Become a Cruise Insider
Tips, deals and more in your inbox.
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Juneau Whale Watching Excursion Reviews

Juneau Whale Watching cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Experience an intimate encounter with Humpback and Orca whales on a scenic whale watching tour around Juneau harbor.
Member Image funkypanda
1 review
Sep 2014

A couple of things with the whale watching. You have to take a 20 minute ride to the boat. The boat we were in had windows and when we spotted any whales, the boat would get as close as it could (it wasn't that close) and you had to either go to the front or the back of the boat. Our boat had about 20 people. I think a smaller boat is better than a bigger boat but it really depends on how close you get to the whales. The windows definitely keep it warm but you have to get out of your seat to go outside and see the whales. One last thing, once the boat stops and is floating, you have to hope the whales come in your direction to get any close up views. Oh, expect to see lots of boats chasing the whales, I think at one point I counted 20 boats.

Read funkypanda's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Azure Moon
6 reviews
Not Rated
Sep 2014

Absolutely the best excursion ever!

Read Azure Moon's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image zetaome
1 review
Sep 2014

The tour we took was called "Whale Quest and Orca Point Lodge" and was lovely.

We had to tender in Juneau, so the day didn't get off to a great start - we wound up waiting for quite a few people so that we could start our tour. I wish Carnival would get each tour onto the tender one at a time, instead of calling 5 or 6 tours and having everyone get on whichever tender is free. It would save a lot of unnecessary waiting.

Once everyone was finally there, we were able to start our wee drive out to the Allen Marine Marina where we boarded a lovely boat. When we got out to an area where we were able to start animal watching we saw several whales who were playing right near the boat, as well as sea lions! Great times onboard! There are both indoor seating areas and outdoor standing areas, and we all had good views!

Orca Point is a lovely lodge - we only had 1 hour there, and we could have used at least 1 more! We had a choice of salmon and/or chicken kebabs, a variety of salads and rice and lemonade. Dessert was an amazing brownie. After eating you could explore the beachfront.

We then went back to the boat and headed back to town. We had about 2 hours left before all aboard, so we strolled around town and then got into the giant line for the tender back. We waited about 45 minutes before we got on the next tender back.

Great tour - horrible tendering in Juneau.

Read zetaome's full Carnival Miracle cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image dfholly
1 review
Not Rated
Sep 2014

This was a good excursion.

Read dfholly's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image mfh066
1 review
Not Rated
Sep 2014

We went on a Mendenhall Glacier and Whale Watching tour. The Mendenhall Glacier tour took us to the visitor's center and offered about 2 hours to walk around and explore. We only walked the two shortest paths close to the visitor center but both still offered great views of the glacier and surrounding areas.
The whale watching tour on Auke Bay, operated by Allen Marine Tours, was great. The boat was comfy inside with open air decks above that offered an incredible view of the surrounding area and wildlife. We ended up seeing about 7 different humpback whales. They were in small groups of 2 or 3 then all came together in one area. In some cases they were only 20 or 30 feet off the side of boat when they would surface for air. Watching those majestic creatures was a highlight of our trip. We also saw a group of 3 or 4 Dall's porpoises, some bald eagles and a group of Steller Sea Lions.

Read mfh066's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image petals1958
1 review
Sep 2014

We had a great time . the guide was very informative. The time of year it didi not require any extra layers. wish we could of seen a whole whale . but the tails and water spouts were good.

Read petals1958's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Tresa J
1 review
Not Rated
Aug 2014

AMAZING. Our guide said we had an amazing viewing. The whales were very active. Saw breaching, tail waiving, and them playing with sea lions. After the whale viewing we went to Orca Point Lodge and had a nice lunch of salmon, salads, and great brownies. The guides and the staff at the lodge were all very nice. Overall this was a great excursion and I would highly recommend it. The trip afterwards to Sawyer Glazier was breathtaking. The scenery, ice bergs, and the glacier itself were all amazing. Not to be missed.

Read Tresa J's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image drref
1 review
Aug 2014

great whale watching, great boat, great narrator

Read drref's full Volendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image cruisergirl1969
1 review
Not Rated
Aug 2014

The whale watching was amazing. The captain did so much to make our 2 hours as memorable as possible. We saw humpbacks playing and feeding then an uncommon sight of about 20 or so orka feeding. So much fun. However the cruise line said they had the best prices....not so. We paid about 1/2 of what they were charging for a nice boat that held about 12 of us. It had an inside cabin with drinks. A lot of time for great pictures.

Read cruisergirl1969's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image goingfunplaces1
1 review
Aug 2014

Whale watching and Mendenhall Glacier tour was definitely worth it. The whale watching captain took us to where whales had been spotted and they were spouting and swimming all around.

Read goingfunplaces1's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image grobma
3 reviews
Not Rated
Aug 2014

There only six of us on the boat for our whale-watching tour and our captain was both entertaining and informative. What was especially awesome was that we were there on the one day all summer when whales were sighted doing cooperative feeding, also known as bubble feeding. We saw seven whales working together to round up schools of fish. AMAZING!!

Read grobma's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Harv & Marv
Member Image jjws
1 review
Not Rated
Aug 2014

Great - saw tons of humpbacks and other wildlife. Nice amount of time on water. Nice savings vs NCL prices.

Read jjws's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Dolphin Jet Boat Tours
Member Image TonyLon
3 reviews
Aug 2014

We hadn't booked anything through Crusie Line and waited until the morning to book something independently ashore (The weather was still fairly damp so decided against taking teh tamway to teh top of the mountain)

We got a good deal on a 2 hours Whale Watching trip which was really great. Only a small boat (14 passengers) and the guy did really well at fiinding plenty of hump back whales, plus seals & eagles.

We then got dropped off at Mendenhall Glacier and spent a couple of hours there, including do the walk to Nugget Falls.

Read TonyLon's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image niceguyneastbay
1 review
Not Rated
Aug 2014

I did the evening whale watching tour. It was fun, bit cool as the sun starts to set. We did see some whales. Its a gamble on where the whales are going to be. On the evening tour they serve dinner. Beef, pasta salad, green salad, dessert. You can have coffee beer and wine. Charge for alcohol. Not a issue. Go out and have fun.

Read niceguyneastbay's full Zuiderdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image jimnhil
1 review
Not Rated
Aug 2014

We took a 5 hour excursion with Gastineau Guiding: Mendenhall Glacier photo safari and whale watching. Our guide, Cindy Kern, was exceptional, so we learned a lot about what we were seeing as well as getting some useful tips on talking better photos. The whale watching was excellent, with some great close up encounters with humpbacks. Recommended.

Read jimnhil's full Oosterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image NCSuz
3 reviews
Not Rated
Jul 2014

Although we glimpsed a few whales from the cruise ship, glad we booked the whale watch excursion with Allen Marine because we saw orcas, humpbacks and stellar sea lions up close. Captain Ryan and his crew (Samantha, Carly, Greg and Monica) aboard the St. Gregory catamaran were awesome! Tour bus driver was great too.

Read NCSuz's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image osuffan
1 review
Not Rated
Jul 2014

the town of Juneau is weird. The state capital but you cannot get there driving. Flying or by boat and it is fogged in most of the time. There were a lot more higher quality shops here then in Ketchikan. Many of the same souvenirs just with Juneau sewed on instead of Ketchikan. My mom and I had lunch after the excursion at Tracy's crab Shack. GREAT PLACE! Kind of expensive but everything is in Alaska. We had crab legs, crab cakes, and crab chowder. We tried the scallops. They were disgusting. Stay with crab!!! We ordered two combos.

The Mendenhall Glacier and Whale Watching was awesome. You can get up pretty close to the glacier and there is a huge waterfall that you can stand right beside! Frankly we could have stayed there a little longer. They only give you an hour there. the whale watching was fantastic. We had a great captain and the tour guide was very well spoken and knowledgeable. We saw 7 or 8 humpbacks and got to see a bubble feeding, seals, orcas and of course eagles.

Read osuffan's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image 1768
2 reviews
Not Rated
Jul 2014

the whale watching was fabulous our captain and naturalist were great they were so knowledgeable about the whales and the area. As we went in the summer the humpbacks were bubble feeding the young herring it was AWESOME and after all that we then went to see some Orcas that were in a different bay it was worth every Penny and then some.
Lots to see and do in Juneau as it is the Capital city, museums etc and of course the Mendenhall Glacier that is receding and it's waterfall that keeps getting bigger.

