Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Santorini Oia Wine Tasting Excursion Reviews

Santorini Oia Wine Tasting cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Learn how Santorini's sun-soaked grapes make their journey from the vineyard to your wine glass on an Oia wine tasting excursion.
Member Image GottaTravel55
1 review
Oct 2014

We also visited a winery on this tour..not really worth it but the views were amazing and I was able to get some spectacular sunset pictures from this spot.

Read GottaTravel55's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image swissyrescue
1 review
Not Rated
Oct 2014

Private tour for the three of us. Took cable car up to top of Fira where we met our guide. He drove us everywhere -- literally, all around the entire island. Stopped for coffee/shopping in Oia. Went to the museum to see the historical ruins (guide was a local with an amazing knowledge of the history of the island and all of the ruins). Went to see the hot springs near the caldera, stopped at a winery for wine tasting, went to visit the monks on the top of the mountain. Shopped in both Oia and in Fira. Loved that our private car could take us to many places that the bus tours couldn't reach. Our guide timed it so that we would arrive at locations either before or after the bus tours, so it was never crowded when we arrived at a given location. Loved this island, and would love to return to spend more time. Warning: wouldn't recommend riding the donkeys. Someone on our cruise chose to do that in Fira. Donkey tripped and the guy flew off the donkey and injured his ribs. Yikes!

Read swissyrescue's full Riviera cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image Mrs.JSparrow
1 review
Sep 2013

Just the view from this site is worth taking the tour, the wine is not exactly what one would like if they enjoy a good glass of wine. The time spent was adequate to take a few pics, finish your glass and then back on the bus

Read Mrs.JSparrow's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image DDCruiseFL
1 review
Sep 2013

We were hustled from one site to the other with only an hour in Oia, 1/2 hour at the winery. The rest was the drive and a not so great tour guide. We were sorry we did not explore on our own, but wanted to catch the first tender.

Read DDCruiseFL's full Legend of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image sammygoose
1 review
Oct 2012
Santorini, enough said. Don't complain if you've only got the day.
Read sammygoose's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Grendelftw
1 review
Aug 2012
We booked this tour independently trying to avoid a huge crowd of people. The tour guide was phenomenal. Ancient art and history degrees. Lived in one of the small villages. Very flexible. Akrotiri has recently reopened after the roof collapse in 2005 and was incredible. Visited Sigalas Estate winery and sampled tons (bought tons too). Oia is very picturesque with the white walls and blue roofs. Ended in Fira with a walk down to the docks with the donkeys. Great day. Favorie port of call for most of our group.
Read Grendelftw's full Splendour of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image calgal5
1 review
Jul 2012
Beautiful island. Would have liked more time in Oia.
Read calgal5's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image surelyso
2 reviews
Jul 2012
The buses were comfortable. We had ample time in Oia and at the Winery. Really nice pictures of the blue domed churches and the city. The drop off in Fira was great because we could spend as much time as we wanted before riding the cable car down.
Read surelyso's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image rbdb
1 review
Jul 2012
Great views, great food, great wine
Read rbdb's full Azamara Quest cruise review
Provider: Azamara Club Cruises
Member Image Heilanman
3 reviews
Jul 2012
The winery visit was disappointing. The guide at the winery could not be heard over the machinery and the snack was "rock hard" chunks of bread and cheese. The wine tasting was a farce - three tiny glasses of inferior wines.
Read Heilanman's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image wismergirl
4 reviews
Jul 2012
We were taken to Oia's Santo Winery to enjoy a few glasses of wine and the beautiful scenery. We were given about 30 minutes to spend there, plenty of time to sample the red and white wines and enjoy the incredible scenery of Oia.
Read wismergirl's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image snow bunny
3 reviews
Jun 2012
Not quite enough time in Oia and the wine tasting was less than what we expected. The wine tour consisted of a three minute talk about the winery and then off to taste their samples. Suggestion for the winery, please slice the bread thinner, it would make it easier to eat.
Read snow bunny's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Debs
1 review
Jun 2012
Excellent
Read Debs's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image bugsdad
1 review
Jun 2012
bussed to Oia for a walking tour then to wine tasting. Could have spent more time in Oia and skipped the wine tasting
Read bugsdad's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image tnt_ca_cruiser
2 reviews
Jun 2012
Wonderful tour guide and beautiful sights. The winery is situated in a great location, though the wine wasn't very good. Oia should not be missed, though during our morning tour many of the shops were still closed.
Read tnt_ca_cruiser's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image mmeachm
4 reviews
Jun 2012
Good wine, good stop, but guide rushed us through.
Read mmeachm's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Fleur
1 review
May 2012
Santorini is amazing! I would love to return here again very soon. We did a tour which i enjoyed however i think it was way to expensive. The main reason we took the tour was to get of the ship quicker. At Santorini you are at anchor, if you are not on a tour you have to collect a disembarkation number for reception - this will then allow you to get on a tender in order (not sure how busy it was). The tour took us to Santo wines which was lovely (wine was awful) the view from there was beautiful, we then headed to Oia, picture perfect make sure you head to the northern point for a beautiful view and just to experience the feel and sounds of the small village. After Oia we ended up in Fira - like Oia but larger, not quite as nice. The cable car down to the small port where the tenders are leaves from Fira. We paid EUR64 per person for the tour. To do it on your own is much cheaper -Cable car is EUR4PP each way (or donkey for EUR5PP. Taxi to Oia is approx EUR20 or if you can get it the bus is EUR1.20PP each way. Had we have known all this we probably would have done our own thing and skipped the Winery.
Read Fleur's full MSC Armonia cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image msupovitz
1 review
May 2012

a

Read msupovitz's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.