Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Ketchikan Wilderness Tour & Crab Feast Excursion Reviews

Ketchikan Wilderness Tour & Crab Feast cruise excursion
Overall Rating
This is a perfect option for fans of TV’s “Deadliest Catch” -- get your hands wet pulling up crab pots from waters surrounding Ketchikan’s coastline followed by a fresh Dungeness Crab feast!
Member Image FormerDon
1 review
Aug 2015
45 mins on a bus each way, to jump on a boat for a 30 min trip to see the crew pull up a crab pot, show a crab, drop it back in the ocean and then to the lodge for a (so called) all you can eat crab feast. You are given 30 mins to eat all you can (along with one drink for free) then you are hustled back to the boat for the return trip back to the ship. Not worth it! Stay in town and eat crab there... avoid the bus and uneventful boat ride.
Read FormerDon's full Zaandam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Nautical Nellie
1 review
Jul 2015
Our only complaint was regarding the PA system on the boat. A nice fella was giving us his memorized speech of the areas we were passing, but no one could hear him over the roar of the engines. The crab feast however was great fun and the best crab ever!
Read Nautical Nellie's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image drsparky53
1 review
Jul 2015
Absolutely wonderful. Not just a "look at the scenery" but very much an educational experience about crabs. Also experience up close bald eagles. Crab was to die for. Wonderful.....
Read drsparky53's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image flaed
4 reviews
Jul 2015
Best meal I ever had! Great trip into wilderness.
Read flaed's full Oosterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image wbusher
1 review
Jul 2015
very nice tour
Read wbusher's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image bemartCruiser
3 reviews
Jul 2015
Mentioned that a boat showed us Eagle nests & Eagles. Then, pulled up crab pot and told us about the different crabs. Everyone got to hold a crab.
Read bemartCruiser's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image skwhit
1 review
Jul 2015
the crabs were delicious! the outing was so so. Good bald eagle viewing.
Read skwhit's full Seven Seas Navigator cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image Cynthiaschaefer
1 review
Jul 2015
Group tour. We ate crab before we went on the boat tour. The only thing I would have changed is to tour first and eat crab last.
Read Cynthiaschaefer's full Seven Seas Navigator cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image Russo2boys@yahoo.com
1 review
Jun 2015
Awesome excursion and we would do it again! We went on a beautiful boat ride and lifted some crab pots. The guide was humorous and knowledgeable. They call the bald eagles to the boat so you can get a close up look at them. We saw a buck swimming across the river as well. Beautiful scenery. The crab feast was unbelievable. You can eat all you want and they are not slow to keep it coming. They walk around with big bowls of hot crab and let you have as much as you want. They also bring hot butter constantly. The girls who serve you are funny and excellent at their job. I would highly recommend this excursion!
Read Russo2boys@yahoo.com's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Jukaan
1 review
Jun 2015
The people were so helpful and friendly. The food was so fresh and delicious.
Read Jukaan's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image irisarbor
1 review
Jun 2015
This was a cruise on a small ship- The guide who was so cute pulled up crab pots, we got to hold the crabs, she fed bald eagles, which we got to take many pictures of. Then back to the lodge for the feast- they show you an easy method to eat the Dungeness crab which is delish! Don't worry about trying to win the crab tower contest, just eat!
Read irisarbor's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image k4mcpher
1 review
Jun 2015
Crab was good, restaraunt was super tacky. Wildlife tour was fairly boring, but the inlet is very beautiful.
Read k4mcpher's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image swingking
1 review
Jun 2015
Boat tour was fun. Focused mostly on how crab is caught and history of the area. The crab feast was amazing; all you can eat Dungeness crab!
Read swingking's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Pat1961
1 review
Jun 2015
Delicious food and great tour. We learned all about crabs and salmon. Saw bald eagles who flew down from their nests when the crew called them. The staff was very friendly.
Read Pat1961's full Seven Seas Navigator cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image TowMow
1 review
Jun 2015
Great time, ate 2.5 Dungeness crabs Austie and Captain Ron were great hosts, they called in 2 eagles for extreme closeup pictures as they retrieved herring thrown into water
