Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Antwerp City Tour Excursion Reviews

Antwerp City Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Take a guided tour or explore the sites on your own to get the most out of the remarkable Belgian city of Antwerp.
Member Image ragged cover
1 review
May 2016
Most walking tours are very early in the morning, with paid ones later. So you end up wandering around towns at eight thirty in the morning, full of delivery lorries, smelly bags of rubbish besides rubbish carts and completely void of life. We found out more than once, that if you ignore the optional coach trips at an average cost of £55 each and go back to the towns later in the day, you'll often find a vibrant cafe culture, open shops and people, yes people and no rubbish carts.
Read ragged cover's full Avalon Visionary cruise review
Provider: Avalon Waterways
Member Image Laughlines
1 review
Apr 2016
It's a beautiful city, and I could have spent a lot more time there.
Read Laughlines's full Viking Bragi cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image Sparkalark
1 review
Apr 2016
Antwerp has some beautiful buildings, and the walking tour gave a great overview. The church in the middle of the old town was fascinating.
Read Sparkalark's full Viking Skirnir cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image mircnod10
1 review
Apr 2016
The tour of the Cathedral of our Lady was excellent. Our tour guide was very informative
Read mircnod10's full Viking Bragi cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image Gwen B.
1 review
Apr 2016
This was a walking tour and though the sights were wonderful, we were kept at such a pace it seemed more like a forced march! Exhausting!
Read Gwen B.'s full Viking Gullveig cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image flmanna@gmail.com
1 review
Apr 2016
The walking tour through Antwerp was a very pleasant surprise. We did not know much about the city and felt very comfortable there. Part of our reason for taking this tour was the excursion to Bruges but Antwerp was an unexpected joy.
Read flmanna@gmail.com's full Viking Lofn cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image chadcat51@gmail.com
1 review
Mar 2016
Loved seeing all the beautiful cathedrals - sad so many of them are no longer working as churches.
Read chadcat51@gmail.com's full Viking Skirnir cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image SnickersSiri
1 review
Apr 2015
We walked and walked and took pictures. It was interesting, took lots of pictures.
Read SnickersSiri's full Viking Magni cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image Bpiglia1@aol.com
1 review
Apr 2015
We walked with the guide who gave us a brief history of the city, and took us to a chocolate store. We were able to sample the chocolates, and purchase. We had time available for lunch and shopping.
Read Bpiglia1@aol.com's full River Duchess cruise review
Provider: Uniworld Boutique River Cruise Collection
Member Image garymonli
1 review
Apr 2014

Went on a walking tour of Antwerp but only saw the outside of buildings because the tour started at 8:30 and lasted til 10:00 and nothing was open. Poor planning on the part of the cruise line.

Read garymonli's full Avalon Artistry II cruise review
Provider: Avalon Waterways
Member Image Marcymarigold
1 review
Jul 2012
The City tour was mostly in French! We left the tour behind and wandered the Antiques District on our own!
Read Marcymarigold's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: Azamara Club Cruises
Member Image aussiejules
1 review
Jul 2012
Another well informed guide who was also easy to understand.We did a coach tour around the city, followed by a tour of a boutique beer brewery. We then did a walking tour of the old town, which ended at the Onze-Lieve-Vrouwekathedraal. Here we were given in depth information about the symbolism and style of Rubens, who has 4 masterworks in the cathedral. After lunch we walked back to the MAS Museum, and went to the top to see the excellent view of the city from the top of the museum.
Read aussiejules's full River Ambassador cruise review
Provider: Uniworld Boutique River Cruise Collection
Member Image krandco
1 review
May 2012
We did a self guided walking tour of Antwerp on our own. The city is simply fascinating with wonderful buildings, cathedrals and museums. Antwerp is a chocolate lovers paradise with shop after shop to choose from. Our visit to the International Horticulture Show, Floriade 2012 was amazing and one of the highlights of our trip. Over 168 acres of lawns, gardens, shows, arenas, amphitheaters, entertainment and buildings showcasing horticulture from around the world. Plan on a full day so you can see everything.
Read krandco's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: Azamara Club Cruises
Member Image ronbetty2001
1 review
May 2012
Our ship docked in Vlissingen from 9:00am to 2:00pm. We left the ship for the day and toured the countryside and then Antwerp, we re-met the ship when it docked the same day in Antwerp @ 7:00PM. Our guide was George Depoorter, which was our favorite guide of the entire trip. Fun,informative,well prepared,simply the best. Would HIGHLY recommend George. E-mail george.depoorter@skynet.be. We toured the countryside which was very nice although we had just missed the Tulips. Visited Middleburg a pretty older city. Toured Antwerp which was pretty cool in and of itself. Did all the highlights and learned a lot. Great day and Guide.
Read ronbetty2001's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: QualiGuides

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.