Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Kusadasi Ephesus Excursion Reviews

Kusadasi Ephesus cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Home of a staggering amount of history, Ephesus once held the Temple of Artemis, one of the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World. This venerable site was also an important center of early Christendom: among seven cities addressed in the Book of Revelations, some suggest that the Gospel of John may have been written within its walls.
Member Image barberapatel1
1 review
Oct 2014

Excellant

Read barberapatel1's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Cooley Consumers
7 reviews
Not Rated
Oct 2014

The tour was quick due to time constraints of the ship in port. We had been to this port before but this time we saw new things and got a different presentation. As usual, the House of Mary is the most peaceful place that we have visited. Ephesus was wonderful and our guide, although short for time, did an excellent job of showing us the main items. The tour named "Highlights of Ephesus" was just wonderful in details and presentation.

Read Cooley Consumers's full Azamara Quest cruise review
Provider: Azamara Club Cruises
Member Image postrain
1 review
Oct 2014

Great tour guide and amazing scenery. The day in Ephesus was perfect.

Read postrain's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image 30timecruzrs
1 review
Not Rated
Aug 2014

This is the one exception where I recommend Princess' tour. For $59 it was a good value in this VERY hot, VERY crowded - NOT TO BE MISSED destination. Warning...we were unable to get into Kusadasi on a previous cruise...it's often windy and the bigger ships sometimes miss this port.

Read 30timecruzrs's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image bjrivers
1 review
Not Rated
Jul 2014

Brilliant guide really lovely Begum. So knowledgeable and we loved the visit. But if you have any mobility problems think twice very very uneven walking.

Read bjrivers's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image skinnyguide
1 review
Jul 2014

We enjoyed visiting the ruins, and the tour guide they provided was fantastic. We did not think Mary's house was worth the detour (and I left feeling very skeptical that she ever really lived there - why is there no actual historical evidence?). The extra shopping/snack stop to the "Emporivm" [sic] was artificial and annoying, and we also blew off the carpet demonstration. I would have loved it if our cruise advisors could have given us better tips for maybe an authentic Turkish lunch without a tourist scene. Note: If you choose not to do an excursion, do consider getting off the ship to explore a bit. If you get beyond the stand-up shops that border the periphery of the ship, there are actually some lovely coastline beaches, walks, and eateries. I wish I had known about them in advance. I would have chosen to have lunch by the sea.

Read skinnyguide's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image luhning
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2014

We did not know what to expect with ths excursion, but this was our favorite because of the archeological sites and history of the area. Great job Celebrity!

Read luhning's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image kikirose
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2014

The ruins of Ephesus should not be missed. We booked this directly with the ship and the tour guide was very informative. The ruins are spectacular. On the way back to the ship we stopped at a turkish carpet manufacturer/sales presentation and we were given a glass of wine and small lunch in exchange for listening to their sales pitch. It was done with low pressure and was somewhat interesting.

Read kikirose's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image adkirk25
1 review
Not Rated
May 2014

Private tour with Ephesus Shuttle from trip advisor.

Our guide was waiting for us on time when we disembarked at the port. Nil was extremely knowledgeable about all the history and the excavation of the sites and had majored in Tourism at a university in Turkey. She spoke pretty good English. We first visited the House of Mary and then Ephesus and the Terrace Houses. Then we went to the Basilica of St John and she walked with us to a nearby Mosque. Afterwards we had a wonderful lunch and then Nil accompanied us to the Bazaar because I really wanted to shop a bit.

The best thing about the tour is that we went at our own pace and Nil tailored the tour to what we were interested in.

Read adkirk25's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Ephesus Shuttle
Member Image foxtraveler
5 reviews
Not Rated
May 2014

Amazing tour! Ephesus, Terrace Houses, Temple of Artemis, House of the Virgin Mary, and lunch at a local restaurant. It was thrilling to walk the same streets that Paul had walked and see where he had preached. Even if you have a tour guide, read up on the history of the city prior to your visit...it will help you remember things the guide tells you. It's HOT...bring water, wear a hat, and maybe even carry an umbrella for shade.

Read foxtraveler's full Splendour of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Bluege (Best of Ephesus)
Member Image FLSuep
2 reviews
Not Rated
Apr 2014

Best of the Best. This is a must see, don't miss this if you go to this port. GREAT guide.

