Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Juneau Mount Roberts Tramway Excursion Reviews

Juneau Mount Roberts Tramway cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Ride the tram up Mount Roberts and experience the panorama of Juneau and the Inside Passage from 1,800 feet above the city.
Member Image Dannyschic
1 review
Sep 2015
Scenery was beautiful, the tram operators were very friendly and entertaining! All you can eat crab feed was a waste of $. They served only half crabs after your first one and they were not fresh..
Read Dannyschic's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image DACzuhause
1 review
Sep 2015
We enjoyed the film in the nature center and went on a nice hike. The view are very good and it was a gorgeous day.
Read DACzuhause's full Volendam cruise review
Provider: bought tickets in town
Member Image west1215
3 reviews
Sep 2015
Great views and a neat trip...probably best buy of all the cruisetours.
Read west1215's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image gwwyjjliu
1 review
Aug 2015
Touristy, too many gift shops at the top. View is OK, main attraction are the cruise ships docked in port.
Read gwwyjjliu's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Skipjo
1 review
Aug 2015
Again not enough time as the line to catch the bus back to the ship was very long And did not want to miss getting back on ship
Read Skipjo's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Tericalhoun
1 review
Aug 2015
This is well worth it to get a beautiful view of Juneau (expecially on a nice day). We really enjoyed our hike to see Father Brown's Cross at the top and the nature center has a very nice gift shop.
Read Tericalhoun's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Sally Forth
4 reviews
Aug 2015
We were so lucky to be there on a bright sunny day. The views were stunning. Be sure to watch the movie about the people who first lived in Juneau. The gift shop is probably the best on the whole cruise, with a good mix of affordable items, including hand-crafted artwork.
Read Sally Forth's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image AmazingAsheville
2 reviews
Aug 2015
The tram was overpriced (about $32 per person) but the view from 1800 feet above Juneau was beautiful. We did a half-mile trail walk.
Read AmazingAsheville's full Silver Shadow cruise review
Provider: Silversea Cruises
Member Image Reg2010
4 reviews
Aug 2015
The tram just goes up to the top of the hill and there is a kiosk there. I think they show a short film but we didn't bother. If it had been fine, it may have been a nice view but probably wouldn't recommend it as anything special.
Read Reg2010's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Nautical Nellie
1 review
Jul 2015
The view was spectacular. Once we were on top, there was a cute restaurant with a bar. Great place for a "cold one" high above the tree tops.
Read Nautical Nellie's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image The Q
1 review
Jul 2015
Short but interesting trip to the top. A nature Centre and trails are at the top, with shop. On the day we visited it was very wet and visibility restricted due to weather. Still worth the trip.
Read The Q's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image NwCrsr71
1 review
Jul 2015
We shopped first and then went up the Tram. The Tram staff were excellent and the food in the Restaurant at the top was very good. The views are amazing.
Read NwCrsr71's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image sammie511
1 review
Jul 2015
It was very foggy that morning so we could see much the bottom but we took the trail and have fun hiking
Read sammie511's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image SJCruisers
1 review
Jul 2015
This would have been nice if the weather was better. Rainy and low clouds obstructed what could have been an amazing view.
Read SJCruisers's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Beckaj
4 reviews
Jul 2015
Great views from the top of the Tram were enjoyed on a perfect sunny day where our ship the Solstice was in clear view as well as the port & town. The hike was about 1 mile long through the wood with a lady guide who was charming & informative about this area. After our interesting hike we were treated to tea & snacks -- enjoyed !
Read Beckaj's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image db7425
1 review
Jun 2015
Nice opportunity to explore on your own
Read db7425's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image ironhead48
1 review
Jun 2015
At the top there were trails to follow so we did about a 2 mile trail. What a veiw from on top.
Read ironhead48's full Zaandam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image ihightower
1 review
Jun 2015
Great views from on top if it's a clear day. If not, wait a little while and it might clear up. We saved $1 plus any taxes booking on ship. It was good for all day and since the sun stayed out until past 10 PM it was a great way to see the whole town.
Read ihightower's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image BirdTravels
3 reviews
Jun 2015
Catch the Mount Roberts Tramway 1800 feet above Juneau for a spectacular views and activities for the young and old. The free port shuttle bus takes you from the ship directly to the tramway station. There are multiple trails that start at the tram station. There is an easy half mile Alpine Loop that is an easy walk. Other trails go up to the Father Brown Cross and to the top of Roberts Peak (3 miles). All trails are covered with loose gravel and can get steep and muddy (depending on the weather). There are various marked points-of-interest where you can scan a QR code and get a streaming audio description of the location (the recordings are a bit long and you’ll probably get the general idea after the first minute of the recording). Activities at the top of the tramway include a restaurant, a theater playing a 15 minute film on Tlingit life, totem pole carving, Tlingit natives performances, and a gift shop. ShoreEx Tip: Don’t buy your tickets until you have arrived in Juneau and see what the weather is like. If the weather is raining and overcast, it may not be the best day to go up the tramway. The ShoreEx desk opens early to allow you to buy tickets. ShoreEx Tip: Buying your tickets onboard allows you to use shore excursion credit/shipboard credit. It also allows you to bypass the ticket line at the tram station and go directly to the tram. They will exchange your cruise voucher for a tramway ticket and stamp your wrist for all-day access to the tram. Ticket prices are the same onboard and at the tram station. ShoreEx Tip: There are often lines waiting to return down the mountain and you may have to wait for multiple cars before you can board and return down to the port. Allow time to return to the city and catch the shuttle back to the ship.
Read BirdTravels's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image SeeDream
1 review
Jun 2015
A great view from the top. There are trails to hike down, but we didn't have enough time before our float plane trip.
Read SeeDream's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image duncan449
3 reviews
Jun 2015
There isn't much at the top, but the view is great.
Read duncan449's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image mountain granny
2 reviews
Jun 2015
The weather was not totally cooperative, which is why we say only "very good." But we really enjoyed seeing and hearing about the bald eagle that is being cared for (she lost a wing in a shooting, so can never be free), and the nature store. The view would be spectacular if it isn't foggy and/or raining!
Read mountain granny's full Pacific Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Daphnie3677
1 review
Jun 2015
Awesome and beautiful
Read Daphnie3677's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image juttackh
1 review
Jun 2015
Fun ride up the mountain and would have been beautiful to hike on trails, but it was raining hard. Nevertheless, we enjoyed the ride.
Read juttackh's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Juneau Visitor Center
Member Image MBHMarietta
1 review
Jun 2015
Great view from up top of the mountain of Juneau area. Guides on the tram were very informative. Movie at nature center and nature center walk were excellent. Really enjoyed this.
Read MBHMarietta's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links

 
Have you taken a cruise before?
Thank you!

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.