Read TowMow's full Seven Seas Navigator cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image mya603
1 review
May 2015
Ahh, the rainforest was gorgeous. The guide was knowledgeable. I could have spent more time in there walking around. It was beautiful. And the animals, the eagles and owl were wonderful to see at the sanctuary. I'm glad to see people taking care of the injured ones. The totem carver was great. As was the blacksmith. The crab legs? Well, let's just say I ate my share! They were delicious! So huge! Wonderful flavor. Nice place there. I would love to return some day!
Read mya603's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image PIGSKIN
2 reviews
May 2015
This was great. They pulled up a couple crab pots. They also threw out some little fish and the Eagles came down for them. Went back to lodge and had all you can eat crab.
Read PIGSKIN's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Uk Wrinkly
1 review
May 2015
Wow, wow, wow. If you like crab, this a must not miss opportunity. Looking at the wild life was one thing, but experiencing that feast was one of the most memorable moments of the whole 10 day cruise.
Read Uk Wrinkly's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image tessantoti
1 review
May 2015
Everything was great. My only complaint is the crab feast could have used more food. Particularly crab! They we're a little stingy with the food. I also think the quality of the meal did not stack up to the description provided by NCL.
Read tessantoti's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image vanman02
1 review
May 2015
The description in the HAL catalog was a little misleading. We didn't see any wildlife nor was wildlife mentioned in the 30 minute bus ride or the short float plane ride back to the ship. The lodge and crab feast was excellent. As much crab as you could eat and all drinks were included. I wouldn't do this next time. Save your money and do your crab dinner and float plane ride when you get back to Seattle.
Read vanman02's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image gecoffie
2 reviews
Jul 2014
This was a nice excursion it was really low key. We got to see a crab trap pulled and handle a crab. Then we returned from the boat to a drab feast where tables competed to see who could get the tallest pile of crab shelbs when we were done.
Read gecoffie's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image TheDaringLibrarian
1 review
Jul 2014
Ketchikan Excursion: Wilderness Exploration Cruise & Crab Feast - Island Princess Excursion $149pp What we read versus what we got with added rain & an aborted bus trip home did NOT dim the AWESOME time we had here! From the Princess website: "Upon arriving at the lodge, you'll board an enclosed tour boat and cruise the George Inlet waterway (then)... you'll return to the George Inlet Lodge for a not-to-be-missed meal." First up, let me say again we did LOVE this excursion - EXCEPT for the fact that we had to eat the crab at 8:30 in the morning. But hey, we're from Maryland - we can eat crab ANYTIME! When we booked the excursion, it did say a boat trip followed with a crab feast....when we got the actual excursion ticket & it said crab first, I don't think we really believed it (I know, silly right?) I guess we could have cancelled it on Embarkation day - but we didn't. I guess we shouldn't have had breakfast that day, either! DUH! I think the Princess marketing materials should say this more clearly. I also think that for the early shift, the George Inlet folks could offer a more brunchy starter than a green salad with an Asian ginger sesame dressing. Maybe a fresh fruit parfait or a smoked salmon platter on the table to share with bagels, chopped eggs, capers, & onion? Or how about a cheesy bacon quiche? Maybe offer a Mimosa to purchase instead of Wine or Beer along with sodas and iced tea? Keep the cheesecake (no one ate it that I saw!) we were all stuffed with the amazingly succulent wonderfully fresh delicious Dungeness crab. Mmmmmmm Really. Quite. Amazing. So yeah, timing aside the crab feast was delicious and the super cute Austie who lead the feast was lots of fun, high energy, & and very entertaining. The Wilderness Exploration Cruise part was AMAZEBALLS! Our cruise tour young naturalist Kiki was super smart and engaging while Capt. Gil the Eagle Whisperer delivered a once in a lifetime Bald Eagle fetch experience! We saw an eagle perched on a branch on the shoreline - Capt. Gil stopped the boat, produced a raw fish, & held it in the air as he whistled and called for "Lucy" and sure enough - that huge bald eagle flew towards the boat, circled it, and as he threw the fish in the water she plunged just feet in front of us & grabbed that fish! WOW!!!!!! I got pictures, I just wish I had gotten a video of this - it was magical!
Read TheDaringLibrarian's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image danni_in_pdx
1 review
Jul 2014