Read FLSuep's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Pugdom@verizon.net
1 review
Oct 2013

With another well-trained and experienced guide, we spent a magical day at Ephesus and were amazed at the scope of excavation of this ancient city. The pacing was easy to allow for cautious footing as well as plenty of picture taking. We could have done without the trip to a carpet shop upon our return to Kusadasi, but did enjoy the refreshments served to us while we learned about the history of carpet-making.

Read Pugdom@verizon.net's full Queen Elizabeth cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line
Member Image olsense1
1 review
Not Rated
Oct 2013

Beautiful...great experience

Read olsense1's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celsus Travel
Member Image dvanlang
2 reviews
Oct 2013

Ephesus: Transportation is not reliable here so we took another ship excursion. We saw and learned alot but our only gripe was EVERY tour ended at a rug weaving demonstration. We ducked out and did some shopping as this was the first chance we have had to shop. There is lots of good shopping right close to the docks and a short walk to the ship. Security is tight here so don't do anything suspicious. One in our group pulled something out of his bag to show us and he was stopped and searched.

Read dvanlang's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image vladamsoh
1 review
Not Rated
Oct 2013

Do not miss Ephesus. It is fabulous and amazing.

Read vladamsoh's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image mboop
1 review
Not Rated
Oct 2013

I would not be exaggerating if I say our guided tour of Ephesus with Ertunga (www.ertungaecir.com) was one of the highlights of our cruise. We were picked up on time from the port and taken to Virgin Mary's House. We came there just on time, before the cruise buses. Then we drove to Ephesus where Ertunga walked us around and explained us the sight. The Library was fascinating and the Grand Theater impressive too. One of the visitors was singing in the theater so we had chance to hear the acoustic. Ertunga's knowledge of the area is exceptional. He was very flexible and allowed us to choose what we wanted to do and see, but had good recommendations when we asked. Even introduced us to Turkish rug making. It was a great experience and there was no pressure at all. I would not hesitate to contact him again and would certainly send any friends or family going to Turkey his way

Read mboop's full Splendour of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image TRUEBLUE66
3 reviews
Sep 2013

Booked the half day tour to Ephesus which was worthwhile as we were one of the first buses to arrive and we got to see the sites without the crowds. Well worth a visit.Glad we were early as over 50 buses waiting to get in as we left.Got taken to the carpet demo afterwards in Kusadasi which to be fair we could have walked away from if we had wanted.Was actually quite interesting and the owner was very funny and polite with no hard sell afterwards.We left and walked around the town which we liked and did some "negotiating" with the local shops for some souvenirs. Having been to countries which demand you haggle I wasn't to bothered but I know several passengers not used to it got angry and upset at the constant hard sell. Its not for everyone. Had the usual Macdonalds/Burger King/Irish bar/Starbucks as well as nice local cafe's and bakeries to try baclava and other Greek/turkish foods.Ship was docked right next to town.

Read TRUEBLUE66's full Legend of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image CondorX2
1 review
Sep 2013

I personnally loved it as I am found of History, but my husband found it tiring, but we enjoyed the scenery and the history.

Read CondorX2's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Autumn72
6 reviews
Sep 2013

It is a very brief stop at Kusadasi so the tour was rushed. This was not a tour for those with any mobility issues. We raced through the ruins at Ephesus literally taking pictures as you moved. It was very crowded and it was difficult to keep up with the guide (not the best) if you stopped for a second to look around. The lines were very long at the Virgin Mary shrine and eliminated any chance of stopping in Kusadasi to see the actual town as was supposed to happen at the end. Another stop was made at the ruins of St. John's basilica where he is buried. I would recommend skipping the Virgin Mary shrine and St. John's and taking more time in the ruins of Ephesus and seeing a bit of Kusadasi.

Read Autumn72's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image jagjetfly
1 review
Not Rated
Sep 2013

We just took the self guided tour with ipod We just wanted to get there and back without the hassles. "Princess" the bus tour guide was great giving a bit of history on the way there and back. The rug shop tour afterwards though hard sell was actually interesting and the rugs were truly beautiful all but 7 people disappeared when that part of the tour arrived.

