Juneau Whale Watching Excursion Reviews

Juneau Whale Watching cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Experience an intimate encounter with Humpback and Orca whales on a scenic whale watching tour around Juneau harbor.
Member Image harpcat
1 review
Jun 2017
I liked the fact it was a very small vessel with only about 20 of us on it. Gastineau Guiding was the outfit booked with through Princess. Kim was a very good guide and we saw many humpback whales. The second part of the tour was a hike through Tongas and Mendenhall glacier viewing.
Read harpcat's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image KC12
1 review
Jun 2017
Glacier was great needed more time there, whale watching amazing saw a lot of whales
Read KC12's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: AK shore tours
Member Image rusticfurnituremaker
2 reviews
Jun 2017
Jayleen offered an amazing experience on her wonderful boat for the 6 of us. (Not some huge cattle boat like others we saw). She and her crew were very knowledgeable about the whales, the history of Juneau, and offered a great eco tour.
Read rusticfurnituremaker's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Jayleen's Alaska
Member Image sweetp0618
2 reviews
Jun 2017
We had a great time on this tour. I would highly recommend this operator.
Read sweetp0618's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Harv and Marv 14 person
Member Image goddessmama
2 reviews
Jun 2017
Great whale watch with Juneau tours. We saw two whales, at times quite close to the boat by their own doing, several dives with tail flukes showing and a few lunges and tail wagging. Gorgeous view of the Mendenhall glacier from the boat as they left the dock, look back! Whale was in the harbor when we arrived!
Read goddessmama's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Juneau Tours
Member Image Frozenshades
1 review
May 2017
Great waters, a humpback whale came right up to the boat.
Read Frozenshades's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image coffee0417
1 review
May 2017
We had a great experience and saw whales, seals and sea lions. Great guides who were knowledgeable.
Read coffee0417's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image jrg0214
1 review
May 2017
We saw about 4 whales
Read jrg0214's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image CT00331199
1 review
May 2017
Great crew on the whale watching boat. Explains lots about the natural environment, whales, and the town. Free hot chocolate/coffee/tea offered, alongside snacks. Saw lots of whales, in about four different locations.
Read CT00331199's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image wranglerkb
4 reviews
May 2017
This was so much fun - tons of whales, lots of sightings - just beautiful!
Read wranglerkb's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Dolphin Jet Boat Tours
Member Image sonvoltken6
11 reviews
May 2017
This was our favorite tour by far. We did Mendenhall Glacier and Whale Watching. The glacier was cool and we had just the right amount of time at the visitor's center. We got some cool pictures. But the whale watching - phenomenal. We saw humpback, seals and a pod of Orca. We watched the Orca for perhaps 30 minutes, as they were spy hopping and showing off for us maybe 50 years off the boat. And the weather was also outstanding there. It was sunny and 70 plus. We returned from Whale Watching at 8:30 and were too exhausted to visit town, since we were up early that day for the Fjord cruising.
Read sonvoltken6's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image argyllsock
4 reviews
May 2017
The highlight of the cruise. Upclose viewing of orcas, sea otters, and humpback whales. Friendly staff. A must!
Read argyllsock's full Volendam cruise review
Provider: Dolphin Tours
Member Image robandlil
4 reviews
May 2017
Mendenhall Glacier is only viewed from across the lake, you'll see better glaciers from the ship. The whale watching thru Juneau tours, was a waste. Yes we saw whales, but they were tiny black dots far away.
Read robandlil's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image lramirez2000
1 review
May 2017
Whale watching, rain forest hiking and Mendenhall glacier viewing. Loved the guides! Saw lots of whales. Loved the whole excursion but try to get in a trip to the Mendenhall visitor center too if you can, for a closer view of the glacier and waterfall.
Read lramirez2000's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image TX Sailor 47
2 reviews
May 2017
Boat was big and the windows interfered with good photos on this gloomy cold rainy day. Another day you could go up top for better photo ops. Guide was great, knew her stuff and there was hot coco! So welcome on a typical Alaskan day! We enjoyed the information that was shared, we saw whales, they just weren't real active...don't think they like the gloom either!
Read TX Sailor 47's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image atlcruizr
6 reviews
May 2017
We did a combo tour for the Mendenhall glacier and whale watching through Juneau Tours. This company is great and we enjoyed both locations immensley. The whale watching was very interesting and we saw a number of humpback whales. Keep in mind that it is MUCH colder out on the water than it is on land. Dress appropriately!
Read atlcruizr's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Juneau Tours
Member Image mojo0323
1 review
May 2017
During whale watching, wife turned to me through tear-filled eyes and declared this to be the highlight of her trip!
Read mojo0323's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Journey_On
1 review
May 2017
We saw a lot of whales on our tour. We saw sea lions, too. Fun tour!
Read Journey_On's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Harv & Marv
Member Image Cruzinwoody
1 review
May 2017
We saw a few humpback whales it was great
Read Cruzinwoody's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image CruzinTampa
2 reviews
May 2017
Combination whale watching and a visit to Mendenhall Glacier. Tour operator provide a shuttle back to port form the glacier, so you could set your own time-table for travel. Bus driver to Auke Bay ( retired Coast Guard) was most entertaining.
Read CruzinTampa's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Juneau Tours
Member Image AAviator
1 review
May 2017
Whale watching can be hit-or-miss depending on the show the whales want to put on, but the tour operator tries hard to find 'em
Read AAviator's full Oosterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image MrsFish64
1 review
Apr 2017
Went out on the St Peter. Captain and crew did all they could to see whales. Seals, porpoise, Eagles and whales. Comfortable ride with free hot cocoa.
Read MrsFish64's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image TexasDavid7
5 reviews
Apr 2017
Saw lots of whales. Recommend this tour.
Read TexasDavid7's full Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Swandi n Meow
2 reviews
Sep 2016
We rode a small boat to the open water and able to see couple whales, sea lions, otters.
Read Swandi n Meow's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Juneau Tour
Member Image BryanHS
1 review
Sep 2016
This was well worth the effort. It was well organised, the crew were very professional and we saw Orcas, Whales, Seals and Bald Eagles.
Read BryanHS's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?