Ketchikan Wilderness Tour & Crab Feast Excursion Reviews

Ketchikan Wilderness Tour & Crab Feast cruise excursion
Overall Rating
This is a perfect option for fans of TV’s “Deadliest Catch” -- get your hands wet pulling up crab pots from waters surrounding Ketchikan’s coastline followed by a fresh Dungeness Crab feast!
Member Image SannyAnnie
1 review
Sep 2016
FABULOUS! The wildlife was lovely, our guides (Ryan and Asti) were great fun. And the feast was delicious! The staff was so thoughtful! One of our group was physically unable to crack the crabs and pick the meat, so the staff prepared little ramekins of crab meat for her.
Read SannyAnnie's full Maasdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Wildpoppy
1 review
Sep 2016
Got to see some whales. Nice walk through the forest. Good seafood pot lunch
Read Wildpoppy's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image indyvic
1 review
Aug 2016
Just wonderful. Great food, good people, excellent experience.
Read indyvic's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image jeanabean
1 review
Aug 2016
It could have been great. However, they didn't mention that our crab feast would be served at 9 am. That is kind of an important detail to omit.
Read jeanabean's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image bhodges
1 review
Aug 2016
All you can eat crab! Boat tour guides were good natured and informative. Everyone was very pleasant and helpful. Great experience.
Read bhodges's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image GustavSpeed
1 review
Aug 2016
boat plane ride about 15 minutes
Read GustavSpeed's full Zaandam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Pjpeveto
1 review
Aug 2016
Great tour guide and crabs were outstanding
Read Pjpeveto's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image AvgMom2
17 reviews
Jul 2016
We booked directly with the George Inlet Lodge to partake in their crab feast. They arranged for our pickup, with the meeting place just a short walk from where Solstice was docked. We walked around the Creek Street before the arranged pick up time. It was all very convenient and stress-free. The drive to the lodge was about 20 min each way. The fresh crabs were OUTSTANDING, but the time to eat them was very limited. Don’t waste your precious time by trying to pile your shells in a communal dish to be measured. The winning table with the highest pile of shells gets to dance in front of everybody – that’s it. Just leave the shells in front of you and concentrate on eating your crabs. Before you know it, the last round of crabs will be served. This scrumptious lunch also came with a drink, a salad, and a slice of cheesecake with blueberry sauce -- really, REALLY, yummy!!! The whole experience was fun, delicious, and very filling! Don’t forget to leave a tip before you go.
Read AvgMom2's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: George Inlet Lodge
Member Image Luv2escape
2 reviews
Jul 2016
Saw lots of wildlife, lunch was great
Read Luv2escape's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image jrwelle
1 review
Jul 2016
We really liked this excursion although there was so little time in Ketchikan. That was the downside. It seemed rushed. But the feast was truly a feast and the boat ride was a fun addition.
Read jrwelle's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image txbargaintraveler
1 review
Jul 2016
We did the Wilderness Exploration Cruise and Crab Feast (KTN-650) excursion in Ketchikan. We enjoyed this tour, but it wasn't what we were expecting. We were thinking "Deadliest Catch" style crabbing, but learned more about local crabbing for the smaller dungeness crab. The crab feast part was amazing and delicious!!! Our boat captain was amazing with the bald eagles and our guide was very informative. We saw a seal and learned a great deal about Ketchikan and living in the area. It was a pretty inlet cruise, just not what we expected for the money. We highly recommend the flightseeing in Ketchikan with Taquan Air (from a previous cruise we took) or the Adventure Karts for amazing views of Ketchikan. We noticed that Taquan Air supports the flightseeing/crab feast combo (more expensive) that would land on the water often and taxi in to George Inlet Lodge for the crab feast.
Read txbargaintraveler's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Julisa
1 review
Jul 2016
The wilderness tour was great with lots of information about the wildlife along the way. We saw baldeagles and a mountain goat before the crab traps were brought up and we could hold one, very carefully, as they were alive! The crab feast was superb but we would have enjoyed a little more time there as we had to rush our dessert!
Read Julisa's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image trevsharp
1 review
Jul 2016
Crab feast fantastic, wilderness tour very tame
Read trevsharp's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Virgo61
1 review
Jul 2016
Ketchikan is so cute. We had good weather in all of our ports but here it was exceptional. The crab feSt was excellent. Definitely the best of the 3 lunches we had. We really liked the nature walk too
Read Virgo61's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Pennypop
1 review
Jul 2016
Crabs were the best I ever had!
Read Pennypop's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Lady Bowhunter
1 review
Jul 2016
Best Dungeness Crab I've every eaten!
Read Lady Bowhunter's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image fussellk
1 review
Jun 2016
Crab was amazing
Read fussellk's full Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image mujerlinda
2 reviews
Jun 2016
Wonderful flight on a seaplane with fantastic views! We got off the seaplane at a very scenic lodge and had unlimited dungeness crab. OMG! Fantastic spread. We used some shipboard credit to switch out an included excursion (which didn't include the seaplane ride) for this one and I'm so glad we did. Very nice people, a little crowded with one big long shared table, but we also had unlimited beverages and a very nice cheesecake dessert. Ketchikan was warm and sunny. Beautiful day. There was not time afterwards to do any shopping unfortunately. Luckily we shopped a lot in the earlier ports as there was not a lot of time in port.
Read mujerlinda's full Seven Seas Mariner cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image greentulip
1 review
Jun 2016
The crab feast was amazing and a highlight. Also we saw a bear unexpectedly at the wildlife center
Read greentulip's full Sun Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image djlgranny98
1 review
Jun 2016
Eagles were everywhere on this excursion. Humpback whales were sighted and we hand-fed deer after our crab feast at the private resort we went to.
Read djlgranny98's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Cruise nonna
2 reviews
Jun 2016
Very informative guide, pretty scenery and all the Dungeness crab you can eat!
Read Cruise nonna's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Dawg67
2 reviews
Jun 2016
Float plane was awesome and longer would be better. Crab the best ever. Make sure you look for the Eagles.
Read Dawg67's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image wywiseman
1 review
May 2016
We saw eagles, a mother bear with two cubs, totem poles. Very informative, fun. I think it would be great for kids. Wet and rainy. Bring rain gear or have available. The crab feast was excellent, learned how to eat crab and break it so that it is edible. Highly recommend.
Read wywiseman's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Roxie2016
1 review
May 2016
Loved the crab feast, but not the wildlife part, they take you to an eagles nest and call the eagles, about 4 of them, then you go pick up a crab pot and take pictures with the crab. Tour guide was very informative. Eagles are everywhere in AK.
Read Roxie2016's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image jgcrenshaw@hotmail.com
1 review
May 2016
The boat tour was excellent, saw a bunch of wild life. The pulled crab pots and explained about the males and females. No females are kept. We then enjoyed all the Dungeness crab we could eat. They were very generous with the crab. Both ports of the tour were totally excellent.
Read jgcrenshaw@hotmail.com's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?