Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Venice Venice Walking Tour Excursion Reviews

Venice Venice Walking Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Escape the crowds and discover the real Venice on a remarkable tour of the rarely visited San Polo District.
Member Image Bebbyanne
2 reviews
Jun 2013

Cruising into Venice was just the most amazing sight. After docking we took the People Mover to Piazzala Roma. From here we had arranged to meet up with Venice free walking tours and with our map in hand headed off towards Campo San Polo. Unfortunately we seemed to take the long route and were 10mins late and our tour had left without us. We then headed back to the Rialto Bridge and watched the chaos of the boats on the grand canal for a time before heading to San Marco Piazza. We found it extremely hot and tiring walking around the crowded streets, so after visiting some of the sights around San Marco we caught the Vaporetta back to ship. We overnighted here so we enjoyed a pleasant evening onboard with friends.

Read Bebbyanne's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Free Walking Tour
Member Image Waverunner20
1 review
Dec 2012
Could not have been more charming and informative, with no wasted time, but we were not rushed either. This is the only way to see St Mark's basilica. The Square was flooded, but the wooden walkways were up, and it worked OK. A group of eight of us shared the cost of Luisella's tour, which was from 9am at Santa Chiara Hotel, and walking all the way to St Mark's Square, so not a fast pace. Had lunch in the cafeteria at the Doge's Palace, and paid for her lunch between us all. She had an interesting restaurant picked out, but the flooding prevented us going there.
Read Waverunner20's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Luisella (private)
Member Image FePerk
3 reviews
Sep 2012
We took the "Dorsoduro Discovery" walking tour with Roberta curiel of "Walks in Venice" tours. Our tour was simply outstanding, and I highly recommend Walks in Venice - they have a number of tour options.
Read FePerk's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Walks in Venice
Member Image Princessa22
1 review
Sep 2012
Was met in St. Marks square for a private 2 1/2 hour walking tour for beginners. Was well worth it as we found the nooks and crannies of the city plus got into the basilica of San Marco without a wait.
Read Princessa22's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Shoretrips
Member Image CruisinPashmina
1 review
Aug 2012
We took a half day tour which included two hours in a classic Venetian water taxi, and a two hour walk thru this dream of a city. Walking is the way to see the life of the city, especially if you are lead into quiet neighborhoods, and if you have an excellent guide.
Read CruisinPashmina's full Silver Spirit cruise review
Provider: Silversea Cruises
Member Image Bisbee16
6 reviews
Jun 2012
This was 3 hour walking trip that was enjoyable and informative. We were guided through the city while we heard about the history and architectural features of the buildings we saw. At the end we stopped at a cafe for our complimentary cookies and water, and then the guide walked us to a point where it was easy to walk to San Marco Plaza and split off from those who were returning to the ship. That was helpful as it would be very easy to get lost on the Venetian streets and alleys.
Read Bisbee16's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Robert
6 reviews
May 2012
This tour took you to parts of Venice you would never have found on your own, was unhurried, but covered a large area. Fascinating and worth every penny.
Read Robert's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image marrs5
1 review
Apr 2012
Personalized lovely walking tour around city which is unique and beautiful. It was the highlight of our trip to spend 2 days there before the ship left port.
Read marrs5's full Marina cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.