Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Juneau Mount Roberts Tramway Excursion Reviews

Juneau Mount Roberts Tramway cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Ride the tram up Mount Roberts and experience the panorama of Juneau and the Inside Passage from 1,800 feet above the city.
Member Image Sally Forth
4 reviews
Aug 2015
We were so lucky to be there on a bright sunny day. The views were stunning. Be sure to watch the movie about the people who first lived in Juneau. The gift shop is probably the best on the whole cruise, with a good mix of affordable items, including hand-crafted artwork.
Read Sally Forth's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image AmazingAsheville
1 review
Aug 2015
The tram was overpriced (about $32 per person) but the view from 1800 feet above Juneau was beautiful. We did a half-mile trail walk.
Read AmazingAsheville's full Silver Shadow cruise review
Provider: Silversea Cruises
Member Image Nautical Nellie
1 review
Jul 2015
The view was spectacular. Once we were on top, there was a cute restaurant with a bar. Great place for a "cold one" high above the tree tops.
Read Nautical Nellie's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image The Q
1 review
Jul 2015
Short but interesting trip to the top. A nature Centre and trails are at the top, with shop. On the day we visited it was very wet and visibility restricted due to weather. Still worth the trip.
Read The Q's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image NwCrsr71
1 review
Jul 2015
We shopped first and then went up the Tram. The Tram staff were excellent and the food in the Restaurant at the top was very good. The views are amazing.
Read NwCrsr71's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image sammie511
1 review
Jul 2015
It was very foggy that morning so we could see much the bottom but we took the trail and have fun hiking
Read sammie511's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image SJCruisers
1 review
Jul 2015
This would have been nice if the weather was better. Rainy and low clouds obstructed what could have been an amazing view.
Read SJCruisers's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Beckaj
4 reviews
Jul 2015
Great views from the top of the Tram were enjoyed on a perfect sunny day where our ship the Solstice was in clear view as well as the port & town. The hike was about 1 mile long through the wood with a lady guide who was charming & informative about this area. After our interesting hike we were treated to tea & snacks -- enjoyed !
Read Beckaj's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image db7425
1 review
Jun 2015
Nice opportunity to explore on your own
Read db7425's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image ironhead48
1 review
Jun 2015
At the top there were trails to follow so we did about a 2 mile trail. What a veiw from on top.
Read ironhead48's full Zaandam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image ihightower
1 review
Jun 2015
Great views from on top if it's a clear day. If not, wait a little while and it might clear up. We saved $1 plus any taxes booking on ship. It was good for all day and since the sun stayed out until past 10 PM it was a great way to see the whole town.
Read ihightower's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image BirdTravels
3 reviews
Jun 2015
Catch the Mount Roberts Tramway 1800 feet above Juneau for a spectacular views and activities for the young and old. The free port shuttle bus takes you from the ship directly to the tramway station. There are multiple trails that start at the tram station. There is an easy half mile Alpine Loop that is an easy walk. Other trails go up to the Father Brown Cross and to the top of Roberts Peak (3 miles). All trails are covered with loose gravel and can get steep and muddy (depending on the weather). There are various marked points-of-interest where you can scan a QR code and get a streaming audio description of the location (the recordings are a bit long and you’ll probably get the general idea after the first minute of the recording). Activities at the top of the tramway include a restaurant, a theater playing a 15 minute film on Tlingit life, totem pole carving, Tlingit natives performances, and a gift shop. ShoreEx Tip: Don’t buy your tickets until you have arrived in Juneau and see what the weather is like. If the weather is raining and overcast, it may not be the best day to go up the tramway. The ShoreEx desk opens early to allow you to buy tickets. ShoreEx Tip: Buying your tickets onboard allows you to use shore excursion credit/shipboard credit. It also allows you to bypass the ticket line at the tram station and go directly to the tram. They will exchange your cruise voucher for a tramway ticket and stamp your wrist for all-day access to the tram. Ticket prices are the same onboard and at the tram station. ShoreEx Tip: There are often lines waiting to return down the mountain and you may have to wait for multiple cars before you can board and return down to the port. Allow time to return to the city and catch the shuttle back to the ship.