Read 1768's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Juneau tours
Member Image joromay
1 review
Not Rated
Jul 2014

So glad we booked the Mendenhall Glacier, Whale Watching and Wildlife Quest adventure! We were fortunate enough to see Orcas, Humpback Whales, and Sea Lions. There were some bald eagles on the way to the glacier, but I never got to see them. However, the whales were unbelievable! We saw bubble net feeding, one humpback breached twice, and a group of them came up to feed! It was just beautiful and impressive. Nature at it's finest. I was afraid we were not going to get our guaranteed whale sighting, but we got more than we bargained for and was the highlight of our cruise!

Read joromay's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image ebert52
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2014

Took tour with Gastineau Guiding. Our guide Richard was very knowledgeable about the area and our captain Scotty found several whales for us to observe. Tour was a lot of fun!

Read ebert52's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image debkaysmith
5 reviews
Not Rated
Jun 2014

We actually took the Rainforest Trails and Whales expedition with a hike through the rainforest, a veiw of Mendenhall Glacier, and then a whale-watching adventure. Our guides were so professional and knowledgeable about the area. We were able to see quite a bit including a small iceberg flip out at the glacier, and several families of humpback whales and orcas. There were eagles, seals, and gorgeous scenery. They cannot guarantee whale sightings, but mid-June seemed the right time to see it all.

Read debkaysmith's full Oosterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Jim Henry
2 reviews
Jun 2014

Fantastic! Close up views of whales and other sea life.

Read Jim Henry's full Statendam cruise review
Provider: harv and Marv's
Member Image guyinjax
1 review
Jun 2014

Weather was bad. Heard some of the ship tours didn't go. We were on a jet boat and went about 23 knots. Were launching off the swells and pounding down again. It was an E ticket ride but I think my back still hurts from the pounding. Really no opportunity to go outside due to the weather.

Saw quite a few whales. Maybe on a better day we would have enjoyed it more.
This tour also included a stop at a salmon hatchery. That was pretty much a joke. Can't really recommend that part.

Read guyinjax's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Dolphin Jet boat tours
Member Image Jplum
1 review
Jun 2014

We saw several small pods of whales , about 100 yards from out boat, and some sea lions on this 2 hour tour. The young crew was very enthusiastic and gave an informative narration. I would recommend this tour, but might look for a company that offers smaller boats, as we saw a couple of small boats that were able to get in closer to the whales.

Read Jplum's full Oosterdam cruise review
Provider: Juneau Whale Watching
Member Image NWLACruiser
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2014

We could not have asked for a better weather day for this excursion. It was sunny and cool but not cold. The naturalist on board provided interesting information about the different species and we were always on the lookout for whales.

There is a small area of land in the middle of the water where an eagle has made its home and he/she quietly sat on a stump ignoring us as we snapped pictures and commented on his/her beauty.

At one point we witnessed a large group of seals sunning themselves on the rocky embankment and with binoculars you could see several of the female seals were still nursing their young.

Whales were a little harder to spot but we did encounter a few. Or, we saw the same one several times. It never breached the water but we were able to watch as it surfaced before diving on three occasions.

These two excursions are at the top of the list for enjoyment.

Read NWLACruiser's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image 56suzy
1 review
Jun 2014

The whale watch was good and we did view a few whales. Dall's porpoises played by our boats. This tour provided salmon spread on a bagel (yummy) and water/coffee too.

Read 56suzy's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Dolphin Jet Boat Tours
Member Image DebbraLee
1 review
Jun 2014

Took the photo safari with whale watching. Whales great! Photo tour, not so much. Skip this part and spend all of your time on the water.

Read DebbraLee's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image gatorent1@aol.com
1 review
Jun 2014

Waste of time and money. Only brief whale tails here and there with poor visibility.

Read gatorent1@aol.com's full Disney Wonder cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image ricklepickle
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2014

We booked the Whale Watching + Mendenhall Glacier excursion because I was concerned about having time to do both during our only 6.5 hours in the port. Although I know people rave about smaller boats, I don't think we missed anything by being in a larger boat. We saw whales galore. Plus we had hot chocolate and hot coffee, and large indoor area to view (important in the rain), and little treats of jams and salmon to nibble on. I wish we had more time at the Glacier, but that was because we had to get back to the ship, not the tour's fault.

Read ricklepickle's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Travelgoer
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2014

Had a marvelous independently booked excursion with Harv and Marv: aboard Riptide with Brian as our captain. We saw lots of sealions and lots of whales, one breached 5 times!!! Harv and Marv took care of making ALL arrangements and bookings for our helicopter excursion with Coastal Helicopter...it's just all so easy to do yourself. ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL TOUR

Read Travelgoer's full Disney Wonder cruise review
Provider: Harv & Marv
Member Image big canoe
6 reviews
Not Rated
May 2014

Capt. Larry put us on the whales !!!! Whales were the only reason we went to Alaska and this tour knows where they are and does not disappoint. They had a first class boat and crew. Drinks and snacks were provided with the purchase. A great value.

Read big canoe's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Orca Enterprises
Member Image sheshell333
1 review
May 2014

The whale watching tour was pretty good-we saw a couple of whales, although we saw even more whales from the cruise ship. We saved about 50.00 per person by walking off the boat and booking on the dock. We also took the 10.00 bus to Mendenhall Glacier-I would highly recommend doing this. The tours only give you 45 minutes, and if you want to see the video and touch 200 year old ice, and walk to the amazing waterfall and edge of the glacier, then you need more time. The rangers also had telescopes trained on mountain goats that you could watch. We were probably there for 2.5 hours.

Read sheshell333's full Carnival Miracle cruise review
Provider: Dolphin Whale watching
Member Image carencpa
5 reviews
May 2014

We booked the whale watching, salmon bake for 2:30pm. arrived at meeting spot by 1:45, only to be told at 2:25 that it was cancelled. Found a kiosk that took us whale watching at 2:30, but boat was very small and crowded, so they transferred us to a larger private group. Stressful day, but whales and eagles were worth it.

Read carencpa's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image LJHSViking
3 reviews
Not Rated
May 2014

Alaska's Whales and Rainforest Trails, run by Gastineau Guides, led by Cortney Wagner. Our guide is a native to Juneau and has a degree in Zoology. She has lots of local lore and knowledge and expertly led us, along with Captain Annette, out to see humpback whales and later, to the Mendenhall Glacier.

Read LJHSViking's full Carnival Miracle cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image Guera
1 review
Not Rated
May 2014

It was rushed but great! Would have liked to have more time. Guide was excellent.

Read Guera's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image wuppis
6 reviews
May 2014

We bought the tickets in the harbour for $ 50 less than on the ship.
$ 125 each for the combination with Glacier and Whalewatching. We first went around for about one hour in the City, than took the bus to the Mendenhall Glacier. Another bus took us to Auke Bay to the ship and we had a tour from almost 3 hours and saw several humpbackwhales, some bald eagles, some sea lions. It was really a wonderful experience and especially for us, because we made a whalewathing tour in Victoria a few days ago and we say no whale, no dolphin, only a few sea lions. And paid a lot for that.

Read wuppis's full Celebrity Century cruise review
Provider: Juneau Whale Watch
Member Image markvchs
2 reviews
Sep 2013

After Ketchikan Juneau was terrific. Even though there were four boats in it didn't seem that crowded.

We took a whale watching tour with Harv and Marv's and it was the highlight of our trip. The boats are small and their employees are fantastic. Can't remeber the guys name that drove the shuttle but he was terrific. Then we had Captain Steve and I can't imagine ever having a better man or captain to be around. He way exceeded any expectations we ever had! Wouldn't even consider going out again in Juneau with any other tour and especially would request Captain Steve!

Read markvchs's full Sapphire Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Blingz
1 review
Not Rated
Sep 2013

Went with the White school bus people. They have smaller blue boats that are the perfect size for whale watching. We were taken to a large protected area where we found a large pod if humpbacks. They came very close to us. Got lots of tale shots and even a rainbow !

