Juneau Whale Watching Excursion Reviews

Juneau Whale Watching cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Experience an intimate encounter with Humpback and Orca whales on a scenic whale watching tour around Juneau harbor.
Member Image ramin01
1 review
Aug 2016
Very good experience with the boat company and tour guide.
Read ramin01's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Tigs01
1 review
Aug 2016
Great guide and boat driver. Very helpful, knowledgeable and friendly. Saw whales bubble net feeding. Guide also had photos and baleen to show. Great boat with Windows that fully opened. And could walk outside.
Read Tigs01's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image shankster
2 reviews
Aug 2016
The whale watching was disappointing. We did see whales but didn't breach.
Read shankster's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image madigan008
1 review
Aug 2016
saw some whales
Read madigan008's full Zaandam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image CurlySue2
1 review
Aug 2016
Good experience, but not the excursion we'd planned to spend our $ on...
Read CurlySue2's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Pjpeveto
1 review
Aug 2016
Saw lots of whales
Read Pjpeveto's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image MBrag
1 review
Aug 2016
Excellent whale watching experience with Alaska Galore
Read MBrag's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Alaska Galore
Member Image VickiRC
2 reviews
Aug 2016
We were cancelled from the helicopter/glacier landing with Shore Trips. We got an Immediate! credit. Walked over to the pier tours and grabbed seats on the next whale watch.
Read VickiRC's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image mmousai
2 reviews
Aug 2016
Fantastic Experience. Steve our captain was great. We saw "bubble netting" of whales. We certainly recommend them.
Read mmousai's full Volendam cruise review
Provider: Juneau Tours
Member Image msidescooter
3 reviews
Aug 2016
This was by far one of the best parts of the cruise. We booked an early morning adult only package which included whale watching, a trip to Mendenhall Glacier, and a salmon bake. For the whale watching, we were 2 of 4 adults on this boat built for 40 customers. What an amazing experience as we were able to relax on the bow of the boat while we watched humpback whales bubble net feed for over an hour and a half. At one point the whales were maybe 10 feet off the bow!
Read msidescooter's full Disney Wonder cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image lchen428@gmail.com
1 review
Jul 2016
The whales were active and one even breached, which was spectacular.
Read lchen428@gmail.com's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image GroupAlaska
1 review
Jul 2016
Saw whales and seals!
Read GroupAlaska's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image JimAbby
1 review
Jul 2016
High speed jet boat, good naturalist on board (2 of them), smaller crowd, awesome sightings: saw a breach not 50 yards away, and had another dive right under the boat.
Read JimAbby's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image isewnsew@gmail.com
1 review
Jul 2016
In the afternoon we took the “Best of Juneau Whale Watching” excursion and had another great time. This was probably the highlight of my whole vacation. We saw nine hump-back whales feeding in a “bubble net” formation that was just amazing. We would definitely suggest these excursions for first-time travelers to Alaska.
Read isewnsew@gmail.com's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Kevin R
1 review
Jul 2016
Once again, our guides were great and very knowledgable. They knew where to look and took us to an area were we were able to watch eleven Humpback whales feeding. We also had the privilege of coming upon a pod of Orcas (Killer Whales) and followed them for awhile.
Read Kevin R's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image westwindies
1 review
Jul 2016
Plenty of whales and had a great time
Read westwindies's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image MrsRoper
1 review
Jul 2016
Very knowledgable and a great tour. Kind of feels like a safari tour with all the boat captains communicating and following the whales around. Saw many boats with WAY too many people. Ours only had 8 people on board! If I knew how many whales I would see from my balcony on the ship, though, I might have done another tour to spread out the experiences but this tour was really great.
Read MrsRoper's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Harv and Marv
Member Image avocatnla
1 review
Jul 2016
great company fantastic boat and price.
Read avocatnla's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Juneau Tours and Whale Watch
Member Image goblualum
1 review
Jul 2016
Amazing experience! Small boat with 13 of us. Excellent driver and narrator. They gave us a memorable experience. Told us about whale habits, what we could expect to see. Multiple sightings and 2 breaches. I highly recommend this tour.
Read goblualum's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Harv and Marvs
Member Image SciMaestroHou
1 review
Jul 2016
Lots of whales (way off in distance) no bathrooms on boat (Gastineau Guides)
Read SciMaestroHou's full Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image scotchies
1 review
Jul 2016
Preferred the Orcas in Victoria, but ok to do once.
Read scotchies's full Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image DonMac451
1 review
Jul 2016
Best whale watching trip I have ever been on. Whales put on a great show for us. My only complaint was that our boat was a little over crowded, meaning we photographers were a bit cramped for space.
Read DonMac451's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image suzidc@yahoo.com
1 review
Jul 2016
This was our shortest shore day, we booked our excursion where the shuttle bus dropped us off at. I am originally from Hawaii, so I had thought I did not want to see whales, as they were a common sight at home. We booked a whale watching expedition with Whale Tales on the Big Mike boat (thankful we did not have any excursions planned because many were canceled due to the fog and rain). I can not speak highly enough about the crew on the Big Mike. The boat was comfortable, dry and heated. They had a money back guarantee that we would see whales (and would put us in a hotel if we missed our ship) I saw the work that has been put in and relationships that the captain has formed with other captains to help provide a top notch experience. He was in radio contact with other ships to find out where the whales were and because of those cultivated relationships he was able to rush out to see whales bubble net feeding, something I never saw in Hawaii. It is rare to catch it, but because of the crew on the big mike we were able to see a once in a life time event. (while being dry and warm may I add) We got back in time to hit the Harley Davidson Dealership (a must in every port for us) and a few other shops.
Read suzidc@yahoo.com's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Whale Tails- Big Mike
Member Image 17dec
1 review
Jul 2016
Saw amazing whales bottle netting feeding, a rarity. It was pouring, but the whales made it worthwhile
Read 17dec's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image ledaebel
2 reviews
Jul 2016
Wonderful, great people and experience
Read ledaebel's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?