Read BirdTravels's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image SeeDream
1 review
Jun 2015
A great view from the top. There are trails to hike down, but we didn't have enough time before our float plane trip.
Read SeeDream's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image duncan449
3 reviews
Jun 2015
There isn't much at the top, but the view is great.
Read duncan449's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image mountain granny
2 reviews
Jun 2015
The weather was not totally cooperative, which is why we say only "very good." But we really enjoyed seeing and hearing about the bald eagle that is being cared for (she lost a wing in a shooting, so can never be free), and the nature store. The view would be spectacular if it isn't foggy and/or raining!
Read mountain granny's full Pacific Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Daphnie3677
1 review
Jun 2015
Awesome and beautiful
Read Daphnie3677's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image juttackh
1 review
Jun 2015
Fun ride up the mountain and would have been beautiful to hike on trails, but it was raining hard. Nevertheless, we enjoyed the ride.
Read juttackh's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Juneau Visitor Center
Member Image MBHMarietta
1 review
Jun 2015
Great view from up top of the mountain of Juneau area. Guides on the tram were very informative. Movie at nature center and nature center walk were excellent. Really enjoyed this.
Read MBHMarietta's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image franl24fan
6 reviews
Jun 2015
Would not book in advance thru ship. You don't receive priority debark, price is same, more flexible in case of weather since there is no refund. It was rainy & cloudy, couldn't see anything from top. Short film, some exhibits. Unless you are going to hike the trails, not worth price.
Read franl24fan's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image stuklein27
1 review
May 2015
Sort of a dud. We have a tramway here in Albuquerque that is much lonnger and higher. Line coming down was very very long.
Read stuklein27's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Sandy from TX
1 review
May 2015
We had complete flexibility as to when we rode the tram and how much time we spent at the top. It is a great viewpoint overlooking the city and the ships below.
Read Sandy from TX's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image NCL2015
1 review
May 2015
No need to book a ride. We purchased our ticket which allows you to ride all day. We had lunch at the Timberline at the top which was very good. Matt our server was great and we learned some local history. No time to hike the trails. Gift shop employees were friendly/interactive and knowledgeable. Great photo op.
Read NCL2015's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Mt. Roberts Tramway
Member Image bnight
4 reviews
May 2015
Both excursions were well worth the money. The tram you got to see Juneau from a different perspective. And there are trails and history to see at the top.
Read bnight's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image surgie
1 review
May 2015
The view was nice but not worth $33 each to us. In hindsight we should have skipped this tour. We did not have enough time to do more than look around a bit at the top and come back down.
Read surgie's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Mount Roberts Tramway
Member Image Sewingbear2
1 review
May 2015
Spectacular views! Great gift shop. Super fun photo op as you leave too, I recommend you all do this! Got very close to a bald eagle, they are really huge up close!
Read Sewingbear2's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image mya603
1 review
May 2015
The ride up was very pretty. And the view from top was wonderful. And it was nice to see Lady Baltimore. The trails were nice to walk on too. It was sunny that day and beautiful up there.
Read mya603's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image GetReal2
2 reviews
May 2015
A relatively inexpensive way to view the natural beauty of the Juneau area. Once exiting the tram, the wife and I made a hike up to the summit of Mt Roberts. It was an awesome view, well worth the one hour hike up. There was still plenty of snow present, and it was melting, causing the slippery and muddy conditions on the trail. I would recommend water proof hiking boots, and a walking stick for balance.
Read GetReal2's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Jtangel27
1 review
Aug 2014

