Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Amsterdam Canal Tour Excursion Reviews

Amsterdam Canal Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Learn about Amsterdam's history and explore the beautiful sights of this magical land with a guided canal tour. It’s an excellent way to get around and will grant easy access to the intriguing facets of this beautiful deep-rooted city.
Member Image Lou E
2 reviews
Jun 2016
Not able to see very much from where I sat on the Grey Line Canal boat. The tour guide was excellent telling us what we were passing but I was not really able to see most of what he was talking about.... We also took a HOP On Hop of bus which allowed us to see so much more of Amsterdam.
Read Lou E's full Viking Magni cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image skylark2
1 review
Jun 2016
Very enjoyable with good commentary
Read skylark2's full Emerald Dawn cruise review
Provider: Emerald Waterways
Member Image merrytraveller
1 review
Jun 2016
An enjoyable few hours visiting different parts of the huge canal system
Read merrytraveller's full Avalon Expression cruise review
Provider: Avalon Waterways
Member Image Martypen
2 reviews
Jun 2016
Canal tour was very good
Read Martypen's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image DaisyUK
2 reviews
Jun 2016
OK canal tour. Guide could have been better.
Read DaisyUK's full Crystal Symphony cruise review
Provider: Crystal Cruises
Member Image Eludidated 1
1 review
Jun 2016
Just average tour.
Read Eludidated 1's full River Empress cruise review
Provider: Uniworld Boutique River Cruise Collection
Member Image lauren6695
1 review
May 2016
Great tour guide, canal trips were good and plenty long enough, 45 minutes to get lunch and look around wasn't really enough.
Read lauren6695's full Magellan cruise review
Provider: Cruise & Maritime Voyages
Member Image dave8816
2 reviews
May 2016
very enjoyable
Read dave8816's full Koningsdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Njkate1
1 review
May 2016
Amsterdam is a very interesting and open city!
Read Njkate1's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Farnesi Travel
Member Image Kenato
3 reviews
May 2016
Good Guide
Read Kenato's full Avalon Panorama cruise review
Provider: Avalon Waterways
Member Image mariesagirl
1 review
May 2016
We loved the city and canal tour booked with the ship.
Read mariesagirl's full AmaCerto cruise review
Provider: AmaWaterways
Member Image Seas_Please
2 reviews
May 2016
The guide tried to make it more interesting than it really was. Good try.
Read Seas_Please's full Avalon Felicity cruise review
Provider: Avalon Waterways
Member Image Madone4
2 reviews
May 2016
Amsterdam by Canal--a must! Although we had traveled by River Cruise the city viewed from canal was the perfect way to see the "inside" of Amsterdam. We booked this with UniWorld and their guide made the cruise excellent rather than very good. I'd done the same cruise several years ago with headphones and not a live guide. It's nice to be able to interact, ask a few questions, take notes of places to return and explore.
Read Madone4's full River Queen cruise review
Provider: Uniworld Boutique River Cruise Collection
Member Image mea63111@bigpond.net.au
1 review
May 2016
Very interesting
Read mea63111@bigpond.net.au's full Avalon Expression cruise review
Provider: Avalon Waterways
Member Image comangl
1 review
Apr 2016
We thought it was too late in the season for Keukenhoff Gardens, a mistake. Anne Frank House sold out early. A very informative city and canal tour. We'll be back!
Read comangl's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image marshhayden
2 reviews
Apr 2016
We loved the cruise through the canals with great views of the houses in Amsterdam.
Read marshhayden's full Travelmarvel Diamond cruise review
Provider: Travelmarvel
Member Image grandmaR
15 reviews
Apr 2016
Most people had to walk from the ship to the docks next to the Movenpick hotel to take the canal boat. The slow walkers were to have a van to take them over. I didn't think the scooter would work that well on the canal boat, so I just took my cane. It was a long way to get to the van, and I almost couldn't make it. The van let us off on the other side of the canal from where the boats were and we had to climb down some very narrow pointed steps, and then walk the full length of that dock to get to the boat. I was also disappointed in the canal tour - the hop-on-hop-off canal tour was better in two ways - it was out in the open so I could take photos with no reflections, and it was more extensive - plus the recorded tour was better. Didn't repeat itself so much They docked us closer to where the vans picked us up this time, and we drove back to the AmaViola (our ship), and I sat on my cane and waited for Bob to walk back to the boat and get my scooter for me.
Read grandmaR's full AmaViola cruise review
Provider: AmaWaterways
Member Image Sparkalark
1 review
Apr 2016
Very enjoyable view of the city. We saw some areas of the city that we wouldn't have seen by walking.
Read Sparkalark's full Viking Skirnir cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image Grimmling
1 review
Apr 2016
Relaxing.
Read Grimmling's full Viking Mimir cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image mircnod10
1 review
Apr 2016
Some of the Amsterdam excursions were booked through Viking but the other tours we did on our own.
Read mircnod10's full Viking Bragi cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image golfinggirl77
1 review
Apr 2016
Very relaxing way to see the city.
Read golfinggirl77's full Viking Mani cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image Gwen B.
1 review
Apr 2016
Saw most of Amsterdam via the canal cruise - very interesting!
Read Gwen B.'s full Viking Gullveig cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image corvetteatthelake
2 reviews
Apr 2016
Basic canal tour, informative and entertaining.
Read corvetteatthelake's full Viking Lofn cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image bigelowaf
1 review
Apr 2016
Nice tour guide with lots of local color
Read bigelowaf's full Viking Skadi cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image monicayevans
1 review
Apr 2016
Loved it.
Read monicayevans's full Viking Lif cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.