Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Colon (Cristobal) Panama Railway Excursion Reviews

Colon (Cristobal) Panama Railway cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Take a ride on the refurbished Panama Railway from the Pacific to the Atlantic. It rides parallel to the infamous Canal, and offers a great view in luxuriously paneled railway cars.
Member Image jrowland
5 reviews
Mar 2013
Great train ride from coast to coast. Train was air conditioned and you could purchase refreshments at reasonable prices. Train paralleled the Canal. Few can say they traveled from the Carribean Ocean to the Pacific Ocean and back in the same day. We also had a short bus ride in Panama City and saw the Bridge of the Americas. Did pass a prison that was in the jungle and were told this was where Manual Noriega is housed. Great tour guide. Very knowledgeable and informative
Read jrowland's full Zuiderdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image sunshine nana
2 reviews
Feb 2013
Good guide, nice ride. Not a lot to see, but train buffs enjoyed it.
Read sunshine nana's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image rexcoast
1 review
Feb 2013
Great tour, but tour guide (Ada) could have been better. Her English was minimal. She could be a good tour guide, but needs quite a bit more practice.
Read rexcoast's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image wyobean
2 reviews
Dec 2012
Enjoyed the tour. Very informative. Rather expensive, but most cruise tours are. We got a snack box, but thought it was supposed to be a lunch. Long tour with no food.
Read wyobean's full MSC Poesia cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image MeanMeosh
4 reviews
Dec 2012
Good if you like railroad journeys. Not all that many views of the canal itself, and would like a little more time in Panama City. Colon itself is a dump; I don't recommend venturing outside here unless you are with an organized group.
Read MeanMeosh's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image LifeisaWOW
2 reviews
Dec 2012
Nice bus trip to Panama City and then Train back to Colon. We took the dome car and saw a lot of countryside. Would recommend it.
Read LifeisaWOW's full Celebrity Century cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Logger1
1 review
Nov 2012
Read Logger1's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image packrats
2 reviews
Oct 2012
Colon...Panama Canal RR Journey by Train & Bus....5 1/2 hours. We opted for the less expensive trip (we didn't have the glass roof viewing). Boarded bus for 15 minute ride to train. Onto the train which has seats with tables and there is a restroom on the train. Chips, soda, Panama beer ($2.00) etc. available on the train. Nice ride thru the rainforest/along the waterways and canal. When we got off the train to get onto the bus again we were given a bottle of water and a "snack box" that included Pringles, raisins, peanuts, cookies and candy. (I understand that the more expensive version got sandwiches.) Rode bus to Flamenco Island Resort and had 25 min. to shop, eat and look around because for some reason we were unable to take the bus back to the ship...we had to ride the train back so don't know if we had our time at the resort cut short because of the train schedule or if this is the amount of time always allotted. Shops at resort seemed high priced and very, very tiny. Back to the ship where there are more stores, a bit better priced. We purchased hand painted feathers for $9.00+. HAVE TO HAVE CASH IN THESE SHOPS. Bars and cafes are here as well next to the dock.
Read packrats's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image TwoLaners
2 reviews
Apr 2012
The train trip was outstanding. The city tour was just OK. Colon, Panama (Is just a Freight Port w/Tourist Trap Shopping.
Read TwoLaners's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.