Read Blingz's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image yiye34
2 reviews
Sep 2013

We booked the Harv and Marv's whale watching trip. The whale watching part lasted about 3 hours - about 2 hours driving around and 1 hour actually watching whale / seals, etc. The scenery was really great - with glaciers all around you. The whale watching part is just so so, short and rushed. Feels very commercial. In the end we were dropped off at the Mendenhall Glacier, and opted to walk to the Nugget Fall - very pretty. We called a Taxi to go back to Juneau. 9 people for $40 - a better deal than taking the bus.

Read yiye34's full Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image ajhall921
1 review
Sep 2013

I knew I didn't want to book an excursion through the ship, I wanted to go with a local company and after much research, I booked a whale watching tour through Orca Enterprises and was so very happy that I did! Captain Larry was the boat captain who is a very interesting man with lots of experience. Our tour guide was a young lady that obviously loved her job. I think she was almost more excited when we were whenever we would spot a whale! It was a great experience! We saw tons of bald eagles and ended up seeing a whole heard (is that the right word?) of whales! We even got to see one breach! It was very educational and exciting! We only had about 16 people on our boat so there was plenty of room for everyone to move about and watch the whales. They even provided a snack of cheese and crackers and smoked salmon along with coffee and hot cocoa. It was well worth the money and I would highly recommend booking a tour with Captain Larry and Orca Enterprises.

Read ajhall921's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image ggroggey
1 review
Sep 2013

We booked our whale watching excursion independently from Norwegian with Harv and Marv's. It was amazing! Captain "T" was excellent and I would highly recommend him. Our boat was small with only 6 passengers making the experience more intimate and exciting. I never felt seasick or scared. We saw Humpbacks, sea lions, eagles and orca's. Captain "T" gave us an experience we will never forget!

Read ggroggey's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image jenrobo6983
1 review
Not Rated
Sep 2013

Went with Orca Enterprises as was much cheaper than the cruise-approved one, which went at the same time from the same point anyway! So amazing. Humpbacks everywhere. Fun and knowledgeable staff, Captain Larry's is the only boat to go with.

Read jenrobo6983's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Orca Enterprises
Member Image keepitup
2 reviews
Aug 2013

Allen Marine are great! Whole experience was great. Staff so enthusiastic and knowledgeable. Saw whales close up and lots of other wildlife. Boats are very comfortable and complimentary hot drink welcome. Guide leaflet and use of binoculars a nice touch.

Read keepitup's full Statendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image dataminn
5 reviews
Aug 2013

Lots of whales, a nice boat, nice touches.

Read dataminn's full Zaandam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image redpegcruiser
1 review
Aug 2013

GREAT! Got right on bus to boat. Provided some binoculars. Had free hot chocolate, water, coffee. Saw lots of whales

Read redpegcruiser's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image WEGL81
8 reviews
Aug 2013

Didn't see too many whales but we did see one full breech which made the trip. Buffet dinner was very nice as well.

Read WEGL81's full Sapphire Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image jandreacola
1 review
Aug 2013

8 of us booked together on "The Alaskan" with Captain Shawn of Harv and Marv. Since we were a large group, we had the 12 seat boat to ourselves. After a little confusion getting picked up from the cruise ship, we had a great time. The weather was clear and sunny. The boat was amazing. It had been specially designed and they chose to have hydraulic seats (just like 18 wheel truckers) for each person. My father has a bad back and typically has a lot of trouble in small boats on the ocean. These seats made all the difference for him. Binoculars were provided and were great. The naturalist and the captain were wonderful and we learned alot. Saw about 7 whales, seals and sea lions. Stopped at the Mendenhall Glacier on the return trip. The shuttle driver told us that the bears were active. We all got to watch a black bear fish a salmon out of the stream and feed it to her two cubs from the safety of the elevated boardwalk trail. Awesome!

Read jandreacola's full Oosterdam cruise review
Provider: Harv and Marv
Member Image MaiCruise
1 review
Aug 2013

My husband and the kids went on the Whale watching excursion. The kids enjoyed the excursion since they were able to see several whales. My husband said it would have been nice if they could get a little closer but overall it was a good experience for them.

Read MaiCruise's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image BrownsinMO
1 review
Aug 2013

Excellent, friendly staff and a wonderful whale-watching trip. Worth the money.

Read BrownsinMO's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Dolphin Jet Boat Tours
Member Image cbrown747
1 review
Aug 2013

whale guarantee was good. Experience just to say we did it.

Read cbrown747's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Alaska_addict
1 review
Aug 2013

Fantastic to see whales, great trip with entertaining crew and even an entertaining and funny bus driver (way better than our comedian on the ship)

Read Alaska_addict's full Zuiderdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Grammieof7
1 review
Aug 2013

Saw lots of whales and even some breaching which was cool - but disappointed in the size of the boat. Thought it would be more intimate and everyone would have a window seat or good view - not the case - we were the last bus to arrive so stuck in the middle with not a good view over the other people. Next time I would investigate more and find a smaller more intimate boat setting.

Read Grammieof7's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image renee_t
1 review
Aug 2013

Excellent, small group experience. Only 14 passengers in a small, fast boat. Knowledgeable small boat operator and an excellent tour operator along as well. Tour operator provided excellent insights into the skills needed to photograph whales. He suggested camera tips and trips to use in the environment. He even helped individual guests one-on-one with their particular camera questions. We had excellent whale sightings as well as other marine mammal sightings.

Read renee_t's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Normsie
1 review
Aug 2013

Saw lots of tails, no breaches. also saw some eagles and other wild life.Enjoyed the salmon bake.

Read Normsie's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image BURNSMN
7 reviews
Aug 2013

Harv and Marv's is the best. We saw tons of whales all around and even under the boat. Six passengers only for a great experience.

Read BURNSMN's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image ntvsdgrl
1 review
Aug 2013

I did Harv and Marv and was on a boat with 12 ppl. They met us at the port, on time, took us out and Captain Shawn was very knowledgeable about the whales. He knew where to wait and for how long. The young girl that was on board was extremely knowledgeable and had incredible amounts of information on all the sea life.

Read ntvsdgrl's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image seminolegal
1 review
Jul 2013

It was good - Sarah was a wonderful guide.

Read seminolegal's full Seven Seas Navigator cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image aautomo884
1 review
Not Rated
Jul 2013

Great Excursion

Read aautomo884's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image mrskliff
1 review
Not Rated
Jul 2013

Captain Larry and Kelly gave us a great experience. We saw plenty of whales and learned a lot!

Read mrskliff's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Orca Enterprises
Member Image NancyBarn
1 review
Not Rated
Jul 2013

the whale watching on a smaller boat was terrific...

Read NancyBarn's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image pizza4749
1 review
Not Rated
Jul 2013

Our day was filled with Orcas and Humpback sightings!

Read pizza4749's full Carnival Miracle cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image sonsan1
2 reviews
Jul 2013

"Whale Watching Quest" Big Company, large fleet, custom stainless steel boats,
Naturalist on board. Guaranteed a sighting or refund promised. No need since we saw at least 20 Humpbacks. Highlight of tour was watching a pod of whales "bubble-feeding". Look it up. Evidently pretty rare because the Captain and the Naturalist went berzerk. Also every other tour boat in the area made a B line to the site. Dropped a microphone overboard and we could hear whale song. Pretty incredible.

Read sonsan1's full Statendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image rdgrah2
1 review
Not Rated
Jul 2013

Great trip. Saw several humpback whales. Knowledgable naturalist.

Read rdgrah2's full Carnival Miracle cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image hyker1
6 reviews
Jul 2013

Excellent whale watching! They were bubble-net feeding, which was really awesome to watch! Really enjoyed that day. Would definitely reccommend this!

Read hyker1's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image MetsNYC
1 review
Jul 2013

ORCA runs a wheelchair accessible transfer vehicle for whale watching. Their people were very helpful pushing the wheelchair up & down a VERY steep ramp at the pier. But once on the boat, there was no ability to get upstairs to the forward viewing area.

Read MetsNYC's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: ORCA
Member Image CruiseGuy95
3 reviews
Jul 2013

Humpback whales gave us quite a show and did not disappoint. Sea lions, bald eagles and a massive glacier added to the overall experience.

Read CruiseGuy95's full Disney Wonder cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image cruisesshouldpamper
1 review
Jul 2013

Took out a boat with a crew of 2 and we had a nice time, saw several whales within reasonable distance. Boat was scary with kids but overall this was a nice excursion. Tourist trap town but Tracy's crab shack was great!

