Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Juneau Whale Watching Excursion Reviews

Juneau Whale Watching cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Experience an intimate encounter with Humpback and Orca whales on a scenic whale watching tour around Juneau harbor.
Member Image ChrisVaile
1 review
May 2016
Tour staff was great, and we saw TONS of whales as well as sea lions, eagles, and beautiful scenery.
Read ChrisVaile's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image CyndiSue
1 review
May 2016
Would have been better if I could have avoided the bus load of people for the trip to the whale quest.
Read CyndiSue's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Stewart17
1 review
May 2016
Independently booked and recommended with only four passengers - brilliant.
Read Stewart17's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image poinsettiaplate
1 review
Apr 2016
This was a well organized shore excursion; the boat was not crowded, the viewing windows were good, there was plenty of staff. We saw a number of whales and other wildlife. Juneau is another good walking town with nice shops.
Read poinsettiaplate's full Crystal Serenity cruise review
Provider: Crystal Cruises
Member Image Angelrelaxer
1 review
Sep 2015
We had a nice clean boat that two young women lead the tour with. They were enjoyable and happy to answer all our questions. We saw Orcas, Humpback whales and their baby along with lazy harbor seals on a buey.
Read Angelrelaxer's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Tuasdad
2 reviews
Sep 2015
Seeing the humpback whales feed on the surface 15-50 meters from the boat was worth the entire trip. It was an incredible experience and for us, well worth the price.
Read Tuasdad's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image coffeegirl1958
1 review
Sep 2015
We were so blessed on this excursion because we saw so many humpback whales that it was difficult to maneuver around them and get back to the ship in time.
Read coffeegirl1958's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Bwk31525
2 reviews
Sep 2015
Amazing! We saw dozens of humpbacks and the captain of the tour boat even took us to see sea lions relaxing on a buoy.
Read Bwk31525's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Dolphin Jet Boat Tours
Member Image glorialagos
7 reviews
Sep 2015
We had an amazing whale watching excursion. The boat was surrounded by whales and we saw many bubble net feedings. (funny - we were told how extremely rare this is but I have just read through the past few months of reviews and am reading dozens of "rare bubble net feeding" reviews). Nonetheless, we had great weather and really enjoyed the excursion. We have only rarely booked a ship excursion due to high prices and large groups but we were very happy with this one.
Read glorialagos's full Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image tlewi999
1 review
Sep 2015
Excellent......2.5 hours of whales.
Read tlewi999's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image ewormuth
1 review
Aug 2015
We had a wild ride on a jet boat out to where the whales were and saw many, many whales. It was a great time.
Read ewormuth's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Dolphin Tours
Member Image HoustonMomof2
1 review
Aug 2015
it was raining and cold but the whale watching boat was warm and the captain did everything possible to make sure we were able to see humpbacks as close as possible without danger. The guides were very knowledgeable and friendly.
Read HoustonMomof2's full Silver Shadow cruise review
Provider: Silversea Cruises
Member Image yyzatc
3 reviews
Aug 2015
Saw very few whales, none close up and no other wildlife
Read yyzatc's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image TucsonTeeter
1 review
Aug 2015
We saw whales. The weather was not very nice and the return trip to the harbor made me seasick.
Read TucsonTeeter's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Blue Dolphin Jet Boat Tour
Member Image retsofmamie
1 review
Aug 2015
Do the evening whale watch, saw bubble feeding whales at least five times, spectacular
Read retsofmamie's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image chilled57
1 review
Aug 2015
We saw only Humpbacks on this tour and they were plentiful. One actually breached out the water - awesome sight.
Read chilled57's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image MikeD4134
2 reviews
Aug 2015
New boat, found us many whales to observe, including what we were told is very rare, the whales were bubble feeding, incredible experience.
Read MikeD4134's full Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image ontariocruiser2010
1 review
Aug 2015
Record number of whales sighted including bubble net feeding!
Read ontariocruiser2010's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Swampgirl2
1 review
Aug 2015
Saw a mother whale teaching her baby how to breach( jump out of the water) and later, saw a pod of whales bubble feed. Was exceptional! Just loved it!
Read Swampgirl2's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image golden6911
1 review
Aug 2015
Allen Tours out of Auke bay ran this cruise and it was a good one. I have been on New England whale watches before and these people did a good job of explaining the various wild life behaviors and showing us a wide variety of stuff. We saw a pod of humpbacks bubble feeding, seals, sea lions and some eagles.
Read golden6911's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image deedee0814
1 review
Aug 2015
Great excursion. Saw lots of whales eating and one breached.Book before the cruise, it will cost more on the cruise.
Read deedee0814's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Colleen and Steve
1 review
Aug 2015
The Discovery Tour even though basic science was enjoyable due to the captain and tour leader. Seeing Humpback Whales bubble feeding was awesome.
Read Colleen and Steve's full Oosterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Candocruises
2 reviews
Aug 2015
A little disorganized and wasted time waiting for people who were 20 minutes late however the tour was late enough that we were the only boats in the area and had no problems maneuvering so we could see the whales.
Read Candocruises's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image dianaleeq
1 review
Aug 2015
It was one of the most exciting tours of all. The captain of the whale boat said he had never witnessed such an exciting tour himself as we saw 40 whales. they were a magnificent sight!
Read dianaleeq's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image raven21
1 review
Aug 2015
It was incredible! We saw lots of humpback whales right next to us and then a large pod of orca came right next to us as well! According to our tour guides, the orca were unusual to see in such large numbers. One of the tour guides said she'd never seen a total of that many in the course of the two years she'd worked on the tour! It was well worth the price! ($125 per person and 3 hours long)
Read raven21's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Viator

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.