Become a Cruise Insider
Tips, deals and more in your inbox.
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Amsterdam Canal Tour Excursion Reviews

Amsterdam Canal Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Learn about Amsterdam's history and explore the beautiful sights of this magical land with a guided canal tour. It’s an excellent way to get around and will grant easy access to the intriguing facets of this beautiful deep-rooted city.
Member Image Remedial therapist
1 review
Jul 2015
Our local guide gave the commentary allowing the 'driver' to drive. Her knowledge was excellent, the weather good and the views fantastic.
Read Remedial therapist's full Emerald Dawn cruise review
Provider: Emerald Waterways
Member Image Santa Fe Cruisers
1 review
Jul 2015
Although it was a rainy day it was a wonderful excursion. It gave us an opportunity to see so much of Amsterdam in a short period of time.
Read Santa Fe Cruisers's full River Queen cruise review
Provider: Uniworld Boutique River Cruise Collection
Member Image AnitaEE
1 review
Jul 2015
Outstanding! The guide was very knowledgeable and the boat was very comfortable.
Read AnitaEE's full Silver Cloud cruise review
Provider: Silversea Cruises
Member Image victoria 6672
1 review
Jun 2015
toured Red Light District at night. Astonished at the way it is integrated into ordinary life. felt 40 years too old to be there.
Read victoria 6672's full Avalon Tranquility II cruise review
Provider: Avalon Waterways
Member Image mladyd59
1 review
Jun 2015
We had limited time so the canal cruise gave us a good overview of the city.
Read mladyd59's full Viking Bestla cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image Dot D
1 review
Jun 2015
Really enjoyed the canal tour , our guide was very informative and it was a great chance to see parts of Amsterdam . It was our first visit to Amsterdam , interesting to go past Anne Franks house and hear a little of the history , also interesting to hear why a lot of the houses are so narrow .
Read Dot D's full Magellan cruise review
Provider: Cruise & Maritime Voyages
Member Image leo178
3 reviews
Jun 2015
A canal tour (about one hour) is really a must to get the overall feeling of the city. Canal tours are offered everwhere. Ours was included with my river cruise.
Read leo178's full AmaCello cruise review
Provider: AmaWaterways
Member Image Dedi
1 review
Jun 2015
the excursion was named "City & Canal tour" so it encompassed a bus tour as well as a boat ride in the canals. good overall introduction to Amsterdam. enjoyed the canal ride.
Read Dedi's full Magellan cruise review
Provider: Cruise & Maritime Voyages
Member Image CAJ86
1 review
May 2015
Superficial and too fast. The speed prevented us from absorbing a lot of the views and history of what we saw. The boat was roomy and the cruise operator opened the top to enable us to take pictures.
Read CAJ86's full Viking Eistla cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image birthdaygal
2 reviews
May 2015
I have done a canal tour before but this was the best boat ever on. The guide was a nice guy too! And the walking tour after was informative and a great picture taking op.
Read birthdaygal's full Avalon Tranquility II cruise review
Provider: Avalon Waterways
Member Image karelet
2 reviews
May 2015
A canal tour gives you a totally different look at the city. The canal boats enable you to see things you don't see from the streets. The boat drivers are very skilled navigating the canals.
Read karelet's full Viking Baldur cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image david46
1 review
May 2015
Free tour given by the cruise line. We went all around Amsterdam sight seeing the guide pointed out all the interesting points including the Anne Frank house, and the hundreds of people lining up to buy tickets in the rain.
Read david46's full Avalon Visionary cruise review
Provider: Avalon Waterways
Member Image SnickersSiri
1 review
Apr 2015
It was Pouring rain, hard to hear guide, the windows fogged up, we couldn't see well. It was Slippery walking to the boat in the rain with umbrellas.
Read SnickersSiri's full Viking Magni cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image The Scar
3 reviews
Apr 2015
A great way to see and learn the history of Amsterdam.
Read The Scar's full River Splendor cruise review
Provider: Vantage Deluxe World Travel
Member Image napoleanlady
2 reviews
Apr 2015
You can't visit Amsterdam without a canal tour and this was done during the day. Tour guide gave a nice overview of the architecture and how the locals live. I would do this at the beginning of exploring Amsterdam as it may help you understand the canal streets.
Read napoleanlady's full Avalon Panorama cruise review
Provider: Avalon Waterways
Member Image Incartek
1 review
Apr 2015
The boat passed a lot of wealthy merchants' houses. They moved out to the country as it was too smelly in winter. There were stories of royalty, also of Rembrandt who made a lot of money and spent lot of money and died in poverty. There were many many museums.
Read Incartek's full Viking Skadi cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image ljbc
4 reviews
Apr 2015
A short walk to the canal boat from the ship and then a pleasant trip round the Canals.
Read ljbc's full Avalon Felicity cruise review
Provider: Avalon Waterways
Member Image Geoffrey Farrell
1 review
Dec 2014