Read cruisesshouldpamper's full Volendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image KSpen
1 review
Jul 2013

this tour was really good- We saw lots of whales, two were breeching for over 30 minutes, it was great. The salmon dinner at the lodge was really good. We only had 15 minutes at the Mendenhal Glacier (which was fine with me, Ive beent here before)
(We arrived late to Juneau, then all 3000 people were trying to get off the ship at the same time, which made all of us an hour late to our tours-reason for short time at glacier)

Read KSpen's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image lifesabeachum
2 reviews
Jul 2013

We booked a private charter for just 3 of us on a small 6-person boat and we saw a FANTASTIC display of whale bubble net feeding! It was just us so NO jostling for the best photo position and NO waiting for the best spots. Our Captain Liz was absolutely fantastic and it was expensive but totally worth it for us.

Read lifesabeachum's full Volendam cruise review
Provider: Harv & Marv
Member Image Bamagirl123
1 review
Jun 2013

This was a total waste of money. The captain spent half the time trying to find one whale that had gone very far out, and when she got out there and realized she couldnt find it we then only had a few minutes to go back and watch some of the whales that were closer in. She made the decision to bypass those whales at the beginning and then had to go back to them afterwards but by that point was almost out of time. I barely got to see anything and spent a fortune.

Read Bamagirl123's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image abby1340
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2013

This was the experience of a lifetime! When we first went out we saw three or four humpback spouts. Captain Gary asked if everyone saw them then announced the whale guarantee was up. Utter disappointment as I realized I signed up for this for the next 5 hours. Then Captain Gary got a strange call over the radio using some code words. Stealthily we slipped away from the hoards of other whale watching boats and were the first to come upon not one, not two but three resident Orca pods! I bet we saw over 50 different Killer whales! Little babies, huge bulls, we saw their faces their teeth their tales, you name it! At one point four Orcas breached in synchronization, one, two, three, four perfectly timed and spaced apart. It was like seeing Sea World in the wild! Amazing! Breath taking! After whale watching we hiked for a bit in the rain forest learning about all the amazing plant life. Arriving at Mendenhal Glacier our guide, Sarah a native of Juneau, told us about her childhood and how much the glacier has receded since then. When she described where it would be in the next three to five years, I cried! Yes I cried! I am glad to have experienced this glacier and am saddened that my kids may not be able to.

Read abby1340's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image nyrxman
2 reviews
Not Rated
Jun 2013

The excursion was exactly as advertised. They even provided binoculars. They guaranteed that you would see at least one whale or they would give you $100. That wasn't necessary. We actually saw three whales, bald eagles and sea lions. The boat was roomy and the cabin staff and guides were excellent.

Read nyrxman's full Volendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Imkat
1 review
Jun 2013

The boat ride was nice. After the first whale showing it's fluke, it was boring. Not enough activity for us.

Read Imkat's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image cruiser7199
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2013

We chose to book the whale watch and glacier combo. It was absolutely amazing. We got up close with the whales and the glacier was beautiful.

Read cruiser7199's full Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Juneau Whale Watch
Member Image reader8855
2 reviews
Not Rated
Jun 2013

We went whale watching with Captain Jayleen from Harv and Marv's Outback Alaska onboard the OB1. We saw humpback whales right next to the boat, and sea lions and eagles. On the way back into town our driver stopped at the Mendenhall Glacier for 15 min so we could take pictures. It was incredible.

Read reader8855's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Harv and Marv's Outback Alaska
Member Image BackslashAZ
1 review
Jun 2013

This tour was okay but not great. The crew were good, the boat was comfortably warm inside with the opportunity to go up-top if you chose. It was also a stable ride with none of the 100 people on our tour getting sick. The whales just didn't cooperate. We only saw two, a mother and calf the crew told us. And we didn't get very close.

After the boat, we stopped at a nice little lodge to eat. The meal was so-so except for fresh salmon grilled on arrival which was wonderful and you could have as much as you wanted.

Read BackslashAZ's full Oosterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image PattiRA
1 review
Jun 2013

Mendenhall Glacier was overpacked with tourists and we did no have a lot of time to really enjoy. There were so many buses for pick-up that I was panicking thinking I had missed ours. I spent more time trying to figuere out pick-up than enjoying the beautiful glacier. I tried to go into the visitor center and it was totally impossible.

Read PattiRA's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image jimagray@flash.net
1 review
Jun 2013

Do not miss this.
Unbelievable!

Read jimagray@flash.net's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image nmbell
1 review
Jun 2013

We saved about $50 booking this on our own-
Had a smaller boat- only held 16 people but there were only 6 of us on it.
Had a great experience- saw lots of humpbacks, bald eagles, and sea lions.

Read nmbell's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Shoreexcursions.com
Member Image GtrJim
2 reviews
Not Rated
Jun 2013

Excellent ride for whale watching on a 33-ft. catamaran. Just 3 passengers and a young child. Bob was an excellent skipper, knowing where to go. Harry was an expert on whales, gave us tons of information. We saw a group of Orcas and then went to a different location to watch a Humpback for about an hour. Go some great photos.

Read GtrJim's full Silver Shadow cruise review
Provider: Weather Permitting
Member Image Tommi Lee
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2013

This tour, Best of Juneau, gave us the No. One thing we were hoping to see . We saw humpbacks bubblenet feeding! And we had a full breach about 20 feet from our railing! Awesome event!

Read Tommi Lee's full Zaandam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image vlmarcea
2 reviews
Not Rated
Jun 2013

It was a great day - pricing is ok at about $139.00. You can get a shuttle out to the glacier for $8.00 at the dock if you want to add it to fill the rest of your day. Go on the Whale watching on the early (8:30) departure.

Read vlmarcea's full Oosterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Wozzie29
2 reviews
Not Rated
Jun 2013

Perfect weather and a playful young whale made this a wonderful cruise. Food was good too.

Read Wozzie29's full Volendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image huskers29
1 review
Jun 2013

Saw lots of whales and food was good on this excursion.

Read huskers29's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image swanygirl
1 review
Jun 2013

This was really excellent. The tour boat folks were top notch and we saw a great many whales.

Read swanygirl's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image atlcruizr
4 reviews
Not Rated
May 2013
We booked a whale watching tour as a combination with a tour to the mendenhall glacier. We booked independently and paid less than half of what the cruise line wanted for the exact same thing. Our excursion lasted about 3 hours in which we saw numerous orcas, seals, bald eagles, and humpback whales. I have done other whale watching tours in other places, but they did not compare to this!
Read atlcruizr's full Statendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Thymless
1 review
Not Rated
May 2013

Orcas, humpbacks, sea lions, and eagles abounded on our 3.5 hr whale watch tour. On way back our private tour operator took us to see Mendenhall Glacier as well.

Read Thymless's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image karen of PA
2 reviews
Not Rated
May 2013

Exceptional experience. Saw lots of whales. Great tour guides.

Read karen of PA's full Sapphire Princess cruise review
Provider: Orca Enterprises
Member Image Cruise Xpert
1 review
May 2013

Did not see much whales throughout the excursion, but still a nice experience!

Read Cruise Xpert's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image shofer
7 reviews
May 2013

Great experience, we were the only 2 on the boat. Saw whales and other wildlife. Very educational.

Read shofer's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: harvandmarv
Member Image Gigi1977
1 review
May 2013

Good tour - we got to see a bit of Juneau. We did see whales - not up close.

We ate GREAT crab legs at Tracy's. Highly recommend. The place doesn't look like much - just picnic tables under tents - but it is great!

Read Gigi1977's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image HeinBloed
13 reviews
May 2013

Never again: they forgot us to pick us up at Mendenhall Glacier. On the boat we saw too less for two hours. Waste of time. Transportation again bad: too cold in one part and too hot. Easy to get sick.

