Become a Cruise Insider
Tips, deals and more in your inbox.
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Florence (Livorno) Florence & Pisa Tour Excursion Reviews

Florence (Livorno) Florence & Pisa Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
There is no shortage of amazing things to see in Florence—from the famous Duomo to the Uffizi Gallery—and adding Pisa to the mix you're sure to have a packed day.
Member Image shelbelle99
2 reviews
Jun 2015
Excellent
Read shelbelle99's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: RomeinLimo
Member Image malg1
4 reviews
Jun 2015
Pisa was a 2nd return for us, granddaughter thoroughly enjoyed her time there and took MANY photos as did enter Cathedral during a Mass.
Read malg1's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image christyl
1 review
Jun 2015
Booked a private tour through Shoretrips. Excellent. We controlled the amount of time we spent in each location. Pisa - Spent about an hour in Pisa, as we could not get into the Cathedral because it was so early. If you want to go up into the Leaning Tower of Pisa, book ahead as they only allow 200 people per day and it's booked for months. It was still fun to walk around and take pictures. Florence - Private tour with Marco. Ask for him or his sister. Excellent excellent excellent. THree hours went by fast but we saw a lot and he already purchased the tickets for us so we skipped the very very long lines. This is a city we would return to.
Read christyl's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: ShoreTrips
Member Image seahappy08
1 review
May 2015
Able to go everywhere with minimal walking as we had 8 people in a van. Very hot day but had time to do it all and get back onboard to listen to the excellent Opera Singer.
Read seahappy08's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Italy Shore Excursions
Member Image MisterMet
1 review
May 2015
Excellent, knowledgeable guide.
Read MisterMet's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image jalbetski@cox.net
1 review
May 2015
Florence was not worth it. Very hot and crowded and we saw so little. Pisa was very pleasant, nice to walk around, we enjoyed this part of the trip.
Read jalbetski@cox.net's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Deejo
1 review
May 2015
Great guide Sara who recommended a great restaurant for lunch in Florence. Felt we saw a lot of Florence with another excellent guide. Both Florence and Pisa very very busy and slightly spoilt by the hassle of people selling selfie sticks and designer bags etc, but a very good tour nevertheless.
Read Deejo's full Oceana cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image justluv2cruisewithhubby
6 reviews
May 2015
this was a full day tour that was 10 hrs; we visited Florence with so much to see the churches; the statue of David then we headed to the leaning tower of Pisa the final part of the afternoon which I wish we had more time in Pisa but still a good tour.
Read justluv2cruisewithhubby's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image China6
1 review
May 2015
We started first with the leaning tower of Pisa, then went to Florence which is a lovely city. It was a Monday and the museums were closed, but still lots to see. Smaller than Rome and lots more charm. Great for walking and shopping.
Read China6's full Riviera cruise review
Provider: limoinrome.com
Member Image RogNAsh-somerset
1 review
May 2015
Again a lovely place to visit, we again booked a private tour which was also only the 4 of us, our driver this time was a lady who was very knowledgeable and her English was fantastic, the Pisa part of the tour was our 1st stop and timing was perfect as it was not too busy. Florence has a huge market area and bargaining is always fun!
Read RogNAsh-somerset's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: NCC
Member Image Mandala
1 review
May 2015
Our excursion began in Florence at a leather shop...which always seems very self-serving to be on the part of the cruise ships. They can bill it as an attraction if they wish, but it is little more than a blatant attempt to get the visitors to make their souvenir purchases at the approved shop. The cathedrals were still beautiful, however, so once we were out of the shop, we had fun. I truly resent being asked to pay money to be taken to a merchant's place of business, though, and I deplore this practice on the part of the cruise lines!
Read Mandala's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Mrs.C.ruise
1 review
Apr 2015
Lovely Tour, really enjoyed it and saw some great sights! Great Guide and Good Weather = a perfect day! Ate in the square at a little bistro cafe outside and the food was sublime! really fresh and tasty. Lots of little shops in Pisa and plenty in Florence. Did a hirse and carriage ride around the city for 50 euros, was a great way to see the town and take the weight of our feet for a bit.
Read Mrs.C.ruise's full Oceana cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image obby oss
2 reviews
Apr 2015
Enjoyed Florence very much and found Pisa fascinating. The tour guide was very good and knowledgeable.It was well worth the money.We will be visiting Florence and Pisa again .
Read obby oss's full Britannia cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image Mary from Canada
1 review
Apr 2015
This tour was a last minute given by Holland for $75.00 each - was amazing but again they parked a good 15 minutes away from Pisa - this was hard for some of our older guests ...
Read Mary from Canada's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Stinsy23
1 review
Mar 2015
Sara was a great guide. We also had a local guide in Florence that was very informative, I think her name was Katia. Lots of walking in Florence, but there was free time for shopping and they pointed out lots of places you should go when you have more time. After the tour of Florence, they brought us to a Gold Shop so we could learn about gold and do some shopping. Then, it was time for lunch. It was okay, not amazing, but there was plenty to eat and drink. After that was back on the bus to Pisa. I think everyone slept for that trip. We didn't spend long in Pisa, but that was okay, there wasn't much to see but the tower. There were so many pushy street vendors, which was very annoying.
Read Stinsy23's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image SamIAmMontreal
1 review
Not Rated
Oct 2014

