Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Kusadasi Ephesus Excursion Reviews

Kusadasi Ephesus cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Home of a staggering amount of history, Ephesus once held the Temple of Artemis, one of the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World. This venerable site was also an important center of early Christendom: among seven cities addressed in the Book of Revelations, some suggest that the Gospel of John may have been written within its walls.
Member Image UnicornRancher
1 review
Jun 2016
Even a bad tour guide can't ruin Ephesus. It's amazing, but book your own private tour.
Read UnicornRancher's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Dissapointed Aussie
1 review
Jun 2016
good tour
Read Dissapointed Aussie's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image rashisingh
1 review
Jun 2016
good, very historical
Read rashisingh's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image paulandmaryanne
1 review
Jun 2016
We wanted more time on-site at Ephesus and could have done without carpet salesmen.
Read paulandmaryanne's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image jmcohen
2 reviews
Jun 2016
Great tour walking through the Roman city of Ephesus. Just watch out when you are back in Kusadi, since the salespeople in the bazaar are VERY pushy.
Read jmcohen's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image kingoswing70
1 review
Jun 2016
Went to the historic ruins that was great but then we were dropped off in a hand made rug store recommended by Celebrity. We were made to sit there and endure sales pitches.
Read kingoswing70's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image tearhead
1 review
Jun 2016
Gorgeous. We had these places to ourselves.
Read tearhead's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image purplesun
1 review
Jun 2016
Our tour said house of mary but we were able to see carpet making, terrace houses, ephesus. It was a 40 min ride from the port but well worth it. Also, very hot and sunny so bring a hat, umbrella/parasol and water.
Read purplesun's full Celestyal Crystal cruise review
Provider: Celestyal Cruises
Member Image cathathowells
1 review
Jun 2016
Excellent half day trip. Easy walking option. We chose not to go to the carpet weaving demo at the end. The ship is docked beside crazy Turkish small shops selling fake watches and handbags.
Read cathathowells's full Thomson Dream cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image cruisecriticfan2
3 reviews
Jun 2016
Ephesus was phenomenal. We visited the House of the Virgin Mary as well as the archeological ruins. This is a must see. I would recommend this tour highly.
Read cruisecriticfan2's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image cruisingalong59
1 review
May 2016
Ephesus was amazing and we saw the House of the Virgin Mary as well. It was a whole day trip including lunch. Lunch was really good. There was a large buffet of all different types of food and some Turkish food also. The tour guide was very good. If you can't afford to take any other trip you must take this one. There is lots of walking though so wear comfortable shoes.
Read cruisingalong59's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image DicaB
1 review
May 2016
Nice excursion with a very friendly guide
Read DicaB's full Celestyal Olympia cruise review
Provider: Celestyal Cruises
Member Image Tahoebabe23
1 review
May 2016
We visited Mary's house which was very interesting and Ephesus. Ephesus is a UNESCO World Heritage Site as of July, 2015. The ruins are amazing and so much is being worked on during our visit. We would have liked more time in Ephesus. Due to the schedule we were due at a huge lunch stop which we would have preferred to have skipped. Food was adequate - Ephesus was amazing.
Read Tahoebabe23's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image mullock
1 review
May 2016
skip the rug sales
Read mullock's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Shore Excursions
Member Image HelenMorris270
1 review
May 2016
Brilliant - Ephesus just stunning. Loved carpet experience too
Read HelenMorris270's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image MPalermo
1 review
May 2016
The same guide for the Mary tour cave us kind of a 'back way' tour of Ephesus almost like a private tour for the most part. He was also very informative and made us feel very comfortable while in Turkey.
Read MPalermo's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image tfalsky2
1 review
May 2016
One of our favorite tours mainly due to our very knowledgeable guide. It was like History class all over again..only better. Ephesus was beautiful a must. Our first stop was at the House of Virgin Mary. A smart decision by our guide to there first. We beat the crowd and was not rushed at all. A lot of time to visit the house and surrounding areas. When we got toEphesus and the Terrace houses It was a bit crowded but it was still one of our favorite places. I cannot describe..it was just beautiful. A total must do. But again..rough terrain..so make sure to wear good walking shoes. And probably cool thin clothes as it got very hot. Also a hat and umbrella is useful. Our last stop was at the carpet weaving. This part..we could have done without. The demo only lasted like 5 minutes. Everything else was a sales pitch. Since we had no interests in the rugs we tried to leave early. It was a bit difficult...since they tried so hard to sell you something. Wish we could have skipped this part.
Read tfalsky2's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Miss Nomer
1 review
May 2016
Fantastic private tour.
Read Miss Nomer's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: ShoreBee
Member Image jobster
1 review
May 2016
Picked up early and got to Ephesus before all the group tours. Had it to ourselves for 150 euros :)
Read jobster's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Ephesus Tours
Member Image Fortun8
4 reviews
May 2016
Independent van tour with driver and private guide of house of the Virgin Mary, temples, Ephesus, terrace houses, carpet weaving, and lunch (own expense), and leather making area. You had free choice of skipping or adding to the tour.
Read Fortun8's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Istanbul tours #1 cruise critic company
Member Image cghouston
7 reviews
May 2016
Took Exclusive Best of Ephesus-Small Tour - great, knowledgeable tour guide - only 9 of use
Read cghouston's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image The2J's
1 review
May 2016
Ephesus Shuttle Tour was recommended by friends and we are glad they told us about this company. Alex was our tourguide and he was friendly and very knowledgeable about Ephesus. He picked us up as soon as we departed the ship. We were able to beat the crowds at Ephesus. This was one of the highlights of our trips. To think we were on the same streets that the Apostle Paul walked on. Very memorable. We did Tour 4 A1. Lunch and Terrace Houses were included. Don't miss the Terrace Houses. They were well advanced in the technology they were using at that time. We will never forget this area. Note about lunch: See if you can book in advance to go to the outdoor café next to the Carpet Weaving School. The dining experience was amazing. The scenery is beautiful. Very nicely done. The food is delicious!!!
Read The2J's's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Ephesus Shuttle Tours
Member Image Judgeo19
1 review
May 2016
Much more preserved than I thought it would be. Love seeing where Paul preached, the library the public bathrooms.
Read Judgeo19's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image travelgypsy06
1 review
May 2016
Wonderful informative tour; not rushed.
Read travelgypsy06's full Wind Star cruise review
Provider: Windstar Cruises
Member Image cat shepard
1 review
May 2016
Everything I'd hoped for- and more. Fatih, our guide, and Zeki, our driver, United for a tour that was amazing. Walking the ancient streets, marveling at the amenities available 2000 years ago, with more being uncovered every day. We did visit Ipekevi a shop just outside the Ephesus exit that sells beautiful hand-embroidered cotton tops and dresses, and silk scarves. They even had men's garments. We also stopped at an Iznik pottery craftman's shop, and were treated to the glow-in-the-dark affect of the moonstone glaze on their pottery.
Read cat shepard's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: Ephesus Deluxe

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.