Maui Whale Watching Excursion Reviews

Maui Whale Watching cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Maui is a great place for whale watching, and a guided boat is the perfect way to make sure you're in the right place at the right time to catch the underwater behemoths.
Member Image lesliebrown7
1 review
Mar 2017
We got lucky, there were whales everywhere! The naturalist communicated well and often and the captain turned the boat often so everyone could see the whales.
Read lesliebrown7's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image sparkle57912
2 reviews
Feb 2017
Went on the Trilogy Catamaran.. Had planned on road to Hana but changed as still not feeling well. Lots of good size alcoholic drinks included and food which were all excellent. Crew very friendly. Saw many whales. Hated to see it end. Great views of the shore from the catamaran..
Read sparkle57912's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image cbmfam
4 reviews
Feb 2017
The whale watching boat was too rough for me. I couldn't wait to get back on land.
Read cbmfam's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image kidpsyc
1 review
Feb 2017
This was not the best tour for us--or for anyone who can't stay out in the mid-day sun for two hours without shade--but that was not evident from the shore excursion write up. They did recommend sun-screen, but even with that at least one of the passengers who stayed out in the sun got a nasty sunburn. There would have been much better options for us available onshore to book privately. Booking this two hour tour thru HAL cost $120 each, twice the price listed on their website. I do have to say we did get to see a number of whales pretty close up and to hear them over the sound equipment dropped into the water. The crew on the Trilogy was very good and knowledgeable and tried to be helpful. For passengers who were able to sit on the front of the catamaran there was great information to be had and sights to be seen. Unfortunately, there seemed to be no sound system so, if you were sitting towards the back, you missed much of what was said. There was an enclosed area below where the bar and restrooms were located--a number of us stayed there out of the sun for part of the tour--but unless you were standing in the doorway you could not see any of what was going on from that level--like whales. The snacks provided were quite good. I'm sure this would have been a better experience later in the day.
Read kidpsyc's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image JeanieCM
1 review
Feb 2017
We saw quite a few whales. Not as close as we've been able to see them on whale watches in Gloucester, MA, but very enjoyable. And the first warm whale watch I've ever been on!
Read JeanieCM's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image pretzels66
1 review
Feb 2017
bay was very rough that night, the crew did it's best but very hard to move around boat, whales were everywhere, pleasantly surprised to have any drink available with food provided. best sunset...
Read pretzels66's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Glendan16
1 review
Feb 2017
Really enjoyed this. We didn't get all that close but there is still something lovely about seeing the spout in the distance as well as their graceful bodies coming out of the water.
Read Glendan16's full Queen Elizabeth cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line
Member Image roytan
1 review
Jan 2017
Saw a lot of whales on this excursion. Beautiful day on the water.
Read roytan's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image carolerose85
1 review
Jan 2017
Located Lahaina Harbor Slip 17 Our reservation said it included snacks and beverages but didn't see any. We did see whales though and that's what we were there for.
Read carolerose85's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Ultimate Whale Watch
Member Image cinthom
1 review
Jan 2017
Saw lots of whales from far away.
Read cinthom's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image LreedCA
1 review
Nov 2016
We tendered to shore and after doing some shopping in Lahaina, we boarded a catamaran for a 2 hour excursion that included a wonderful lunch onboard. We even got to see some whales, which is always exciting. The crew had a lot to deal with since it was pouring rain that day, so they had to juggle wet passengers as well as sail the catamaran. They did an outstanding job. I highly recommend this tour.
Read LreedCA's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image DavidMann
1 review
Nov 2016
Rained a lot, but enjoyed what little we saw of the whales, so didn't mind much.
Read DavidMann's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image bellamed
7 reviews
Mar 2016
it was a very nice tour, we saw a lot of wales, but don't book this tour with cruise line, when you get off the ship, you can book the same tour with local tour company for 20$ less.
Read bellamed's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image jpm45t
1 review
Mar 2016
Saw several humpback wales with their calves very near the boat. On very large whale breached right near our boat -- spectacular sight! Walked around Lahaina, shopped, enjoyed the shaved ice while sitting under the large banyan tree watched the fishing boats come back in with their catch and had a great day.
Read jpm45t's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image RJ in SC
1 review
Jan 2016
Oh wow, words just can't do justice to this 2-hour tour. Maui in January is a cross-roads for whales. We saw whales swimming, breeding, nursing, breaching, courting, you name it. The naturalist on our boat said it best: "You're surrounded . . . and outnumbered!" The tour leaves from one of the waterfront locations just behind Lahaina Courthouse, which also gives you a chance to see the huge banyan tree that covers a full block. They take your picture as you get on the boat - obviously to sell you the photo at the end. It was a good shot of my husband and me, so we bought it. They throw in a CD of photos from earlier trips they've taken, so you get loads of great whale shots, even if your photos aren't great. Mine were pretty good, but it's a nice supplement.
Read RJ in SC's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Hawaii Ocean Project
Member Image ckorni1
1 review
Jan 2016
Independent whale watching tour with PWF (Pacific Whale Federation) out of Lahaina. They are researchers so are so knowledgeable, they dropped a microphone into the water so we could hear them singing. My best whale watch tour EVER! You do need to get there on your own, no port pick up. We rented a car, if you don't port in Lahaina it's just a straight drive through the middle of the island anyway so very easy.
Read ckorni1's full Carnival Miracle cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image haggis gal
1 review
Dec 2015
Easy check in and boarding. Knowledgeable crew and naturalist. Very cooperative humpback whale visitors to the waters off Maui, many sightings. Excellent day.
Read haggis gal's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Pacific Whale Foundation
Member Image giraffegirl
3 reviews
Feb 2015
We were totally surrounded by the whales, which was an incredible experience. The boat we were on, however, was mostly uncovered, which left us to the mercies of the Hawaiian sun.
Read giraffegirl's full Statendam cruise review
Provider:
Member Image Home on the range
1 review
Mar 2014