Read jagjetfly's full Queen Elizabeth cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line
Member Image Mrs.JSparrow
1 review
Sep 2013

Bus drive to site was more interesting after Istanbul it started to look the same,especially the Grand Bazar. Unless your looking to buy alot most ppl looked bored walking around just trying to kill time to catch the bus back to the ship.

Read Mrs.JSparrow's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image DDCruiseFL
1 review
Not Rated
Sep 2013

requested not to take a rug tour . we ended up in a leather shop instead. Plan on at least one sell job whatever tour you take. We avoided Kusadasi. Most of the people we talked with later had some sort of rude slaes experience in the port town.

Read DDCruiseFL's full Legend of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Curio Tours
Member Image Aussievicki
1 review
Not Rated
Sep 2013

Good tour guide and fascinating to walk around.

Read Aussievicki's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image CarolinaCruiser85
2 reviews
Aug 2013

Ephesus is an amazing city. Not to be missed if you like ancient history or Christian history.

Read CarolinaCruiser85's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Viator
Member Image rsh1307
1 review
Aug 2013

Excellent tour guide - practical, witty and forthright. They used a radio system - we were all provided with a receiver and an earpiece. This meant that the guide could talk to us via the earpiece without having to raise her voice and without us having to be right by her in order to hear. It also meant that she could gather the group together without shouting at people. Fabulous.
The obligatory "short" carpet presentation took 45 mins and then turned in to a heavy sell.

Read rsh1307's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image sailing mart
1 review
Aug 2013

We decided to search for a better Kusadasi half-day tour than the pricy one that the Princess Cruises was offering, and we were certainly delighted by all we have got by this private, high value for money excursion that we found on Ada Vegas Travel site (www.adavegastravel.com/ ): the car was at high standards, very comfortable and with a good driver, the guide - Ozan Ozgun, was a pleasant, intelligent, educated and very competent young person who made this tour as instructive and as enjoyable as one can ask, the city of Kusadasi and the Ephesus site were breathtaking!
The Ephesus site, this great outdoor museum of Turkey is perhaps one of the the best-preserved ancient cities we have visited. Financially supported by the government of Turkey, it is a real attraction for the port of call Kusadasi. A real out-of-time city, with ruins of commercial, religious and social buildings staying erect from ancient Greek and Roman times, Ephesus is an unforgettable gathering of spectacular ruins, among which The Celsus Library is an outstanding structure, made of white marble, with rich decorations in relief, rosettes and garlands, and the figures of antique gods, like Nike and Eros.

Not to be missed inside Ephesus, the Terrace Houses, very impressive indeed, well preserved, just being dug. These houses inhabited by the wealthy social class (for this reason they are also known as "houses of the rich" or "palaces on the slopes" enchant the tourists by beautiful mosaics decorating the amazing bathrooms with central heating of that times!

Not to forget a very tasty traditional lunch served far away from the hot and crowded areas, in a small restaurant, inside a paradise garden with no other noise than the birds' singing, full of Mediterranean colors and odors. We have also visited two handcrafts points, the Selcuc Firca pottery showroom and demonstration center, where fabulous hand-painted ceramics made using rock crystal powder were a delight to admire, and the Galata Quality jewelry center, a true Aladin's cave full of marvelous pieces!

Read sailing mart's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image cocomoe18
1 review
Aug 2013

we hadnt realised how busy the House of Virgin Mary was - it was easily the busiest destination in any tour - there were thousands there and maybe a hundred buses - and it is a tiny area ! We just drove by Ephesus so didnt really see it much.

Read cocomoe18's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image vcr_traveler515
5 reviews
Jul 2013

This was my second visit to Ephesus and nothing had changed. It was very hot as usual (late July). At the end of the tour, we were given an ice-cold towel to cool off. Local tour guide was enthusiastic and knowledgeable.

Read vcr_traveler515's full Seven Seas Mariner cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image JMB3885
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2013

The tour of Ephesus was exceptional and the guide, Ayshin, spoke perfect English and was extremely warm and engaging. The highlight of the trip was a visit to a wonderful bed and breakfast in Sirince for a private lunch of the traditional Turkish cuisine.

Read JMB3885's full Wind Star cruise review
Provider: Windstar Cruises
Member Image CARMAD65
1 review
Jun 2013

We were taken to 'Mary's House' which was not what I had expected it was very small. Then we walked through the ruins of Ephesus which were fantastic very different from Pompeii in every respect.

