Dubrovnik Walking the Walls Excursion Reviews

Dubrovnik Walking the Walls cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Walk Dubrovnik's famous walls to gain a new perspective on this medieval paradise.
Member Image angelbear911
1 review
Sep 2016
We arranged a tour with Game of Thrones Dubrovinik Toursl. If you are fan of the show I highly recommend this tour of "King's Landing" The tour guide Robert was an extra in the filming and has a great sense of humour and kept us smiling throughout the grueling stair climbs! After the tour they have weapon props and you can take pictures with swords, shields and the "Shame" bell :) so awsome!
Read angelbear911's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Game of Thrones Dubrovnik Tour
Member Image abw1977
1 review
Aug 2016
Beautiful views - lots of steps!!
Read abw1977's full Thomson Celebration cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image swaftly@HOTMAIL.COM
1 review
Aug 2016
The walls are very good, but very long and there are ony so many times you can look at red roofs before you're over it. We just paid 120 kr as we walked into the town. They don't take Euro's so you need a credit card or the cash in kroner. We took the P and O shuttle into the town, but this was £5 each way so really wasn't worth it if you don't mind a couple of miles up hill walk.
Read swaftly@HOTMAIL.COM's full Oceana cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image MNloonies
1 review
Jul 2016
Beautiful tour to see the old city and the surrounding sea. Architecture was very interesting to see.
Read MNloonies's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image cruze4kats
1 review
Jul 2016
hot
Read cruze4kats's full Queen Victoria cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line
Member Image AmNotRay
1 review
Jul 2016
Gives one a true appreciation of the defenses and set up of the old city
Read AmNotRay's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Mighty Joe
2 reviews
May 2016
Did it on my own, definitely worth it especially the sea side half
Read Mighty Joe's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image JosephS
1 review
Sep 2015
Good guide and interesting but would only do it once.
Read JosephS's full Queen Victoria cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line
Member Image cathswart@tiscali.co.za
1 review
Jul 2015
A wonderful but hot walk so apply lots of sunscreen and take plenty of water to drink
Read cathswart@tiscali.co.za's full Splendour of the Seas cruise review
Provider:
Member Image tedsandersvb@gmail.com
1 review
Jun 2015
Enjoyed the scenery and history of the area.
Read tedsandersvb@gmail.com's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image 30timecruzrs
2 reviews
Not Rated
Aug 2014

This jewel of a destination was by far the most impressive of the cruise

Read 30timecruzrs's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image sueajp
5 reviews
Sep 2013

WE took the ship transfer, not an organized tour per se. We got some Kuna and bought tickets to walk the walls. Magnificent!! Need to be in good shape but so worth it. Then we had time to walk the Stradun and have lunch and buy some souvenirs. Not to be missed!

Read sueajp's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image letsgoacruisin
1 review
Apr 2013

Skip it. Not worth the money.

Read letsgoacruisin's full Crystal Serenity cruise review
Provider: Crystal Cruises
Member Image sammygoose
1 review
Not Rated
Oct 2012
Paid the 70 kuna and did it ourselves. Available at the east and west gates.
Read sammygoose's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image luczai
3 reviews
Oct 2012
A pleasant experience overall.
Read luczai's full Queen Elizabeth cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line
Member Image artist5320
4 reviews
Aug 2012
Dubrovnik They had a shuttle to take you into town for $12 round trip that made it easy to reach the city that was about 2 ½ miles away. It was welcome on the hot day we were there. We took the 8:30 am shuttle, as we wanted to walk the walls before it got crowded and hot and it worked out well. There is a ticket office just inside the gate where you buy your tickets for about 70KN ---they take credit cards but not Euros. Waling the walls opened up different views and we found ourselves taking pictures every few steps. There are some refreshment stands on the wall and even a free bathroom about half way around. We walked and got off near the cable car and took that to the top of the nearby mountain. Great view from on top. There is a rest there but we came down and walked on the main street to the Portun Rest. At Sigurate street for pizza and drinks and appreciated the AC. We also had some gelati on the street but it is not real ice cream but made with vegetable fat and so was only 1E. Go off the main street like on Old Puca street and look at the different shops and the art gallery that was bombed during the 1991 wart and see the damage that was done. It was in the 90s so we retreated back to the ship by early afternoon.
Read artist5320's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image deecafecruiser
1 review
Aug 2012
It provides a wonderful overview of the walled city. However, it was very hot that day so we did not walk the entire perimeter.
Read deecafecruiser's full Seven Seas Mariner cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image macklyncove
1 review
Jun 2012
Great tour of old town with a knowledgable, articulate, and patient guide. The view from the hill after the tram ride was gorgeous. We loved walking the wall.
Read macklyncove's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image mgm53
2 reviews
Jun 2012
We booked a tour through the cruise line but I would recommend just taking the transfer and as soon as you reach the town there are people there organising walking tours for half the price.
Read mgm53's full Costa neoClassica cruise review
Provider: Costa Cruises
Member Image missminx7
1 review
Jun 2012
Excellent - they couldn't have done anything about the 44' temperature. The only minor problem was with the whisper radios they used. The range was insufficient, and all of them would cut in and out seeminly close enough if we got behind a wall.
Read missminx7's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image TJblueeyes
1 review
Jun 2012

This was unforgettable and Dubrovnik is beautiful. We stayed on our own and took the Carnival shuttle back, which saved which might have been a negative experience. Our tour guide was charming and informative but was a physically fit young man who walked too fast and didn't notice that he left half of our group behind due to the extreme heat and frequent flights of steps. We did opt to stay in Dubrovnik and take the Carnival shuttle back to the ship, because the tour was very short. If I had to do it over, I would take the Carnival shuttle into Dubrovnik and walk the walls on my own at my own pace. But we did love Dubrovnik.

Read TJblueeyes's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image J&J PDX Cruisers
reviews
Not Rated
May 2012
Terrific tour and extremely scenic. Guide was very knowledgeable and provide some excellent history of the region with a small bit of political background to help set context.
Read J&J PDX Cruisers's full cruise review
Provider:

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?