.
Read BudinFla's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image RetiredNTraveling
4 reviews
Not Rated
Mar 2013

Fortunately, we had scheduled a PCL Whale Watching Tour and boarded a separate ship for this. During this excursion, we were never more than 1 ½ miles from the Golden Princess. Our first sighting was within ½ a mile and that was a mother and her calf. Both of whom were being followed by a male as an escort. As our guide stated, he was hoping to get lucky as the mother would not leave the Hawaiian waters until she was pregnant with her next calf. So he was hanging around... hoping to get lucky!!!!!

Read RetiredNTraveling's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image landboater
2 reviews
Feb 2013
We saw moms with calves, males fighting, and lots of whale action. The boat was crowded, so it was impossible to move away from an area where a fellow passenger had gotten seasick. (We could no longer hold onto the railing, etc.)
Read landboater's full Ocean Princess cruise review
Provider:
Member Image rockabutzer
2 reviews
Jan 2013
Saw lots of whales and had a good time. If you are prone to motion sickness, take whatever take to combat this before you go out on the boat. It really rocks and rolls!
Read rockabutzer's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image cat0603
1 review
Jan 2013
First experience seeing whales, and we loved it. However, we saw whales on every island when we were on or near the water.
Read cat0603's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Terilani Whale Watch
Member Image TheWowFactor
1 review
Jan 2013
Good people, comfortable boat. Seen many whales but none too close.
Read TheWowFactor's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Pacific Whale Foundation

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?