Read CARMAD65's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Cruising Excursions
Member Image sparkx
1 review
Jun 2013

Very good tour, be prepared as it was 40C+ temperatures on the tour

Read sparkx's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image DrJamba
2 reviews
Jun 2013

My parents visited Ephesus a few years ago and their descriptions of how well preserved and detailed this site is didn't do the real thing justice. If you wish to experience the model for an ancient Roman city, this is the place to go.

Read DrJamba's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image AllisonB
1 review
Jun 2013

This tour was very long although it was fascinating and the guide extremely knowledgeable. However we had a long time there and my husband was bored. At the end of the tour we were invited to a carpet display which we though would last 15 mins or so (so were were told) but it took ages and it was very difficult to leave at the end as they were trying to sell us very expensive carpets and rugs we did not want.

Read AllisonB's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image blue_butterfly2012
1 review
May 2013
Good experience at Ephesus. Kusadasi looked like a shopping mall.
Read blue_butterfly2012's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Ephesus Shuttle
Member Image ginka123
1 review
Not Rated
Apr 2013

We loved exploring the ruins in Ephesus and the tour guide was very well informed. We were amazed a the size of the site and the mixture of cultures that had left their marks on the area. We also went to the small town of Siringe for arts and crafts market and lunch. This was also fun but I would have liked more time to explore that area. I would have skipped the mandatory tour of the carpet weaving studio since I already knew how that is done. And the carpets were very expensive.

Read ginka123's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Love to travel 54
5 reviews
Nov 2012
We took a trip including Ephesus, Miletus, and Didyma - all excellent sites to visit. Great to visit in November as Ephesus was not too busy (we went in July before and it was unbearably crowded). Wonderful ruins and lots to see. In Miletus there were hardly any tourists and it has a fabulous amphitheatre.
Read Love to travel 54's full Marina cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image worldtraveler588
2 reviews
Nov 2012
Great site, poor tour, so-so local guide
Read worldtraveler588's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image ingreece
9 reviews
Nov 2012
This was my forth time to Kusadasi. I love Ephesus so much and this time I got to see the Terrace Houses. Ephesus Shuttle was excellent and they didn't force us to shop at a carpet store which made me happy. The vendors around Ephesus are obnoxious and I had to tell one guy to leave me alone because he kept saying he was Brad Bitt and I was Angela Jolie. Ick! Be firm and bargain hard if you want to shop in Turkey, especially for carpets. They love people who have no idea how to bargain. Get some idea online and get them down at least 70 percent or you're getting ripped off.
Read ingreece's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Ephesus Shuttle
Member Image trexdex
1 review
Nov 2012
Again another wasted bus tour with the Ephesus museum being closed and looking at Ephesus from a distance. Hardly worth the trouble.
Read trexdex's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image HickoryShampoo
1 review
Nov 2012
DO NOT MISS!
Read HickoryShampoo's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Darshan1
10 reviews
Oct 2012
This was the same tour with Irene, but Ephesus is incredible. Definitely be careful on slippery rocks. Lots of beautiful ruins, especially the Celsus Library. For someone who wasn't impressed the Roman Forum, this was much more worthwhile, and I think having a guide telling us about what we were seeing was a big part of it.
Read Darshan1's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Kellie Poodle
6 reviews
Oct 2012
Remarkable! We learned so much from our excellent guide and enjoyed traipsing through the ruins. As Americans, coming from a young country on a relatively "young" continent, these ancient ruins put things in perspective.
Read Kellie Poodle's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Ephesus Deluxe
Member Image Kellie Poodle
6 reviews
Oct 2012
We did not climb up to the theater but got a great view while exiting the ruins. It's massive!
Read Kellie Poodle's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image eyeu
1 review
Oct 2012
A fantastic day of sightseeing Ephesus...picked up on time..spent day seeing the many sights of the area. Saw carpet weaving and leather good store. No pressure. A great day.
Read eyeu's full Riviera cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image goonergirl
1 review
Oct 2012
Excellent tour. Very informative. Ephesus was much bigger then I had imagined and what has been excavated so far is only a fraction of the whole thing. Well worth the cost of the tour.
Read goonergirl's full Splendour of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image respotrichie
1 review
Oct 2012
The excavations at Ephesus were unbelievable and there is so much more to un- earth that it is amazing. The high point were the Terrace Houses. These excavations literally bring you inside the houses to see the frescoes on the walls and the mosaics on the floors. Just beautiful.
Read respotrichie's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: portpromotions.com
Member Image cruzcruzcruz
3 reviews
Oct 2012
Ephasus was amazing. Enjoyed it very much but there was nothing I would eat in the restaurant that was included. Wife liked the fish.This tour was a surprise provided by our cruise travel agent and run by Vacation Vignettes. We also stopped at Rhodes and Mikonos, where we could walk on our own from the ship without a booked tour, and we felt that was sufficient. In 14 days we stopped at 11 ports!
Read cruzcruzcruz's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Annalise
8 reviews
Sep 2012

PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE DO NOT TAKE EPHESUS IF YOU HAVE ANY DIFFICULTY WALKING. We were misled by description that said it's a gentle downsloping walk. Well, it's not. Large uneven stones filled with potholes make walking downright dangerous and if it's raining, stay on the bus! Passengers who were not in shape returned to bus huffing & puffing! Actually, Ephesus had better ruins than Pompeii, but if you've seen Pompeii, be happy and skip Ephesus. Even our tourguide admitted that she has seen some pretty bad falls.

Read Annalise's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Peter Christmas
1 review
Sep 2012
Reasonable value for money - would recommend you shop around if possible, but be prepared to be pestered by shop keepers and other vendors - if you are bothered then it may be worth paying to go with the cruise ship. Ephesus not to be missed!
Read Peter Christmas's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image ruby0512
1 review
Sep 2012
Lovely place, seeing the library was an oh my god moment. Cruise line needs to say there is a carpet making demo as we had seen one the day before and didnt want to waste the little time we had here watching another one. Tour guide at Istanbul said the shopping was better in Kusadasi and it was a little more relaxed being a smaller place
Read ruby0512's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Rotenmutts
9 reviews
Sep 2012
The tour was fabulous as was Ephesus itself. This tour was half the cost of the ship's and returned in plenty of time. Last time (6 years ago) we took the ship's tour with 45 of our closest friends but this time with a small bus and only 8 other people we saw so much more and the guide was a real professional. SO MUCH BETTER. Pretty little town too and very safe.
Read Rotenmutts's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Kusadasitours.com
Member Image vs8864
4 reviews
Sep 2012
Wonerful experience not to bemissed! A true step back in time. Amazing.
Read vs8864's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image kingrodney
1 review
Sep 2012
The tour here was quite good... expensive but good! Our guide was a plus. Ephesus was quite interesting and well worth the visit.
Read kingrodney's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image klitz
1 review
Sep 2012
Awe-inspiring
Read klitz's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Grendelftw
1 review
Aug 2012
Interesting tour. Hot day. Great food. The Turkish vendors very much believe in the hard sell.
Read Grendelftw's full Splendour of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image cruiserpupdog
1 review
Not Rated
Aug 2012
Great experience with so much to see.
Read cruiserpupdog's full Splendour of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Blighty770
1 review
Not Rated
Aug 2012
Tour took place on the day that Ephesus was observing the last day of Ramadan. This meant that the ruins at Ephesus were not open until 1.30pm, despite our tour being booked for 10.30am. Our guide, Melissa, was terrific and helped us to juggle the day with an added visit to the House of the Virgin Mary. She was very knowledgeable and informative through the trip to Ephesus.
Read Blighty770's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image neoncandle
1 review
Aug 2012
We got together with another family from cruise critic and went with Ekol Tours. We took the Ephesus Tour with the Terrace Houses. Because Ephesus did not open until 1pm that day, our guide tacked on a visit to Sirince Village for free. We loved our guide and strongly suggest that you get your own. She really made the trip for us. The place was hot and crowded in August, though. If you decide not to do an excursion, there appears to be a nice beach in town.
Read neoncandle's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Ekol Tours
Member Image DebsLpool
2 reviews
Aug 2012
Our guide Ahmed was one of the best we have ever had, he was informative, knowledgeable and funny. The sight was amazing even though it was about 40% and very busy. The scale of the ruins are breathtaking and I was so glad that I finally got to see Ephesus. On the way back to the ship he was willing to take us to a great carpet shop, thankfully there were no takers, although he did do his best to talk us into it. God loves a tryer. After lunch we returned to the bazaar in Kusadasi, for an enjoyable couple of hours of haggling, if you have the right attitude, it can be fun, but also very tiring. We had a drink at a bar near to the harbour and were amazed at the changes to the town, which we had last visited about 20 years previously, much more upmarket now, but a little less interesting
Read DebsLpool's full Thomson Majesty cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image Desdemona1
1 review
Aug 2012
I chose to stay on the ship as they said there was a lot of walking and my bruised buttock was still sore , but my Husband went on the tour which he said was quite good. He said the ruins were not in the best shape but the tour was fairly interesting.
Read Desdemona1's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Riley Dog
1 review
Jul 2012
Very good guide - knew his stuff. Half day tour just long enough for what we wanted to do on (what turned out to be) a very hot day (100 degrees F ++)
Read Riley Dog's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Bellagirl18
1 review
Jul 2012
We had headsets that were used during our visit to Ancient Ephesus which is a remarkable place to see and near the end we were treated to a fabulous performance by a local theatre group. Our tour-guide was really good and did a great job. We really enjoyed our visit here and had a great experience.
Read Bellagirl18's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image surelyso
2 reviews
Jul 2012
Took the Ephesian Modus Vivandi tour. Included in our tour was the terrace houses. If you have to pay the extra money to see this, DO IT. Unbelievable what they have uncovered and the restoration going on. The mosaics are amazing.
Read surelyso's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image henrytf
1 review
Jul 2012