Read HeinBloed's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Murfee2012
1 review
Sep 2012
We saw humpbacks and Orcas. Sea lions as well. Very comfortable boat and facilities.
Read Murfee2012's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image dbr123
1 review
Sep 2012
Was great! We saw Orca whales, which is very rare!
Read dbr123's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image jmbest78
3 reviews
Sep 2012
Did the Whale Quest, Orca Point Lodge, and Mandenhall Glacier tour. The salmon dinner at the lodge was delicious, the glacier was interesting, and even though the weather didn't hole out for the whale watching we did manage to see about 15 whales. The tour accommodations were comfortable.
Read jmbest78's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Dianem24
1 review
Not Rated
Sep 2012
It was fantastic. We got to see a family of killer Whales.
Read Dianem24's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Colleen.Pilgrim@gmail.com
1 review
Sep 2012
We were out for 2+hrs and didn't see whales. We saw Orcas which the travel crew counted as whales but they were even far away and we only saw the fins and couldn't really see them. Probably wouldn't recommend doing the whale watching in Sept. They are mostly gone by this time
Read Colleen.Pilgrim@gmail.com's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Viator Travel
Member Image JudyA_TX
1 review
Sep 2012
Ours was a photography-centered cruise and the guide was an experienced whale researcher and photographer. She was incredibly knowledgeable and very friendly. The boat captain really knew his stuff and stayed in radio contact with other boats so that we could see as many whales as possible. We ended up seeing some humpbacks and ... incredibly ... some "orcas in love!" The guide said she had never seen that sort of "frisky" behavior among orcas on any whale-watching trip before.
Read JudyA_TX's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image CruiseLoverNW
1 review
Sep 2012
WE booked with an independent operator for about half the cost and saw lots of Humpbacks. Recommend doing your research in advance - there are tons of companies that offer this experience for far less than what a cruise ship will charge you.
Read CruiseLoverNW's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image lilmsmuffet
1 review
Sep 2012
Weather was a little rainy but we did see whales..even managed to get a tail shot..we saw Stellar sea lions which was great we had not seen them before and a pod of Killer whales..got great photos of them..On the way back to the ship the tour driver,Bill,stopped by a lookout where we got to get off and take pictures with Mendenhall Glacier in the background..he then let us off in town to do a little shopping..It was a full day and we all loved Juneau..
Read lilmsmuffet's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image orilliaguys
1 review
Sep 2012
Great! as promised we seen humpbacks, seal, and an island of Sea-Lions!
Read orilliaguys's full Sapphire Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image NoobCruise
1 review
Sep 2012
In Juneau, we had booked the Tracy Arm Fjord and Glacier Explorer, but when we went to join the excursion we were told it was cancelled. We hopped on a whale watching excursion with Allen Marine and had a fantastic time! We saw lots of Humpbacks and Orcas. We didn't see any breaching or bubble feeding, and only one tail, but it was still fun and exciting. We stayed out on deck for the entire trip, even though it was raining for the last half lol
Read NoobCruise's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Jazz41
1 review
Sep 2012
Excellent trip and saw many whales and other wildlife. However like all excursions it was expensive.
Read Jazz41's full Volendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image RetiredNTraveling
3 reviews
Sep 2012
The ship was to large and way over crowded. Recommend that cruisers take trips on smaller whale watching ships with fewer passengers to fully experience the excursion.
Read RetiredNTraveling's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image knwnsav
1 review
Sep 2012
Whales, whales, whales. Whales fluking...lots. We saw one whale breach 4 times. Incredible.
Read knwnsav's full Volendam cruise review
Provider: Harv and Marv Whale Watching
Member Image kolohe280
1 review
Sep 2012
Spectacular! The trip was well run and we saw plenty of whales and other wildlife. A photographers dream trip. We also took the local bus up to Mendenhall Glacier. The bus driver was a bit surly (last day of the season), but we got to see a bear and cubs up close on personal while there.
Read kolohe280's full Statendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Cruiseinful
2 reviews
Sep 2012
Photo Whale Photographer (12 people max) This was the best tour we have ever taken!! It was cheap but we really couldn't have ask for more. Since we missed both Glaciers, we got to see one here but I know it wasn't anything like Glacier Bay.
Read Cruiseinful's full Sapphire Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image coloradoute70
1 review
Sep 2012
In Juneau: It rained alot, which we were told, if you go to Juneau, expect rain. We took a whale watching boat (holds about 120 people). We did see some hump back whales, but no breaches, but that is the luck of the draw. Sometimes they breach and mostly they don't. We had a good red salmon lunch at Orca Point which is an island restuarant. We also took a bus over to the Mendenhall Glacier and adjacent water fall. This was a beautiful area, and there is a gift shop and you can walk over to a creek and see 18 inch or more salmon swimming in the clear water.
Read coloradoute70's full Zaandam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image kickboxrca
1 review
Not Rated
Aug 2012
The whale watching tour was part of a combo whale watching/glacier tour. We were met close to the cruise ship and headed onto a bus to go to the whale watching portion of the trip. On the bus, the driver gave us a great background about the city, area, and answered any questions we had. There were about 30 of us on the boat - it opened at the front and the back as well as had sliding windows that opened. We were guaranteed whale sightings - and boy did we see them! We saw great whites and humpbacks bubble-net feeding. There was a great captain on the boat, and a "naturalist" who ensured we knew about the area and the whales. Great trip.
Read kickboxrca's full Zuiderdam cruise review
Provider: Dolphin Tours (combo tour)
Member Image Tigerlily70
1 review
Aug 2012
Lots of breaching whales. Great time.
Read Tigerlily70's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image myracle777
1 review
Aug 2012
Excellent. Saw lots of whales
Read myracle777's full Zuiderdam cruise review
Provider: Orca Alaska
Member Image singlechannel
2 reviews
Aug 2012
Saw whales doing bubble net feeding and breaching. Amazing experience!
Read singlechannel's full Oosterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image SjGoebel
1 review
Not Rated
Aug 2012
it was fun excursion we took a boat out and seen some killer whales a mother and her babies killing a seal see some humpback whales from a far wish we were up where all the other boats were that was closer up. we were suppose to go on whales, bears and glacier but our bear part of the tour got cancelled due to weather which sucked didnt understand why we seen tons of helicopters and planes flying around but they still seemed to cancel ours which sucked!
Read SjGoebel's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image baruchgershom
5 reviews
Aug 2012
They guarantee that you'll see at least one whale. Instead we saw nearly a dozen humpback whales, including a rare sight of them bubble-net fishing, and six or so orcas.
Read baruchgershom's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image lredwards
2 reviews
Not Rated
Aug 2012
We arrived in Juneau 30 minutes early, which allowed us to explore Juneau for a bit before our 3pm excursion. We took the Whales & Rain Forest Trails excursion, which was lovely. Our guide had recently moved to Alaska with her boyfriend, and was a year-long resident. She was very knowledgeable. The hike was about a mile on easy terrain (my dad has problems walking and he didn't have any issues). The highlight of the hike was walking to the end of the Mendenhall Lake and seeing the Glacier. After the hike, we took a bus to our whale watching excursion. Saw at least 12 whales, and about 5 of those whales showed us their tails. I got some great pictures, even on my point-and-shoot camera (hint: use the setting for action photography which takes a series of fast shots in a row). The weather was beautiful -- sunny and 60 degrees.
Read lredwards's full Zuiderdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Wakeraker
1 review
Aug 2012
It was awesome. Saw bubble feeding, Killer Whales and Two breeches. The Glacier in Juneau was great.
Read Wakeraker's full Zuiderdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image ISLABONITA
2 reviews
Aug 2012
Left around 8:30 am to Mendenhall arrived around 9 am..walked the trails, entry to visitor center and picked up at 10:30. Plenty of time to see all we needed to there. Once at the pier for the boat tour we had a small group of 22 people with multiple humpback whale sightings. Great snacks and plenty of time on the water. Captain Larry , Jeff & Kelley where good too.
Read ISLABONITA's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Orca Enterprises
Member Image unculturedswine
1 review
Aug 2012
It was awesome. I wish we could have stayed out a little longer, but I believe the duration is regulated by NOAA so I don't think that's gonna change.
Read unculturedswine's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Whale Watching Juneau
Member Image sunshine221
6 reviews
Aug 2012
I did the Nature Trail and Whale Watch and it was great -- we saw a bear and lots of whales including bubble feeding. It was a little pricy. The captain of the ship made sure everyone could see and take pictures and moved around the water to get the best views.