This was remarkable. Through Cruise Critic’s Roll Call we advised that we had booked private tour of Pisa and Florence online through Joe Banana Italy Tour Sharing and had room for an additional six people. Soon the tour was full. We were met at the gangplank by Giovani, our driver, who had a very nice mini bus. Having spent some time working in the states Giovani spook perfect English, yet his knowledge of the area was impeccable. These private tours are half the price of what the shore excursions cost and the small mini vans can go places the big buses just can’t. Giovani, was very courteous and professional, but we also had a lot of laughs along the way. I can’t say enough good things about this company and it’s professionalism.

First he took us to Pisa. OK, so we were in Pisa for an hour and as a girlfriend put it… that was 55 minutes too long. One of the couples actually climbed the leaning tower, while the rest of us walked around the site, but they charged for everything, even to visit the cemetery!

Then it was on to Florence… wow! We first parked up on a hilltop overlooking beautiful Florence. We could see the Santa Croce, the Duomo, the Ponte Vecchio and so much more. From there, Giovani took us to the Santa Croce and gave us an hour to explore. Then it was on to the Duomo, where we had another few hours to explore (the Duomo, the Ponte Vecchio bridge, the leather market, ect.), before we met up to go the Accademia to see Michael Angelo’s ‘David’! This is one town that I would definitely revisit in the future.

From there, very unexpectedly, on our way back to the ship, Giovani offered to drive us through the Chianti Region and took us to one of the winery’s, which also produced olive oil. It was another great stop to top off this remarkable 8 hour day!

Read SamIAmMontreal's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Joe Banana Italy Tour Sharing
Member Image PEG2nd
1 review
Not Rated
Oct 2014

This was our favorite stop. The leaning tower of Pisa is quite a sight. For a small fee you can climb to the top. Once on top, the views are wonderful. There is not much else to see other than to tower. We had a private guide for our Florence tour. Elena was great. We were able to skip the long lines to see the statue of David. It is not to be missed. We toured the Duomo, and the Ponte Vecchio. We even had time to visit a very nice chocolate ship. The Florentines do chocolate right.

Read PEG2nd's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: SPB Tours Mediterranean
Member Image catharsis_vc
1 review
Not Rated
Sep 2014

The tour was great and we have a very good guide who told us a lot about the region. Enough time in Pisa to take a couple of pictures, but otherwise not much to do here. For florence, a basic map is supplied, but we got ready ahead of time by getting a detailed map and highlighting everything we wanted to see. We had a few hours there on our own, so we have time to visit the duomo and another Church, shop, have some gelato, pizza at the local market, and make evrystop on our map. The tour was Worth it just for the easy transit to and from the destinations.

Read catharsis_vc's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image bhturtle
1 review
Not Rated
Sep 2014

We had the freedom to change our itinerary and we ended up going to Vinci on the way back to the ship. Hardly any tourists and totally charming. Highlight was Vinci and David.

Read bhturtle's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image merphile
1 review
Jul 2014

The guide was confusing and her English was poor. Livorno is pretty far away from Pisa and Florence. Good for those who want to make themselves an idea to return some other time. Too bad it was pouring.

Read merphile's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image JPCRS
1 review
Jun 2014
We docked and took a bus through the Tuscan countryside to Florence.Visited the Cathedral of Santa Maria dei Fiore. We had free time on our own for lunch then moved on to Pisa for a self guided tour and a photo op of the Leaning Tower of Pisa.
Read JPCRS's full Riviera cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image Tony UK
8 reviews
Sep 2013

Both cities are beautiful with lots to see - too much for a short visit so you have to prioritise! Our driver pointed out the main things. If you can go up the tower it is amazing, and stay to hear the acoustics in the baptistry. They sing every half hour so you can hear the quality of the sound. You need to buy tickets at the booth rather than at the entrances to the buildings so find it first - it will save you lots of walking.