Fantastic tour - great tour guide (Khan)the ships crew provided midway through the ruins tour cold drinks & frozen towels. Very crowded also very hot time of year to do this - might be better in spring time. Was impossible to browse the town of Kusadasi without being pestered to buy something though.
Read henrytf's full Azamara Quest cruise review
Provider: Azamara Club Cruises
Member Image wismergirl
4 reviews
Jul 2012
As soon as we entered Ancient Ephesus, we saw the Baths of the "State Agora". Then we passed by "The Bouleuterion" which housed the meetings of the Council as well as musical performances and contests built around 100 A.D. The Market Basilica was a 160-m long arcade, also built in the 1st century. We continued to walk in the heat and finally arrived at Terrace Houses. Our guide gave us the ticket to enter the site and it was amazing. The extra cost of $10 was so worth it. It was great to see the 5-minute live presentation next to the Great Theatre.
Read wismergirl's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Ephesus Shuttle
Member Image CleoandAnthony
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2012
'Highlights of Ephesus tour 4 hours. Fab archeological site walking tour in Ephesus. Then ended in Kusadasi at carpet shop with good info session, good shopping, and just few minutes walk back to ship.
Read CleoandAnthony's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image snow bunny
3 reviews
Jun 2012
Did know what to expect in Turkey so it was a pleasant surprise to see all that the area had to offer.
Read snow bunny's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image brijsood
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2012
Rushed tour. Supposed to be all day, but we were done with over an hour to spare. Ephesus is incredible - here is a link to some pictures: https://picasaweb.google.com/110446672587444099861/VeniceCruiseEphesus?locked=true
Read brijsood's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image bugsdad
1 review
Jun 2012
Tour of ancient Ephesus with stop at turkish carpet merchant
Read bugsdad's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image tnt_ca_cruiser
2 reviews
Jun 2012
Did not really explore the town, but the area right by the port is modern and has many familiar stores including Lacoste and Starbucks. It was actually a nice place to hang out.
Read tnt_ca_cruiser's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: OTTI
Member Image silversurfer
1 review
Jun 2012
Knowledgeable guide and coach visit around the ruins which were extensive and very interesting. Also visited a small museum and ended up at a Turkish carpet factory (sales room). The latter is an expensive trap for the unwary but if you can say no with conviction its worth it for the free beer!
Read silversurfer's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image kevnbren
5 reviews
Jun 2012
Picked up a tour in the port shopping center. 25 euros each (4 hour tour-had to pay for entrance to Ephasus 10 euro extra). Enjoyed this immensely. Lots of walking and slippery marble slopes.
Read kevnbren's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image ellay864
1 review
Jun 2012
We left Greek territory for our next day and stopped at Kusadasi in Turkey. From here we had booked a private tour to Ephesus through CC contacts, with 6 of us paying 52 euros each. That gave us a minibus tour to Ephesus with tour guide, included lunch and entry to the Ephesus site itself. The tour we'd booked was a gentle paced half day trip, taking some medical issues into account, but we didn't feel short-changed at all. The place is amazing and although hilly and with steps was manageable; to be honest the whole site is so impressive you'd have to really have access problems to not want to visit there. Here in the UK sites like Stonehenge charge a fortune to visit and then you're allowed nowhere near the artefacts, but at Ephesus we were just able to wander right into the heart of everything. We didn't go into the Terraced Houses that a lot of people say are a must, but I certainly don't feel we missed out as there is still so much to see. The tour did also include the trip to a carpet place where the background is interesting but we really didn't appreciate the blatant hard sell they do. It's a shame but seems that must tours put this in; if you can arrange a trip that promises not to do this, go for it! At the end of the trip we had time to spare so decided to wander round the bazaars in Kusadasi before going back to the ship. Unfortunately we were totally put off by the shop keepers' quite aggressive approach to visitors and it's impossible to browse, despite the 'no hassle' signs. Maybe that's all part of the local culture but it wasn't an aspect we wanted to embrace at the end of a long hot day.
Read ellay864's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Summerpls
1 review
Jun 2012
A must do. The ruins of a whole city is so unbelievable. So much of it still stands and it's all made of marble. It's a tour for those with lots of energy and without physical imparements as it's a long tour but well worth it. Bring your camera. It was so easy to imagine in my mind what it was like there thousands of years ago. When we got back from our cruise we stopped in the town which was by the Port to have lunch ... it was wonderful.
Read Summerpls's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image savvylady
1 review
Jun 2012
Wonderful place, yet very crowded.
Read savvylady's full Seven Seas Mariner cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image baillie
1 review
May 2012
What can you say but awesome...can't wait to see when they excavate more and what they discover
Read baillie's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image doffina
2 reviews
May 2012
We booked a private tour of the Ephesus ruins and enjoyed it very much. Our guide was wonderful, spoke perfect English (among 5 other languages) and included some other local stops not specified in our tour. We spent a little time at the bazaar before boarding the ship, as we only had half a day here. A full day would have been great.
Read doffina's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image mokopuna2
2 reviews
May 2012