Read sunshine221's full Carnival Spirit cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image Lilu12323
1 review
Aug 2012
Saw tons of humpback whales. Smaller boat, 16 people. Knowledgeable operators, very safe. The celebrity naturalist was actually aboard the non-celebrity tour. Saved fifty bucks.
Read Lilu12323's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Orca Enterprises
Member Image mofb2000
5 reviews
Aug 2012
Superb excursion with a knowledgeable guide/driver. Captain Shawn has his masters in animal behaviour. He taught us so much.
Read mofb2000's full Volendam cruise review
Provider: Harv and Marv
Member Image aglow
1 review
Aug 2012
Nice, operated by a family businesses, comfortable catamaran, saw a lot, even saw bubble net feeding and learned what it is! :)
Read aglow's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Vietri Sul Mare
2 reviews
Aug 2012
The Naturalist was very informative, but we didn't see as many whales as we thought we would have.
Read Vietri Sul Mare's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image aspenohio
1 review
Aug 2012
Great tour guide and driver, nice clean boat. Did see whales and eagles. A very enjoyable trip.
Read aspenohio's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Juneau Experience
Member Image kendie345
1 review
Aug 2012
Saw whales and sea lions. Weather was rainy, so we stayed in the boat most of the time. After returning to port, we were bused to a Salmon Bake for lunch. It was a good lunch experience and we were returned to the ship.
Read kendie345's full Sapphire Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image esp13
2 reviews
Jul 2012
It was a great trip. Very friendly staff and we saw lots of whales and other wildlife. Loved it.
Read esp13's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image mini me
1 review
Jul 2012
Jet engine boats with underwater microphone to hear whale noises very cool
Read mini me's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Orca expeditions
Member Image Peng You
1 review
Jul 2012
We were told not to expect to see any orcas, but saw six! Then we came upon a group of humpbacks who were bubble-feeding, a vision experienced on 5% of the time according to the naturalist on-board.
Read Peng You's full Sea Princess cruise review
Provider: Orbitz
Member Image cruisecriticfan2
2 reviews
Jul 2012
In Juneau we went on a whale watching excursion, the weather was less than spectacular. It rained the entire time in there. The boat captain got us in the area of a few whales and then we finished in an area where a pod of humpback whales were bubble netting. Eventhough we had to stand in the rain for picture taking, it was worth it.Since we were tendered, the stand in the rain was unplesant but the Infinity did have three tenders working to get us back on the ship. Since we got back late from the excursion (approximately 8:30 PM) the food selection in the Oceanview Cafe was limited and subpar.
Read cruisecriticfan2's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image LovesTeachingHistory
2 reviews
Jul 2012
Great whale watching experience. Saw many active whales as well as a breach! Only complaint was the pouring rain. However, we went in expecting rain so didn't let it ruin our trip.
Read LovesTeachingHistory's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Rusty Stumps
1 review
Jul 2012
5+ isn't high enough for this excursion. We, according to the Allen Marine people, experienced something only 1 out of 10 ever see and that was bubble net feeding by 20 plus hump back whales. The captin was smart and went past all the other tour boats in the direction the whales were moving. We sat and let them come to us which forced the other boats out and away. We had a front row seat and he swung the boat around every so often so everyone had a good view and could get great photos. 10+ on this one.
Read Rusty Stumps's full Carnival Spirit cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image Ms. bear
1 review
Jul 2012
We were in a small boat with a total of 6 people and the driver. We went into the ocean to look for whales. We probably saw a total of 15 or 20 whales some of which were showing their tails, some were showing their stomachs, etc. It was awesome.
Read Ms. bear's full Statendam cruise review
Provider: Harv and Marv
Member Image EquineCruiser
1 review
Jul 2012
A #1 outfit. They have been around a long time and are very knowledgeable. Our Infinity ships Naturalist Brent Nixon was our tour guide and whale specialist on our tour. He is fantastic. DO Not miss him and the great people at Orca Enterprises!
Read EquineCruiser's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Orca Enterprises
Member Image Kirby420
1 review
Jul 2012
Saw lots of whales, that part was excellent. On board was a buffet dinner, which was awful.
Read Kirby420's full Statendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image KDvacation
1 review
Jul 2012
Did the Whales and Rain Forest Trails excursion. We saw one orca and at least a dozen other blue whales. Extended sightings, not brief glimpses like on the NCL Jewel.
Read KDvacation's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ckellyne
1 review
Jul 2012
We did the whale watching and salmon bake tour and it was wonderful. There were whales all around the boat and we had a fabulous salmon lunch on a small island in a lodge. It was terrific.
Read ckellyne's full Sapphire Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Gcjcruisers
1 review
Jul 2012
Great tour. Plenty of wildlife, from seals, sea lions, bald eagles and humpback whales.
Read Gcjcruisers's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image pmjnh
1 review
Jul 2012
Read pmjnh's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Harv and Marv
Member Image QuilterGirl
4 reviews
Jul 2012
DD and SIL took this tour. They didn't see any "bubble-net feeding" or breaching, but they did see several orcas, which we have not seen during the two times we've taken this trip. After the whale-watching, the tour continued to Mendenhall Glacier. They felt there was not enough time to adequately take it all in before it was time to depart for the ship.
Read QuilterGirl's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image AlwaysThankfulLady
1 review
Jul 2012
Our day couldn't have been better. The tour bus driver was friendly and knowledgable, the Capt. of the boat was fun and friendly and we saw many whales and beautiful scenery on Auke Bay. The Mendenhall Glacier was a short stop and I'm glad we didn't miss seeing it.
Read AlwaysThankfulLady's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Harv and Marv's
Member Image cody503
1 review
Jul 2012
Wonderful people, great whale viewing boats, professional and accommodating. Know where the whales are and get you there. Have used Harv & Marv twice (Capt Pete (an owner) and Capt Shawn) and both trips were absolutely top notch and 'worth it'.
Read cody503's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Harv & Marv
Member Image ashjt
1 review
Jul 2012
Was just OK, saw a few whales at a distance. Probably would opt for another excursion next time.
Read ashjt's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image JayinAZ
8 reviews
Jul 2012
Lots of fun and we saw Orcas and humpbacks. We had a great time. The office is right by the Mt Roberts tram so it is centrally located. We were given the option of downtown dropoff or back to the ship.
Read JayinAZ's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Orca, Capt Larry
Member Image Molliemcgree
1 review
Jul 2012
Excellent! Comfortable catamaran and got really close to a group of feeding humpback whales. Loved having the underwater microphone to hear their vocalizations!
Read Molliemcgree's full Seven Seas Navigator cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image Blazergirl1960
1 review
Jul 2012
All female crew boat which was novel and very pleasant. I felt the actual 'big' whale siting was staged. We spent an hour looking for whales (spotted a few) and then they took us to a MAJOR spot, where about 10 to 15 boats were already patrolling. Oh, well, we did get to see alot of whales and it was a beautiful day.
Read Blazergirl1960's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image dutchboy2
1 review
Jul 2012
Very good - we saw whales
Read dutchboy2's full Statendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image samjam99
2 reviews
Jul 2012
Best excursion of the trip. Saw many humpbacks. Great value.
Read samjam99's full Zaandam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image johnlfromdevon
1 review
Jul 2012
A full on day. First a coach trip up the valley to the small boat harbour - fascinating guide explaining life in Juneau. Second a 3 hour whale watching trip on a small boat with in a total party of 6. You really get up close to whales. They are so confident of whale sighting that you get a refund if you do not see any.
Read johnlfromdevon's full Sapphire Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Surgenber
1 review
Jul 2012
We booked a whale watching tour with Harv and Marv's and were not disappointed with our captain, Russell. I initially thought we would not get to see anything, since it was so foggy and rainy, but we were able to see a big group of humpbacks and then a group of orcas as we were making our way back to the harbor. We didn't see any bubble net feeding or breaching, but it was still an amazing excursion. We had arranged prior to our trip to be dropped off at the Mendenhal Glacier and then we took the MGT shuttle back to town, since we wanted to spend more than 15 minutes at the glacier. We walked to the falls, but since it was such a rainy day, by the time we made it back to the Visitor Center, we just hopped on the shuttle to go back to town. We then walked a bit around town and grabbed some lunch at Tracy's Crab Shack. This was the BEST meal of our trip, by far!
Read Surgenber's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Harv and Marvs
Member Image GICNJC
2 reviews
Jul 2012
saw bubble net feeding with 14 humpbacks. was fantastic
Read GICNJC's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image jwally99
1 review
Jul 2012