Read Tony UK's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image kennbrandt
2 reviews
Sep 2013

Wasn't my cup of tea. The leaning tower of Pisa leans. Okay. Big deal. I could see that on a postcard. Florence was better. Shops, restaurants, and historical churches. Great if you like leather goods.

Read kennbrandt's full Carnival Sunshine cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Seapink
1 review
Aug 2013

This was an excellent tour and fantastic value for money. Although it was Pisa and Florence on your own you get a map and all the history of the main attractions before your guide leaves you. Also Florence is very compact so it is very easy to walk around.

Read Seapink's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image sailing mart
1 review
Aug 2013

We decided for an exceptionally convenient private tour for 4 persons, offered by Smart Cruise Tours (www.smartcruisetours.com/?), beating all the too expensive Princess shore excursions for the Livorno port of call: a wonderful Mercedes limo, with air conditioned, a good driver and guide at the same time, Mrs Myriam Buzzi, who told us a lot about the region, its geography, history and art.

We were picked up at the disembarking point, on the pier, at 8,30 and brought back at 17.30, after having visited Pisa and Florence.

After the first 30 minutes drive we were already in Pisa, in the Miracle Square, which ranks as one of the world's lovelist squares, where we could admire La Torre Pendente (The leaning Tower -there is an opportunity to climb the Tower, it takes 30 min), Pisa's majestic Romanesque Cathedral and the unusual round Baptistry.

We have continued for an hour drive to Florence, traveling through the beautiful countryside of Chianti (with stops along the way to admire and photograph the magnificent landscapes). The tour of Florence started with the wonderful Romanesque church of San Miniato al Monte, one of the oldest in this area and Michelangelo Square, where we could enjoy the most beautiful panorama of the city. The tour continued in the historical center, where we mostly walked, with stops at the beautiful Santa Croce Square, the Brunelleschi Dome, Piazza della Signoria and Ponte Vecchio the bridge famous for its charming appearance and for the fabulous jewelry shops.

We could not visit the Academy of Fine Arts where the Michelangelo's David is, because it was Monday (closed!) nor the Uffizi Gallery, because lack of time.

Read sailing mart's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Sparkyfive
1 review
Jul 2013

There was quite a bus ride to get to Florence, we then went on an hour guided walk around the city followed by some free time then back on the bus to Pisa. We were there for about an hour which was enough to see the tower and walk back to the meeting point. They were both great places to see but this was a 10 hour trip and might be a bit much for some people!

Read Sparkyfive's full Island Escape cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image loveandcruises
14 reviews
Jul 2013

Gives you enough time to see the important sights, but do not expect to see the insides of museums due to long lines.

Read loveandcruises's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image traveldestination
1 review
Jul 2013

We were given ample time in both places. The tour operator was great and pointed out the paces of interest along with a very detailed map.

Read traveldestination's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image momcat
2 reviews
Dec 2012
We joined 3 other couples on a tour arranged by fellow Cruise Critic members. We were picked up at the pier and drove to Pisa, spending a few minutes in the area of the Leaning Tower. We drove through the countryside to Florence, first stopping for a photo op on a hilltop overlooking the river and the beautiful city. We went to the Ponte Vecchio area and then to the Duomo. We were disappointed to arrive too late to enter the cathedral, but we walked around the Duomo and the Baptistery and had lunch nearby. We then walked through a market area to the Uffizi Gallery, where we had tickets reserved.
Read momcat's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image bikechic
4 reviews
Dec 2012

Coldest day of the trip, but both cities are magnificent. This excursion is basically a bus ride to each city, with good maps, free restrooms and plenty of time to go roam around on your own, which we loved. Florence, especially, was glorious: ancient and charming, with a Christmas fair in Piazza di Santa Croce, about 800 metres south west of the Duomo. My favorite day of the whole cruise!

