Sitka City Tour Excursion Reviews

Sitka City Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Get a real sense for Sitka's intriguing culture and diversity through a guided city tour.
Member Image clovis_12000@yahoo.com
1 review
Jul 2016
The experience was okey but by booking with the cruise line cost $130 and the people that just went to shore took the free shuttle to town did the same thing for about $50 a couple coz eveything was within the walking distance
Read clovis_12000@yahoo.com's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image SciMaestroHou
1 review
Jul 2016
Raptor Center was amazing - I suggest you go to the raptor centers and skip the Fortress of the Bear and Sitka Sound Science Center.
Read SciMaestroHou's full Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image andy6221
1 review
Jul 2016
Great time gave us tour of Sitka the Bear Fortress and a lot of background of Sitka and life in Sitka
Read andy6221's full Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Jayoh
2 reviews
Jul 2016
City tour and salmon hatchery, very interesting
Read Jayoh's full Crystal Serenity cruise review
Provider: Crystal Cruises
Member Image karenbink@aol.com
1 review
Jul 2016
What fun this day! Fun, young kids for guides. Bike was fairly easy--2 1/2 mile over rolling hills, then about 1 mile hike to a lake, then bike back for 2 1/2 mile. The equipment was first class. Good bikes, good helmets and rain gear as well (luckily we really only had a light "spritz"!)
Read karenbink@aol.com's full Maasdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image NCJJCPJC2013
3 reviews
Jun 2016
Enjoyed tour and had a nice lunch.
Read NCJJCPJC2013's full Maasdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image ColoradoPlainsCruiser
1 review
Jun 2016
Very good tour with a native Tlingit Indian. We took this cruise line for this port & it did not disappoint. Great history of the Indians/Russians & early American settlers.
Read ColoradoPlainsCruiser's full Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Deb Thomas
1 review
Aug 2015
Our guide had lived in Sitka, so had lots of stories and history to report. After the tour, we could walk around the town and it was easy to find our way back to the ship.
Read Deb Thomas's full Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Catlover54
9 reviews
Jul 2015
You see the Russian church, native peoples museums, and totems. Could do this on your own. The New Archangelsk dancers are hoaky but fun.
Read Catlover54's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Lovetheluxury
1 review
May 2015
Great tour chockfull of interesting information about history and totem polls. Wonderful plant life.
Read Lovetheluxury's full Seven Seas Navigator cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image mimi01
1 review
May 2015
We did this city tour and it was operated by a locally owned company although it was sold on HAL. The driver was a resident for 35 years. Her husband was a local minister and children are school teachers. She is a historian on Sitka. Her tour was wonderful. She is full of knowledge about Sitka. The church in the center of town was magnificent along with its history. The locals are very proud of it and should be. It was a quaint town very different from the ports of International jewelers and your regular knick knacks.
Read mimi01's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image suwaneebarb
1 review
May 2014

The only cruise ship I know of that tenders at Sitka. The downtown area is an easy walk from the tender and full of history. There's an Orthodox Christian cathedral right in the middle of main street; don't miss going inside. We also went to a dance presentation of Russian folk music; all the dancers are volunteers and work in town at a variety of jobs. Another part of the tour includes going to a state-operated history of museum with amazing artifacts of the Tlingit tribe. The one and only drug store in Sitka is worth a stop; there's a '50s soda fountain of all things! Since it's the only drug store on the island, it's stocked as good as, if not better, than any major chain in the Lower 48!

Read suwaneebarb's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image hwattlew
1 review
Sep 2013

1 hour bus drive around town - interesting but wish I'd done something else.

Read hwattlew's full Oosterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image cat2610
1 review
Jul 2013

Sitka is a tender port. What's nice is that it only has 1 ship at a time and doesn't feel as touristy as some of the other ports. The Visitor's Shuttle starts running at 9a. For $10/pp you get a ticket to get on and off all day. The shuttle makes several stops throught the town and runs every 30 min.

Our first stop was the Raptor Center. This is a nonprofit rehab facility for birds of prey. They take in sick and injured birds from all over the country, but specialize in eagles, ravens and owls. They have a vet clinic, a rehab area for birds that are about to be released to the wild, and several habitat areas for birds whose injuries do not allow them to return to the wild. It was quite interesting to see the birds up close. The grounds are also beautiful with wooded forest, trails, and Indian River running through it. It's $19/pp and I think highly worth it.

Our next stop was Totem Park or properly known as the Sitka National Historic Park. This is a national park and admission is free. There is a video and exhibits on the Tlinglit people. There are also lots of trails with recreations of totem poles. An audio tour is available via telephone. The number is posted on the totem poles. It was very scenic and educational at the same time.

Read cat2610's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image 99stingray
1 review
Jun 2013

Not very interesting. Toured an injured bird hospital and walked around the city.

Read 99stingray's full Seven Seas Navigator cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image aglow
1 review
Aug 2012
Lots of fun, history, sights, folk dance performance
Read aglow's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image rosie1019
1 review
Jun 2012
Eagles every where - just like gulls - all over the place! The tour gave a good over view of the city and it's history. The Raptor Center was great- sat within 6 feet of than Eagle ( wounded) loved what they do with helping the wildlife.
Read rosie1019's full Seven Seas Navigator cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image elaine3Southport
1 review
Jun 2012
Bus tour as we landed before we took off to Seattle. Included en route to hotel. Highlights of Sitka pointed out.
Read elaine3Southport's full Wilderness Discoverer cruise review
Provider: Un-Cruise Adventures

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?