Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Juneau Whale Watching Excursion Reviews

Juneau Whale Watching cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Experience an intimate encounter with Humpback and Orca whales on a scenic whale watching tour around Juneau harbor.
Member Image lupaglupa
3 reviews
Jul 2016
Both whale watch and glacier hike were enjoyable.
Read lupaglupa's full Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Don Omaha
1 review
Jul 2016
Whale Watching and Mendenhall Glacier. The Alan Marine boat St Gregory was only 1/2 full so lots of room to move around for photos. Free coffee and donut holes. Good interpretive guide. We saw lots of whale including one that breached, porpoises, and eagles. This was my favorite excursion. We then went to the Mendenhall Glacier - we hurried to the falls and back in 45 minutes. Just time to go to the visitor center but that was too crowded to see much. Take this tour.
Read Don Omaha's full Zaandam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image TDL1900
1 review
Jul 2016
It was a great trip seeing lots of animals and surprises like orcas eating a seal and whales breaching except the excursion was way over priced. The cruise line charged us $170 each when one competitor provided $110 for the whale watching or $130 for both glacier and whale watching.
Read TDL1900's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image janebell
1 review
Jul 2016
Had a beautiful day on the water and saw lots of humpbacks and orcas!
Read janebell's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image 6thking@gmail.com
1 review
Jul 2016
We did the Wale watching with Allen Marine. They were fantastic. The food provided on the trip was a surprise and enjoyable. The boats were clean and staff was terrific.
Read 6thking@gmail.com's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image misslyss1220
3 reviews
Jul 2016
Then we headed over to Auke Bay for whale watching with Allen Marine Tours. We saw plenty of humpback whales and some sea lions, and a few eagles.
Read misslyss1220's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image charris0013
1 review
Jul 2016
Many whales seen,
Read charris0013's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image judithrose
1 review
Jul 2016
We enjoyed this excursion. The tour company promised that we would see whales and we did, along with sea lions and bald eagles. Binoculars were provided. The narrator was well informed without being too technical.
Read judithrose's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image jjsmith1357
1 review
Jul 2016
Went on a nice small boat, very courteous staff. You can book this on the dock.
Read jjsmith1357's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Aubiedu
1 review
Jul 2016
I loved it!
Read Aubiedu's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image mimayberry
1 review
Jul 2016
We were able to see 5 different whales then hike to the Mendenhall Glacier. Very good guide and fun trip.
Read mimayberry's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image lnoonan
1 review
Jul 2016
We went on the Evening Whale Quest, which included a buffet. Our ship was very comfortable, the food was delicious, and we got to look for whales. We saw several, including one nicknamed "Spot" who has lived in the area for several years. We also learned some tips for whale spotting. We also passed by an island that had several dozen seals sharing a small, rocky shore..
Read lnoonan's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image CHESTERVM316
1 review
Jun 2016
Saw very few whales, and not much of them (no heads or tails) the salmon dinner at orca lodge not that great, or very much of it could use some improvement there.
Read CHESTERVM316's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image tikibargirl
1 review
Jun 2016
We were 8 people and had a boat all to ourselves. They do follow the other whale watching boats so we got to see a lot of humpback tails and a few sea lions. No orca or bubble feeding which we were hoping for.
Read tikibargirl's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Harv & Marv
Member Image Run70
1 review
Jun 2016
It was a bit disappointing because we didn't get to see a single whole whale, only the tails and the back.
Read Run70's full Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Lrtalk
1 review
Jun 2016
We were to have been booked on a small boat that was nimble to reach whale sightings quickly and to avoid crowds on the larger boats. We were booked on the largest boat on the water that day by RC. They refunded half of our charges for the excursion to their credit when told what had been done.
Read Lrtalk's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Shortridge
1 review
Jun 2016
Very scenic and seen whale tales.
Read Shortridge's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Chardonnaylover
1 review
Jun 2016
We first hiked a short distance to Mendenhale Glacier, then went to harbor to board a boat to view whales. Saw multiple humpback whales. Great trip!!
Read Chardonnaylover's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image StormyStarwardCruise
1 review
Jun 2016
saw lots of whales, many many many sea lions
Read StormyStarwardCruise's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Susandron
1 review
Jun 2016
We booked the small boat experience with the expectation of getting close to the whales but the pilot of our boat did not appear to be into it and just wanted to get the tour done so we were disappointed in paying 400+ dollars and seeing the bigger boats zooming in on the white action while we stayed back. Would not recommend Gastineau to whale watch.
Read Susandron's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image shadoweyeone
1 review
Jun 2016
Was ok.. whales not very active that day... you never know what you are going to get and the tour was only about an hour long
Read shadoweyeone's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: M&M tours
Member Image debndar
1 review
Jun 2016
Wonderful tour! The boat was nice and clean. The guides were really informative and we saw a lot of whales. Love it!
Read debndar's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image heybrah
1 review
Jun 2016
Excellent Whale Watching in Auke Bay. Saw humpback whales (mother and calves). Sea Lions, too.
Read heybrah's full Zaandam cruise review
Provider: Dolphin Jet Boat Tours
Member Image drumming cruisers
7 reviews
Jun 2016
great
Read drumming cruisers's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image csmith_44
1 review
Jun 2016
Very enjoyable riding on the catamaran to an area where we were fortunate enough to see Orca whales. We got some great pictures and videos. Later we saw a few humpback whales.
Read csmith_44's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.