We stayed on the ship until around 4:00 PM, when we got off and took a five minute walk from the port to the Mount Roberts Tramway station. We had booked a ticket up the mountain through Carnival. The ticket gives you unlimited rides throughout the day, and you can spend as long as you like on the top of the mountain. The ride is about five minutes long, and it’s got a fantastic view of Juneau from beginning to end. There is a gift shop and restaurant at the top, as well as a nature center, where you can see a captive Bald Eagle and learn about the local ecology. We only spent about an hour on the mountain, but we really could’ve stayed all day. There’s plenty of sights and trails to check out, and it’s a really neat experience.

Read Jtangel27's full Carnival Miracle cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image niceguyneastbay
1 review
Aug 2014

You save $1 buy booking the Mt. Roberts Tram on board the ship. It is easy to walk to from the port if you are docked or you have to be tendered in. If you like to hike there are trails at the top of the hill that you can hike around. There is 1 trail that will take you down to the street from the top of the hill. Just under 3 miles. Have H20 and time with you. I did not do it because it had been raining. Its a fun trip to the top of the hill on the tram.

Read niceguyneastbay's full Zuiderdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image racer72
1 review
Jul 2014

Cool spot for picture taking. Most expensive gift shops in town, buy in town, not on the hill.

Read racer72's full Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image LadyValkyrie
1 review
Not Rated
Jul 2014

Little pricey but worth the trip.

Read LadyValkyrie's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image TSM AND JP
1 review
Jul 2014

The tramway was ok. A ride to the top of Mount Roberts, where there was a gift shop and some hiking trails.

Read TSM AND JP's full Celebrity Century cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image erdrwife
1 review
Not Rated
Jul 2014

We had our eye on the weather all day, and miraculously it cleared around 6:30pm and we went up the Robertson Tram. Great views, great place for photographs. More hiking trails if desired. Also, there is a rescued bald eagle, and a local Tlinget Indian carving a Totem Pole.

Read erdrwife's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Carlsarge
1 review
Jun 2014

The ride offered a great view of Juneau. We were also able to take a small nature walk at the mountain top. We could stay as long as we wanted. Small price for a good experience.

Read Carlsarge's full Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image castles117
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2014

It was great fun! Book independently, not with cruise line, to save money.

Read castles117's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image 56suzy
1 review
Jun 2014

Felt that it was rather pricey to ride this tram. The view at the top of Mt. Roberts was awesome. We hiked to Father Brown's Cross but then it started to rain so we decided to get back to our ship. Had planned to take the tram later to view the movie (and get our moneys worth) but it was raining too hard so we opted to stay on the ship.

Read 56suzy's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Pauline Shirrefs
1 review
Jun 2014

Gondola felt safe. Limited options on top of mountain. saw film - good. Looked at shops - not a shopper so didn't buy anything. Interesting to see the eagle up close and hear of her history. Impressive nest. Didn't walk in the bush. Bit freaked out at thought of meeting a bear. You might get bitten or stung whilst walking in Australia's bush, but you won't get eaten ! Loved the Red Dog saloon. Great atmosphere, entertainment, spunky waiters. Spent quite a while there.

Read Pauline Shirrefs's full Zuiderdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Dolphin3
2 reviews
May 2014

Once we were back in town we went to Mount Roberts Tram. The ship docks directly across from the tramway. Mt. Roberts Tram is Juneau’s top rated attraction. You ride in an enclosed gondola up the 1800 feet level of Mt. Roberts for an expansive view of Alaska. At the top is an array of things to do and see. The cost $32/pp roundtrip. We hiked around the mountain top for awhile and took some more spectacular photos. We ended our day at the Red Dog Saloon-278 So. Franklin St.
It is known for saw dust floors, animal head walls, Wyatt Earps gun behind the bar, and it is very crowded. Its a great place to grab a bite to eat and a drink (or two). You must try a drink they are known for, it's called the duck fart (Bailey’s Kahlua, Crown). It was delicious. We headed back to the ship with great memories of Juneau.

Read Dolphin3's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image hwattlew
1 review
Sep 2013

Loved the ride up and the spectacular view. Added bonus was the movie in the visitor's center along with the family musical group.