We grew up with a crabbing boat and we thought we were going whale-watching, which was ALL my fault, so it was a little bummed, but we saw bald eagles and seals and of course, dungeness crabs. The crab feast was delicous... but this was EIGHT AM. We had to have a beer and try to imagine it was dinnertime. Crab was as good as any I've had anywhere, and like I said, I grew up pulled up crabpots and eating it on the beach with a crab pot, so I've had a lot of excellent crab. They did a great job.

Read danni_in_pdx's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image tasdiwine
1 review
Jun 2014

we took a float plane to the crabfest,loved it,private all you can eat crab fest

Read tasdiwine's full Seven Seas Navigator cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image peter grant
7 reviews
May 2014

A scenic boat tour to a local bay, where a crab pot was lifted for a photo op, followed by a crab lunch at a nearby lodge. Pleasant enough, but not worth half what we paid.

Read peter grant's full Zaandam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image culvercitycruiser
1 review
Sep 2013

We got up early and were off of the boat by 7:30am. We walked around without a lot of people. It was very foggy and the ship's fog horn blew most of the night. It did clear up nicely for the rest of the day, full sun. We walked up to Creek Street, saw lots of swimming and dead salmon. I purchased a heavy coat at Tongass Trading Company for $20. Worked great in Tracy Arm and Juneau where is rained and was very cold. We booked the Wilderness Exploration Cruise & Crab Feast. We boarded a bus and went south for about 15 minutes to the George Inlet Lodge. There we got on a boat and toured the inlet and stopped to pull up two crab pots. They show to how to hold and sex crabs. We saw an eagle and eagle nest. After about 1 hour of boat tour we went back to the Lodge and had an all you can eat crab lunch. They teach you how to eat the crab legs etc. This was good for the non-crab eaters, but we were professionals. We felt like we eat a stick of butter by the end. Good thing we were walking and going to the gym. The bus took us back to the ship.

Read culvercitycruiser's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Catlady63
1 review
Aug 2013

Beautiful scenery and fresh crab - what else could anyone want?

Read Catlady63's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Kmbankie
1 review
Aug 2013

GREAT. Would do again. Lee really loved the tour and crab feast.

Read Kmbankie's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image justretiredlovinit
1 review
Jul 2013

The float plane ride was exillarating and the views were awesome.
The crab dinner at George Inlet Lodge was exceptional....all you could eat Dungeness crab along with apetizers and salad and you never were allowed to see the bottom of your beer or wine glass. Their blueberry cheesecake is one of the best I have ever tasted (and that was after 2 pieces).

Read justretiredlovinit's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image brimmp
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2013

Boat tour of the George Inlet waterway and the Dungeness crab estuary. Back to the lodge for all you can eat Dungeness crabs. Awesome tour!

Read brimmp's full Sapphire Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image dave n
1 review
May 2013

Nice ride looking at the scenery. They pulled up a couple crab pots to let us all see what it was like. Back at the lodge the crab feast was fantastic. Plenty of great tasting crab followed by cheesecake.

Read dave n's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image marci4tony
2 reviews
Not Rated
May 2013

Excellent - Spendy but worth it!

Read marci4tony's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image lilmsmuffet
1 review
Sep 2012
This tour gets a 5+ for the crabs..They were so good..dipped in warm butter..It just poured down rain here so the wilderness tour was a wet one but hey we in Alaska can't let a little rain get in the way..It was still a nice boat ride and warm..A couple guys pulled crab pots and we learned a few things about them we did not know..We saw the Libbey Cannery and a very wet eagles nest..so they said..I just have to add while I am thinking about it..There are 79 steps from the top where the bus drops you down to the boats..They have a little landing about every 10 steps where you can catch your breath and believe me..AFTER eating the crabs these will come in handy..lol..It's an all you can eat lunch and the crew working are not shy about keeping your plate full..We really,really loved the crab..They have a cute little gift shop too where you can buy a shirt that says"I caught crabs at George Inlet Lodge" Ketchikan Alaska"..of course I had to have one..For dessert you get a big slice of blueberry cheesecake..then you get to climb the 79 steps to the top..Good Luck..
Read lilmsmuffet's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image RetiredNTraveling
3 reviews
Sep 2012
It was very enjoyable and the Dungeness Crab Feast was spectacular. Highly Recommended!
Read RetiredNTraveling's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Peng You
1 review
Jul 2012
Actually, the excursion was listed as flightseeing and crab feast, with a 25-minute flight. The actual trip was transportation by van to a plave out of town for a delicious crab feast and an 18-minute flight back to Ketchikan. When four of us arrived at the van for the return trip to the ship, the other group, which had left the restaurant after us were already in the van and had been waiting, so had a considerably shorter flight.
Read Peng You's full Sea Princess cruise review
Provider: Orbitz
Member Image ashjt
1 review
Jul 2012
Loved it! Scenery was spectacular and the crab fantastic
Read ashjt's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image texastraveler28
1 review
Jun 2012
This was a fun tour, we just thought it was a bit pricey for what we did. The company had a brand new nice enclosed boat with large windows. We were able to see some bald eagles along the route to the crab pots. We got to hold the crabs from the crab pots that the tour guide pulled out of the water. The best part of the excursion was the crab feast. It was the best crab I have ever had. The blueberry cheesecake was pretty great too. We also went shopping for a little while and were shocked with how cheap some of the items were. We stocked up on fleeces for $15-20 dollars and t-shirts for $12-15 dollars. If you want a fleece or jacket while in Alaska, this is the port to get it in.
Read texastraveler28's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image mrell345
1 review
May 2012
Great tour and the Dungeness crab was delicious. We had a lot of fun.
Read mrell345's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.