Skagway River Rafting/Eagle Preserve Excursion Reviews

Skagway River Rafting/Eagle Preserve cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Float down Skagway’s river over gentle rapids toward the Eagle Preserve to observe some of Alaska's finest species.
Member Image erikerik
1 review
Aug 2016
Staff were attentive. Nice to go beyond civilisation.
Read erikerik's full Crystal Serenity cruise review
Provider: Crystal Cruises
Member Image csmith_44
1 review
Jun 2016
We enjoyed the rafting on the river and were able to see about five eagles up in trees, which according to the guide wasn't too bad. The water wasn't rough and our guide was experienced and informative. Tom Lang was our guide on the bus ride to where we got in the rafts, and he was extremely knowledgeable about the area and was very entertaining to listen to as he shared story after story. He was a highlight of the trip. The lunch on the riverbank after the ride was nice. Overall, we enjoyed the trip and would likely to do it again, although again, it was pretty pricey, $209 per person.
Read csmith_44's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Nradamo
1 review
Jun 2016
Saw very little wild life. Can't blame the guide as they don't control the animals.
Read Nradamo's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Jane2357
2 reviews
May 2016
Well run tour with a raft ride through the Eagle Preserve. Saw many eagles and also our first Moose of the trip!!!
Read Jane2357's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image mommala
1 review
May 2016
Phenomenal experience! Taken on ferry thru splendid fijord to tiny, amazing town of Haines, then bus ride on scenic by-way route to Chilkat Eagle Preserve & rowed by 4-passenger raft on awesome river amid nesting & fishing eagles. Excellent, informative guides, good equipment, & tasty lunch spread. Rubber boots for rafting provided. Wear clothing layers for wind & weather changes. Felt like THIS is the real Alaska!
Read mommala's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image ewormuth
1 review
Aug 2015
If I could give it 10 stars, I would. We took a ferry from Skagway to Haines, and then took a float trip through the Eagle Preserve. It was wonderful -- we were the only two people on the trip, and we had two hours of floating through the quiet preserve, seeing many eagles and other birds. Highly recommended.
Read ewormuth's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image retsofmamie
2 reviews
Aug 2015
Saw moose, bear, Eagles and trumpeter swans. Even though it was cold and rainy it was wonderful. Tour company supplied all wet and warm weather gear and warm lunch.
Read retsofmamie's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image drsparky53
1 review
Jul 2015
Oh what an experience. The shallow waters provide an excellent area for the eagles. While eagles can be seen on other excursion, I don't know of any that can experience so many eagles, especially junvenilles. The rafting was so relaxing. What a wonderful way to spend an afternoon. Lunch was also provided. Steve was a great guide. He is a local resident and was able to educate us not only on the eagle preserve but on the way of life in Alaska.
Read drsparky53's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Susan K
1 review
Jul 2015
River rafting and eagle cruise was very fun! Loved seeing all the eagles. This is in a very remote area
Read Susan K's full Seven Seas Navigator cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image BBBJ1998
4 reviews
Jul 2015
The rafting was great with great guides and rafters - alas not one eagle spotted.
Read BBBJ1998's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image wbarkwill
2 reviews
Jul 2015
Saw three or four bald eagles, nice scenery, not much else in the way of wildlife.
Read wbarkwill's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Cantorindahouse
2 reviews
May 2015
Great company. Realizing we would be running late on the front part of the excursion on the White Pass Bus Tour, Chris, the owner had sandwiches waiting for my wife and I. We had a wonderful experience with Frontier and in Skagway.
Read Cantorindahouse's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Frontier Excursions & Adventures
Member Image Tresa J
1 review
Not Rated
Aug 2014

Great trip. It was a little long, but well worth it. Bus ride to catamaran, catamaran to Haines, bus to Eagle Preserve, and then rafting down the Chilkat river. Our guides on every leg of the trip were great. Very friendly, gracious, and everything was on time. I can't say enough about them! My 82 year old mother-in-law was a little leery about the rafting part of the trip, but the guides made her and everyone else feel very comfortable. No rough water. You may get a little stuck on the bottom a few times, but no worries. The guide will get you going even if they have to get in the water. We saw about 40 eagles sitting on the sandbars catching fish with sea gulls trying to (in vain) to steal them. Saw many juvenile eagles. The scenery was beautiful. You really got a feel for the true wilderness and beauty of Alaska on this trip. Book early or you'll end up on the trains with hundreds of other boat passengers! This is definitely the trip to take in Skagway.

Read Tresa J's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image brimmp
1 review
Jun 2013

Leisure raft trip for a hour and a half through the Eagle Preserve.

Read brimmp's full Sapphire Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image SurfTurf
1 review
May 2012
Great river guides, and lots of bald eagles!
Read SurfTurf's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?