Read hwattlew's full Oosterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image cruz'n bug
1 review
Sep 2013

Incredible views. The restaurant serves the best seafood chowder we have ever had. Their fish and chips are fantastic! Good selection of beers; friendly and efficient service.

Read cruz'n bug's full Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Coco Chanel 1
1 review
Aug 2013

Great trip- hiking

Read Coco Chanel 1's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image tverdon
1 review
Aug 2013

Gorgeous views from the top!

Read tverdon's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Crentist
1 review
Not Rated
Aug 2013

We had gorgeous weather in Juneau. In fact, it was probably too hot. We didn't book whale watching through the ship. Instead, we found an operator on the dock. They took us by bis to the ship, and then right away out to look for the whales. Very organized and friendly. On the way, they spotted a bald eagle perched on a post so they drove slowly around it so everyone could get a good view. Then we went out to several spots to look at the whales, which were plentiful. A great experience!

The bus then took us to mendenhall glacier, which, while nice, was somewhat of a disappointment after all the build up. Probably global warming is to blame, because the glacier was not as magisterial as we had been anticipating.

The only real problem was the return trip to the dock. When we got to the glacier, the bus driver pointed out where to pick up the return bus, at the top or bottom of the hour. There were no signs at the stop, and what he didn't say was that many different tour companies used the same stop. So the line was extremely lengthy and there was a lot of confusion in the crowd as to which bus we could board. It turned out we could board any bus but we didn't know that and there was almost a stampede.

Read Crentist's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Rev T-Bone
1 review
Aug 2013

Juneau had a clear, warm and sunny weather, which we were told, was not the norm. My boys and I took the Mt. Roberts Tramway to the top and did some hiking and enjoyed a free show on Tlingit Native culture and a free musical production, as well. We enjoyed spectacular views of the city and port, as well. My wife and mother-in-law took a tour to the Mendenhall Glacier which they enjoyed very much. Once, again there is a large number of activities available for shore excursions. After departing Juneau in the early afternoon we cruised into Tracy Arm and up to the Sawyer Glacier. This fjord-like passage has gorgeous scenery and terminates at the glacier. The turn-around at the head of the fjord was very interesting, as it requires the ship to turn 180 degrees on it's own length.

Read Rev T-Bone's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Peaker4k
1 review
Not Rated
Aug 2013

The Tramway ride was just the beginning. A short film outlines the Tlingit culture, introduced by a woman who greets you in the unique Tlingit language and translates as she goes along. A restaurant with a deck providing wonderful views to the northeast offers locally sourced fare and Alaskan draft beer (as well as the other kind). A trail system allows visitors of various fitness levels to obtain even more spectacular views than those available at the tram terminus (which are none too shabby themselves). We saw ptarmigan on the trail to Father Brown's Cross. There is a nature center, rescued bald eagle, and a gift store, which features Alaskan and Native Made items.

Read Peaker4k's full Sapphire Princess cruise review
Provider: Goldbelt tours
Member Image yinittner
1 review
Jul 2013

Tons of land tour operators in downtown area offering tour packages that were much cheaper than the cruiselines. Mount Roberts was very scenic and and tramway was right in the middle of downtown Juneau. The Flight Deck which was at the edge of downtown offered really good fish tacos!

Read yinittner's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Mount Roberts Tramway
Member Image BJS
3 reviews
Jul 2013

Beautiful day with beautiful views but $31 per person was horribly expensive just for a view. There was a family doing a musical performance but the room was so hot we had to leave. The trails were steep in places so we were unable to take them. We had been to Juneau 3 other times and had done other excursions which were a much better value. I would not recommend this excursion unless there was nothing else to do.

Read BJS's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image karen of PA
2 reviews
Not Rated
May 2013

Beautiful scenery. Great Tlingit presentation.

