Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Kusadasi Ephesus Excursion Reviews

Kusadasi Ephesus cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Home of a staggering amount of history, Ephesus once held the Temple of Artemis, one of the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World. This venerable site was also an important center of early Christendom: among seven cities addressed in the Book of Revelations, some suggest that the Gospel of John may have been written within its walls.
Member Image MsPoppadom
1 review
Nov 2015
Booked an excursion to St John's Basilica and Isa Bey only (normally part of an all day excursion by cruise lines) thru an international agent/tour site. Ephesus was included in package too as extra. Were expecting a group but got a car, driver and guide just for us two. Fabulous morning.
Read MsPoppadom's full Splendour of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Viator
Member Image terrytallent1
11 reviews
Nov 2015
This was our third visit to Ephesus and the tour guide was able to use the "whisper" device to provide details about what we saw. We felt we saw fewer parts of the city but got much more detailed information about what we saw. The weather was perfect. We had time to explore on our own. My wife was able to find the perfect "memory" of the day in the form of a small piece of jewelry.
Read terrytallent1's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image RCILovers
1 review
Oct 2015
Wow, just spectacular. Our guide was very knowledgeable and passionate about the history of the area. We had a rug demonstration also.
Read RCILovers's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image bperthel
2 reviews
Oct 2015
Our guide was fantastic. The buses picked us up right at the cruise dock and we were off to Ephesus. Very informative and medium sized groups so we were able to see the city. I would recommend adding the Terrace Houses, we didn't but heard they were worth the extra cost.
Read bperthel's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image lifeh2o4all
1 review
Oct 2015
Excellent guide of Ephesus. Followed by lunch at farm cooperative and rug maker. Authentic local food flavors and weaving demonstration were wonderful with no hard sales.
Read lifeh2o4all's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: OTTI Travel
Member Image Sodicoff
2 reviews
Oct 2015
Hooked up with a person on Roll Call who arranged for the tour.
Read Sodicoff's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image mklaiber
1 review
Oct 2015
I enjoyed the guide she was very thorough and patient with us and even made sure we were all comfortable and gives us quite the history lesson.
Read mklaiber's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image veraneo
1 review
Oct 2015
Fascinating place,with an excellent guide and very reasonable charge.We also had photos taken there for only 3e each,part of which goes towards the site.
Read veraneo's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Viator
Member Image goldenpirate
1 review
Oct 2015
only booked it because we had a lot of comp $. Ephesus was great - but too fast. they took us to a chinzy place for lunch - schtick! Carpet weaving was interesting but they were trying to sell too much
Read goldenpirate's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image foodpolice
4 reviews
Oct 2015
We've been to Ephesus a few years ago, but still enjoy visiting it again. It was interesting to see the Terrace Houses which we did not see before. After Ephesus, we wandered around, enjoyed the sights, sound & food in Kusadasi.
Read foodpolice's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Busy retiree
1 review
Oct 2015
We were at House of the Virgin Mary, then Ephesus and finished with a visit to a leather manufacturer. For the 2 first visits, the guide was telling us to rush, so we would make all the visit in time. House of Virgin Mary we had 45 minutes, 10 would have been enough. So we had about 30 minutes to look at the few shops after the visit. Same thing at Ephesus. we would have liked to have more time looking at the ruins and less time for shopping! Our last stop was at a leather manufacturer. First 5 minutes is a leather coat fashion show, wich was ok. Then they take you into a huge showroom and they have 1 sales person for almost each visitor. They really are after you to purchase a leather coat. It is not easy to get them of your back (the salespersons) They are very insisting! We had to stay there for more than 45 minutes because some people in our group were purchasing coats. This excursion should be call " Best excursion if you want to purchase a leather coat"
Read Busy retiree's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image philw1776
2 reviews
Sep 2015
Well restored. Spectacular!
Read philw1776's full Silver Spirit cruise review
Provider: Silversea Cruises
Member Image Rom Com
1 review
Sep 2015
We booked this ahead of the cruise. Paid them at the end of the tour. Price was better than the ship's, and we were met with a van and a driver and a guide. They did very well. Our guide could have had better English-but she did fine. Wished I had more time at Ephesus, but its my fault not theirs, I only booked a half day tour. With a GPS and a rental car you can get there yourself-but I think Ephesus Shuttle was good.
Read Rom Com's full Splendour of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Ephesus Shuttle
Member Image debbieg14
1 review
Sep 2015
Excellent guide. Totally awesome place. Shame about the carpet selling !!
Read debbieg14's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image igor mandrinsky
1 review
Sep 2015
A fascinating and intensely stimulation tour. We were fortunate in that our guide was one of the archaeoligists who spent some ten years doing excavation work there.
Read igor mandrinsky's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image tring
6 reviews
Sep 2015
The guide could have been better - normal story, guide kept us in a group being talked at a lot of the time, rather than letting us go off and see things. There are placards in the site written in both Greek and English so going on our own would have worked well, but reliable transport may have been more difficult.
Read tring's full Voyager cruise review
Provider: Voyages of Discovery
Member Image Keevan
1 review
Sep 2015
Excellent private tour. Well recommended.
Read Keevan's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Ephesus shuttle - serkan tours
Member Image tjd59
1 review
Sep 2015
The guide was very knowledgeable and the pace appropriate. This portion of the excursion is well worth it.
Read tjd59's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Daily Istanbul Tours-Ephesus
Member Image MsCarmel
1 review
Sep 2015
The Ephesus tour was amazing. The guide was once part of the excavation team and SO knowledgeable. I want to go back to Ephesus--it is an on-going dig and so amazing! Loved the carpet weaving--bought one and jewelry too.
Read MsCarmel's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image valbob89
3 reviews
Sep 2015
Wonderful - much better then Pompei, perhaps because of the guide. Warning - step and rocky walk the entire time. Ambulance took a couple of people who feel. I can't imagine it when it is wet. That said, so glad we went.
Read valbob89's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image jud123
4 reviews
Sep 2015
Shore excursion to Ephesus. Great day. Not too hot. We did the early shore excursion so that we would have time for shopping in Kusadasi. There was a carpet demonstration, which was information, but we were not interested in buying, so we quickly left. Shopping in Kusadasi. I wasn't bothered by the aggressiveness of the shop owners, actually, it was quite entertaining. No real goo deals. I can get better and cheaper knock-offs in NYC, so I didn't buy anything.
Read jud123's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image hawkshoe
2 reviews
Sep 2015
Simply amazing. A must see. You need many hours if not days to fully appreciate this site.
Read hawkshoe's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image bfarmerva
1 review
Sep 2015
Amazing history! Visited The Virgin Mary's House and the ancient ruins of Ephesus. Great guide - with a great sense of humor. Enjoyed our time much more than expected. Fascinating area. Could have skipped the last stop in Kusadasi though. They drop you in front of a carpet weaving shop for a demonstration on how they make Turkish rugs. It is really a stop to strong arm you into purchasing a rug from them. Don't think they had any takers, but we did not appreciate the way this stop was presented. My advice.....get up and leave as soon as the sales pitch starts!
Read bfarmerva's full Zuiderdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image jannie711
1 review
Aug 2015
Fantastic excursion. It was hot in Ephesus but the ruins are incredible. Our tour guide was very informative and a joy to be around.
Read jannie711's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Grahambythesea
4 reviews
Aug 2015
Booked online. Private tour, just us and guide for less than the cruise excursion. Excellent.
Read Grahambythesea's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Ephesus Tours

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.