Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Cartagena (Colombia) Horse Carriage Tour Excursion Reviews

Cartagena (Colombia) Horse Carriage Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Take a memorable carriage ride through old Cartagena to see the best of the historically rich city.
Member Image ew2103
1 review
Apr 2014

You ride in a large bus (with interesting sights and commentary) to a street where many horse-drawn carriages await. Each carriage, which has 2 benches, holds 4 comfortably or 6 uncomfortably. Try to sit facing forward, as I did. The guide rides in one carriage, so you are given an earphone to hear what he or she says. Herewith the major problem -- cutoff of sound occurred frequently; I heard about every 3rd or 4th word the guide said -- very frustrating! The sights in Old Town are splendid; you appreciate how the narrow, frequently angled streets would frustrate an invading army (why the Old Town was built so). I really enjoyed the quaint buildings, many with balconies aflame with colorful flowers. You move slowly enough to get a good view but just fast enough that the 800,801 street vendors can't hassle you much. The carriages have canopies, but they were not raised. Still, since the streets are so narrow, we weren't in direct sun much. On return, you visit the former city dungeons, now souvenir shops. Our guide recommended two, which did have good values. One contained a unisex bathroom accommodating ONE person at a time -- STAMPEDE! Then the bus goes back to the pier, stopping at the Fort of San Felipe de Barajas for photographs (but we did not enter the fort. I would rate this tour a 5, not a 3, if only the earphones worked.

Read ew2103's full Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image newmexicoNita
7 reviews
Dec 2013

The tour was fun and the guide very knowledgable, but the tour was shorter than originally planned and the shops he took us to, we later learned were pretty much over priced.

Read newmexicoNita's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image 8milfan
2 reviews
Mar 2013
I enjoyed the carriage ride through the old town immensely but would have liked some time to explore the old town shops we drove by. Did not like the constant pressure of people shoving hats, t-shirts, table cloths, and jewelery in your face to buy. The trip also went to the fort for photos only, and to a dungeon that really was just another place to be pressured to buy souvenirs.
Read 8milfan's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image BlueJai
2 reviews
Feb 2013
The tour operator had a gentleman on board - William - who gave us a commentary while on the bus as to what we were seeing as we drove through town. He was very informative, and was open to answering questions. So, a bit of a drive through the city and we entered the old city for our carriage ride. There were 4 to each carriage and soon we were on our tour of the old city. It was an amazing way to see it. William stayed with the carriage ride, often moving up and down the line to explain things we were seeing. The ride through the town was awesome, it was a nice pace that allowed us to take in all the sights and the beauty of the buildings. Going up and down the streets and seeing the rennovated buildings and the older ones, churches, hotels etc was really beautiful. After the carriage ride, we stopped at a shopping area within the walled city for about 30 minutes. The buses were waiting for us in the shopping area so you can go back when you are ready. A nice touch is that they had cold water for us upon returning. The trip back was another tour outside of the walled city and again, William gave a great narrative. Once we got back to the port, some asked to get off at the terminal building and the driver stopped to let them off, and for the rest of us, we were taken right back to the ship. Awesome!
Read BlueJai's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Vagabondvoyager
8 reviews
Dec 2012
This was a nice relaxing tour.
Read Vagabondvoyager's full Zuiderdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image ercbman
1 review
Dec 2012
Interesting bus and carriage tour of the old walled city. Enjoyed it overall. A bit too much waiting around once we got off the carriages and were supposed to get about 1/2 hour to look around but that didn't happen.
Read ercbman's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image jam48
3 reviews
Dec 2012
Relaxing and enjoyable. We loved the old city and may well return to Cartegena for a several day stay.
Read jam48's full Silver Whisper cruise review
Provider: Silversea Cruises
Member Image LittleBlackDuck
1 review
Apr 2012
This was very interesting, though I was disappointed with the standard of English of our driver. The combination of the carriage and the street surfaces made it difficult to take photos, though.
Read LittleBlackDuck's full Black Watch cruise review
Provider: Fred. Olsen Cruise Lines
Member Image TwoLaners
2 reviews
Not Rated
Apr 2012
Would recommend the Carriage Ride in the old city. The stop at the fort was a bust. Cartagena, Colombia (We would return to Cartagena for a Vacation).
Read TwoLaners's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.