Read karen of PA's full Sapphire Princess cruise review
Provider: on our own
Member Image MSO4STATIV
2 reviews
Sep 2012
You can ride up & down the tram all day. Good to take after an excursion.
Read MSO4STATIV's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Bradmajors
1 review
Sep 2012
Great; well maintained trail that is not too steep. Did the entire mountaintop trail and it was extremely well marked. Well worth the trip. Dont take the trail down to downtown Juneau; we heard of one couple that missed their float plane trip. It is a long trail; and slippery. The flyer warns you of this but its worth mentioning. Line was not too bad at 1pm; and left us plenty of time to make the ship.
Read Bradmajors's full Oosterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image singlechannel
2 reviews
Aug 2012
Awesome views, great restaurant at the top.
Read singlechannel's full Oosterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image shadfish
1 review
Aug 2012
There are great views available up here although, being Juneau, you might not see much because of the clouds and mist. I rated it as a 4 because the clouds were down on that day! You can also get a meal at the restaurant which, among other things, serves locally caught crab. This is also the starting point for some good hikes, short and long.
Read shadfish's full Celebrity Century cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image northwestcruiser2
1 review
Aug 2012
We didn't book the tram in advance with the cruise ship but there was no problem getting it ourselves. The building entrance is less than a 5 minute walk off the ship. We decided to wait until after lunch to give the clouds a chance to burn off and we were rewarded with great views. It's definitely a leisurely ride that anyone can enjoy. My roommate has a fear of heights but had no problem with this ride because it was so smooth and effortless. At the top of the tram ride we enjoyed the small store, a visit to a bald eagle and a brief show (free). The entire experience including the ride up and down was less than an hour but we felt it was quaint and well worth it for the view.
Read northwestcruiser2's full Celebrity Century cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image aglow
1 review
Aug 2012
nothing to write home about
Read aglow's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Lazywaste
1 review
Aug 2012
There really isnt anything impressive about the tramway, except the price. They charge quite a bit to get up to the top. It was raining the day we went so there really wasnt much to do besides shop in their store and then go back down.
Read Lazywaste's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image cdnjma
2 reviews
Aug 2012
We were supposed to take the Mendenhall Glacier helicopter tour, but due to weather, all excursions involving flights were cancelled. We ended up taking the shuttle into town and getting tickets at the Mount Roberts Tramway. The ride up/down is spectacular and we saw plenty of Bald Eagles. Once up on Mt. Roberts, we saw a notice that The Alaska String Band was performing in their theater, for free. We went in, and were amazed. This family group of parents, two daughters and a son, all play multiple instruments, and have beautiful singing voices. They narrated part of the time on the history of Alaska, the native-style clothing they were wearing, and some of their personal stories. We were so impressed, that we made a point to buy one of their DVDs after the concert was finished. If you have a chance to see The Alaska String Band, or Google them, do so. We took the nature walk part way up the mountain, and saw another Bald Eagle up close. This one was injured and is permanently in captivity. Beautiful creature up close. The views along the nature walk and scenic overlooks are spectacular.
Read cdnjma's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image CruisingAg01
3 reviews
Jul 2012
Afterwards we purchased Mt. Roberts Tram tickets on the pier. This was a nice view, but we didn't have time to do anything up top other than see the captive bald eagle. There is a restaurant and gift shop, but we were running out of time. I would have loved to hike up and ride the tram down or vice versa like we saw some locals do. Length of time in port was okay, but we could have stayed longer.
Read CruisingAg01's full Carnival Spirit cruise review
Provider: bought tickets directly on pier
Member Image LoungeFly
1 review
Jul 2012
Mendenhall glacier was phenomenal. Just went to the visitor center, and then walked up to the falls by the glacier and took some spectacular pictures. It was surreal to be so close to a glacier. And almost made up for missed Helicopter Glacier landing tour.
Read LoungeFly's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Self
Member Image limeyjohnny
1 review
Jul 2012
Beautiful scenery but a lot of "self" guided tour. Mt Roberts Tram had great scenery but very boring.
