Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Florence (Livorno) Florence & Pisa Tour Excursion Reviews

Florence (Livorno) Florence & Pisa Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
There is no shortage of amazing things to see in Florence—from the famous Duomo to the Uffizi Gallery—and adding Pisa to the mix you're sure to have a packed day.
Member Image ennisc100
1 review
Nov 2015
This was the only NCL excursion that we booked and we enjoyed it. It was an early start (8am) and we went to Pisa first. The tour guide Jon was very nice and once we arrived in Pisa he walked us to the group meeting place before leaving us to view the tower etc. on our own. It was then back to the bus and on to Florence. Jon gave us maps and he had highlighted on them a good walking tour which would see most of the sights in the time we had. He also recommended an excellent restaurant where we had a lovely lunch. We were back on ship by 6pm.
Read ennisc100's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Je ne sais quoi
1 review
Nov 2015
We enjoyed seeing the Leaning Tower, and spent time on our own in Florence, having lunch and looking at the Cathedral
Read Je ne sais quoi's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image mushyspud
1 review
Nov 2015
This was an amazing tour and well worth it. You are taken by coach to Pisa first where there is a guided walk to the leaning tower. The walk is about 15 minutes from the coach park and not strenuous. You get to spend an hour looking around and taking the obligatory photos, then its on to Florence which is another hour and half drive away. again the guide walks you to the centre where you are left to look around at your leisure for almost 4 hours! a fantastic experience and tour - well worth it!
Read mushyspud's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Ava2012
1 review
Oct 2015
Our guide, Marco, was extremely knowledgeable and spoke perfect English. He took us to most highlights in Florence city center and gave us Ponte Vecchio time too. Our driver, Davide, picked us up on time, took us to Pisa first and managed to turn us over to Marco and pick us up later in the middle of bedlam. Great driving skills. We were a small private group which is the best way to see everything. Thanks to Oscar at Italy Tours for putting this together. We would definitely recommend this tour group.
Read Ava2012's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: ItalyTours.eu
Member Image travelhappy2000
3 reviews
Oct 2015
Guide was on time and started the tour in Pisa first the Florence. This way we were there before it got crowded.
Read travelhappy2000's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Rome in Limo
Member Image Cbraff
2 reviews
Sep 2015
well done, beautiful
Read Cbraff's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image merwench
1 review
Sep 2015
We overdid this day with two places, but enjoyed both places and know we would like to return to Florence and Pisa separately as didn't have time to go into any museums. We were pleasantly surprised at Pisa and enjoyed our stroll around miracle square, we felt rushed in Florence and would have liked more time here.
Read merwench's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Cruise Excursions
Member Image hawkshoe
2 reviews
Sep 2015
Pisa and Florence were amazing. Had several hours to explore Florence on our own. We enjoyed lunch at Verrazzano. Very nice.
Read hawkshoe's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Rome in Limo
Member Image Sunluvr27
2 reviews
Sep 2015
For Florence/Pisa, we took the cruise ship's transportation excursion that was 'self guided'. We did have a group guide who talked as we drove first to Pisa (30 minutes) and then on to Florence (hour and a half). Were were in Pisa for an hour which gave us enough time to take pictures of each other pushing the tower back upright, buy a few souvenirs and have a morning cappuccino. Be sure to Bing/Google how to order Italian coffee before you go. The woman next to me ordered a 'latte' and was confused when she only got a glass of steamed milk! The ride to Florence was beautiful with fields of sunflowers (past their prime but still picturesque) and Tuscan villages tucked in the hillsides. Florence was incredible. The Duomo is truly a work of art and not to be missed. There is also a Perfumery that has been in business since 1612 that was incredible. It's a bit of a walk to get to, but there are stores and history galore on the way. While Florence was a bit of a schlep to get to (hour and a half from port), it was well worth the visit. And we napped on the bus ride back to Livorno. Again, this port is in a industrial area and you can't just get off the ship and walk.
Read Sunluvr27's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image OpineIdo
1 review
Sep 2015
Guide with us for the day spoke excellent English and was most enjoyable. Special Guide for Florence spoke with such a think accent we could not understand most of what she said and the orange sound system is almost worthless, filled with static.
Read OpineIdo's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image carlosuru74
1 review
Aug 2015
Lunch included: so cheap and no good
Read carlosuru74's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Happy Kiwis
1 review
Aug 2015
Paid a bit extra for a small group tour with only 13 of us. Excellent guide. Saw the original "David" which was awesome. Great guided tour through Florence. Very nice lunch at a quality restaurant included. Great time at Pisa.