This trip was well done. We saw many whales on the whale watching part. On our excursion we went to a small lodge for a salmon bake for lunch. The meal was good, and we had time to enjoy the scenery from the lodge. We were on a jet catamaran for our trip. My wife enjoyed the inside cabin. I was on the deck, and I was glad that I had dress appropriately to be outside most of the time.
Read jwally99's full Diamond Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image MirandaM in CA
1 review
Jun 2012
This was the second part of the excursion... a whale watching trip on a catamaran with an interior cabin, clean bathrooms, a nice snack bar. We saw sea lions and eagles at a distance and humpback whales with one close up encounter. The staff was great and the narrating naturalist was interesting and not overly intrusive. Pleasant experience. This is a good basic excursion.
Read MirandaM in CA's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image alaskajames
1 review
Jun 2012
We toured on a small boat and spent about two hours on the water. We saw eagle, harbor seals, orca whales and sea otters. We were up close and personal which resulted in amazing photo opportunities.
Read alaskajames's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Bramcruiser
1 review
Jun 2012
One of our best day long excursions. Whale watching is always tricky because there are no guarantees but we did manage to see some Orcas. The salmon bake lunch was delicious (much better than I was expecting).
Read Bramcruiser's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image allig565
1 review
Jun 2012
Perfectly timed and a wonderful experience! BUT a long day! Be ready for it and ready to see those whales!
Read allig565's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Ocredhead
1 review
Jun 2012
Whales and Trails trip. Staff was great, very informative. Hike was a joke. It was a walk on flat ground that an 80 year old could do. Nice seeing the Mendenhall Glacier. Boat ride was nice but not for whale watching. They have to stay 100 yards, not feet, away from the whales and we only saw a few. We also only saw the top 12 inches of each one from a great distance, so we were very disappointed to say the least.
Read Ocredhead's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image eagles2010
2 reviews
Jun 2012
Whale Watching and Wildlife Quest: This was an good tour, pretty standard I think. We did see some whales (humpback) and watched sea lions fight for a position on a buoy. Saw eagles and other sea birds.
Read eagles2010's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image fredflint
1 review
Jun 2012
This was my 2nd time with Orca and they provide a great experience.
Read fredflint's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Orca Enteprises
Member Image RNCAROL
1 review
Jun 2012
Again, too pricey for excursion. Again, tour guide was exceptional and we actually saw wildlife: whales, sea lions and eagles.
Read RNCAROL's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image osuwarman
1 review
Jun 2012
We saw many whales and had a good time. Not much else to say. We boarded a boat that was spacious and enclosed in case it rains. I would love to say it was a great experience but we saw a lot of whales spouting but not much else. It is very unusual to see whales jumping out of the water like you see on t.v.
Read osuwarman's full Disney Wonder cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image gra2172
3 reviews
Jun 2012
We took the whale watching tour and was not disappointed. There were quite a few doing some breaching. The boat crew was fantastic and really kept us with the whales. We saw orca, humpbacks, seals, sea lions and bald eagles. Later that day the cruise ship went up to the glacier and turned around so everyone could see. Very nice!
Read gra2172's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image 12rudy0169
1 review
Jun 2012
Allen Marine presented the whale watching. It was a quality tour. They did spend a little too much time trying to sell some of their stuff. We did get to see and hear the whales. Although I heard one trip actually put a microphone down into the water. Our tour just stopped and turned off the boat.
Read 12rudy0169's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image tanda3
2 reviews
Jun 2012
Excellent tour with wonderful tour guides. All women on staff of our boat and they were terrific. We did get to see whales and even saw mother and baby and "baby" was showing off. The naturalist was so excited as was boat captain and it was fun to share their enthusiasm,
Read tanda3's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image bralli
2 reviews
Jun 2012
The highlight of the cruise. It was RIDICULOUS how many whales we saw. They were bubble feeding, jumping,... you name it.
Read bralli's full Sea Princess cruise review
Provider: Orca Enterprises
Member Image CoZach Cruiser
1 review
Jun 2012
JUNEAU - We chose whale watching with Harv and Marv's Whale Watching. I booked this on my own. Small boat for 6 people and your captain. Boat was spotless, captain was fantastic and we got to do what we wanted to do being with such a small group. Very personal. We saw orcas and humpback whales. At the end of the excursion, a driver will bring you by Mendenhall Glacier. Fantastic excursion. We even had a bit of time to shop in Juneau after the excursion. Kids would love this excursion.
Read CoZach Cruiser's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Harv and Marv's Whale Watching
Member Image 2streets
1 review
Jun 2012
Very nice tour saw lots of whales and saw the Humpback whales do a Bubble Net Feeding. That was awesome. They had a nice salmon dinner for us on an island just a very nice time and well worth the money.
Read 2streets's full Zaandam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image IamKelly
1 review
Jun 2012
We saw 8 whales in 2.5 hours, so, they delivered. In nice weather it would have been magnificent. We had clouds, fog, rain, so we stayed indoors behind glass, and the grey on grey scenery through droplet cladded glass was gloomy. My wife saw 8 whales and loved it. I missed the chance to be outdide and have a sunny day on the water. Others who DID go out on the top deck were cold and soaked but liked it a lot because we saw 8 whales. So, it is all about seeing the whales. If you do see mire than 4 or 5 . . , all is great. If you only see a few, you may feel underwhelmed.
Read IamKelly's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image hawco458
1 review
Jun 2012
This excursion lived up to brochure...saw whales, sea lions, eagles.
Read hawco458's full Silver Shadow cruise review
Provider: Silversea Cruises
Member Image Swissie
1 review
Jun 2012
We booked a whale-watch and glacier combo online before arriving in Juneau. The trip to Mendenhall glacier was nice and the bus trip was on one of their regular buses. The glacier is spectacular! The pickup to the Akuna Bay was fine too, but them it went downhill. It appeared that the had booked way more clients on the whale watch than anticipated. I was of the impression that the normally have around 25 people and that would have been nice. However, there were around 45 people on our boat and on arrival we were all cramped into the very small and narrow benches inside where we were given safety instructions. The boat had a lovely upstairs area, but only 12 people were allowed up there at anyone time. Of course those who got up there first, stayed up there for the remainder of the tour. The back viewing area was very small and the front viewing area was not much larger. Basically not all 45 persons were able to be outside at the same time. All in all, it was a very disappointing tour. Were there lots of whales, yes; were we able to see them, NO. The staff were not very helpful. I recommend you use one of the other operators who receive better feedback.
Read Swissie's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Juneau Tours
Member Image krkernfamily
1 review
Jun 2012
In Juneau we did a Whale Watching and Wildlife Quest excursion in Auke Bay. Of everything Juneau has to offer, I had to highly recommend this! We saw a large number of whales up close and got to witness a rare bubble feeding, saw baby whales. The sounds the whales make were unique and I will never forget them.
Read krkernfamily's full Carnival Spirit cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image Godisgood
1 review
Jun 2012
We had a smaller boat of about 35 people with Captain Larry. The journey was nice and saw many humpback whales from a distant.
Read Godisgood's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Orca Enterprise
Member Image pablo312
1 review
Jun 2012
My wife and I took the whale watching tour with Orca Enterprises in June of 2012.Jeff and Capt. Josh were great. We had 15 passengers on the boat, so everyone had ample opportunity to climb the ladder to the upper deck. Only 6 people were allowed on the upper deck. Jeff gave a thorough talk at the start of the tour about the humpback whale and their feeding behaviors. Capt. Josh did a great job locating the whales. We saw many. He also pointed out the acrobatics of the bald eagle in diving for fish. We saw at least 10 bald eagles at close range on the water. We had a sunny day, so the boat ride was also enjoyable. Jeff and Capt. Josh are very personable and enthusiastic. We enjoyed this excursion.
Read pablo312's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Orca Enterprises
Member Image djparker
1 review
Jun 2012
Boat was easy for husband to get on. Had great whale watching opportunities and great entertainment from the staff.
Read djparker's full Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Orca
Member Image JD in MD
3 reviews
Jun 2012
