Amsterdam Canal Tour Excursion Reviews

Amsterdam Canal Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Learn about Amsterdam's history and explore the beautiful sights of this magical land with a guided canal tour. It’s an excellent way to get around and will grant easy access to the intriguing facets of this beautiful deep-rooted city.
Member Image AnnZ8
1 review
Dec 2016
I never realized the amount of canals ..... and how they tied this city together.
Read AnnZ8's full Avalon Tranquility II cruise review
Provider: Avalon Waterways
Member Image Scootoir
1 review
Nov 2016
Canal tour gave us a great overview of the charming city of Amsterdam. It was easy to walk to the canal boat from Viking's dock. We really enjoyed this view of the city and the opportunity to travel through the canals. Good orientation if one wished to walk around the city later.
Read Scootoir's full Viking Vidar cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image winegirl
2 reviews
Nov 2016
Standard canal cruise, interesting, have done it before.
Read winegirl's full AmaCerto cruise review
Provider: AmaWaterways
Member Image cheechaku
2 reviews
Nov 2016
Very Interesting, but glad we went early day before the Crowds. And I did get lost on the short walk from a coffee shop back to the ship
Read cheechaku's full Viking Lofn cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image JohnGoncalves
1 review
Nov 2016
Great way to see Amsterdam in style
Read JohnGoncalves's full Scenic Jade cruise review
Provider: Scenic
Member Image MrsT12
1 review
Oct 2016
Very good way of getting a taste of Amsterdam. Local guide was excellent.
Read MrsT12's full Avalon Tranquility II cruise review
Provider: Avalon Waterways
Member Image Traveller53Wiltshire
1 review
Oct 2016
Guide was very knowledgeable, lots of background info and brought it to life. Very good
Read Traveller53Wiltshire's full Avalon Illumination cruise review
Provider: Avalon Waterways
Member Image Liz Deely
1 review
Oct 2016
Canal boat was old and cramped but guide was excellent. Definitely recommend coming in a day or 2 early to get acclimated to time change but also to see things in Amsterdam.
Read Liz Deely's full AmaCerto cruise review
Provider: AmaWaterways
Member Image dfishel
1 review
Oct 2016
This excursion was included in our cruise. A beautiful relaxing canal cruise. We were in a covered boat. Got close up views of house boats, houses and tall buildings with amazing art work.
Read dfishel's full Avalon Artistry II cruise review
Provider: Avalon Waterways
Member Image blueiii31062
1 review
Oct 2016
We only had a brief time, so we loved seeing the city by canal. It was a cold day, so it was chilly in the boat and the windows limited the view a bit, but it was still a beautiful overall tour. I'd love to return.
Read blueiii31062's full AmaPrima cruise review
Provider: AmaWaterways
Member Image Bemur
1 review
Oct 2016
Very unique city and fun to see it in this fashion. Incredible houseboats.
Read Bemur's full Viking Baldur cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image DwarfKing
1 review
Oct 2016
Great perspective on a stunningly beautiful city.
Read DwarfKing's full Viking Lofn cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image Jooroo
1 review
Oct 2016
Wonderful tour through a beautiful city, excellent tour guide with a wealth of information about the canals and the city, really enjoyed it.
Read Jooroo's full Scenic Pearl cruise review
Provider: Scenic
Member Image llwebster
1 review
Oct 2016
great insight into the canals and city
Read llwebster's full Scenic Pearl cruise review
Provider: Scenic
Member Image BOM2016
1 review
Oct 2016
The best part of Amsterdam.
Read BOM2016's full Avalon Passion cruise review
Provider: Avalon Waterways
Member Image philw1776
3 reviews
Oct 2016
Visited Van Gogh & Rijksmuseums on our own. Easy and excellent
Read philw1776's full Viking Lofn cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image Jay Stephens
1 review
Sep 2016
Has not changed. I originally visited Amsterdam in 1984...and it is still as wonderful as it was then.
Read Jay Stephens's full Avalon Vista cruise review
Provider: Avalon Waterways
Member Image styxfire
1 review
Sep 2016
Canal tour was well worth the 10 or 15 euros. Best value of any excursion. You should do it first-thing because it's a great intro to Amsterdam. There are a couple private companies to choose from. You have to walk from the cruise port to the Train Station. Once you walk through and exit the train station, the canals are immediately outside it. This is also how you access downtown Amsterdam, although there's a more direct walking route to downtown... you can probably just follow the crowd. I recommend getting a city map from the tourist-info desk at the train station. Amsterdam has so many things to see that even our 24-hour cruise stop wasn't enough time. Don't be afraid to explore on your own. It was safe and crowded during the day AND at night. Canal cruise and exploring during day, reboarded ship for dinner, then walked to city again at night. Beautiful city, great shops and buildings,
Read styxfire's full MSC Splendida cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image Tom Stahlheber
1 review
Sep 2016
Thoroughly enjoyed the total experience although, it would have been nice to have an uncovered canal boat, so as not to avoid reflections which interfered with photography of the beautiful city.
Read Tom Stahlheber's full Avalon Felicity cruise review
Provider: Avalon Waterways
Member Image EVAKK
1 review
Sep 2016
Great way to see the city.
Read EVAKK's full Avalon Visionary cruise review
Provider: Avalon Waterways
Member Image BitburgBoy
2 reviews
Sep 2016
Ok,but this was our 3rd time,weather was great.
Read BitburgBoy's full AmaCerto cruise review
Provider: AmaWaterways
Member Image Susiecolq
1 review
Sep 2016
Excellent knowledgeable guide
Read Susiecolq's full Scenic Crystal cruise review
Provider: Scenic
Member Image Brians Tours
1 review
Sep 2016
The Tour Guide gave the commentary which was detailed and personal. Point to note and this is NOT a criticism of Emerald Waterways, when compared to the other ports of call- which were ALL excellent, we were disappointed with the city of Amsterdam as it was grubby, with litter everywhere... !!!!
Read Brians Tours's full Emerald Sky cruise review
Provider: Emerald Waterways
Member Image vonandjim
1 review
Sep 2016
The canal tour was great, a lovely peaceful way to see the city. It was followed by a bus tour of the city which was also good.
Read vonandjim's full Emerald Sky cruise review
Provider: Emerald Waterways
Member Image Tolland2
2 reviews
Sep 2016
Evening canal to red light district. fun but only tables for 4 or more.
Read Tolland2's full Viking Mani cruise review
Provider: Amsterdam Tours

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?