All of the ruin of Ephesus are a "must do" when visiting Kusadasi. Enjoyed every moment of the tour.

Read mokopuna2's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Fez Travel
Member Image kamali kuri
1 review
May 2012
we took a tour to this ancient place to see Ephesus, the Mediterranean's best-preserved classical city. The ruins of this city and the enormous theatre offers up superb views over the city. Our guide was brilliant and very funny. Make sure you have a good pair of walking shoes! Marble stones are slippery. annoying thing is that Turkish photographer wants to take your pic all the time but you learn to ignore them...
Read kamali kuri's full Thomson Celebration cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image Twinmum
2 reviews
May 2012
This was the most amazing place and we had the perfect guide to tell us all of the wonderful history. We actually were more in awe of this ancient city than we were of Pompeii. The scenery on the bus trip here was spectacular too, which made it a very enjoyable trip all up. So So glad we came here. We finished up with a trip to the bazaar that had lots of good quality leather at good prices and beautiful scarves that I wish I'd bought many more of for gifts at home.
Read Twinmum's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Peter Wise
1 review
Apr 2012
Only seen from a distance at the end of our walk. Impressive.This was on a windy day and the site is big so there is quite a bit of walking involved.
Read Peter Wise's full Seven Seas Voyager cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image Kiheisands
1 review
Apr 2012
Outstanding visit to Ephesus! The guide was more than informed, he was entertaining as well. An absolute must see.
Read Kiheisands's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image oldcajun
1 review
Apr 2012
An outstanding guide made our visit to Ephesus come alive.
Read oldcajun's full Seven Seas Mariner cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image jumbokaye
1 review
Jul 2011
The highlight was a visit to Ephesus, an ancient city whose ruins . We organized our own tour through Ephesus tours which was excellent . We was also treated to a carpet demonstration, pottery display & finally a fashion show at a leather shop
Read jumbokaye's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Ephesus tours

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.