We booked a private 3 hour whale watching tour with "Harv and Marv's Outback Alaska." It was a small boat with only 6 passengers. Marv's daughter was the pilot and she took us to different locations to see the whales, which we did. Afterward, we were dropped off at the Mendenhall Glacier visitor center. (If anyone is over 62, bring your Golden Age passport or buy one for $10. They are good at all national parks.) We chose to stay longer at Mendenhall and said we would find our own way back to town. We walked to the glacier and saw Nugget Falls. As we were leaving, one of the park rangers pointed out a bear sitting in a tree. So we had started off the day whale-watching and ended up bear-watching. We rode the Blue Glacier Express back to town. ($8/person/one way or #16 round trip) There was a public library with free Internet next to where the ship was docked but we got tired of waiting on the long line. There were many, many shops in Juneau.
Read JD in MD's full Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Harv and Marv
Member Image 21mel
1 review
Jun 2012
We did the whale watching, salmon bake and Mendenhall glacier tour. Highly recommend this. We saw 6 humpback whales, 2 that were pretty close and gave us great pictures of them fluking. It was cold( 40 degrees). And raining ... And the best place to be is on the top deck which has no cover. So definitely bring the rain gear and a jacket. Dress in layers... Warm layers. The barbecued salmon was delicious. Caught that morning...so moist and such a great flavor that you will be glad it's all you can eat. Cute gift shop at Orca Point Lodge.
Read 21mel's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image speller63
1 review
Jun 2012
Harv & Marv's Whale Watching (not through Celebrity). A family-run operation. Very friendly and Captain Steve was great. We went on a small boat -- the 4 of us plus another couple from Infinity. We saw plenty of whales. Captain Steve was feeling like he was letting us down (he was not) because the whales were not showing their tails. Then as we were going back to the dock, a whale came very close to our boat and showed his tail. I felt like it made Captain Steve's day knowing that we would now be totally satisfied. We were just happy to see the whales and he need not have worried. He was awesome. We booked in advance at harvandmarvs.com and would highly recommend this company.
Read speller63's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Harv & Marv's Whale Watching
Member Image yodasensei
1 review
Jun 2012
Mendenhall Glacier is a pretty glacier. Unfortunately, if you take the whale watching and Mendenhall Glacier combined tour, you do not get much time at the glacier. Depending on how fast you walk, it takes forty five minutes to an hour to get to the glacier and back. Therefore, many of the people on this tour did not have enough time to walk to the glacier and see the visitor's center.
Read yodasensei's full Sapphire Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image JulesBee
1 review
Jun 2012
Best excursion we've taken. The guide was knowledgeable and really included my daughter - 12 yrs old - in different aspects of the tour. We went on a nature walk and studied the different organisms on the trail and in the water, then went to the Mendenhall Glacier and took pictures while learning so many fascinating things about the area. Did you know Mendenhall has all these things named after him in Juneau and he never set foot in Juneau. Finally we went on a very small (12 people) whale watching boat and headed out. We saw many different marine animals and whales, but the highlight was seeing several different pods of Orcas! We got very close to the killer whales and spent a long time watching the family groups of beautiful Orcas make their way along. It was spectacular and our guide made it even better.
Read JulesBee's full Oosterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image ElJugador
1 review
Not Rated
May 2012
We watched the same whales as the folks on the cruise line tour. We had a better time. We paid less and went out in little boats. 4 customers total + knowledgeable guide. Doing this in a big boat full of people would have sucked. We were all able to get outside when by the whales and all got great photos. Harv & Marv the only way to go here.
Read ElJugador's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Harv & Marv
Member Image travelingchef21
1 review
May 2012
We lucked out and had a great day for whale watching. We saw 15 humpback whales, 4 sea lions, and a bald eagle.
Read travelingchef21's full Carnival Spirit cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image ebmedic
3 reviews
May 2012
Amazing experience. Only 8 folks on-board, but the jet boat could have held more. 15 minute drive to the marina, so saw a little more of town. The crew was enthusiastic and worked hard to share Juneau and the whales. Weather was cold, but they happily stayed topside when someone wanted to go up there. Saw lots of whales including one that jumped.
Read ebmedic's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Orca Enterprises
Member Image lovetotravel168
1 review
May 2012
It was fantastic!!!
Read lovetotravel168's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Orca Enterprises
Member Image Kalor
1 review
Not Rated
May 2012
Harv and Marv, excellent woman caption, so knowledgable, you could tell she loved her job. We did see whales, however, boats are not allowed to get too close to them,
Read Kalor's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image aocmand
1 review
May 2012
Very enjoyable
Read aocmand's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Jengo
1 review
May 2012
We went whale watching on the St Herman. It was a great trip, the crew were informative and nice. We saw a pod of 7 orcas, humpbacks, stellar sea lions, bald eagles. It was long trip bit worth it. Dress warmly.
Read Jengo's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image jeannes1
1 review
May 2012
Hurried due to late docking but only at first. Boat captain did his best to show us numerous whales in quiet bay. Snacks were appropriate for the venue. Early season to spot anything. Great sense of cooperation between the various ships that were on tours in the bay at the time. Really pleasant people.
Read jeannes1's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image SurfTurf
1 review
May 2012
Combined with dining at Orca Point Lodge and visiting Mendenhall Glacier. Because we saw a lot of wildlife, e.g. Orcas, humpback whales, bald eagles, it was a great trip!
Read SurfTurf's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image isjaaddejo
1 review
May 2012
One of the best experiences of my entire life. And I've been on all of the continents (yes--even Antarctica). I will do it again.
Read isjaaddejo's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image cdin0303
1 review
May 2012
Great excursion. We went out for several hours saw at least 8 or 9 different humpback whales along with other wild life like Bald Eagles and Seals. The only thing that would have made the trip better is if we saw one breaching, but there is no way to predict that. I had a great experience, but I will say that it seems to be a bit random. My In-laws were on a different whale watching excursion and only saw a couple whales from a distance.
Read cdin0303's full Disney Wonder cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image refswife
1 review
May 2012
Can't say enough about this company! Top notch all the way. The lovely six passenger boats were perfect for getting to the whale spotting areas quickly! They spend three hours on the water and offer snacks and drinks besides taking you to Mendenhall Glacier by bus at the end of the tour.
Read refswife's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Harv and Marv
Member Image nwcruzertoo
1 review
May 2012
This was a combination excursion. The whale watching was great; even saw a bear! The boat crew was a lot of fun; seemed to love what they do.
Read nwcruzertoo's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image aew516
1 review
May 2012
We took the whale watching photo safari. It was a bit lengthy, and not a lot of photography info was given. Actually since it's so difficult to photograph whales, I'm not sure this is a good combo. However, the guide was great, and the whales/scenery we saw were fantastic.
Read aew516's full Diamond Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image TheValkyrie
1 review
May 2012
Juneau is the place to see humpback whales. Book with an independent company off the dock and you'll have a smaller, faster boat and a more personable experience, as there will be a smaller passenger to naturalist ratio.
Read TheValkyrie's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image matted
1 review
May 2012
Amazing. We got lucky with a baby playing in the water and breaching repeatedly. The tour operator was awesome as well - a lot of local knowledge and very respectful of these amazing animals.
Read matted's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Harv and Mav
Member Image cruzin_ga_gal
10 reviews
May 2012
Whale watching and mendenhall glacier were booked independently once we got off the ship. There were tour operators in kiosks selling tours. We paid alot less than we would have with RCCL. It was well organized and informative. We saw many whale and several eagles.
Read cruzin_ga_gal's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: unknown
Member Image ChillKat
1 review
May 2012
We opted to go on this smaller boat tour after good reviews and were glad that we did. We saw many whales and got some great "whale tail" shots. We also saw bald eagles and sea lions. If you want to see some whales up close you will definitely get the chance here. Harv and Marv's took good care of us and gave us a fun trip! Our captain - Liz -gave us some great information on the whales and the wildlife in the area along the way. Drinks and snacks were provided on board. Our van driver picked us up and then took us to see the Mendenhall Glacier. Beautiful and up close! She also pointed out many other places of interest in Juneau along the way with interesting information, too. We highly recommend this tour!
Read ChillKat's full Sapphire Princess cruise review
Provider: Harv and Marv's
Member Image Alaskanb
1 review
May 2012
Small group whale watch trip with experienced skipper
Read Alaskanb's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Orca

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.