Read Happy Kiwis's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Jopoll
1 review
Aug 2015
The leaning tower of Pisa is reached from the coach park by a 10-15 min walk, passes sellers with fake goods, over a train track with a crossing barrier, through a housing estate and you are there. Beautiful sight. We got there very early before 9am - which is a good thing if you want to avoid the crowds not so good if you want to go up the tower as it does not open until 9am. We had about an hour and 15 mins there which was plenty of time. As there was no crowds it was easy to take the obligatory photo pushing the tower over etc. There was a few cafes and plenty of souvenir stands all reasonably priced. The only downside was lots of sellers pushing selfie sticks in your face to buy - became very annoying. Florence - wow what a beautiful city. A quiet, calm place. A day is enough to get a good taste of the city. You can see an imitation of the statue of David at the piazza della signoria. The point vecchio - covered bridge was lovely, this is also were you can find lots of gold shops. We were given 2 bits of advice from an Italian friend before we left, one was to go to the next bridge on from the point vecchio to take photos- great advice, beautiful view. The second was to go a few streets away from the main squares to eat. The restaurants back from the main squares are cheaper and just as good if not better quality. Be aware some restaurants charge an automatic cover charge of €2 each no matter what you order and you may be charged more for eating outside. We found a lovely restaurant with a pizza oven. Excellent. Florence was beautiful and like no other city we have been to. Well worth the visit and time. Pisa was good but personally an hour is enough there.
Read Jopoll's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image igrsod
1 review
Aug 2015
A long way from the ship. Spend more time on the bus than doing things. Florence was so busy, that it was difficult to get around and we felt very uneasy with the threat of pick pockets. Our guide was hard to understand and the radios were fuzzy, so we basically walked and took in the sights with our eyes. Pisa was fun... we couldn't get into the church, even though it is free, as they hand out tickets and they were all gone by the time we got there. There were an over abundance of annoying sellers in Pisa. Some wouldn't take no for an answer. Kind of spoils the whole experience.
Read igrsod's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Jeff10
1 review
Aug 2015
Florence is a beautiful city and we would love to go back. Pisa, well when you see the tower, photographs only tell half the story
Read Jeff10's full Britannia cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image lhogarth
1 review
Aug 2015
Fantastic day in iconic cities. Tour guide obviously on commission from traders as she made our lunchtime meeting spot the inside of a leather shop, hilarious!
Read lhogarth's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image user26
1 review
Jul 2015
Our guide was great. We received samasung phones with the tour on them. We didnt like the tour format but they were hooked to the internet and found that by using wikipedia we got great descriptions quickly of the sights. It was expensive thought and we felt that we would have done better had we just taken the train to florence. The trains are pretty dependable, easy to get to, and hhhugely cheaper! Some people rented taxie or cars right out of the dock and that was cheaper as well.
Read user26's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image dragonmaster
2 reviews
Jul 2015
Went first to Pisa and then onto Florence. Had a grand time with Elizabeth our guide from Rome in Limo. She was excellent.
Read dragonmaster's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Rome in Limo
Member Image Sillywonker
1 review
Jul 2015
The Joe Banana experience in both Florence and Rome made our trip. A little nervous about getting away from the comfort of ship guarantees. We have been to Europe a few times but by no means experts. Don't hesitate. In both locations were waiting right where they said very visibly. Essentially had a personal tour guide for the 4 of us in an extremely nice mini-van. In both cases we personalized our tours and the knowledge shared was fantastic. Catherine took care of us in Florence. She is a US expat that has been in Florence 23 years. Was just wonderful and we will tour with her again when we do a land only return to Florence. Please don't hesitate to use them.
Read Sillywonker's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Joe Banana
Member Image Family 408 cruiser
1 review
Jul 2015
Booked a car for the 4 of us - air con, water and knowledge driver who was like a tour guide and guide books all provided. Price was still cheaper for 4 than doing a RC excusion. Collected directly from off the ship and whisked straight to Florence - no waiting for others. Had all the time we wanted at all of the main sites in Florence and then a fabulous lunch in an amazing restaurant JT Caffe - recommended by our driver.... Then had enough time to explore in Pisa and still back to the ship with plenty of time to spare. Would certainly recommend.
Read Family 408 cruiser's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: shore excusions in Italy
Member Image tdelpinal
1 review
Jul 2015
What a jewel of a city! We would like to have spent a week here.
Read tdelpinal's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Hobscheshire
2 reviews
Jul 2015
Florence walking tour was good although couldn't hear the tour guide very well but walked close with her so that was okay. It was a good few hours so you need to be fit enough, especially if it's roasting hot, which it was for us. Saw and learnt about relevant churches, piazzas, the bridge etc. Was a nice city. Can recommend a proscuitto and aubergine Foccacia at La Proscuitteria shop if you can find it! Delicious and good price. Glass of wine here was cheap too so was disappointed as was too hot for one so had a soft drink!
Read Hobscheshire's full Oceana cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image kennyf
1 review
Jul 2015
Tour guide was excellent.
Read kennyf's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image mikiddo123
1 review
Jul 2015
Excellent, well worth the money!
Read mikiddo123's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: AP TOURS
Member Image Sheila0824
1 review
Jun 2015
Private Driver - Leeza from Pisa picked us up at the cruise dock. She took us to Florence first because there was a festival and we wanted to beat the crowds. Took us to a lovely view overlooking Florence. Taught us many things about the area on the drive over. Parked us in Florence and made good arrangements to meet back. We loved Florence and know we need to go back.Then drove us to Pisa. Pizza, Gelato and Cappuccino are unbelievably good in Italy!!! Thanks Leeza for safe, comfortable travel and guidance for 6 of us!
Read Sheila0824's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Leeza from Pisa

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.