Read bikechic's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Aging Aquarian
1 review
Oct 2012
Enjoyed this tour and did the requisite tourist shtick of holding up the 'Pisa' for a photo-op. Absolutely loved 'Florence' and all the Churches. Almost filled the memory card in the camera here.
Read Aging Aquarian's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image slenmargni
7 reviews
Oct 2012
Fantastic tour. Maurizio, owner of Tuscany Taste Tour, met us on the pier and off we went. Small group of 8, MB van and we saw it all. Pisa, Florence, Accademia, etc. We weren't on our own. This was an organized tour with pre-paid tix to see David. Ate at a favorite of Maurizio, who joined us for lunch.
Read slenmargni's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Tuscany Taste Tour
Member Image Denvermarge
1 review
Oct 2012
The tour guide was hard to understand and got confused on time issues. We had to wait 45 minutes for a couple to join us back in the bus. This meant that our time in Pisa was reduced to only 25 minutes. This tour was a good way to get to both cities within our time allotment.
Read Denvermarge's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image montys a cruiser
1 review
Sep 2012
the trip of the ship took us to Pisa first, we had approx 45 minutes to take photo's etc. it takes 15minutes to walk from the car park to the tower, in reality we only had 30 minutes at the Tower, it would have been nice to have climbed the Tower and visit the museum. Florence was wonderful, so much to see and again not enough time. Place to revisit in the future
Read montys a cruiser's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image curiousmarie
1 review
Sep 2012
Pisa was a bit disappointing although it was nice to see the tower there is not a lot there. Florence was amazing, the guide was very good. We had a lovely lunch next to Dantes statue outside the church. Try the dumplings with ham and cream cheese. We did not go into any museums as we did not have enough time to do them justice.
Read curiousmarie's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image kingrodney
1 review
Sep 2012
We were quite disappointed with the tour we booked. Firstly we felt it was very expensive for what we got... literally a bus ride for $A200. Apart from getting to see the Leaning Tower of Pisa Florence itself was a real disappointment and even Pisa was a bit of an anticlimax... what's all the fuss about? All you have is a round building leaning over... so does Venice and nobody makes a big deal about that. Florence itself wasn't an attractive place at all which is what we were expecting. It actually felt a bit like a slum, old, untidy and run down. Sadly not a place we'd return to.
Read kingrodney's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Cruisers40
2 reviews
Aug 2012
Beautful city worth taking the ships tour as if it is late back the ship will wait for the coach pisa lovely excellent tour guide really imformative !!
Read Cruisers40's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image L16GSY
1 review
Aug 2012
The guide was forceful, which was exactly what was needed with the large group we had, Pisa was charming, Florence was great, but lots of walking as the coach pick up point was miles away, then the guide left us in Florence so the coach driver had to take responsibility till we were back in the port - Strange!
Read L16GSY's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: cruisingexcursions
Member Image carolans
1 review
Aug 2012
Pisa amazing to see. Tour guide very friendly and knowledgeable. This is probably one of the highlights of our entire cruise. So much so, we plan to return to Florence on holiday in future.
Read carolans's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Sweet Baby James
1 review
Jul 2012
Pisa was fabulous. Better than Florence, but Florence is worth a look. It's very crowded so walk around a little, have lunch, people see. If you're planning to buy leather, do it in Pisa.
Read Sweet Baby James's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image hjmckellar
3 reviews
Jul 2012
Great way to see things and the extra info our guide gave us was invaluable - would have preferred a private tour but these were about twice the amount of money
Read hjmckellar's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image wgb7428
8 reviews
Jun 2012
It was Monday so all the museums were closed. Did a lot of walking. Pisa, street slime pushing counterfeit watches and sun glasses very aggressive. Government needs to clean up their street slime rather than threaten tourists. Pisa, once inside the old town where the tower is small area lots of people. Lunch was provided as part of the tour and was pretty good.
Read wgb7428's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Wobblybob74
2 reviews
Jun 2012
This was my favourite shore day. We had an excellent tour guide, Jon, who was an Aussie who had fallen in love with Tuscany and has been living there for the past fifteen years. We were in Pisa by 0830 which meant that the Duomo was not open but it was still very quiet. The Tower is wonderful, and another of my must-sees ticked off my list! We spent about an hour there (which was plenty to be honest) and then moved on to Florence. My Godfathers, it was hot in Florence! 40 degrees C! But what a lovely place. Plenty to see and do and some lovely little cafes and restaurants.
Read Wobblybob74's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image mmeachm
5 reviews
Jun 2012
Our guide rushed us through Florence, even though we had several hours before the ship left. We got the distinct feeling she had another tour waiting for her.
Read mmeachm's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image honeybee100
1 review
May 2012
A very helpful guide on the bus--gave his personal tips and a map with NCL's suggestions. Able to wander the city easily on our own. Escorted to Pisa's Field of Miracles for a brief photo stop.
Read honeybee100's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.