On this particular boat you could not really see out from inside the boat. They would only talk about what they were seeing out in front of the boat, so you had to be outside, in front to see. They did not turn so that everyone outside in the back and around the sides, had a chance to see, and there were not enough seats in front for everyone. Disappointing.

Read Home on the range's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image margipoo
3 reviews
Apr 2013
Great crew who were enthusiastic and shared lots of information about the humpback whales we were hoping to see...not too many whales but understand we were there toward the end of the mating season (late April).
Read margipoo's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image stub's dad
5 reviews
Mar 2013
Being in Maui in March was prime for whales, I am guessing we saw way over 100 whales. We had a baby, mom, and 3 males right beside our boat. Great photos and even better video for a lifetime. This tour was cheaper than ship price and a better time for doing the 4:30 luau.
Read stub's dad's full Celebrity Century cruise review
Provider: unknown
Member Image shumpy61
1 review
Mar 2013
This was very nice and worth the price of the trip. I would have liked to see them closer up but the ships have to stay 500 feet away unless the whales swims to them.
Read shumpy61's full Sapphire Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image ajnat
1 review
Not Rated
Mar 2013
Our whale whatching experience was phenomenol!! We were not in the water 10 minutes and we saw the "whole enchalada" completely emerge out of the water and do a '360' in the air and back down....WOW!!!! It made my whole day to see that! What a spectacular sight!
Read ajnat's full Sapphire Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image norcalmann
4 reviews
Mar 2013
Great tour. Saw about 20 whales. wonderful experience.
Read norcalmann's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Kaz1969
2 reviews
Mar 2013
Lovely island with lots of shops bars and restaurants along the front, Tender in to this port and shops are immediately in front of you. Whale watching was excellent saw lots of whales (this does depend on the season)
Read Kaz1969's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?