Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Ketchikan Wilderness Tour & Crab Feast Excursion Reviews

Ketchikan Wilderness Tour & Crab Feast cruise excursion
Overall Rating
This is a perfect option for fans of TV’s “Deadliest Catch” -- get your hands wet pulling up crab pots from waters surrounding Ketchikan’s coastline followed by a fresh Dungeness Crab feast!
Member Image danni_in_pdx
1 review
Jul 2014

We grew up with a crabbing boat and we thought we were going whale-watching, which was ALL my fault, so it was a little bummed, but we saw bald eagles and seals and of course, dungeness crabs. The crab feast was delicous... but this was EIGHT AM. We had to have a beer and try to imagine it was dinnertime. Crab was as good as any I've had anywhere, and like I said, I grew up pulled up crabpots and eating it on the beach with a crab pot, so I've had a lot of excellent crab. They did a great job.

Read danni_in_pdx's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image tasdiwine
1 review
Jun 2014

we took a float plane to the crabfest,loved it,private all you can eat crab fest

Read tasdiwine's full Seven Seas Navigator cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image peter grant
6 reviews
May 2014

A scenic boat tour to a local bay, where a crab pot was lifted for a photo op, followed by a crab lunch at a nearby lodge. Pleasant enough, but not worth half what we paid.

Read peter grant's full Zaandam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image culvercitycruiser
1 review
Sep 2013

We got up early and were off of the boat by 7:30am. We walked around without a lot of people. It was very foggy and the ship's fog horn blew most of the night. It did clear up nicely for the rest of the day, full sun. We walked up to Creek Street, saw lots of swimming and dead salmon. I purchased a heavy coat at Tongass Trading Company for $20. Worked great in Tracy Arm and Juneau where is rained and was very cold. We booked the Wilderness Exploration Cruise & Crab Feast. We boarded a bus and went south for about 15 minutes to the George Inlet Lodge. There we got on a boat and toured the inlet and stopped to pull up two crab pots. They show to how to hold and sex crabs. We saw an eagle and eagle nest. After about 1 hour of boat tour we went back to the Lodge and had an all you can eat crab lunch. They teach you how to eat the crab legs etc. This was good for the non-crab eaters, but we were professionals. We felt like we eat a stick of butter by the end. Good thing we were walking and going to the gym. The bus took us back to the ship.

Read culvercitycruiser's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Catlady63
1 review
Aug 2013

Beautiful scenery and fresh crab - what else could anyone want?

Read Catlady63's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Kmbankie
1 review
Aug 2013

GREAT. Would do again. Lee really loved the tour and crab feast.

Read Kmbankie's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image justretiredlovinit
1 review
Jul 2013

The float plane ride was exillarating and the views were awesome.
The crab dinner at George Inlet Lodge was exceptional....all you could eat Dungeness crab along with apetizers and salad and you never were allowed to see the bottom of your beer or wine glass. Their blueberry cheesecake is one of the best I have ever tasted (and that was after 2 pieces).

Read justretiredlovinit's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image brimmp
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2013

Boat tour of the George Inlet waterway and the Dungeness crab estuary. Back to the lodge for all you can eat Dungeness crabs. Awesome tour!

Read brimmp's full Sapphire Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image dave n
1 review
May 2013

Nice ride looking at the scenery. They pulled up a couple crab pots to let us all see what it was like. Back at the lodge the crab feast was fantastic. Plenty of great tasting crab followed by cheesecake.

Read dave n's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image marci4tony
2 reviews
Not Rated
May 2013

Excellent - Spendy but worth it!

Read marci4tony's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image lilmsmuffet
1 review
Sep 2012
This tour gets a 5+ for the crabs..They were so good..dipped in warm butter..It just poured down rain here so the wilderness tour was a wet one but hey we in Alaska can't let a little rain get in the way..It was still a nice boat ride and warm..A couple guys pulled crab pots and we learned a few things about them we did not know..We saw the Libbey Cannery and a very wet eagles nest..so they said..I just have to add while I am thinking about it..There are 79 steps from the top where the bus drops you down to the boats..They have a little landing about every 10 steps where you can catch your breath and believe me..AFTER eating the crabs these will come in handy..lol..It's an all you can eat lunch and the crew working are not shy about keeping your plate full..We really,really loved the crab..They have a cute little gift shop too where you can buy a shirt that says"I caught crabs at George Inlet Lodge" Ketchikan Alaska"..of course I had to have one..For dessert you get a big slice of blueberry cheesecake..then you get to climb the 79 steps to the top..Good Luck..
Read lilmsmuffet's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image RetiredNTraveling
3 reviews
Sep 2012
It was very enjoyable and the Dungeness Crab Feast was spectacular. Highly Recommended!
Read RetiredNTraveling's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Peng You
1 review
Jul 2012
Actually, the excursion was listed as flightseeing and crab feast, with a 25-minute flight. The actual trip was transportation by van to a plave out of town for a delicious crab feast and an 18-minute flight back to Ketchikan. When four of us arrived at the van for the return trip to the ship, the other group, which had left the restaurant after us were already in the van and had been waiting, so had a considerably shorter flight.
Read Peng You's full Sea Princess cruise review
Provider: Orbitz
Member Image ashjt
1 review
Jul 2012
Loved it! Scenery was spectacular and the crab fantastic
Read ashjt's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image texastraveler28
1 review
Jun 2012
This was a fun tour, we just thought it was a bit pricey for what we did. The company had a brand new nice enclosed boat with large windows. We were able to see some bald eagles along the route to the crab pots. We got to hold the crabs from the crab pots that the tour guide pulled out of the water. The best part of the excursion was the crab feast. It was the best crab I have ever had. The blueberry cheesecake was pretty great too. We also went shopping for a little while and were shocked with how cheap some of the items were. We stocked up on fleeces for $15-20 dollars and t-shirts for $12-15 dollars. If you want a fleece or jacket while in Alaska, this is the port to get it in.
Read texastraveler28's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image mrell345
1 review
May 2012
Great tour and the Dungeness crab was delicious. We had a lot of fun.
Read mrell345's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.