Kusadasi Ephesus Excursion Reviews

Kusadasi Ephesus cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Home of a staggering amount of history, Ephesus once held the Temple of Artemis, one of the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World. This venerable site was also an important center of early Christendom: among seven cities addressed in the Book of Revelations, some suggest that the Gospel of John may have been written within its walls.
Member Image GreenAcres10110
1 review
Oct 2016
Ephesus is incredible. The tour was well worth it as it is very rich in history, plus transportation there is not simple. You could spend a week there and not appreciate it all.
Read GreenAcres10110's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image urbanite1985
1 review
Oct 2016
Very impressive, but it needs a lot more excavation. Partly tainted because the people in our tour group were very negative older people that couldn't enjoy what we were seeing. The tour guide focused on importance in history but wasn't able to make it come alive even with us standing there.
Read urbanite1985's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image paolog333
1 review
Oct 2016
Beautiful. Very slow paced, lots of time for photos and exploring.
Read paolog333's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image lady99
2 reviews
Oct 2016
We did the Ancient Ephesus excursion which allowed us to get off the ship first and hop on a bus. We received a complimentary bottle of water with a postcard and a good luck charm. We went to the ancient ruins and explored that for about two hours. Our tour guide is an archaeologist so we had a chance to discuss about the excavations. Seeing the ancient ruins and marble buildings were stunning ranging from the theatre auditorium to even the bathrooms. We saw the St Marks Basilica and even got a photo with a camel! We went to a rest stop for some Turkish coffee, baklava and the best gyro I have ever eaten. While we ate and drank, we saw an interactive show of Cleopatra and Marc Antony. We then went to a Turkish rug merchant and it was fascinating learning about the ancient art of loom weaving.
Read lady99's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Kirk6400
1 review
Sep 2016
This is an excursion not to miss. The ruins of Ephesus are amazing and beautiful!!!
Read Kirk6400's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Tbird58
1 review
Sep 2016
The best! Had amazing day with the best guide. She was knowledgeable, passionate and made our day! Ephesus is not to be missed. We got to the House of Virgin Mary early and without crowds, as well as touring Ephesus before the crowds. Our favorite excursion. The tour also included a fabulous turkish lunch with multi options on a buffet. Delightful lunch in the garden of the homeowner.
Read Tbird58's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Ephesus Shuttle
Member Image parr2300
1 review
Sep 2016
Good tour but they slipped in a visit to a rug coop or so called, but we bailed out with excuse that we had to get back to the ship for medicine.
Read parr2300's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Shore Excursions Group
Member Image Arvy
2 reviews
Sep 2016
Ephesus is truly amazing - the most impressive ruins you will ever see!! Our guide was fantastic. There was a brief caroet demonstration at the end, we only stayed briefly to enjoy the delicious complementary pastry drinks, and then went shopping in Kusadasi. Thie keather market is not to be believed - good prices if you bargain a bit, and they sure do love to bargain! We found Turkey to be a lovely clean country- there was none of the disgusting tagging marring lovely buildings as we saw everywhere in Greece. The People were friendly and hospitable too.
Read Arvy's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image AmazingAsheville
3 reviews
Sep 2016
This tour provided only distant views of Ephesus, not actual entry into the site. The guide did take us to a Muslim mosque in another village. This was a good experience.
Read AmazingAsheville's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Oldrusty070
1 review
Sep 2016
We used Best of Ephesus Tours by Locals and had Zeynep Elitemiz as our tour guide. For $25 each we had a Zeynep, an excellent guide, a driver and a very clean newish van for about 6 hours. She was excellent and the tour was quite complete. Had to do the carpet factory but every tour does that.
Read Oldrusty070's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Best of Ephesus Tours by Locals
Member Image RFD
1 review
Sep 2016
Excellent Tour and Guide
Read RFD's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image leochen24551
1 review
Sep 2016
It was very well done. The tour leader was very knowledgable and she kept us together. Ephesus -- think the Book of Ephesians -- was where Paul walked the same streets and sat at the same stadium and visited the same gymnasiums.
Read leochen24551's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image motherbunk
1 review
Sep 2016
Extremely difficult walking tour but worth the pain killers we had to take when we got back to ship.
Read motherbunk's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image daleleah
1 review
Sep 2016
Tour - Ephesus Shuttle - Curio Travel Turkey & Greece. The van was clean and comfortable. The guide "Ike" was extremely good. Only two on the tour and we saw much of Ephesus. No high pressure sales at stops. This was a pleasant experience! We highly recommend this tour and tour company.
Read daleleah's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image betsieball
1 review
Sep 2016
Our tour guide Aysenur was excellent. We did a half day trip. The terrace houses are a must see. It comes with an additional fee and the stairs can be challenging. We loved the feeling and the beauty of this ancient city. We spent the afternoon in the market place shopping and were amazed by all of the "genuine fakes". This is a shoppers paradise.
Read betsieball's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Ephesus Shuttle
Member Image Dunnedg
1 review
Sep 2016
Brilliant. Worth every penny.
Read Dunnedg's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Charlotten
1 review
Sep 2016
Ephesus and the House of the Virgin Mary were wonderful. our guide was excellent. the carpet shop I could have done without. and the shopping area just outside the port was also not very comfortable to walk around as the men were very aggressive to try to sell their goods.
Read Charlotten's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Ramekin40
1 review
Sep 2016
Very hot day, lots of walking and uneven ground so wear comfy shoes. Beautiful architecture
Read Ramekin40's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Springfieldguy
1 review
Aug 2016
Walking tour of ancient Ephesus; rug making demonstration; browsing of harbor shops. Rug-making demo too high pressure to buy a rug.
Read Springfieldguy's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image ajb1605
3 reviews
Aug 2016
Amazing guide, amazing place, would do it all over again
Read ajb1605's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: Ephesus Shuttle
Member Image Stephen R
1 review
Aug 2016
Fantastic guide who took us to the House of the Virgin Mary and the Church of St. John. I also thoroughly enjoyed the carpet shop but I was looking to buy and did buy a carpet.
Read Stephen R's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image J.E.C
4 reviews
Aug 2016
Wow - great tour and we gor there before the crowds. The townhouses are a must see. Kusadasi itself was also worth a walk around as the bazaar was very friendly and welcoming
Read J.E.C's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image lynmellor13@aol.com
1 review
Aug 2016
Didn't expect the carpet sale at the end so left.
Read lynmellor13@aol.com's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Maz636
1 review
Aug 2016
Ephesus is a must see. Guide was awesome-very informative, friendly and knowledgeable. One of the best excursions I have ever been on. Rug stop at the end is a waste unless you want to spend thousands on a rug-very nice but not for me.
Read Maz636's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image uvitacruise
1 review
Aug 2016
I think it was a nice excursion. The guide had a lot of information about the place and delighted us with stories of the past. The city is nice but I do not have enought time to take around.
Read uvitacruise's full Celestyal Crystal cruise review
Provider: Celestyal Cruises

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?