Amsterdam Canal Tour Excursion Reviews

Amsterdam Canal Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Learn about Amsterdam's history and explore the beautiful sights of this magical land with a guided canal tour. It’s an excellent way to get around and will grant easy access to the intriguing facets of this beautiful deep-rooted city.
Member Image Brians Tours
1 review
Sep 2016
The Tour Guide gave the commentary which was detailed and personal. Point to note and this is NOT a criticism of Emerald Waterways, when compared to the other ports of call- which were ALL excellent, we were disappointed with the city of Amsterdam as it was grubby, with litter everywhere... !!!!
Read Brians Tours's full Emerald Sky cruise review
Provider: Emerald Waterways
Member Image Heather meehan
1 review
Sep 2016
we only had a day so fit a lot in, beautiful canals, lots of bikes! very scenic,
Read Heather meehan's full Marina cruise review
Provider: via tours
Member Image fergusandpushkin
1 review
Sep 2016
Great
Read fergusandpushkin's full Emerald Sky cruise review
Provider: Emerald Waterways
Member Image teacherjudy
1 review
Aug 2016
We appreciated that most of our excursions were included in the cruise price.
Read teacherjudy's full Avalon Tranquility II cruise review
Provider: Avalon Waterways
Member Image bencurry
1 review
Aug 2016
We used the hop on hop off canal tour for getting around the city a little, especially the ann frank house. We also took a canal cruise one evening that served hot pizza for dinner with beverage choices of cold beer, wine or soft drinks. The dinner tour was very relaxing and all of us had a great time.
Read bencurry's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Viator
Member Image psdietcoke
1 review
Aug 2016
They are all basically the same, ours was 1 1/2 hours, which was plenty.
Read psdietcoke's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Just walked down to the canal and booked one indep
Member Image pillperson@hotmail.com
1 review
Aug 2016
Night tour of Amsterdam from the canal with lots of wine and snacks.
Read pillperson@hotmail.com's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image TexasTracy
2 reviews
Aug 2016
If you are at all handicap don't take the public canal tour that is included with the I amsterdam card. Be aware if you do take the canal tour you will have to go and get a ticket to ride it, your I amsterdam card will not work. The driver we had didn't help with the wheelchair at all, both on or off the boat. He announced the stops but didn't point out any areas of interest.
Read TexasTracy's full Viking Mani cruise review
Provider: I amsterdam
Member Image nordski
3 reviews
Aug 2016
A good refresher, but not as good as that provided by Viking on our Tulips and Windmills Cruise
Read nordski's full Azamara Quest cruise review
Provider: Azamara Club Cruises
Member Image vanvleckeren
8 reviews
Aug 2016
It was great to see Amsterdam from the water.
Read vanvleckeren's full Avalon Felicity cruise review
Provider: Avalon Waterways
Member Image ragbag1
14 reviews
Aug 2016
Our Amsterdam flight didn't leave till the afternoon. So as not to waste the day waiting to depart, we joined Celebrity's tour. The coach took us and our luggage around the city and eventually dropped us at the Airport around noon. Our Dutch guide was well-informed and entertaining. Traffic was light early Sunday morning which meant she could take us to many of the main sights, as well as on an hour's boat trip along the principal canals. It worked out fine and we recommend the Celebrity tour as a great way to end your cruise.
Read ragbag1's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image angelaAyeg
1 review
Jul 2016
Make sure you have good walking shoes, what an exciting and dynamic city to explore. So much to see and do !
Read angelaAyeg's full Scenic Pearl cruise review
Provider: Scenic
Member Image KellenbergerElgin
3 reviews
Jul 2016
You must go on a canal tour
Read KellenbergerElgin's full Koningsdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image bwalker@byli.com
1 review
Jul 2016
Very cool tour! When we arrived in Amsterdam, we had no idea of the extent of the canal system. It was truly incredible to traverse the city by tour boat and basically go everywhere! It helped give us an overview of the city, as we passed by many of the landmarks that we later visited. Highly recommended.
Read bwalker@byli.com's full Viking Ingvi cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image crusingnut
1 review
Jul 2016
Paap has a very nice boat that can accommodate approx. 12 people. We wanted to see some of the sites during daylight but also wanted to see the evening lights around the bridges, which were beautiful. We started @ 9:30pm w/sunset around 10, it was perfect timing. Highly recommend him his web site is http://www.rederijpaping.nl/#_=_
Read crusingnut's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Rederij Paping private boat owner
Member Image lrcllc@aol.com
1 review
Jul 2016
Nice tour
Read lrcllc@aol.com's full Koningsdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Shogun13
1 review
Jul 2016
I great way to see the sights
Read Shogun13's full Viking Ingvi cruise review
Provider: Canal Tours
Member Image Lou E
3 reviews
Jun 2016
Not able to see very much from where I sat on the Grey Line Canal boat. The tour guide was excellent telling us what we were passing but I was not really able to see most of what he was talking about.... We also took a HOP On Hop of bus which allowed us to see so much more of Amsterdam.
Read Lou E's full Viking Magni cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image skylark2
1 review
Jun 2016
Very enjoyable with good commentary
Read skylark2's full Emerald Dawn cruise review
Provider: Emerald Waterways
Member Image merrytraveller
1 review
Jun 2016
An enjoyable few hours visiting different parts of the huge canal system
Read merrytraveller's full Avalon Expression cruise review
Provider: Avalon Waterways
Member Image lefant
1 review
Jun 2016
Part of our city tour. A must for Amsterdam....!!
Read lefant's full Viking Baldur cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image coastal denizen
1 review
Jun 2016
The canal tour was not the highlight of our visit. The canal boat was a bit old and when the rain came down the windows fogged up, the view was distorted and there was a leak above our heads.
Read coastal denizen's full Viking Lofn cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image Martypen
2 reviews
Jun 2016
Canal tour was very good
Read Martypen's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image DaisyUK
2 reviews
Jun 2016
OK canal tour. Guide could have been better.
Read DaisyUK's full Crystal Symphony cruise review
Provider: Crystal Cruises
Member Image Eludidated 1
1 review
Jun 2016
Just average tour.
Read Eludidated 1's full River Empress cruise review
Provider: Uniworld Boutique River Cruise Collection

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?