Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Amsterdam Canal Tour Excursion Reviews

Amsterdam Canal Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Learn about Amsterdam's history and explore the beautiful sights of this magical land with a guided canal tour. It’s an excellent way to get around and will grant easy access to the intriguing facets of this beautiful deep-rooted city.
Member Image agathachristiefan
2 reviews
Not Rated
Oct 2014

Been to Amsterdam a few times before but had never done the very touristy thing of taking a canal boat - so glad I did, worth every red cent.

Read agathachristiefan's full Braemar cruise review
Provider: Fred. Olsen Cruise Lines
Member Image Nicky'smom
1 review
Not Rated
Sep 2014

Very interesting tour through the canals with a fabulous and informative guide. We enjoyed seeing the houseboats and the architecture with just the right amount of history.

Read Nicky'smom's full Avalon Visionary cruise review
Provider: Avalon Waterways
Member Image garymonli
1 review
Apr 2014

The boast was nice but the guide told the same stories that we had been hearing all week. Would only recommend to an Amsterdam newbie.

Read garymonli's full Avalon Artistry II cruise review
Provider: Avalon Waterways
Member Image baitang@gmail.com
2 reviews
Not Rated
Apr 2014

This offers another way to view the city, from the slightly lower level of the canals. The commentary repeats some of the information provided on the walking city tour, but the boat covers a greater distance, essentially circling the city from the harbor in front of the Central Railroad Station. Highly recommended.

Read baitang@gmail.com's full Viking Delling cruise review
Provider: Viking Cruises
Member Image baitang@gmail.com
2 reviews
Apr 2014

The canal tour demonstrates how the city is put together, as well as the importance of the canals, and how the Dutch maintain water flow through them. The canals are still used extensively for transport, and many Dutch live in houseboats docked in some canals. The tour includes many observations about the city's history and the view of buildings, bridges, etc. from the canal is unique.

Read baitang@gmail.com's full Viking Delling cruise review
Provider: Viking Cruises
Member Image ScubagirlVA
1 review
Sep 2013

We took the Blue Boats canal tour and thoroughly enjoyed it!

Read ScubagirlVA's full Viking Atla cruise review
Provider: Viking Cruises
Member Image Cruising@60
1 review
May 2013

Good introduction to Amsterdam's features

Read Cruising@60's full Scenic Ruby cruise review
Provider: Scenic Tours
Member Image SelinaOz
1 review
May 2013

ok

Read SelinaOz's full Scenic Diamond cruise review
Provider: Scenic Tours
Member Image lanzie99
2 reviews
Oct 2012
Boat was very nice and comfortable, got to see the city from an entire different perspective. We had a good guide that informed us of what we were driving by.
Read lanzie99's full Viking Sun cruise review
Provider: Viking Cruises
Member Image Jdrumsdad
1 review
Sep 2012
Loved it!
Read Jdrumsdad's full Viking Njord cruise review
Provider: Gray line tours
Member Image jflk01
2 reviews
Not Rated
Sep 2012
very good canal tour, our guide from the bus tour did the narration for the canal tour as well
Read jflk01's full AmaDolce cruise review
Provider: AmaWaterways
Member Image cruise**77
6 reviews
Aug 2012
Hop on, hop off canal tour boats allow you to get a good feeling from major sights, which you can then visit on your own.
Read cruise**77's full Viking Njord cruise review
Provider: Viking Cruises
Member Image Naomi2
3 reviews
Aug 2012
The Canal tour was in 4 languages which made the description of what we were seeing rather short and it was difficult to take pictures though the glass. Nonetheless Amsterdam is beautiful and it was fun to see it this way.
Read Naomi2's full Prinsendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image tannerm
1 review
Jul 2012
Nice trip that you can jump off and on at different locations. Very good way to get around the city.
Read tannerm's full Viking Prestige cruise review
Provider: Viking Cruises
Member Image vickolator
1 review
Jun 2012
The canal tour was included and gave a good feel at the overall history and ambiance of the city. We had stayed several days in Amsterdam ahead of the cruise, but enjoyed seeing the city from the water. We did go to the Anne Frank House on our own and enjoyed it alot. Make a reservation if you can; it's crowded.
Read vickolator's full Avalon Visionary cruise review
Provider: Avalon Waterways
Member Image Csbjim
1 review
May 2012
Enjoyable boat ride and good way to learn about Amsterdam's history.
Read Csbjim's full Viking Njord cruise review
Provider: Viking Cruises
Member Image rgarick
1 review
May 2011
Took a one hour canal tour of Amsterdam....good way to see the city quickly..great weather...dirty canals though Don't miss flower market on town---beautiful
Read rgarick's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.