Read limeyjohnny's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image vanman1010
1 review
Jul 2012
Great views, great trails atop the Glacier. We watched a very impressive movie about the history of the area and the indigenous peoples. There is an injured (and recovering) eagle on display at the top.
Read vanman1010's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image hyker1
7 reviews
Jul 2012
We had a BIG rain in Juneau, which isn't unusual, since that part of AK is rain-forest. We'd planned the Mt. Roberts Tramway which is economical, has great views, and sometimes great wildlife. We did the short nature hike despite the rain, and it was actually fun, even though we looked like drowned rats once we got back aboard the boat. Fortunately, the ceiling was high enough for us to enjoy grey, rainy views, and overall, it was a fun day.
Read hyker1's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image cathysmom
1 review
Jul 2012
Tram was average. Restaurant was disappointing
Read cathysmom's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image momklaus
1 review
Jun 2012
This was awesome! View was amazing. We got lots of pictures. Hiked on top of the mountain in the snow. We are from Texas (Houston) don't see much snow here. This was a fun part of our trip.
Read momklaus's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image BenjiRodney
9 reviews
Jun 2012
The ride up 1800 plus feet and the views were amazing. We had lunch up here as it was less crowded than down in the town.
Read BenjiRodney's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image calmpets
3 reviews
Jun 2012
Really enjoyed the tour, but we personally could have done with slightly less time at Mendenhall Glacier, and slightly better weather for the tram. :-)
Read calmpets's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image MeMeTooToo
1 review
Jun 2012
When on the tram ride, if they would have shoveled a short area, more people could have enjoyed more of the scenery. People come a long way and spend a lot for thier vacations, just a little extra effort could have made for a better experience.
Read MeMeTooToo's full Oosterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image bram48
1 review
Jun 2012
Mount Roberts tram was alright if you like snow and history
Read bram48's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image neptune14
1 review
Jun 2012
Wait to buy the tickets at the station on shore for the same price as on the ship-don't bother if it's rainy/foggy because you won't be able to see anything.
Read neptune14's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Retired Educator
1 review
Jun 2012
Because of my COPD we did not want to be locked into a fixed tour so opted to purchase through Princess Excursions on line the self guided open end tram tickets. As stated it was a very short walk to the tram base and even though my WH was carrying my oxygen i didn't need it there on the pier area. The slow ride up to the top at 1,800' was fantastic and we got several nice photographs of the many cruise ships in port that day. Once at the top I was surprised to discover that my breathing was doing fine but due to our early in the year arrival most of the trails were closed due to snow and mud. We watched the short "film" about the history and culture of the Native Peoples and saw the exhibits but had mad lunch plans for the Red Dog Saloon so didn't eat at the restaurant at the top... That can be one of the "firsts" next trip.
Read Retired Educator's full Sea Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image pnay
1 review
Jun 2012
Foggy for both times rode the tram. It was $29 ticket whether you ride one time or many times that day.
Read pnay's full Sapphire Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image brock!1
1 review
Jun 2012
Beautiful, awesome views (except for the rain!)
Read brock!1's full Volendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image pablo312
1 review
Jun 2012
We rode the Mt Roberts Tram while in Juneau. It was a sunny, clear day. Amazing views of the city and surrounding area. Lots of attractions and hiking trails on top of the mountain. This is a great tour to do on a clear day.
Read pablo312's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Mt Robert Tram operator
Member Image Binary Bonnie
1 review
May 2012
Very expensive ride up the hill for a terrific view of Juneau. The museum was good and the nature shop was great. We took this since bad weather had grounded our sea plane tour.
Read Binary Bonnie's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image travellover3868
1 review
May 2012
Given tickets by a kind stranger while walking into the town after our float plane had been cancelled.
Read travellover3868's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image deschoolie
2 reviews
Not Rated
May 2012
Very satisfied with the tours at both the Glacier and the tram.
Read deschoolie's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.