Excellent - witty and well informed

Read Geoffrey Farrell's full Marco Polo cruise review
Provider: Cruise & Maritime Voyages
Member Image agathachristiefan
3 reviews
Not Rated
Oct 2014

Been to Amsterdam a few times before but had never done the very touristy thing of taking a canal boat - so glad I did, worth every red cent.

Read agathachristiefan's full Braemar cruise review
Provider: Fred. Olsen Cruise Lines
Member Image Nicky'smom
1 review
Not Rated
Sep 2014

Very interesting tour through the canals with a fabulous and informative guide. We enjoyed seeing the houseboats and the architecture with just the right amount of history.

Read Nicky'smom's full Avalon Visionary cruise review
Provider: Avalon Waterways
Member Image garymonli
1 review
Apr 2014

The boast was nice but the guide told the same stories that we had been hearing all week. Would only recommend to an Amsterdam newbie.

Read garymonli's full Avalon Artistry II cruise review
Provider: Avalon Waterways
Member Image baitang@gmail.com
2 reviews
Not Rated
Apr 2014

This offers another way to view the city, from the slightly lower level of the canals. The commentary repeats some of the information provided on the walking city tour, but the boat covers a greater distance, essentially circling the city from the harbor in front of the Central Railroad Station. Highly recommended.

Read baitang@gmail.com's full Viking Delling cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image baitang@gmail.com
2 reviews
Apr 2014

The canal tour demonstrates how the city is put together, as well as the importance of the canals, and how the Dutch maintain water flow through them. The canals are still used extensively for transport, and many Dutch live in houseboats docked in some canals. The tour includes many observations about the city's history and the view of buildings, bridges, etc. from the canal is unique.

Read baitang@gmail.com's full Viking Delling cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image ScubagirlVA
1 review
Sep 2013

We took the Blue Boats canal tour and thoroughly enjoyed it!

Read ScubagirlVA's full Viking Atla cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image Cruising@60
1 review
May 2013

Good introduction to Amsterdam's features

Read Cruising@60's full Scenic Ruby cruise review
Provider: Scenic
Member Image SelinaOz
1 review
Member Image lanzie99
2 reviews
Oct 2012
Boat was very nice and comfortable, got to see the city from an entire different perspective. We had a good guide that informed us of what we were driving by.
Read lanzie99's full Viking Sun cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image Jdrumsdad
1 review
Sep 2012
Loved it!
Read Jdrumsdad's full Viking Njord cruise review
Provider: Gray line tours
Member Image jflk01
2 reviews
Not Rated
Sep 2012

very good canal tour, our guide from the bus tour did the narration for the canal tour as well

Read jflk01's full AmaDolce cruise review
Provider: AmaWaterways
Member Image cruise**77
6 reviews
Aug 2012
Hop on, hop off canal tour boats allow you to get a good feeling from major sights, which you can then visit on your own.
Read cruise**77's full Viking Njord cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image Naomi2
3 reviews
Aug 2012
The Canal tour was in 4 languages which made the description of what we were seeing rather short and it was difficult to take pictures though the glass. Nonetheless Amsterdam is beautiful and it was fun to see it this way.
Read Naomi2's full Prinsendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image tannerm
1 review
Jul 2012
Nice trip that you can jump off and on at different locations. Very good way to get around the city.
Read tannerm's full Viking Prestige cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image vickolator
1 review
Jun 2012
The canal tour was included and gave a good feel at the overall history and ambiance of the city. We had stayed several days in Amsterdam ahead of the cruise, but enjoyed seeing the city from the water. We did go to the Anne Frank House on our own and enjoyed it alot. Make a reservation if you can; it's crowded.
Read vickolator's full Avalon Visionary cruise review
Provider: Avalon Waterways
Member Image Csbjim
1 review
May 2012
Enjoyable boat ride and good way to learn about Amsterdam's history.
Read Csbjim's full Viking Njord cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image rgarick
1 review
May 2011
Took a one hour canal tour of Amsterdam....good way to see the city quickly..great weather...dirty canals though Don't miss flower market on town---beautiful
Read rgarick's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.